

## EXECUTIVE CHAMBERS KE KE'ENA O KE KIA'ĀINA

JOSH GREEN, M.D. GOVERNOR KE KIA'ĀINA

June 10, 2024

The Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi, President and Members of the Senate Thirty-Second Legislature Hawai'i State Capitol, Room 409 Honolulu, Hawai'i 96813

Dear President Kouchi and Members of the Senate:

In accordance with Article VI, Section 3 of the Hawai'i State Constitution, I have the honor to submit herewith to the Senate for its advice and consent the following nominations to serve as Circuit Court Judges in the Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of O'ahu), State of Hawai'i for a term of ten years.

I am providing clarification on the nominations that were submitted to the Senate on May 31, 2024, below:

- Judge Rebecca Copeland to replace Judge Gary Chang who is retiring at the end of June 2024.
- Judge Dyan Medeiros to replace Judge R. Mark Browning who retired in December 2023.
- Judge Brian Costa to replace Judge Jeffrey Crabtree who retired in January 2024.
- Judge Steven Nichols to replace Judge Edward Kubo who retired in December 2019.

The Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi June 10, 2024 Page Two of Two

Sincerely,

Josh Green, M.D. Governor, State of Hawai'i

c: The Honorable Scott K. Saiki, Speaker, State House of Representatives
The Honorable Mark E. Recktenwald, Chief Justice, Hawai`i State Judiciary
The Honorable Karl Rhoads, Chairperson, Senate Committee on Judiciary
The Honorable Jeannette H. Castagnetti, Chief Judge, First Circuit Court
Judicial Selection Committee