THE

THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE

STATE OF HAWAI'I

SPECIAL SESSION OF 2024

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

FIRST DAY

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

The Senate of the Thirty-Second Legislature of the State of Hawai'i, Special Session of 2024, was called to order at 11:02 a.m., by Senator Ronald D. Kouchi, President of the Senate, in accordance with the following Proclamation, which was read by the Clerk and was placed on file:

"Proclamation

June 25, 2024

I, Ronald D. Kouchi, President of the Senate of the Thirty-Second Legislature of the State of Hawai'i, pursuant to the power vested in me by Section 10, Article III of the Constitution of the State of Hawai'i, and at the written request of two-thirds of the members to which the Senate is entitled, do hereby convene the Senate in Special Session as sought in the petition at 11:00 a.m. on Wednesday, June 26, 2024, in the State Capitol Senate Chamber, for the purpose of carrying out its responsibilities established by Section 3, Article VI of the Constitution of the State of Hawai'i.

/s/ Ronald D. Kouchi RONALD D. KOUCHI President of the Hawaii State Senate"

The Roll was called showing all Senators present, with the exception of Senators Fevella, Fukunaga, Gabbard, Ihara, Inouye, Kim, Richards, and San Buenaventura who were excused.

Senator Rhoads introduced Dale Arakaki, principal at Pauoa Elementary School, who had been named the state's 2024 National Distinguished Principal by the Hawai'i Elementary and Middle School Administrators Association. Accompanying him in the gallery were communications specialists Kimberly Yuen and Kimi Takazawa and interns Tara Oyama and Kimi Maligaya from the Department of Education as well as legislative attorney Jessie Faige, a member of Senator Rhoads's staff. Senator Rhoads also recognized Joe Passantino, who had been named the 2024 Principal of the Year by the Hawai'i Association of Secondary School Administrators.

MESSAGES FROM THE GOVERNOR

The following messages from the Governor (Gov. Msg. Nos. 1 to 5) were read by the Clerk and were disposed of as follows:

Gov. Msg. No. 1, submitting for consideration and confirmation, the nomination of REBECCA COPELAND as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi, for a term of ten years, was referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

Gov. Msg. No. 2, submitting for consideration and confirmation, the nomination of BRIAN COSTA as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi, for a term of ten years, was referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

Gov. Msg. No. 3, submitting for consideration and confirmation, the nomination of DYAN MEDEIROS as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi, for a term of ten years, was referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

Gov. Msg. No. 4, submitting for consideration and confirmation, the nomination of STEVEN NICHOLS as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi, for a term of ten years, was referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

Gov. Msg. No. 5, letter dated June 10, 2024, clarifying that Rebecca Copeland was nominated to replace Judge Gary Chang, Brian Costa was nominated to replace Judge Jeffrey Crabtree, Dyan Medeiros was nominated to replace Judge R. Mark Browning, and Steven Nichols was nominated to replace Judge Edward Kubo, was placed on file.

At this time, Senator Rhoads announced that the Committee on Judiciary would be holding a decision-making meeting on the measures at 11:45 a.m. that morning in Conference Room 016.

The following standing committees of the Senate and their respective chairs and members, effective June 1, 2024, and June 14, 2024, were announced by Senate President Kouchi:

HAWAIIAN AFFAIRS

Senator Herbert M. "Tim" Richards, III, Chair Senator Kurt Fevella, Vice Chair Senator Les Ihara, Jr. Senator Jarrett Keohokalole

JUDICIARY

Senator Karl Rhoads, Chair Senator Mike Gabbard, Vice Chair Senator Brandon J.C. Elefante Senator Dru Mamo Kanuha Senator Jarrett Keohokalole Senator Joy A. San Buenaventura Senator Brenton Awa

The Chair then made the following announcement:

"The deadline to file standing committee reports on Gov. Msg. Nos. 1 to 4 is 4:30 p.m. this afternoon."

The Chair also announced that there would be a leadership meeting immediately following adjournment.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

On motion by Senator Wakai, seconded by Senator DeCoite and carried unanimously, the Clerk was authorized to receive standing committee reports on Gov. Msg. Nos. 1 to 4. In consequence thereof, and subsequent to its recessing at 11:08 a.m., the Senate took the following actions:

Senator Rhoads, for the majority of the Committee on Judiciary, presented a report (Stand. Com. Rep. No. 1) recommending that the Senate consent to the appointment of REBECCA COPELAND as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit, in accordance with Gov. Msg. No. 1.

In accordance with Senate Rule 37(6), action on Stand. Com. Rep. No. 1 and Gov. Msg. No. 1 was deferred until Thursday, June 27, 2024.

Senator Rhoads, for the majority of the Committee on Judiciary, presented a report (Stand. Com. Rep. No. 2) recommending that the Senate consent to the appointment of BRIAN COSTA as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit, in accordance with Gov. Msg. No. 2.

In accordance with Senate Rule 37(6), action on Stand. Com. Rep. No. 2 and Gov Msg. No. 2 was deferred until Thursday, June 27, 2024.

Senator Rhoads, for the Committee on Judiciary, presented a report (Stand. Com. Rep. No. 3) recommending that the Senate consent to the appointment of DYAN MEDEIROS as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit, in accordance with Gov. Msg. No. 3.

In accordance with Senate Rule 37(6), action on Stand. Com. Rep. No. 3 and Gov. Msg. No. 3 was deferred until Thursday, June 27, 2024.

Senator Rhoads, for the Committee on Judiciary, presented a report (Stand. Com. Rep. No. 4) recommending that the Senate consent to the appointment of STEVEN NICHOLS as Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit, in accordance with Gov. Msg. No. 4.

In accordance with Senate Rule 37(6), action on Stand. Com. Rep. No. 4 and Gov. Msg. No. 4 was deferred until Thursday, June 27, 2024.

ADJOURNMENT

At $4:30~\mathrm{p.m.}$, the Senate adjourned until $11:00~\mathrm{a.m.}$, Thursday, June $27,\,2024.$