ACT 245

S.B. NO. 2172

A Bill for an Act Relating to Kaula.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Hawaii:

SECTION 1. Section 61-1, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows:

"§61-1 County boundaries. There shall be four counties in the State, exclusive of the city and county of Honolulu:
(1) Hawaii. The island of Hawaii and all other islands lying within three

(1) Hawaii. The island of Hawaii and all other islands lying within three nautical miles of the shores thereof, and the waters adjacent thereto, shall be the county of Hawaii, with its county seat at Hilo.
(2) Maui. The islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe and all

(2) Maui. The islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe and all other islands lying within three nautical miles of the shores thereof, and the waters adjacent thereto, except that portion of the island of Molokai known as Kalaupapa, Kalawao, and Waikolu and commonly known and designated as the Kalaupapa Settlement, shall be the county

of Maui, with its county seat at Wailuku.

(3) Kauai. The islands of Kauai [and], Niihau, Kaula and all other islands lving within three nautical miles of the shores thereof, and the waters adjacent thereto, shall be the county of Kauai, with its county seat at Lihue.

(4) Kalawao. All that portion of the island of Molokai known as Kalaupapa, Kalawao, and Waikolu, and commonly known or designated as the Kalaupapa Settlement, shall not be or form a portion of the county of Maui, but is constituted a county in itself, and as such shall have only the powers especially conferred and given by sections 326-34 to 326-38 and shall be known as the county of Kalawao and, except as provided in those sections, none of the provisions of this chapter or any other chapter relating to counties shall be deemed to refer to or shall be applicable to the county of Kalawao. The term "county" as used in chapters 61 and 62 includes only the counties of Hawaii, Kauai, and Maui.

SECTION 2. Section 4-1, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows:

"§4-1 Districts, generally. For election, taxation, education, city, county, and all other purposes, the State shall be divided into the following districts:

The island and county of Hawaii shall be divided into nine districts as

follows:

(A) Puna, to be styled the Puna district:

(B) From the Hakalau stream to the boundary of South Hilo and Puna, to be styled the South Hilo district;

(C) From the boundary of Hamakua and North Hilo to the Hakalau stream, to be styled the North Hilo district;

(D) Hamakua, to be styled the Hamakua district;

(E) North Kohala, to be styled the North Kohala district:

- (F) South Kohala, to be styled the South Kohala district:
- (G) North Kona, to be styled the North Kona district; (H)

South Kona, to be styled the South Kona district:

(I) Kau, to be styled the Kau district.

(2)The islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai and Kahoolawe and counties of Maui and Kalawao shall be divided into seven districts as follows:

Kahikinui, Kaupo, Kipahulu, Hana and Koolau, to be styled the Hana district;

(B) Hamakualoa, Hamakuapoko, portion of Kula, and Honuaula, the western boundary being a line starting from the sea at Kapukaulua on the boundary between the ahupuaas of Haliimaile and Wailuku, thence running inland following the boundary to the mauka side of the Lowrie ditch, thence following the mauka side of the ditch and its projected extension to the Waiakoa gulch which is the boundary between the ahupuaas of Pulehunui and Waiakoa, thence down along the boundary to the mauka boundary of the Waiakoa Homesteads (makai section), thence along the boundary to the ahupuaa of Kaonoulu, thence across the ahupuaa of Kaonoulu to the mauka boundary of the Waiohuli-Keokea Beach Homesteads, thence along the boundary to the mauka boundary of the Kamaole Homesteads, thence along the boundary and the extension thereof to the north boundary of the ahupuaa of Paeahu,

thence along the boundary to the sea, and including the island

of Kahoolawe, to be styled the Makawao district;

(C) All that portion of central Maui lying east of a line along the boundary of the ahupuaas of Kahakuloa and Honokohau to the peak of Eke crater, thence along the ridge of mountains and down the bottom of Manawainui gulch to the sea, and west of the boundary of Makawao district, to be styled Wailuku district;

(D) All that portion of Maui lying west of Wailuku district to be

styled the Lahaina district;

(E) The island of Molokai, except that portion of the island known as Kalaupapa, Kalawao and Waikolu and commonly known or designated as the Settlement for Hansen's disease sufferers, to be styled the Molokai district;

(F) All that portion of the island of Molokai known as Kalaupapa, Kalawao and Waikolu forming the county of Kalawao, to be

styled the Kalawao district;

(G) The island of Lanai, to be styled the Lanai district.

(3) The island of Oahu shall be divided into seven districts as follows:

(A) From Makapuu Head in Maunalua to Moanalua inclusive, and the islands not included in any other district, to be styled the Honolulu district;

(B) Ewa, to be styled the Ewa district;

- (C) Waianae excluding Waianae Uka, to be styled the Waianae district:
- (D) From Kaena point to and including the ahupuaa of Waimea excluding Wahiawa, hereinafter described, to be styled the Waialua district;
- (E) From Waimea to Lae o ka Oio, to be styled the Koolauloa district;

(F) From Lae o ka Oio to Makapuu Head in Waimanalo, to be styled

the Koolaupoko district;

Wahiawa and Waianae Uka lying between Ewa and Waialua (G) districts and more particularly described in the following manner: Beginning at Puu Kaaumakua in the Koolau range and running to and along the south boundary of Waianae Uka (which is also the south boundary of Schofield Barracks Military Reservation) to Puu Hapapa in the Waianae range; thence continuing along Schofield Barracks Military Reservation northerly along the Waianae range to Puu Kaala, easterly along Mokuleia down ridge to Puu Pane, continuing to Maili Trig. station, and down ridge to Haleauau stream and down Haleauau stream to Kaukonahua gulch, and easterly along the gulch to the west boundary of the ahupuaa of Wahiawa; thence leaving Schofield Barracks Military Reservation and following up and along the west and north boundaries of the ahupuaa of Wahiawa to the Koolau range; thence along the Koolau range to the beginning; to be styled the Wahiawa district.

(4) The islands of Kauai [and], Niihau, <u>Kaula</u>, and county of Kauai, shall be divided into five districts as follows:

(A) From Puanaaiea Point to the ili of Eleele, including the [island] islands of Niihau[,] and Kaula, to be styled the Waimea district;

(B) From and including the ili of Eleele to and including Mahaulepu, to be styled the Koloa district;

- (C) From and including Kipu to the northerly bank of the north fork and the main Wailua river, to be styled the Lihue district;
 (D) From the northerly bank of the north fork and the main Wailua
- river to Kealaakaiole, to be styled the Kawaihau district;
- From and including Kealaakaiole to Puanaaiea Point, to be styled (E) the Hanalei district."

SECTION 3. Statutory material to be repealed is bracketed. New statutory material is underscored.

SECTION 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

(Approved June 9, 1988.)