ACT 214

H.B. NO. 2316-82

A Bill for an Act Relating to the Judiciary.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Hawaii:

SECTION 1. Section 603-3, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows:

"§603-3 First circuit court judges. The circuit court of the first circuit shall consist of [fifteen] seventeen judges, who shall be styled as first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, four-teenth, [and] fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth judge[s], respectively."

SECTION 2. Section 603-4, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows:

"§603-4 Other circuits, judges. The circuit court of the fifth circuit shall consist of one judge, who shall be styled judge of the circuit court of the fifth circuit. The circuit court of the second circuit shall consist of [two] three judges, who shall be styled as first, [and as] second, and third judge, respectively, and each as a judge of the circuit court of the second circuit. The circuit court of the third circuit shall consist of three judges, who shall be styled as first, second, and third judge[s], respectively, and each as a judge of the circuit court of the third circuit."

SECTION 3. Section 604-1, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows:

"**604-1** Judicial circuits; district judges; sessions. There shall be established in each of the judicial circuits of the State of Hawaiia district court with the powers and under the conditions herein set forth, which shall be styled as follows:

- (1) For the First Judicial Circuit: The District Court of the First Circuit.
- (2) For the Second Judicial Circuit: The District Court of the Second Circuit.
- (3) For the Third Judicial Circuit: The District Court of the Third Circuit.
- (4) For the Fifth Judicial Circuit: The District Court of the Fifth Circuit.

There shall be appointed one or more district judges for each judicial circuit. The district court of the first circuit shall consist of [twelve] fourteen judges, who shall be styled as first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, [and] twelfth, thirteenth, and fourteenth judge, respectively. One of the district judges shall hear landlord-tenant and small claims matters, provided that when in the discretion of the chief justice of the supreme court the urgency or volume of cases so requires, he may authorize the judge to substitute for or act in addition to or otherwise in place of any other district judge of the district court of the first circuit. The district court of the second circuit shall consist of [two] three judges, who shall be styled as first, [and] second, and third judge, respectively. The district court of the third circuit shall consist of three judges, who shall be styled as first, second, and third judge, respectively. The district court of the fifth circuit shall consist of [one] two judge[.]s who shall be styled as first and second judge, respectively. The chief justice may designate a judge in each circuit as the administrative judge for the circuit.

The district courts shall hold sessions at such places in their respective circuits and as often as the respective district judges deem essential to the promotion of justice."

SECTION 4. Statutory material to be repealed is bracketed. New material is underscored.

SECTION 5. This Act shall take effect upon July 1, 1982. (Approved June 12, 1982.)