MAR 0 7 2025

SENATE RESOLUTION

REQUESTING THE COUNTIES TO AUTHORIZE A PERCENTAGE OF TAXES

GENERATED BY THE GENERAL EXCISE AND FUEL TAXES COLLECTED BY

THE COUNTIES TO BE USED FOR THE MAINTENANCE OF

PRIVATELY-OWNED ROADWAYS THAT ARE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

WHEREAS, there are many private, non-dedicated, and non-surrendered roadways throughout the State that are available for use by the general public; and

WHEREAS, while private roads are under the ownership of private persons, the use of the private roads are not exclusive to those private persons and are often heavily used by first responders to respond to emergencies and by school buses for the transportation of students to and from school; and

WHEREAS, due to vehicle traffic, many of these roads have deteriorated over time and because they are privately-owned, the responsibility for the expensive maintenance and repairs falls to the owner, even if damage was not directly caused by their own activity or the activity of their invited guests; and

WHEREAS, the owners of private roads often do not have the resources to improve or correct deficiencies on these roads, and while the counties have different policies relating to private roads, generally they will not unilaterally repair or upkeep private roads to county standards; and

WHEREAS, it is critical that private roads that are open to and used by the public become eligible for public funding for maintenance and related investments that will ultimately increase public safety and ease of transportation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Thirty-third Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2025, that the counties are requested to authorize a percentage of taxes generated by the general excise and fuel taxes collected by the counties to be used for the maintenance of privatelyowned roadways that are open to the public; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Director of Transportation, Director of Taxation, Mayor of the City and County of Honolulu, 5 Mayor of the County of Maui, Mayor of the County of Hawaii, and Mayor of the County of Kauai.