stand. com. rep. no. 2140

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 21 , 2025

RE: S.C.R. No. 32

Honorable Nadine K. Nakamura Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Third State Legislature Regular Session of 2025 State of Hawaii

Madame:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred S.C.R. No. 32 entitled:

"SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND REHABILITATION TO COLLABORATE WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION TO USE INMATE WORK FURLOUGH PROGRAMS FOR STATE ROADWAY AND HIGHWAY MAINTENANCE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to collaborate with the Department of Transportation to use inmate work furlough programs for state roadway and highway maintenance.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Transportation; Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation; and one individual.

Your Committee finds that providing the Department of Transportation with additional workforce through the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation's inmate workforce furlough programs is a reliable and available means to improving the State's roadways and highways while providing inmates access to beneficial work that would assist their reentry into society upon release from incarceration.

2025-3350 SCR32 HSCR HMSO



As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of S.C.R. No. 32 and recommends its adoption.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

DARIUS KILA, Chai:

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-third Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:		Date: 4/17/25	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. KILA, Darius K. (C)				
2. GRANDINETTI, Tina Nakada	(VC)		E A	
3. COCHRAN, Elle				
4. EVSLIN, Luke A.				
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa				
6. LA CHICA, Trish				
7. MIYAKE, Tyson K.				
7. WILLAKE, LYSOILK.				
8. MURAOKA, Christopher L.				1
9. PIERICK, Elijah				
•				
TOTAL (9)	5			4
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				