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RELATING TO INDEBTEDNESS TO THE STATE

Chair Aquino, Vice Chair Moriwaki, and Members of the Committee, thank you
for the opportunity to submit testimony on S.B. 2448 which shortens the time
requirement when a disbursing officer shall inform the employee of indebtedness and
reduces the minimum amount owed per pay period from $100 to $50 or 5% of the new
employee’s wages.

The Department of Accounting and General Services (DAGS) appreciates the
opportunity to provide comments on this bill. In reviewing the measure, we are unclear
as to the timing contained in the measure’s language. The current bill reads: “the
disbursing officer shall determine the amount of indebtedness and notify the employee
in writing of the indebtedness within sixty days of making said determination; provided

that, to be an actionable cause of action, the determination shall be made within two
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years from the date of the salary or wage overpayment, and not after.” As written, there
may be some confusion as to notifying the employee of the indebtedness “within sixty
days” while subsequently making a determination of the indebtedness “within two years
from the date of the salary or wage overpayment”.

We are supportive of the intent to provide immediate notification to an employee
about a salary or wage overpayment. However, depending on the timing of the final
audits of records, imposing a time limit, such as what is contemplated in this measure
may prevent the State’s ability to recover amounts due to the State because of
overpayment. We believe that, upon discovery, collection attempts should be
conducted and if collection attempts are unsuccessful, the Attorney General may then
be engaged to carry out further collection actions.

Additionally, DAGS is concerned that eliminating immediate action in cases
where overpayments are equal to or less than $1,000 and reducing the per pay period
minimum flat amount from $100 to $50 or five (5) percent of the new employee’s wages
will significantly increase the amount of resources a department may need to redirect in
order to manage the prolonged amount of time necessary for a department to collect
overpayments that are due to the State.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this matter.
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Re: Testimony on SB2448 — RELATING TO INDEBTEDNESS TO THE STATE
Chair Aquino, Vice Chair Moriwaki, and Members of the Committee:

The United Public Workers, AFSCME Local 646, AFL-CIO (“UPW”) is the exclusive bargaining representative for
approximately 14,000 public employees, which includes blue collar, non-supervisory employees in Bargaining Unit 1
and institutional, health, and correctional employees in Bargaining Unit 10, in the State of Hawaii and various
counties.

UPW strongly supports SB2448, which reduces the time requirement when a disbursing officer shall inform the
employee of indebtedness. This measure also reduces the minimum amount owed per pay period from $100 to
S50 or 5% of the new employee's wages.

From time-to-time, the State and counties will mistakenly overpay an employee over a period of time or through a
lump sum payment. This overpayment effectively becomes a loan with a burdensome repayment plan that the
affected employee often cannot afford. §78-12, Hawaii Revised Statutes, currently provides that the minimum
payment amount is $100 per pay period or 25% of an employee’s compensation until the indebtedness is paid in
full. This statutory provision is draconian and unfairly punishes a public employee for a payroll error committed by
the employer.

While UPW understands that an indebtedness must be repaid, the current repayment schedule is simply too costly
for many of our members who earn $1,000 or less per pay period and are living paycheck to paycheck. Reducing
the minimum payment to $50 per pay period or 5% of an employee’s compensation, as proposed in this bill, will
provide lower income earners more time and greater flexibility to repay their debt without undue burden.

Mahalo for the opportunity to testify in support of this measure.
Sincerely,
e

Kalani Werner
State Director
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S.B. 2448 — RELATING TO INDEBTEDNESS TO THE STATE

The Hawaii Government Employees Association, AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO strongly
supports the purpose and intent of S.B. 2448, which reduces the time requirement when
a disbursing officer shall inform the employee of indebtedness and reduces the minimum
amount owed per pay period from $100 to $50 or 5% of the new employee's wages.

At times, the state and counties will mistakenly overpay an employee on a continual basis
or in one lump sum amount. Through no fault of their own, these employees are stiffed
with a loan and a hefty repayment plan that they cannot afford due to a department’s
failure to accurately pay an employee — its the line departments fault, but the public
servant must pay the price. As currently written, 78-12 Hawaii Revised Statues, the
minimum repayment amount is either $100 per pay period or 25% of an employee’s
salary. We represent many public servants who earn roughly $1000 per paycheck — the
current repayment amount is too high, particularly for lower income earners and ALICE
families who live paycheck to pay-check and cannot support the additional financial
constraint. Reducing the minimum amount earned to $50 per pay period or 5% of an
employee’s salary will provide more financial flexibility for lower income earners. This
reduction will allow public servants more time and flexibility to repay their loan.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony in strong support of S.B. 2448.

P tfj@mitted,

andy Perreira
Executive Director
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