THE THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE **REGULAR SESSION OF 2024**

NOTICE OF CONFERENCE COMMITTEE MEETING

DATE: Friday, April 19, 2024

TIME: 1:35 PM

PLACE: Conference Room 325

State Capitol

415 South Beretania Street

A live stream link of all Conference Committee meetings will be available online.

Click here for the live stream of House & Senate meeting via YouTube.

AGENDA

The Conference Committee will meet to resolve differences between the last House and Senate versions of the following:

SB 2927, SD1, HD1 PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE VI, SECTION 3 OF THE HAWAII

CONSTITUTION TO MAKE THE SENATE CONFIRMATION PROCESS FOR

JUDICIAL APPOINTMENTS MORE UNIFORM. Status & Testimony

> Justices and Judges; Appointment; Confirmation; Constitutional Amendment House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas/Nishimoto, Co-Chairs; Souza

(JHA, FIN)

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Aguino, Co-Chair; Awa

(JDC, WAM)

SB 2217, HD1 RELATING TO REPORTING PERIODS.

Ethics Commission Package; State Ethics Code Reporting Period; Fiscal Year Reporting

Status & Testimony Period; Electronic Filing

House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas/Morikawa, Co-Chairs; Takayama, Souza

(JHA, FIN)

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Elefante, Fevella

(JDC)

RELATING TO ELECTIONS. SB 2240, SD2, HD1

Office of Elections; Counties; ERIC; Electronic Registration Information Center, Inc.; Status & Testimony Membership; Voter Registration; Verification; Application; Appropriation; Expenditure

House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas/Nishimoto, Co-Chairs; Garrett, Holt, Souza

(JHA, FIN)

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Shimabukuro, Co-Chair; Elefante, Fevella

(JDC, WAM)

SB 2333, HD1 RELATING TO ELECTION AUDITS.

Chief Election Officer; Election Audits; Electronic Voting System; Electronic Tally of

Status & Testimony **Ballots**

House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas, Chair; Miyake, Takayama, Souza

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Elefante, Fevella

(JDC)

Conf JDC 04-19-24.DOCX

SB 2347, HD1 RELATING TO CRIME.

Habitual Violent Crime: Criminal Law

Status & Testimony House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas, Chair; Ilagan, Takayama, Souza

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Elefante, Awa

(JDC)

RELATING TO ELECTIONS. SB 2687, SD1, HD2

Elections; Materially Deceptive Media; Artificial Intelligence; Deepfake Technology;

Prohibition; Penalty; Remedies Status & Testimony

House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas/Onishi, Co-Chairs; La Chica, Miyake, Souza

(JHA, CPC)

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Elefante, Fevella

(JDC)

SB 3033, HD1 RELATING TO PHYSICAL EVIDENCE.

Penal Code; Offenses Against Public Administration; Tampering with or Fabricating

Status & Testimony Physical Evidence

House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas, Chair; Takayama, Souza

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; San Buenaventura, Awa

(JDC)

RELATING TO CONTESTED CASES. SB 3159, SD1, HD1

Administrative Procedure; Contested Cases; Vexatious Litigants

House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas, Chair; Takayama, Matsumoto Status & Testimony

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Elefante, Fevella

(JDC)

SB 3236, HD1 RELATING TO THE LAND TRUST ACT.

Land Trust Act; Beneficial Designation

Status & Testimony House Conferees: Representatives Tarnas/Nishimoto, Co-Chairs; Holt, Takayama,

> Souza (JHA, FIN)

Senate Conferees: Senators Rhoads, Chair; Elefante, Awa

As this is a decision making meeting only, no public testimony will be accepted.

If you require special assistance or auxiliary aids and/or services to participate in the public hearing process (i.e., sign or foreign language interpreter or wheelchair accessibility), please contact the Committee Clerk at (808) 586-6130 at least 24 hours prior to the hearing for arrangements. Prompt requests submitted help to ensure the availability of qualified individuals and appropriate accommodations.

For further information, please call the Committee Clerk at (808) 587-7211.

Senator Karl Rhoads Rep. David A. Tarnas Chair Chair

Conf JDC 04-19-24.DOCX

| Senator Maile S.L. Shimabukuro Co-Chair | Rep. Dee Morikawa Co-Chair |
|--|--------------------------------------|
| Senator Henry J.C. Aquino Co-Chair | Rep. Scott Y. Nishimoto Co-Chair |
| | Rep. Richard H.K. Onishi Co-Chair |