STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1026 -24

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 0.3 ' 2024

RE: S.B. No. 3183

S.D. 2 H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Second State Legislature Regular Session of 2024 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 3183, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO ROAD USAGE CHARGE PROGRAM," begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Establish a county mileage-based road usage charge for electric vehicles;
- (2) Permit electric vehicle owners to pay a county registration surcharge or the county mileage-based road usage charge until June 30, 2028;
- (3) Establish a process for the counties to adopt a per-mile rate by ordinance; and
- (4) Clarify the use of monies collected under the state and county road usage charges.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Hawai'i State Energy Office; Office of the Mayor of the County of Kaua'i; and Department of Transportation Services of the City and County of Honolulu. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Transportation; Oahu Metropolitan Planning Organization; Ulupono Initiative; Hawaii Electric Vehicle Association; Tax Foundation of Hawaii; Alliance for Automotive Innovation; and Enterprise Mobility.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 3183, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

KYLE T. YAMASHITA, Chair

State of Hawaii

House of Representatives
The Thirty-second Legislature

HSCR 1626-24

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 3183, SD2, HD2	Committee Referral:	Date	03 27	2024
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (C)				
2. KITAGAWA, Lisa (VC)	V			
3. AIU, Micah P.K.	V			
4. CHUN, Cory M.				
5. COCHRAN, Elle				
6. GARRETT, Andrew Takuya				
7. KAHALOA, Kirstin	/			
8. KILA, Darius K.				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand	l V	对电影流产品机		
10. LAMOSAO, Rachele F.				
11. MORIKAWA, Dee				
12. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
13. POEPOE, Mahina				
14. TAKENOUCHI, Jenna				
15. ALEOS III, David		因是一种原理。		V
16. WARD, Gene			·/	
			8	
				
			<u></u>	
TOTAL (16)	13	0	1	2
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				