STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1792 -24

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 0 5 ' 2024

RE: S.B. No. 3021

S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Second State Legislature Regular Session of 2024 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 3021, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TRANSPORTATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Change the name of the Electric Bicycle and Electric Moped Rebate Program to the Electric Mobility Rebate Program;
- (2) Expand the Program to include adaptive electric bicycles, electric cargo bikes, and electric micromobility devices;
- (3) Expand the Program to individuals who are fifteen years or older; and
- (4) Amend the maximum rebate amount for the Program and establish an additional assistance rebate for individuals who meet certain qualifications.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Hawaii State Energy Office; one member of the Kaua'i

2024-2761 SB3021 HD1 HSCR HMSO

County Council; Carbon Cashback Hawai'i; Hawaii Electric Vehicle Association; Citizens' Climate Lobby Hawaii; Hawai'i Bicycling League; 350Hawaii.org; and one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Transportation; Oahu Metropolitan Planning Organization; Ulupono Initiative; Blue Planet Foundation; Hawai'i Appleseed Center for Law and Economic Justice; and one individual.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 3021, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

KYLE T. YAMASHITA, Chair

State of Hawaii



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Sbyo21, SD2, HOI Committee EEPIT	e Referral: PN , CPC, (PIN Date	2/2024	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (C) 2. KITAGAWA, Lisa (VC)	/	i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i		
3. AIU, Micah P.K.				
4. CHUN, Cory M. 5. COCHRAN, Elle	V			
6. GARRETT, Andrew Takuya	V			
7. KAHALOA, Kirstin8. KILA, Darius K.	V V			NW of the
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand 10. LAMOSAO, Rachele F.				
11. MORIKAWA, Dee 12. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
13. POEPOE, Mahina 14. TAKENOUCHI, Jenna				
15. ALCOS III, David		1412 Tollar		
16. WARD, Gene				
		-		
TOTAL (16)	15	0	0	
The recommendation is: Adopted	□ Not Adopte			
If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				