STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1624-24

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 0 3 , 2024

RE: S.B. No. 2443

S.D. 2 H.D. 2

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Second State Legislature Regular Session of 2024 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2443, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO HIGHWAY SAFETY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Establish the Automated Speed Enforcement Systems Program, to be implemented by the State in only those locations where a photo red light imaging detector system has been implemented; and
- (2) Create a new offense of noncompliance with maximum speed limit under automated speed enforcement system.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Transportation; Disability and Communication Access Board; Honolulu Police Department; Oahu Metropolitan Planning Organization; and Ulupono Initiative. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from the Office of the Public Defender. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Judiciary; Department of Budget and Finance; Department of Transportation Services of the City and County of Honolulu; and AAA Hawaii.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2443, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

XVI CHO

KYLE T. YAMASHITA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-second Legislature

The Thirty-second Legislature HSCR 1624-24

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

SB 2443, SD2, HD2	Committee Referral: TRN, JHA, FII	FIN Date: 03/27/2024		
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (C)	V			
2. KITAGAWA, Lisa (VC)	V			
3. AIU, Micah P.K.	V			
4. CHUN, Cory M.				
5. COCHRAN, Elle				V
6. GARRETT, Andrew Takuya	V			
7. KAHALOA, Kirstin	V			
8. KILA, Darius K.				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LAMOSAO, Rachele F.				
11. MORIKAWA, Dee				
12. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
13. POEPOE, Mahina				
14. TAKENOUCHI, Jenna	✓			
15. ALCOS III, David				V
16. WARD, Gene			<u> </u>	
TOTAL (16)	14	U	<i>U</i>	2
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				