HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE, 2024 STATE OF HAWAII H.R. NO. 4

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 2023 NATIONAL FUTURE FARMERS OF AMERICA AGRISCIENCE FAIR CHAMPIONS FROM THE FUTURE FARMERS OF AMERICA CHAPTERS IN WAIPAHU.

1 WHEREAS, founded by a group of young farmers in 1928, the 2 National Future Farmers of America (FFA) organization is an 3 intracurricular student organization that is committed to 4 providing its members a path to achievement in leadership, 5 personal growth, and career success through agricultural 6 education; and

8 WHEREAS, the National FFA Agriscience Fair recognizes
9 students who gain real-world, hands-on experiences in
10 agricultural enterprises; and

12 WHEREAS, students use scientific methods, principles, and 13 emerging technologies to solve complex programs related to 14 agriculture, food, and natural resources; and

16 WHEREAS, participants in the National FFA Agriscience Fair 17 are FFA members in grades 7-12 that were winners in their 18 respective state's agriscience fair; the participating students 19 must conduct a scientific research project pertaining to 20 agriculture and food science industries and present their 21 findings to a panel of judges with a display and report; and 22

WHEREAS, the National FFA Agriscience Fair spotlights the
diverse and innovative spirit of FFA members who are redefining
the boundaries of agriculture and STEM; and

WHEREAS, Waipahu students, ANGELO LUIGI AGARANO and SEAN
MICHAEL VALENCIA MONTE were named the 2023 National FFA
Agriscience Fair Champions in the Environmental Services and
Natural Resources Systems Division 6; and

2024-0942 HR HMSO

7

11

15

26

1

Page 2

4

8

19

20

## H.R. NO. **4**

WHEREAS, TRAVIS CABULERA and LJAY ASUNCION were named the 1 2 2023 National FFA Agriscience Fair Champions in the Animal 3 Systems Division 2; and

5 WHEREAS, NICHOLAS NISHIMURA was named the 2023 National FFA Agriscience Fair Champion in the Environmental Services and 6 7 Natural Resources Systems Division 1; now, therefore,

9 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 10 Thirty-second Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2024, that this body hereby congratulates ANGELO 11 12 LUIGI AGARANO, SEAN MICHAEL VALENCIA MONTE, TRAVIS CABULERA, LJAY ASUNCION, and NICHOLAS NISHIMURA for their outstanding 13 14 accomplishments and much-deserved recognition as the 2023 National FFA Agriscience Fair Champions from the FFA Chapters in 15 16 Waipahu and extends to them its warmest aloha and best wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors. 17 18

OFFERED BY:

amh

FEB 0 8 2024

