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H.B. 1562, H.D. 1
RELATING TO DRIVING WITHOUT A LICENSE

House Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs

The Hawaii Department of Transportation (HDOT) supports H.B. 1562, H.D. 1, which
adds confiscation of a vehicle as a maximum penalty on a third conviction for operating
a motor vehicle without a license within a five-year period. Provides that if the defendant
is not the registered owner of the vehicle used to commit the third offense, the owner of
the vehicle shall be responsible for certain costs and fines.

The HDOT supports this legislation which seeks to enhance penalties for those who
continue to drive without having a license or driving with an expired, suspended,
revoked, or cancelled license.

These drivers should not continue to drive on Hawaii’s roadways as they put others at
risk. Our State data shows the following:

"License Compliance with Vehicle Class” This captures drivers who had no license at
all, expired, suspended, revoked, and cancelled licenses. The data also captured
motorcycle operators who were not properly endorsed.

Non-Compliant Drivers/Total Drivers in Fatal Crashes:

2020 - 24/114 = 21.1% with 4 "unknowns" resulting in 24 fatalities
2021 - 42/127 = 33.1% with 3 "unknowns" resulting in 42 fatalities
2022 - 36/165 = 21.8% with 0 "unknowns" resulting in 38 fatalities
2023 - 35/116 = 30.2% with 4 "unknowns" resulting in 39 fatalities

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony.
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Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs
Rep. David A. Tarnas, Chair
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Re: Testimony in Opposition of H.B. 1562

Hearing: February 16, 2024, 2:00 PM

STATE OF HAWAII

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC DEFENDER

Dear Chair Tarnas, Vice Chair Takayama and Committee Members:
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This letter is in opposition of H.B. 1562 which adds forfeiture of a vehicle as a maximum penalty on a third conviction for operating a

motor vehicle without a license.

The forfeiture disproportionately increases penalties which already includes a minimum fine of $500 to $1000 and up to one year of
imprisonment. The additional penalty of vehicle forfeiture will not stop the conduct. Notably, most individuals charged with driving without a valid
driver’s license are not the registered owners of the vehicle. Such an amendment will trigger unnecessary and useless paperwork, not to mention the

forfeiture proceedings, without an impact on the criminal conduct.

Second, even if the ticketed individual is the registered owner of the vehicle, H. B. 1562 begs the questions of which agency will be storing
the vehicle and guarantee that the vehicle is not damaged during the pendency of the case. Cases are routinely dismissed for various reasons,
including the suppression of evidence. In those circumstances, the vehicle must be returned to the registered owner and storage would be for nought.
In addition, if there is any damage to the vehicle or property inside the vehicle, the state would be liable for it.

Such an amendment would also disproportionately impact impoverished families. Although the registered owner may not be licensed, a
family member without a valid driver’s license may use the vehicle for employment, family care or schooling purposes. Forfeiture of the vehicle
may cause the individual or family members to lose employment, they may be unable to care for or take family members to medical treatment, or the
family may no longer be able to transport children to school. The impact and ramifications of forfeiting the motor vehicle for driving without a
license disproportionately impacts those at the poverty level who do not have a second vehicle or the financial means to purchase another vehicle.

Hawaii is one of the most expensive states to live in. A large number of individuals who receive driving without a valid driver’s license
citations want to get their license but are unable to do so because of unpaid fines for traffic infractions that are now in collections with compounding
interest. Most default judgments start small, but when unpaid due to financial constraints, the outstanding balance grows and a license stopper is
triggered. Forfeiting a vehicle will not effectively stop the behavior but will undoubtedly unfairly impact impoverished families.

Thank you for taking these comments into consideration.

Sincerely,
/s/ Taryn Tomasa
Deputy Public Defender
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February 16, 2024

The Honorable David A. Tarnas, Chair
and Members
Committee on Judiciary and
Hawaiian Affairs
House of Representatives
415 South Beretania Street, Room 325
Honolulu, Hawai‘i 96813

Dear Chair Tarnas and Members:
SUBJECT: House Bill No. 1562, H.D. 1, Relating to Driving Without a License

| am Michael Campbell, Acting Captain of the Traffic Division of the Honolulu Police
Department (HPD), City and County of Honolulu.

The HPD appreciates the intent of House Bill No. 1562, H.D. 1, Relating to Driving
Without a License, which adds confiscation of a vehicle as a maximum penalty, but has the
following concerns.

The HPD understands the intent of the bill, however, we are concerned with who will
be responsible for the towing and storage fees and where these seized vehicles would be
stored as we already have storage space issues.

The HPD appreciates the committee’s consideration of our concerns regarding
House Bill No. 1562, H.D. 1, Relating to Driving Without a License. Thank you for the

opportunity to testify.

APPROVED: Sincerely,

érr?dr J. Logan Michael Campbell, Acting Captain
ief of Police Traffic Division

Serving With Integrity, Respect, Fairness, and the Aloha Spirit



HB 1562
The real problem is:

The gap between the day of
unlicensed driving
and conviction
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Effectiveness of HB 1562

at its current form

DAY 1 DAY 2
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HB 1562 Fine r Jailed
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RESULT: SARA WOULD STILL HAVE GOTTEN KILLED

Increasing penalty upon conviction DOES NOT stop the unlicensed driver
from going back out the next day.
THIS IS THE ENABLING LOOHOLE THAT KILLED SARA



FACTS

An Unlicensed driver is NOT QUALIFIED to drive on the road

Once an unlicensed driver is pulled over by police, the unlicensed
driver SHOULD NOT resume driving on the road

Police is the first touch point to identify and could prevent an
unlicensed driver to continue to pose further public danger

Current system did not stop a habitual offender from driving

Getting a conviction takes time



What is the right and most effective thing
to do to prevent death

by unlicensed driver?

IMMEDIATE
INTERVENTION BY THE
POLICE

N\

Vehicle to be towed
to a safe location
for retrieval by a

licensed driver

Unlicensed driver
cannot resume
driving



HOW EFFECTIVE IS POLICE

INTERVENTION?

VERY EFFECTIVE aveo DAY

NO ACCESS TO CAR & HB 1562
REDUCE PUBLIC DANGER
COSTLY to retrieve car

Fine or Jailed
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Court Hearing

THE GAP IS CLOSED BY
POLICE IMMEDIATELY



To Honolulu Police

Department

There are 48 active towing companies
on the island of Oahu, whom would welcome the
business of towing unlicensed driver’s cars

Sara’s live or anyone’s live are more than just
storage or administrative hassles

We need your understanding and support,
your enforcement can save lives



WE WANT A LAW THAT
WORKS!

A law that gives the police the power to immediately

1) Stop the unlicensed driver from continue driving

2) Remove the vehicle to a safe location for licensed
driver retrieval



List of Towing Companies on Oahu (48 companies)

As of Feb 3rd 2024
Name Address
The Tow 425 N. Kuakini St. #2

Advanced Towing & Recovery
AVersatile Towing

Warrior Express Towing
Road Service Hawaii
Advanced Towing & Recovery
AVersatile Towing

Don’s Makiki Service

Valley Service & Repair
Tradewind Towing Service LLC
Aranton Towing Service
Akamai Towing Services LLC
Honolulu Towing Inc

Island Hookaz Towing Service
Island Wide Towing Transport and Recovery
Alberts Towing and Auto

T's Towing Il Inc

Xtreme Towing

Janell's Towing & Lift Sve
Advanced Towing & Recovery
Triple T Towing

Aranton Towing Sve

Chang Towing Svc

Jack’s Towing Sve

Affordable Towing Svc Inc

A Road Runner Towing Sve
Auto Rescue Towing Sve
Hook & Tow

Gao's Towing Sve

Cachola towing

ALWAYS TOWING

Off Peak Towing

Solid Towing

Hawaii Tow Trucks

Ed's Towing Svc

Pascua Towing & Roadside Svc
Affordable Towing

Enriquez Towing

Empire Towing & Recovery
Tow Jams

Sniffens Auto Express
Dependable Towing Sve
Pron-Tow Svc

pivotto’s towing

All Island Automotive Towing
Sause Bros Ocean Towing Co
Country Locksmith & Towing

Lopez Towing

5 Sand Island Access Rd, Honolulu, HI 96819
471 Hinano Way, Kailua

1474 Ala Mahamoe St,

Honolulu, HI 96825

5 Sand Island Access Rd, Honolulu, HI 96819
471 Hinano Way, Kailua, HI 96734

1406 S Beretania St, Honolulu, HI 96814 99-
015 Lohea Place, Honolulu, H 96819

Pearl City, HI 96782

PO Box 19016, Honolulu, HI 96817

PO Box 4673 Bay #2, Kaneohe, HI 96744

933 Owen St, Honolulu, HI 96819

561 Kawailoa Rd, Kailua, HI 96734

2669 Kilihau St, Honolulu, HI 96819

94-515 Alapoai St, Mililani, HI 96789
95-1013 Hookanahe St, Mililani

2368 Akalakala St, Pearl City, HI 96782
1060 Kamehameha Hwy, Pearl City, HI 96782
94-689 Kaaka St, Waipahu

94-252 Pupuole St, Waipahu

656 Kilani Ave, Wahiawa

2154 California Ave, Wahiawa

98-151 Lipoa Pl, Aiea, HI 96701
98-851 Iho P1, Aiea, HI 96701

91-1012 Makaaloa St, Ewa Beach, HI 96706
99-1010 Kahua Pl # B, Aiea, HI 96701
99-529 Opukea St, Aiea

91-1000 Waihua P1, Ewa Beach,
Makakilo, Kapolei, HI 96707

1227 Ala Aolani St, Honolulu, HI 96819
91-455 Ewa Beach Rd

3251 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96819
87-1683 Kapiki Rd, Waianae, HI 96792
2468 N School St, Honolulu, HI 9681
686 Bannister ST, Honolulu, H1 96819
85-1249 Kamaileunu St, Waianae,
2169 Jennie St, Honolulu, HI 96819
123 Puuhale Rd, Honolulu, HI 96819
1714 Day PI, Honolulu, HI 96819
47-310 Lulani St, Kaneohe, H1 96744
47-025 Hui Iwa Pl, Kaneohe, HI 96744
59-870 kan hwy, haleiwa, HI 96712
91-222 Olai St, Kapolei, H 96707

705 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96817
823 Olive Ave # 1, Wahiawa

Phone

(808) 282-3965
(808) 672-2364
(808) 306-4245
(808) 780-1489
(808) 638-3547
(808) 672-2364
(808) 306-4245
(808) 949-8544
(808) 847-1125
(808) 456-7888
(808) 330-0167
(808) 306-9687
(855) 295-4988

(866) 439-6230

(808) 457-1699

(888) 492-8654

(808) 622-4004

(808) 754-6211

(808) 455-4581

(808) 456-8697

(808) 676-4594

(808) 330-0167

(808) 622-4034

(808) 621-7834

(808) 456-4574

(808) 486-7867

(808) 593-0035

(808) 485-2222

(808) 226-1761

(808) 671-3124

(808) 783-6256

(808) 683-5555

(808) 620-0656

(808) 861-1969

(808) 668-4078

(808) 841-2305

(808) 848-7200

(808) 836-1777

(808) 690-2804

(808) 593-1993

(808) 792-3773

(808) 235-8697

(808) 239-4164

(808) 216-2364

(808) 677-6900

(808) 521-5082

(808) 621-1432

(808) 218-8916



HB-1562-HD-1
Submitted on: 2/14/2024 3:20:21 PM
Testimony for JHA on 2/16/2024 2:00:00 PM

Submitted By Organization Testifier Position Testify
| Kim Coco lwamoto || Individual || Support || In Person
Comments:

Strong Support with Additional Provisions

The news reported that the alleged driver of the vehicle that killed Sara Yara, was stopped and
cited 12 times for driving without a license in the last five years. He was convicted for only six
of those offense before the fatal incident.

Police need to be able to distinguish whether a driver has a valid license, but not on them at the
time of the stop, versus whether the driver is unlicensed; the citation needs to clearly state that
distinction. This is not about charging people who forgot their driver’s license in a different
purse or pair pants, this is about protecting the public from people who may not know how to
drive or who have been adjudicated unsafe to drive and had their licensed revoked.

When people flagrantly violate the law designed to increase safety for the community, it often
demonstrate a level of unwillingness to take responsibility and modify their behavior. While
mandatory minimums and elevated charges are ineffective deterrents of behavior, this bill
focuses on narrowing the opportunities for habitually driving while unlicensed and will result in
safer streets for all of our keiki. However, this bill can go further by adding the following
provisions:

When an officer accesses the DMV database at a traffic stop and realizes the individual was
never issued a driver’s license or had their license revoked, the police officer should not let that
unlicensed driver get back in the car and drive away. The unlicensed driver can have a licensed
driver drive the car away or have the car towed (not impounded) to a legal parking spot, until a
licensed driver can drive the car to the car owner's home.

It is our understanding that this does not happen. To our surprise the police allow the unlicensed
driver to get back in the car and drive off. The reason for this, we heard, is because there is no
law that says otherwise and/or that the police think they would need to impound the car as
evidence and they do not have the physical space to store the car. Again the car just needs to be
left in a safe, legal spot, not impounded unless the car itself is evidence to a separate crime.

Realtime records should be kept regarding ownership of a vehicle when the driver is determined
to be unlicensed and cited, available to the police and the courts. On conviction of driving while
unlicensed, the judge shall order the owner of the car that was driven to sign a statement that
affirms the following:



* they know the driver does not have a license,
« if this driver drives their car again, the owner understands they may be subject to a fine,

* upon a third conviction of guilt for driving while unlicensed by the same defendant driving this
same car - the car will be subject to asset forfeiture;

« owner knows their insurance company will be notified by the court that owner has permitted an
unlicensed driver to drive a vehicle covered by that insurance company and the insurance
company may take affirmative steps to adjust coverage or premiums.

If the car is financed by a commercial institution, it will give that institution cause to repossess
the car.

If the car is owned by another household member, the owner may be motivated to get rid of the
car by selling it or donating it. If they cannot stop their unlicensed household member from
driving their car, the owner can report the car stolen by a household member. Obviously cars
reported stolen should not be seized by asset forfeiture.



House Committee on Transportation

Re: HB 1562—

RELATING TO DRIVING WITHOUT A LICENSE
Hawaii State Capitol & Via Videoconference

February 16, 2024,

Committee Members

My name is Chevylyn Saniatan and I am here to give my Testimony as a Mom

I support with amendment

If you want to name it after my daughter Sara Yara. Please take a hard look that it was an
unlicensed driver that was behind the wheel and should not be behind the wheel.

Last year on February 15, 2023, my daughter Sara Yara, was killed by a hit and run
unlicensed driver while walking to school. My daughter was in a marked crosswalk on
Kapiolani Boulevard. I was later informed that the person who was apprehended and is
currently awaiting trial on this crime was driving the vehicle that killed my daughter
without a valid driver’s license, had over 164 driving infractions on his record, and was
actually stopped and cited for driving without a valid driver’s license in the previous
month I just do not understand why this habitual criminal was able and allowed to drive
away after being previously cited for driving without a valid license. With seeing that
amount of citations on his recorded the vehicle should have been taken away. The Bill
that is being presented has a loopholes for someone to still be able to get behind the
wheel and drive off. I am asking that you would take a close look and ask yourself if it
was you family member this happened to what would you do to fix the law, so no one has
to go through what I had to go through.

This amendment to the Highway Safety provisions of Hawaii’s law is being proposed to
rectify these gaps in enforcement and judicial proceeding by providing tangible
consequences for driving without a valid driver’s license here in Hawaii. It is my hope
and prayer that these amendments will make a person at least think twice about driving a
motor vehicle on our roads without a valid driver’s license. If the proposed amendments
saves one other person from being killed by an unlicensed driver, then my daughter will
not have died in vain and another mother will not have to go through what my family has
endured this past year. Thank you.



HB-1562-HD-1

Submitted on: 2/15/2024 9:11:46 AM
Testimony for JHA on 2/16/2024 2:00:00 PM

Submitted By Organization Testifier Position Testify
Beverly Heiser Individual Support ertteno'[ltle)s/tlmony

Comments:

Aloha Chair Tarnas, Vice Chair Takayama, and Committee Members,

| Support HB 1562 HD1.

This will keep a driver who habitually drives without a license off the road, especially those who
have had licenses revoked for driving while intoxicated or constantly driving at high rates of
speed, well above posted speed limits.

Thank you for the opportutity to testify.




LATE *Testimony submitted late may not be considered by the Committee for decision making purposes.

RE: HB1562 H.D.1

A year ago the world lost a beautiful soul when Sara Yara's life was cut short by a coward who
clearly has no regard for the law nor for life itself as he proved by not stopping to render aid and
ran away and hid instead. The loss of Sara's life is unimaginably tragic because it should never
have happened. The biggest offense of this case though, in my opinion, is the fact that this low
life was given the opportunity to get back behind the wheel of a vehicle despite it being known
that he was unlicensed. How many get out of jail free cards should any person be able to hold?

HB1562 seems to be seeking to make positive changes in light of this horrific incident. |
technically support this bill with some exceptions.

| agree that a person convicted of driving unlicensed should be subject to fines and be
imprisoned. However, | wholeheartedly believe that it should be from the very first offense.
Because without stringent and definitive consequences, | believe the violator may be
emboldened to get behind the wheel again (sfill without a license) as the repercussions they
could potentially face currently is insignificant in their eyes and therefore they will not see any
need to alter their behavior. | think they need to feel the severity of the violation directly
unburden their wallet, cause them some humiliation, and relieve them of their vehicle so they
don‘t have to worry about driving. Maybe then, perhaps, the violator might think twice before
driving a vehicle without a license.

If there is a 2nd or 3rd violation, the fine and jail time should also progressively increase and the
responsibility of their “new” set of wheels should again be taken off their shoulders.

| also take issue with Section 4. July 1, 300022 Really? Please say this was a typo and that it was
meant to read 2030. Even 2030 is far too long to make a decision that impacts public safety so
greatly. The public is already at a point where the general concensus is that politicians are not
to be trusted, that they are only looking out for themselves and not the people they were meant
to serve. | would love for the stafe (and maybe just maybe the rest of the country, too) have a
change of heart upon seeing the politicians of Hawai‘i making intelligent and concise decisions
that keep the interests of the people at the forefront.

Beyond that, | ask that you please take in the words from Sara‘s mother, Chevy Yarq, in earnest.
You have the power to potentially help heal her broken heart.

With that, | thank you for your fime.
Sincerely,

Michelle West
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