

Representative Bertrand Kobayashi Community Update

DIAMOND HEAD, KAHALA, KAIMUKI, KAPAHULU

January 2016

NEW TOBACCO PREVENTION AND CONTROL LAWS GO INTO EFFECT JANUARY 1, 2016

The Hawaii State Department of Health wants to remind the public that, effective January 1, 2016, you must be at least age 21 to buy tobacco products and electronic smoking devices (e-cigarettes) in Hawaii. Hawaii is the first state in the nation to raise the minimum age for tobacco sales to 21. A second measure, which also goes into effect on Jan. 1, incorporates e-cigarettes into Hawaii's smoke-free laws, meaning that the use of e-cigarettes is now prohibited where smoking and/or using tobacco products is already banned.

Acts 122 and 19 were passed by the State Legislature during the 2015 session and signed into law by Governor Ige. Raising the minimum age to purchase tobacco products to 21 (Act 122) is a nationally recommended strategy. In the U.S., 95 percent of adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 21. Nearly half become regular, daily smokers before age 18, and an additional 25 percent become regular, daily smokers between ages 18 and 21. The 18 to 21 year group is therefore a time when many smokers transition to regular use of cigarettes.

The use of e-cigarettes in existing smoke-free locations can expose non-smokers and vulnerable populations such as children and pregnant women to aerosolized nicotine and other toxic substances. Act 19 protects the public from unwillingly inhaling chemicals emitted by e-cigarettes that may contain nicotine and carcinogens such as formaldehyde, metals and nitrosamines.

While smoking rates have drastically decreased among Hawaii's youth and adults, there has been a recent and rapid increase in e-cigarette use. Only 5 percent of Hawaii public high school students reported trying e-cigarettes in 2011 versus 22 percent in 2014, representing a 344 percent increase in e-cigarette use in just four years. Among middle school students, e-cigarette use jumped 542 percent during the same time period, from 2 percent in 2011 to 12 percent in 2014. Adult e-cigarette use was 20 percent in 2014.

For more information about the new tobacco control laws please visit: http://health.hawaii.gov/tobacco/home/retailx/.





UNMANNED AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION (DRONES) SYSTEM GOES LIVE

The Federal Aviation Administration's (FAA) new web-based registration system for small unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) or drones, is now active. Hobbyists and recreational users who fly UAS, which include remote controlled aircraft, may register at www.faa.gov/uas/registration.

Owners must register small UAS weighing more than 0.55 pounds (250 grams) and less than 55 pounds (approx. 25 kilograms) if they are to be flown outdoors for hobby or recreation. Aircraft operated by the current owner before Dec. 21, 2015 must be registered no later than Feb. 19, 2016. For all others, registration is required prior to the first outdoor flight. Owners must provide their complete name, physical address, mailing address (if different), and a valid email address to register.

Federal law requires a \$5 registration fee that will be collected at the time of registration via credit card. To encourage speedy compliance, the FAA is making the process free for the first 30 days. (The registration website will initially charge the owner's credit card \$5, but a refund credit will appear shortly afterward.)

After completing registration, owners will receive a personal registration number. If a person owns more than one small UAS, each aircraft must be marked with that number. Any method may be used to mark the UAS, as long as the number is legible. Registrants may put the number in the battery compartment if it is easily accessible.

The FAA will immediately email a certificate containing the holder's name, registration number, and the dates of issuance and expiration. The operator must keep either a printed or electronic version of this certificate on hand for inspection as proof of registration. Registration must be renewed every three years. If assistance is needed with registration, email <u>UAShelp@faa.gov</u>.

The full rule can be viewed here: http://www.faa.gov/news/updates/media/20151213_IFR.pdf.

A Registration FAQ with answers to most common questions is at: http://www.faa.gov/uas/registration/faqs/.

