#### THE SENATE KA 'AHA KENEKOA

THE THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE INTERIM OF 2024

## COMMITTEE ON WATER AND LAND

Senator Lorraine R. Inouye, Chair Senator Brandon J.C. Elefante, Vice Chair

### COMMITTEE ON HAWAIIAN AFFAIRS

Senator Maile S.L. Shimabukuro, Chair Senator Kurt Fevella, Vice Chair

### AMENDED NOTICE OF INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

DATE: Tuesday, May 28, 2024 TIME: 1:00 p.m. PLACE: Capitol Auditorium State Capitol 415 South Beretania Street

## PHOTO ID REQUIRED FOR ENTRANCE TO THE STATE CAPITOL BUILDING HOURS: 7AM TO 5PM, MONDAY - FRIDAY

A live stream of all Senate Standing Committee meetings will be available on the Senate YouTube Channel.

# AMENDED AGENDA

Informational Briefing on Honoring Hawaiian Cultural Protocols

The following speakers will provide briefings on the role of Hawaiian cultural protocols in decision making:

- 1. Hawaiian Cultural Practitioner, Frank Kawaikapuokalani Hewitt
- 2. Hawai'i State Aha Moku Advisory Committee
- 3. Office of Hawaiian Affairs (Added on 5/28/24)

4. Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law, University of Hawai'i Richardson School of Law

- 5. The Hawaiian Royal Benevolent Societies including:
  - Royal Order of Kamehameha I
  - 'Ahahui Ka'ahumanu
  - Hale O Nā Ali'i O Hawai'i
  - Daughters and Sons of Hawaiian Warriors Māmakakaua

6. Representative of Hoʻolulu Descendants (Added on 5/28/24)

No public testimony will be accepted.

The cable TV broadcast and/or live stream of this meeting will include closed captioning. If you require other auxiliary aids or services to participate in the public hearing process (i.e., interpretive services (oral or written) or

ASL interpreter), please contact the committee clerk at least 24 hours prior to the hearing so that arrangements can be made.

**FOR AMENDED NOTICES:** Measures that have been deleted are stricken through and measures that have been added are underscored. If a measure is both underscored and stricken through, that measure has been deleted from the agenda.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CALL THE COMMITTEE CLERK AT (808) 586-8399.

Senator Maile S.L. Shimabukuro Chair Senator Lorraine R. Inouye Chair

Senator Ronald D. Kouchi President of the Senate