

Honolulu, Hawaii , 2023 MAR 24

S.B. No. 459 RE: S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Second State Legislature Regular Session of 2023 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 459, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE HYDROGEN FUELING SYSTEM SUBACCOUNT,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds out of the Hydrogen Fueling System Subaccount within the Public Utilities Commission Special Fund for the Zero-Emission Vehicle Fueling System Rebate Program.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Public Utilities Commission, Servco Pacific Inc., and Alliance for Automotive Innovation.

Your Committee finds that zero-emission vehicles play an integral role in Hawaii's clean energy future. To promote the adoption of zero-emission vehicles, Act 241, Session Laws of Hawaii 2022, established the Zero-Emission Vehicle Fueling System Rebate Program that distributes rebates for the installation of hydrogen fueling systems. This measure provides the necessary funds to facilitate that rebate program.

2023-2805 SB459 HD1 HSCR HMSO 



As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 459, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

MARK M. NAKASHIMA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-second Legislature

## HSCR 1530

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 459 SD2 HD1		e Referral: CPC, FI		* 03-21-	23
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold   Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
CPC Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. NAKASHIMA, Mark M. (C)		/			
A SANAMA Labor D (UC)					
2. SAYAMA, Jackson D. (VC)	Starting.				
3. AMATO, Terez				in the second second	
4. BELATTI, Della Au					
5. HASHEM, Mark J.	- <u></u>				
6. HUSSEY-BURDICK, Natalia					
7. GATES, Cedric Asuega					
8. LOWEN, Nicole E.	5 52				
9. ONISHI, Richard H.K.					
10. TAM, Adrian K.				·	
	2.494		- Andrea		
11. PIERICK, Elijah					
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
			ę		
TOTAL (11)		0 J	1		
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					