#### THE SENATE KA 'AHA KENEKOA

THE THIRTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE REGULAR SESSION OF 2023

## **COMMITTEE ON HOUSING**

Senator Stanley Chang, Chair Senator Dru Mamo Kanuha, Vice Chair

COMMITTEE ON WATER AND LAND

Senator Lorraine R. Inouye, Chair Senator Brandon J.C. Elefante, Vice Chair

#### COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS

Senator Angus L.K. McKelvey, Chair Senator Mike Gabbard, Vice Chair

## NOTICE OF HEARING

DATE: Tuesday, February 7, 2023 TIME: 1:15 PM PLACE: Conference Room 225 & Videoconference State Capitol 415 South Beretania Street TIMESLOT: HOU

### PHOTO ID REQUIRED FOR ENTRANCE TO THE STATE CAPITOL BUILDING HOURS: 7AM TO 5PM, MONDAY - FRIDAY

Face masks are recommended while visiting the State Capitol and may be required in some offices. Please refer to posted signage for guidance

These policies are subject to change and may be adjusted based on evolving COVID-19 guidelines. Please check the Legislature's website for updates <u>www.capitol.hawaii.gov.</u>

The Legislature is accepting <u>written</u>, <u>videoconference</u>, and <u>in-person</u> testimony at public hearings. A live stream of all Senate Standing Committee meetings will be available on the <u>Senate YouTube Channel</u>.

# <u>A G E N D A</u>

<u>SB 865</u> Status &

Testimony

RELATING TO HOUSING. Establishes the ALOHA Homes Program to develop low-cost homes on state-owned and county-owned land in urban redevelopment sites to be sold in leasehold by the Hawaii Public Housing Authority to qualified residents. Exempts certain land from the definition of public lands. Provides for the disposition of lands acquired by the Hawaii Public Housing Authority but no longer needed for the ALOHA Homes Program. Appropriates funds. HOU/WTL/GVO, WAM

Decision Making to follow, if time permits.

All testimony received by the Hawai'i Senate is posted on the Hawai'i Legislature's website, which is accessible to the public. Please do not include private information that you do not want disclosed to the public.

Please go to the Legislature's website, <u>www.capitol.hawaii.gov</u>, to submit **written testimony** at least 24 hours prior to the hearing. Create a free account on the website, or sign in to an existing account, then click on the "Participate" drop down menu and select the "Submit Testimony" option to get started. While submitting your written testimony, you will be prompted to indicate if you would also like to testify at the hearing in-person or remotely via videoconference.

Please note the following:

- The number of oral testifiers and/or time allotted to each testifier may be limited by the Chair when necessary to adhere to the committee hearing schedule. We may not be able to accommodate everyone who requests to testify orally.
- Testifiers for this hearing will be limited to 2 minutes each.

If you wish to **testify via videoconference** during the hearing, please review the detailed step-by-step instructions for testimony procedures before you submit your written testimony. Here's a direct link to the instructions: <u>https://capitol.hawaii.gov/docs/testimonyinstructions.pdf</u>

For general help navigating the committee hearing process, please contact the Public Access Room at (808) 587-0478 or <u>par@capitol.hawaii.gov</u>. You can also visit their website at <u>https://lrb.hawaii.gov/par/</u>.

For special assistance: The cable TV broadcast and/or live stream of this meeting will include closed captioning. If you require other auxiliary aids or services to participate in the public hearing process (i.e., interpretive services (oral or written) or ASL interpreter), or are unable to submit testimony via the website due to a disability, please contact the committee at HOUcommittee@capitol.hawaii.gov at least 24 hours prior to the hearing.

For amended notices: Measures that have been deleted are stricken through and measures that have been added are underscored. If a measure is both underscored and stricken through, that measure has been deleted from the agenda.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CALL THE COMMITTEE CLERK AT (808) 586-8421.

Senator Lorraine R. Inouye Chair

Senator Stanley Chang Chair

Senator Angus L.K. McKelvey Chair