STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1221

Honolulu, Hawaii , 2023 RE: S.B. No. 1534 S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Second State Legislature Regular Session of 2023 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred S.B. No. 1534, S.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TRANSPORTATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to help the State adapt to the increased adoption of new modes of transportation by:

- Replacing the \$50 annual vehicle registration surcharge fee with a mileage-based road user charge for electric vehicles beginning July 1, 2025;
- (2) Establishing a state mileage-based road usage charge of \$70;
- (3) Allowing owners of electric vehicles to choose between paying a \$70 registration surcharge in lieu of the state mileage-based road usage charge until June 30, 2028;
- (4) Requiring the Department of Transportation to develop a plan for the implementation of a state milage-based road usage charge to encompass all passenger vehicles and light duty trucks by December 31, 2033; and

2023-2504 SB1534 HD1 HSCR HMSO

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1227 Page 2

(5) Repealing the existing State Highway Safety Council and establishing a new Hawaii Highway Safety and Modernization Council.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Hawaii State Energy Office, Ulupono Initiative, Hawaii EV Association, and nine individuals. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from two individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Transportation, Tax Foundation of Hawaii, Big Island Electric Vehicle Association, Hawaii Automobile Dealers' Association, Alliance for Automotive Innovation, and two individuals.

Your Committee finds that H.B. No. 1110, H.D. 1 (Regular Session of 2023), a substantially similar measure, was previously passed by the House.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- Deleting its contents and inserting the contents of H.B. No. 1110, H.D. 1, which:
 - (A) Creates a mileage-based road usage charge for electric vehicles beginning July 1, 2025;
 - (B) Repeals the \$50 annual vehicle registration surcharge for electric vehicles;
 - Allows owners of electric vehicles a choice between paying a registration surcharge or per-mile road usage charge until 2028;
 - (D) Requires the Department of Transportation to develop a plan for the deployment of a milage-based road usage charge program to encompass all passenger vehicles and light duty trucks by December 31, 2033; and
 - (E) Makes an appropriation out of state highway revenue bond funds, to be used with available federal funds, for the initial implementation of the state mileage-based road user charge; and

2023-2504 SB1534 HD1 HSCR HMSO

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1221 Page 3

- (2) Clarifying the definition of electric vehicles as vehicles with three or more wheels;
- (3) Changing the effective date to June 30, 3000, to encourage further discussion; and
- (4) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 1534, S.D. 2, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 1534, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

CHRIS TODD, Chair

2023-2504 SB1534 HD1 HSCR HMSO

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-second Legislature

HCR 1227

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No: SD2 Committee	e Referral:	FIN Date	342	3
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. TODD, Chris (C)				
2. KILA, Darius K. (VC)				
3. AIU, Micah P.K.				
4. EVSLIN, Luke A.				
5. HASHIMOTO, Troy N.				
6. KITAGAWA, Lisa				
7. MARTEN, Lisa				
8. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
	an a			
9. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	· /			
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
		1		
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
TOTAL (9)	9			
The recommendation is: Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
CAR IN				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				