STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 03 , 2023

RE: H.B. No. 837 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Second State Legislature Regular Session of 2023 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 837, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE STATE PLAN,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Establish objectives, policies, and priority guidelines in the Hawaii State Planning Act to achieve the use of green infrastructure, vegetation, and trees in state facility systems, infrastructure, transit projects, and other areas; and
- (2) Require the Office of Planning and Sustainable Development, in partnership with the Greenhouse Gas Sequestration Task Force, to make recommendations for implementing the green infrastructure objectives, policies, and priority guidelines.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Land and Natural Resources, Hawai'i Reef and Ocean Coalition, Climate Protectors Hawai'i, and two individuals. Your Committee has received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Office of Planning and Sustainable

2023-2211 HB837 HD1 HSCR HMSO

Development, Hawai'i Climate Change Mitigation and Adaption Commission, and The Envision Action Committee of Hawaii.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 837, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

KYLE T. YAMASHITA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-second Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: HB837 HD1	Committee Referral: EEP, FIN	Date	:: 2/27/2	23
☐ The committee is reconsidering its pre				
<u></u>	, unamended (as is)	Pass, with amendments commit for future publ	` '	
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (C)				
2. KITAGAWA, Lisa (VC)	V			
3. AIU, Micah P.K.	V			
4. CHUN, Cory M.		erskospijo disskulisija v enteta i prima presentato di	20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 2	es Elizabeth Communication of the communication of
5. COCHRAN, Elle				
6. GARRETT, Andrew Takuya			nagasinis saasigatako V. A.C. 1940. (h. 197	
7. KAHALOA, Kirstin				
8. KILA, Darius K.			anarin ii sagare-ii sa	
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LAMOSAO, Rachele F.11. MORIKAWA, Dee				
12. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
13. POEPOE, Mahina				
14. TAKENOUCHI, Jenna				
15. ALCOS III, David				
16. WARD, Gene				
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
<u> </u>				
TOTAL (16)	15	D	<i>D</i>	
The recommendation is:	•	did not suppo	rt recommendation	ı.
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:	Graak Ango	wor		
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				