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 Testimony in SUPPORT of  SB3114 
RELATING TO MARRIAGE LICENSES. 

SENATOR JARRETT KEOHOKALOLE, CHAIR 
SENATE COMMITTEE ON HEALTH 

Hearing Date:  January 31, 2022 Room Number:  Videoconference 
 

Fiscal Implications:  Potential additional revenue of $100,000 for a $10 annual fee. 1 

Department Testimony:  The Department of Health (DOH) strongly supports this 2 

Administration Proposal to make the licensing fee for marriage solemnization equitable.  3 

Licenses for non-religious and non-judicial performers was authorized by Act 211, SLH 2021, 4 

however, a fee was created for secular solemnization licenses where none exists for religious and 5 

judicial licenses.  A lawsuit against the state claiming religious discrimination is likely, since one 6 

was filed in 2020 for which Act 211, SLH 2021 was the remedy. 7 

DOH's website hosts a list of over 11,000 licensed marriage and civil union performers, though 8 

many may be inactive since once listed there is no maintenance unless an individual specifically 9 

requests to be removed. 10 

The current draft repeals the fee, but the Legislature may consider establishing an equitable fee 11 

for all marriage performers, depositing funds into the vital statistics improvement special fund.  12 

Currently, DOH receives no moneys from marriage license fees and there is no revenue for 13 

religious and judicial licensees because there is no fee.  Funds would used to improve services 14 

related to the issuance of licenses to solemnize and marriage licenses. 15 

Offered Amendments:  The following amendments are recommended if the Legislature opts to 16 

establish fees across the board. 17 

     SECTION  2.  Section 338-14.6, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is 18 

amended by amending subsection (c) to read as follows: 19 
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     (c)  The fund shall consist of fees remitted pursuant to 1 

section 338-14.5[.] and section 572-11.  All realizations of the 2 

fund shall be subject to the conditions specified in subsection 3 

(b)." 4 

SECTION 3.  Section 572-11, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is 5 

amended to read as follows: 6 

     "§572-11  Marriage ceremony; license to solemnize; 7 

fees.  (a)  It shall not be lawful for any person to perform the 8 

marriage ceremony within the State without first obtaining from 9 

the department of health a license to solemnize marriages. 10 

     (b)  The fee for any license to solemnize a marriage shall 11 

be $10 per year. 12 

     (c)  The department shall keep an account of all fees 13 

collected pursuant to this section and deposit to the vital 14 

statistics improvement fund, pursuant to section 338-14.6. 15 

     (d)  The department may increase fees established pursuant 16 

to this section in accordance with chapter 91.  In establishing 17 

a fee, the amount shall be sufficient to cover the expenses of 18 

improving, maintaining, and modernizing the issuance of licenses 19 

to solemnize marriages.  The department may raise the fees up to 20 

ten per cent per year without being subject to the provisions of 21 

chapter 91." 22 

     SECTION 4.  Section 572-12 is amended by amending 23 

subsection (c) to read as follows: 24 

     "(b)  A civil license to solemnize marriages may be issued 25 

to, and the marriage rite may be performed and solemnized by, 26 
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any individual at least eighteen years of age, upon presentation 1 

to the individual of a license to marry, as prescribed by this 2 

chapter.  An individual with a civil license to solemnize a 3 

marriage may receive the price stipulated by the parties or any 4 

gratuity tendered.  [The civil license shall be valid for no 5 

less than two years from the date of its issuance; provided that 6 

a temporary three-month civil license may be issued upon an 7 

individual's request.  The fee for a civil license shall be $100 8 

per year the permit is valid; provided that the fee for a 9 

temporary three-month license shall be $25.]  An individual who 10 

performs a solemnization of a marriage pursuant to a civil 11 

license issued under this subsection shall obtain the prior 12 

written consent of each person for whom a solemnization is 13 

performed and fulfill all provisions of sections 572-13 and 14 

572-15 applicable to persons authorized to solemnize marriages." 15 

     SECTION 5.  Statutory material to be repealed is bracketed 16 

and stricken.  New statutory material is underscored. 17 

     SECTION 6.  This Act shall take effect upon its approval, 18 

provided that section 3 take effect on January 1, 2023.    19 
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