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Testimony in SUPPORT of H.B. 990 
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Fiscal Implications:  Increase in the marriage license fee will continue the support of the Hawaii 1 

Birth Defects Program and allow for the modernization of the Vital Statistics data system. 2 

Department Testimony:  The Department of Health (DOH) strongly supports H.B. 900, which 3 

is part of the Governor’s Administrative Package, to increase the marriage license fee to provide 4 

fiscal support to continue the work of the Hawaii Birth Defects Program and modernize the 5 

outdated Vital Statistics data system. 6 

As specified in HRS §321.422, the purpose of the Birth Defects Program is to collect 7 

surveillance information on birth defects and other adverse reproductive outcomes; report the 8 

incidence, trends, and causes of birth defects and other adverse reproductive outcomes; report 9 

information for the development of prevention strategies to reduce the incidence of birth defects 10 

and other adverse reproductive outcomes; and develop strategies to improve the access of 11 

children with birth defects to health and early intervention services. 12 

There are 43 states that have birth defects programs. The Hawaii Birth Defects Program is 13 

needed for the collection, analysis, and reporting of birth defects data. It is an active surveillance 14 

system in which birth defects data are directly abstracted from medical and other records at 15 

hospitals and other medical facilities statewide. It provides more complete data (birth defect rate 16 

of approximately 4% births) compared to the limited data in the birth certificate (congenital 17 

anomaly rate of less than 0.2% births). 18 

To determine which medical records to review, the program analyzes lists of diagnostic codes 19 



H.B. 990 
Page 2 of 2 

 
 

that meet the criteria to indicate a possible birth defect. The number of possible cases reviewed 1 

increased from approximately 1,000 to over 2,000 cases in the past few years. Of the cases 2 

reviewed each year, approximately 400 babies are found to have birth defects and the entire 3 

medical record needs to be reviewed. All data and diagnoses are entered into the birth defects 4 

database for analysis and reporting. The data is essential to identify and investigate factors which 5 

may cause higher rates of birth defects and to provide information to answer community 6 

concerns about birth defects in Hawaii. 7 

Increasing the marriage license fee to support the Hawaii Birth Defects Program will ensure that 8 

the program maintains its mandated responsibilities. The Birth Defects Program has been 9 

supported by a fee of $10 per marriage license since 2002 as mandated by the legislature to help 10 

support identification of risk factors that may affect adverse birth outcomes. However, the 11 

program’s salary and fringe expenses have almost doubled between 2002 and 2020. The program 12 

currently does not have sufficient funding for operating expenses. 13 

Increasing the marriage licenses fee will support the DOH system that collects the marriage 14 

license fees and the vital statistics system that issues the marriage certificates. There were over 15 

20,000 marriage licenses issued to couples in Hawaii in 2019. No portion of the current $60.00 16 

marriage license fee is retained by the DOH to maintain the statewide marriage license 17 

registration system. The current vital statistics computer system that includes the marriage 18 

license issuance and registration system is over 20 years old and needs to be modernized. Post 19 

9/11 laws like the REAL ID Act create an increased demand for marriage records to prove legal 20 

name changes for state-issued driver’s license and identification cards. Individuals must provide 21 

proof to the Departments of Motor Vehicles that the individual’s last name differs from their 22 

birth certificate’s last name due to marriage to obtain their “gold star” by October 1, 2021. 23 

An additional amount of the marriage license fee will be deposited to two spouse and child abuse 24 

special funds.  The current amount has not changed since 1998. 25 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this bill. 26 
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