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Fiscal Implications:  Potential additional reveue. 1 

Department Testimony:  The Department of Health (DOH) strongly supports this measure to 2 

establish parity for fees for licenses paid by individuals who solemnize marriage ceremonies 3 

(“performers”).  Act 211, SLH 2021, was enacted in response to a lawsuit against the State 4 

claiming discrimination againt non-religious marriage performers.  As of enactment, persons 5 

seeking non-religious and non-judicial marriage solemnization may do so after paying a fee.  6 

However, there is no statutory for religious and judicial performers that creates a new disparity. 7 

The department supports a new fee since State resources are required to process requests for 8 

licenses to solemnize marriage.  The first draft of this measure eliminates the new fee so all 9 

performers are on equal terms, though there is a $10 administrative fee to support the website 10 

hosting that does not come to the department or general fund.  This proposal was drafted in 2021 11 

when confidence in Hawaii’s economy was uncertain, but given recent projections from the 12 

Council on Revenues, as well as low unemployment and enhanced revenue collection, the 13 

department supports amendments that establish fees for all license types. 14 

Currently, there are over 11,000 performers listed on the department’s website.  Performers with 15 

local addresses are commissioned for 5 years, and those with non-local addresses are 16 

commissioned for 1 year.  Out-of-state performers may be charged a higher fee.  There are 17 

approximately 20,000 marriages per year in Hawaii and two-thirds are for out-of-state couples.  18 

Fees charged to couples for this service by performers range from $100 - $500 per ceremony, so 19 



HB2146 
Page 2 of 2 

 
 
it is not unreasonable for the State to benefit from its sanction to duly authorize marriage 1 

officiants.   2 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify. 3 

Offered Amendments:  In addition to the repeal in section 572-12(b) proposed by this measure, 4 

DOH recommends the following amendments to establish fees for all performers. 5 

     "§572-11  Marriage ceremony; license to solemnize; 6 

fees.  (a)  It shall not be lawful for any person to perform the 7 

marriage ceremony within the State without first obtaining from 8 

the department of health a license to solemnize marriages. 9 

     (b)  The fee for any license to solemnize a marriage shall 10 

be $25 per year. 11 

     (c)  The department shall keep an account of all fees 12 

collected pursuant to this section and deposit to the vital 13 

statistics improvement fund, pursuant to section 338-14.6. 14 

     (d)  The department may increase fees established pursuant 15 

to this section in accordance with chapter 91.  In establishing 16 

a fee, amount shall be sufficient to cover the expenses 17 

maintaining, improving, and modernizing the issuance of licenses 18 

to solemnize marriages.  The department may raise the fees up to 19 

ten per cent per year without being subject to the provisions of 20 

chapter 91." 21 
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