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H.B. 1690 

RELATING TO CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINTS 
 

House Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs 
 
The Department of Transportation (DOT) supports the intent of H.B. 1690, which 
amends requirements for the restraint of child passengers by requiring rear facing child 
safety seats for children less than two years of age. 
 
In order to include best practices for booster seat requirements, the DOT suggests 
amending section 291-11.5 subsections 3 and 4 to state the following: 
 

(3) If the child is four years of age or older but less than ten years of age, the 
person operating the motor vehicle shall ensure that the child is properly 
restrained in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat that meets 
federal motor vehicle safety standards at the time of its manufacture; except as 
provided in paragraph (4); and    
(4)  If the child is four years of age or older but less than ten years of age, the 
person operating the motor vehicle shall be exempt from properly restraining the 
child in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat that meets federal 
motor vehicle safety standards at the time of manufacture if the child is restrained 
by a seat belt assembly and: 
 
          (A)  Over four feet and nine inches in height; or 
 
          (B)  Over forty pounds and traveling in a motor vehicle equipped only with 
lap belts, without shoulder straps, in the back seat." 

 
Currently, 16 states require child occupants to be seated in rear facing through 2 years 
of age, and 14 states have optimal booster seat requirements that align with 
manufacture recommendations for age and height.1    
 
Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony.  

 
1 FINAL-2022-Roadmap-of-State-Highway-Safety-Laws.pdf (saferoads.org) 

https://saferoads.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/02/FINAL-2022-Roadmap-of-State-Highway-Safety-Laws.pdf
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Tuesday, February 3, 2022 at 2:00 PM  
Via Video Conference 
 
House Committee on Judiciary & Hawaiian Affairs 
 
To:  Representative Mark Nakashima, Chair 
        Representative Scot Matayoshi, Vice Chair 
 
From: Lisa Dau, MBA, BSN, RN, CPSTI 
 Coordinator, Kapi‘olani Medical Center for Women and Children 
 
Re: Testimony in Support with Recommendations of HB 1690 

Relating to Child Passenger Restraints 
 

 
My name is Lisa Dau, Certified Child Passenger Safety Instructor and the Injury 
Prevention Coordinator at Kapi‘olani Medical Center for Women and Children 
(Kapi`olani). I also represent Safe Kids Hawai‘i. Kapi‘olani is an affiliate of Hawai‘i Pacific 
Health, the state’s only maternity, newborn, and pediatric specialty hospital. It is also a 
tertiary care, medical teaching, and research facility. Specialty services for patients 
throughout Hawai‘i and the Pacific Region include intensive care for infants and children, 
24-hour emergency pediatric care, air transport, maternal-fetal medicine, and high-risk 
perinatal care. 
 
On behalf of Kapi‘olani and Safe Kids Hawai’i, we support the intent and 
respectfully request these changes to HB 1690. We fully support the portion of the bill 
that amends the requiring rear-facing child safety seats for children until 2 years of age. 
We request that the bill include the requirement for restraints raised from eight (8) years 
of age to ten (10) years of age, and remove the weight (40 pounds) exemption under 
Section 1, number 4 (B). 
 
HB 1690, with the recommended changes, would help keep children safe in motor 
vehicles from birth until they are old enough to use adult seat belts. The major change 
that HB1690 would introduce is requiring children to be properly restrained in a rear-facing 
child safety car seat that meets federal motor vehicle safety standards until they are two 
years old and increasing the age for booster seat use from eight to ten years of age.  
 
Backed by Pediatricians, Based on Science:  
 
The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) strongly recommends the use of rear-facing 
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car seats for as long as possible, typically until the age of two. Pediatricians tell us at 
this stage of development, children have a large head in proportion to their bodies, in 
addition to a neck and skeleton that are still developing. Therefore, they are vulnerable 
to head and spinal injuries in a motor vehicle crash as their neck and skeleton cannot 
support them during a crash.i Rear-facing car seats protect infants' head, neck, and 
spine by redistributing crash forces over the entire body.  
 
Furthermore, consistent with AAP research, children four years or older, but less than ten 
years of age are to be restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat. However, children 
seven to ten years of old who are over four feet and nine inches in height are exempt 
from the child safety seat or booster seat requirements if they are correctly restrained by 
a lap and shoulder seat belt assembly. 
 
Sixteen Jurisdictions Make the Change: 
 
Since the AAP adopted the new guidelines, 16 states and DC require children younger 
than two years old to be in a rear-facing child seat and 14 states have an optimal 
booster seat law.ii We hope to increase the numbers with the passage of this bill with 
the recommendations presented in this testimony. 
 
Safe Kids Worldwide Expertise: 
 
Safe Kids Worldwide is a grass roots network of more than 400 coalitions across the 
United States, including Safe Kids Hawai‘i lead by Kapi’olani Medical Center for Women 
and Children. The mission is to prevent unintentional injury among kids 19 and under, 
which is the number one killer of children. Fatalities from car crashes due to the nonuse 
or misuse of child safety restraint systems are among these preventable tragedies.  
 
One child’s life lost to a preventable injury is one too many. Together, we need to work to 
protect all children from preventable injuries, one ride at a time, and one appropriate car 
seat at a time. 
 
Thank you for the opportunity to testify. 
 

 
i American Academy of Pediatrics. Policy-Statement—Child Passenger Safety. Available at 
https://publications.aap.org/pediatrics/article/142/5/e20182460/38530/Child-Passenger-Safety  
ii Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety. 19th Annual Roadmap of State Highway Safety Laws. Available at  
https://saferoads.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/FINAL-2022-Roadmap-of-State-Highway-Safety-Laws.pdf  

https://publications.aap.org/pediatrics/article/142/5/e20182460/38530/Child-Passenger-Safety
https://saferoads.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/FINAL-2022-Roadmap-of-State-Highway-Safety-Laws.pdf


 
 

Date:  February 1, 2022 
 
TO: Representative Mark Nakashima, Chair 
        Representative Scot Matayoshi, Vice Chair 

Members of the House Committee on Judiciary and Hawaiian Affairs 
 
FR:  Keiki Injury Prevention Coalition (KIPC) 
 
RE:  HB 1690 - RELATING TO CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEMS 
Requires motor vehicle operators to ensure that children 2 years of age or younger are properly 
restrained in rear-facing child passenger restraint systems. 
 
Dear Chair Nakashima, Vice Chair Matayoshi, and members of the committee, 
 
The Keiki Injury Prevention Coalition SUPPORTS THE INTENT OF HB 1690.  However this bill does 
not go far enough to address other deficiencies in the current child restraint statute.  Injury is one of 
the leading causes of death and disability in Hawaii for all children, responsible for more deaths of 
children ages 1-17 than all other causes combined. Automobile safety has been KIPC’s major focus 
as traffic related injuries continue to be a leading cause of death and disability for Hawaii’s children 
and youth.   
 
KIPC’s mission is to prevent and reduce injuries to children in Hawaii. With the help of our 
members, community partners, and volunteers we have made major strides in improving vehicle 
occupant protection for children in our state. Child Car Seat Inspection Stations and community 
events statewide offer hands-on or virtual education free of charge 
 
We support requiring children to ride rear facing as long as possible and at least until age 
two years. The American Academy of Pediatrics “recommends that all children ride in a rear-facing 
car safety seat as long as possible, up to the manufacturer’s stated weight and length limits. 
Currently, no manufacturer allows for any child under 12 months to ride forward-facing, and several 
require all children under 2 years to ride rear-facing.”  If enacted, Hawai'i will join 16 other states and 
the District of Columbia in adopting this national standard to protect the most vulnerable motor 
vehicle passengers. 
 
The rear facing position protects the child’s brain and spinal cord, which are the body parts most 
prone to devastating and permanent injuries in the case of trauma. Infants’ and small children’s 
heads are larger and heavier in proportion to their bodies. This can cause significant injury to 
the neck and spine when crash forces are applied to them. Rear facing car seats spread crash 
forces over the whole area of a child's back, head, and neck, protecting the spinal cord from 
snapping and leading to death or permanent severe injury. 
 
We are concerned about other outdated and dangerous parts of the child restraint statute 
that also need updating.  These are addressed in SB 152, passed by the Senate Committee on 
Judiciary January 27, 2022, and HB 1090, passed by the House in 2021, and by the Senate 
Committee on Transportation in March, 2021.  Updates addressed in the preceding bills include 
raising the age for a child to remain in a booster seat until age 10 (with exceptions for taller children), 
and removing exemptions for children over 40 pounds or for vehicles without enough restraints for all 
passengers.  There is never an acceptable reason to not restrain a child in a motor vehicle. 
Everyone should always be properly restrained in a child restraint, booster seat, or seat belt as 
appropriate for their age, weight, and height. 
. 
Thank you for the opportunity to provide this testimony. 
 
 
Karen Tessier, PhD, RN, CPSTI 
Child Passenger Safety Program Coordinator 
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