

HAWAII STATE LEGISLATURE STATE CAPITOL 415 SOUTH BERETANIA STREET HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813

NEWS RELEASE

For immediate release March 12, 2015 Media Contact (House): Carolyn Tanaka Office: 808-586-6133 Cell: 808-381-7752 Media Contact (Senate): Jill Kuramoto Office: 808-586-6261

LEGISLATURE TO KICK OFF 2015 EDUCATION WEEK *Ceremonies to honor students, teachers and school officials for excellence*

Honolulu, Hawaii - The State Legislature will recognize students, teachers and school administrators during presentation ceremonies at the State Capitol over four days next week (March 17-20). Lawmakers have set aside Education Week for the past few years to honor excellence in teaching and campus leadership as well as student achievements in academics and community service.

Co-sponsors of the week's events are Senator Michelle Kidani, Chair of the Senate Committee on Education, and Representative Roy Takumi, House Education Committee Chair.

"Nearly every day we hear about the outstanding accomplishments of students and teachers in our public schools," Senator Kidani said. "They deserve public recognition for their work. This is a very inspiring week for all of us at the Capitol."

Representative Takumi added, "Just last week we learned that Hawaii is one of only a handful of states that earned the highest marks for progress on reforms. The students and teachers we recognize during Education Week are perfect examples of the excellence we are striving to support."

This year's honorees will be recognized with congratulatory certificates from both the Senate and House. The ceremonies are open to the public with gallery seating available in both Chambers. The Senate convenes at 11:30 a.m. each day; the House convenes at noon.

The following is a schedule of events and awardees for Education Week:

Tuesday, March 17 (Ceremonies in the Senate, followed by the House)

Hawaii's 2015 Teachers of the Year

- State Teacher of the Year and Honolulu District Teacher of the Year Catherine Caine, Waikiki Elementary
- Central District Jamie Takamura, Red Hill Elementary
- Leeward District Masaru Uchino, Momilani Elementary
- Windward District Elizabeth Frilles, Olomana School
- Hawaii Island District David Huitt, Kealakehe High
- Maui District Richard Arase, Maui Waena Intermediate
- Kauai District Mary Madayag, Kalaheo Elementary

Prudential Community Spirit Awards

- Alexandra Skrocki, Radford High School
- Kaytlen Akau, Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School
- Jasmine Doan, Seabury Hall School
- Jillian Madanay, Lutheran High School

Wednesday, March 19

2015 Hawaii High School Division 1 Soccer State Champions (Senate Only)

- Boys Varsity Soccer, Mililani High School
- Girls Varsity Soccer, Mililani High School

Oahu Interscholastic Association Division 1 Soccer Coach of the Year (Senate Only)

- Steve McGehee, Mililani High School Boys Varsity Soccer
- Ray Akiona, Mililani High School Girls Varsity Soccer

Thursday, March 19 (Senate, followed by House)

2014 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award

• Ed Oshiro, Ewa Makai Middle School

Public and School Libraries

- Librarian of the Year Baron Baroza, Aiea Public Library
- Librarian Excellence in Service Don Ramos, Kahuku Public and School Library

2015 Milken Foundation Educator

• Jana Fukada, Mililani Uka Elementary School

2014 Milken Foundation Teacher of Promise

• Ryan Kagami, Kailua Intermediate School

Friday, March 20 (Senate, followed by House)

Hawaii Association of Secondary School Administrators

- High School Principal of the Year Keith Hayashi, Waipahu High School
- Middle School Principal of the Year Elynne Chung, Mililani Middle School
- Elementary School Assistant Principal of the Year Jacque Shaner, Kaneohe Elementary

2014 National Distinguished Principal of the Year

• Duwayne Abe, Salt Lake Elementary

2014 Voya Unsung hero

• Jason-Dettweiler Pavia, Kaiulani Elementary

Hawaii's 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools

- Ernest Bowen deSilva Elementary School, Principal Dennis O'Brien
- Haleiwa Elementary School, Principal Malaea Wetzel
- Red Hill Elementary School, Principal Mona Smoot

Hawaii: Next 50 Statewide Contest Winners (House Only)

- Dallas Kuba, Manoa Elementary, Grades 4-5 Essay
- Teyshaun Rosales, Lanakila Elementary, Grades 4-5 Visual Arts
- Lindsey Millerd, Waipahu Intermediate, Grades 6-8 Essay
- Bryson Manuel, Waipahu Intermediate, Grades 6-8 Visual Arts
- Kiani Nishimoto, Waiakea High School, Grades 9-12 Essay
- Kaydee Rapozo, Waiakea High School, Grades 9-12 Visual Arts

Note: Additional information for the awards are hyperlinked to the respective headings.

###

For more information, please contact:

House of Representatives

Representative Roy Takumi 808-586-6170

Senate

Senator Michelle Kidani 808-586-7100