STAND. COM. REP. NO. 970 -22

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 08 , 2022

RE: S.B. No. 2946

S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2946, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO IRRIGATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds to the Department of Agriculture to maintain and improve the Peekauai Ditch Irrigation System, also known as Menehune Ditch, on the island of Kauai.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Office of Economic Development of the County of Kauai; Larry Jefts Farms, LLC; Hawai'i Farm Bureau; Kekaha Agriculture Association; Hawaii Cattlemen's Council, Inc.; Land Use Research Foundation of Hawaii; Ulupono Initiative; Local Food Coalition; and eight individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Agriculture and Department of Budget and Finance.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to July 1, 2022.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your

2022-2804 SB2946 HD1 HSCR HMSO

Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2946, S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 2946, S.D. 1, H.D. 1.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

	ittee Referral:	Date:	1-22	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.			<u> </u>	
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	14			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				