STAND. COM. REP. NO. **1307** -22

, 2022

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 0.7

RE: S.B. No. 2597

S.D. 1 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2597, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO LOAN REPAYMENT FOR HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds for the Hawaii State Loan Repayment Program administered through the John A. Burns School of Medicine, subject to a matching funds requirement.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Health, John A. Burns of School Medicine at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, Healthcare Association of Hawaii, Hawai'i Primary Care Association, Hawai'i State Rural Health Association, Hawai'i Pacific Health, Hawaii Medical Association, Hawai'i Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians, The Queen's Health Systems, and Hawaii Psychiatric Medical Association. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Budget and Finance, Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, and Hawai'i State Center for Nursing.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2597, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,



State of Hawaii

House of Representatives
The Thirty-first Legislature

HSCR 1862-22

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 2597 SDI HDI	Committee Referral: HHH/HET, 1	=1N Date;	-1-22	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana			-	
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				,
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
			·	
TOTAL (15)	12			3
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. commendation				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				