STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1959-22

Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 08' 2022

RE: S.B. No. 2283

S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2283, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE HAWAII HYDROGEN STRATEGIC PLAN,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to require the Hawaii Natural Energy Institute to:

- (1) Conduct a study to examine the potential for renewable hydrogen production and use in the State and the potential role renewable hydrogen could play in the State energy system and economy; and
- (2) Submit a report of its findings and recommendations, including any proposed legislation, from the study to the Legislature prior to the Regular Session of 2024.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Ulupono Initiative, Servco, Hawaii Hydrogen Alliance, Hawaii Gas, Hawaii Automobile Dealers' Association, Alliance for Automotive Innovation, and three individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Hawaii State Energy

Office, Hawai'i Natural Energy Institute, and Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2283, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

HSCR 1959-22

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 2293 SD2 HD1 EE	Referral: Date: 4-5-22			
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)	/			
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana	1		,	
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				·
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina	/			
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
TOTAL (15)	12			3
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. Committee acronym(s) Committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				