STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1790-22

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2022

APR 07

RE: S.B. No. 2274

S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2274, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE CENTER FOR NURSING,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Require all nursing license applicants to respond to the Center for Nursing workforce supply survey in conjunction with license renewal, without penalizing them for failure to do so; and
- (2) Increase the additional Center for Nursing fee from \$40 to \$60 per licensing biennium.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Hawai'i-American Nurses Association, The Queen's Health Systems, and three individuals. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the University of Hawai'i at Manoa Nancy Atmospera-Walch School of Nursing, Board of Nursing, Hawai'i State Center for Nursing, and Hawaii Association of Nurse Anesthetists.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your

2022-2842 SB2274 HD1 HSCR HMSO



Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2274, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

HSCR 1790-22

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

SB 2274 SD2 HD1 HHF	t, CPC, FI	N Date:	4-1-22	2
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				<u> </u>
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.		·		
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob	***************************************			
			.	
TOTAL (15)	12			3
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				