STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1514-22

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 3 1 ' 2022

RE: H.R. No. 47

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred H.R. No. 47 entitled:

"HOUSE RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE GOVERNOR TO ENDORSE THE NEW PLASTICS ECONOMY GLOBAL COMMITMENT AND THE OFFICE OF PLANNING AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT TO SET TARGETS TO FULFILL THE NEW PLASTICS ECONOMY GLOBAL COMMITMENT,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request:

- (1) The Governor to endorse the Ellen MacArthur Foundation and the United Nations Environment Programme's New Plastics Economy Global Commitment; and
- (2) The Office of Planning and Sustainable Development to set targets to fulfill the New Plastics Economy Global Commitment.

Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual.

Your Committee finds that the wasteful use of plastics continues to threaten the State's health and environment. Adoption of the New Plastics Economy Global Commitment would reduce reliance on single-plastic products and limit the

2022-2671 HR47 HSCR HMSO

production of plastic waste, propelling the State toward greater sustainability.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.R. No. 47 and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection,

NICOLE E. LOWEN, Chair



Record of Votes of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:			a
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: ✓ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EEP Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LOWEN, Nicole E. (C)				
2. MARTEN, Lisa (VC)				
3. HASHEM, Mark J.				
J. HASHEW, Walk J.				
4. MATAYOSHI, Scot Z.				
5. PERRUSO, Amy A.			atua au la composition de la composition della c	
6. TODD, Chris				
7. TOKIOKA, James Kunane			wan ali lalaka da Aribarti.	e n i de se dimental cardia e della
8. MATSUMOTO, Lauren		ttati atau whate a See attau angud ya ya ya see a sa s		an etti mitmi San Timia om intin in ei man om Se est milita
TOTAL (8)	8		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, committee acronym(s) Adopted did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				