STAND. COM. REP. NO. 337 -22

Honolulu, Hawaii

MAR 04 , 2022

RE: H.B. No. 1577 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2022 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 1577, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE KAHO'OLAWE ISLAND RESERVE COMMISSION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to appropriate funds to the Department of Land and Natural Resources for the Kahoʻolawe Island Reserve Commission and to fund two full-time equivalent permanent positions for the Commission.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Kahoʻolawe Island Reserve Commission, one member of the Maui County Council, Pacific American Foundation, Ke Kai O Kuloloiʻa, and numerous individuals. Your Committee received testimony in opposition to this measure from one individual. Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Department of Budget and Finance.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1577, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 867 -22 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 1577 HD1 WAL				
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold  Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)		* : * 11		
2. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (VC)				
3. BRANCO, Patrick Pihana				
4. ELI, Stacelynn K.M.				
5. HOLT, Daniel				
6. ILAGAN, Greggor				
7. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
8. MARTEN, Lisa				
9. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				-
10. PERRUSO, Amy A.				
11. SAYAMA, Jackson D.				
12. TAM, Adrian K.				
13. TODD, Chris				
14. WILDBERGER, Tina				
15. McDERMOTT, Bob				
			1	
TOTAL (15)	14			
The recommendation is:  ☐ Adopted ☐ Not Adopted  If joint referral, did not support recommendation.  committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Diplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				