MAR 1 2 2021

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

URGING THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS TO FORGIVE THE STATE'S OUTSTANDING FEDERAL UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE LOAN BALANCE FOR FEDERAL LOANS BORROWED TO CONTINUE TO PAY FOR UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS.

WHEREAS, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and massive unemployment across the country, states have depleted their unemployment benefit trust funds, and some have borrowed money through federal loans from the United States Treasury to continue paying unemployment benefits; and 5 7 WHEREAS, according to data from the United States Treasury, Hawaii has the eighth largest unemployment benefit payout debt 8 owed to the federal government of any state, totaling \$700,700,000 as of January 2020; and 10 11 WHEREAS, currently states have approximately two years to 12 repay the federal loans for continued unemployment benefit 13 payouts; and 14 15 WHEREAS, after two years, the federal portion of 16 unemployment taxes will automatically increase each year for 17 businesses in the State until the debt is repaid; and 18 19 WHEREAS, to date, there is no national plan in place to 20 extend the interest-free treatment, timeline, or forgive these 21 loans; and 22 23 WHEREAS, as of December 2020, the State has the highest 24 rate of unemployment in the country at 9.3 percent; and 25 26 27 WHEREAS, the State may need to further borrow federal money to pay for unemployment benefits; now, therefore,

## S.C.R. NO. 148

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Thirty-first Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2021, the House of Representatives concurring, that the United States Congress is urged to:

(1) Forgive the State's outstanding federal unemployment insurance loan balance for federal loans borrowed to continue to pay for unemployment benefits; and

(2) Not penalize states for any debts acquired due to emergency COVID-19 related funding; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this Concurrent Resolution be transmitted to the President Pro Tempore of the United States Senate, Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and all members of the Hawaii Congressional Delegation.

OFFERED BY:

