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On the following measure:
H.B. 439, RELATING TO THE RESIDENTIAL LANDLORD-TENANT CODE
Chair Johanson and Members of the Committee:

My name is Stephen H. Levins, and | am the Executive Director of the
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs’ (Department) Office of Consumer
Protection (OCP). The Department supports this bill.

The purposes of this bill are to: (1) prohibit landlords from recovering possession
of dwelling units from tenants if habitability of premises is significantly impaired; (2) set a
tenant’s liability for rent if habitability of premises is significantly impaired; and (3)
specifies that the damages for retaliatory evictions are equal to two months’ rent or free
occupancy for two months.

The Landlord-Tenant Information Center is staffed by OCP investigators and
volunteers who provide landlords and tenants with information regarding landlord-tenant
laws to help them resolve disputes relating to security deposits, late fees, and repairs.
The most common complaint the center receives from tenants is a landlord failing to

make repairs in a timely manner. While it is unclear if this failure would result in a
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dwelling unit becoming uninhabitable, this bill will incentivize landlords to keep their
rental unit safe and sanitary.

Under Hawaii law, a tenant has the legal right to request necessary repairs
without being evicted. If the landlord does not respond to the tenant’s written repair
request within 12 business days, the tenant can deduct up to $500 from the following
month’s rent for the cost of repairs. However, the cost to repair conditions that
materially affect health and safety can exceed $500, leaving the tenant with limited
recourse to address, for example, an unsanitary plumbing or a dangerous electrical
issue.

Section 3 of this measure establishes a clear standard of damages for tenants
who fall victim to retaliatory evictions. Other states, like California, already have
minimum damages for tenants who were illegally retaliated against for asserting their
lawful rights. In this regard, two months’ rent plus court costs represents a reasonable
figure, especially when compared to damage claims under current landlord-tenant law.
An unlawful eviction is treated in the same manner as an illegal lockout, which provides
for damages in an “amount equal to two months’ rent” for victimized tenants?. In view of
the foregoing, establishing statutory minimum damages for tenants will be in the
interests of justice and will deter unscrupulous landlords from engaging in unlawful
conduct.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this bill.

1 Hawaii Revised Statutes section 521-63.
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POSITION: Support.

RATIONALE: Imua Alliance supports HB 439, relating to the protection of tenants, which prohibits
landlords from recovering possession of a dwelling unit from tenants if habitability of the premises
is significantly impaired; sets a tenant's liability for rent if habitability of the premises is significantly
impaired; and specifies that the damages for retaliatory evictions are equal to two months' rent or

free occupancy for two months.

Hawai’i is facing a looming eviction crisis. During COVID-19, unemployment skyrocketed to levels
not seen since the Great Depression. A recent study found that our state is experiencing the
slowest unemployment rate recovery in the nation, moreover, with our rate hovering at
approximately 9 percent in December. Thousands of people who haven't lost their jobs have
instead seen their employment hours and earnings slashed, as the economic downturn lingered
throughout 2020 and into the new year.

Financial precarity has become the norm for many families, who are unable to pay their full rent
and have accumulated rental debts. Currently, the state’s eviction moratorium protects these
families from being removed from their homes. Yet, the eviction moratorium will eventually expire
as the public health emergency passes, leaving thousands of people at risk of losing their housing.

Retaliatory evictions are a real threat for renters who’ve been harmed by the recession and

Kris Coffield, Executive Director - (808) 679-7454 - kris@imuaalliance.org




are navigating a path back to financial and housing security, especially low-income

families who are relying on expiring rental subsidies to survive.

Today, our state’s ongoing lack of affordable housing exacerbates the economic insecurity

suffered by local families, which sex traffickers use to prey upon potential victims with

false promises of financial stability and prosperity. Hawai'i residents face the highest housing

costs in the nation, at more than twice the national average. Researchers who authored the
National Low Income Housing Coalition’s Out of Reach 2020 report found that a full-time worker
would need to earn $38.76/hour to afford a two-bedroom apartment at fair market value in our
state, with Honolulu experiencing a 67 percent increase in fair market rent between 2005 and
2015. Average rent for a two-bedroom unit surpassed $2,000 in recent years, with minimum wage
workers needing to log 117 hours per week to afford a modest one-bedroom apartment at fair
market value and 153 hours per week to afford a two-bedroom—a number that is equivalent to
working over 20 hours a day with no days off year-round. In the past five years alone, Honolulu
rent has increased by more than 25 percent. While 42 percent of Hawai'i residents are renters (a
number that does not include individuals and families renting outside of the regulated rental
market), they earn an average wage of $17.17/hour, according to NLIHC, scarcely enough to

meet their basic needs.

One out of every four households in Hawai'i report that they are “doubling up” or are three
paychecks or less away from being homeless, per the Hawai'i Appleseed Center for Law and
Economic Justice. Additionally, over 60 percent of households are severely cost-burdened,
following NLIHC data, meaning that they pay more than 30 percent of their income for housing
costs, a number that rises to over 80 percent of extremely low-income households, with only 74
homes available for every 100 households earning 80 percent of their respective area’s median

income.

Unsurprisingly, our state is now experiencing population decline. Hawai'i saw domestic out-
migration increase for a third consecutive year in 2019, as the state’s high cost of living continued
to push people to the mainland. Census estimates show that our state’s population dropped by
8,866 people from July 2019 to July 2020, when births, deaths, and migration were accounted for.

That population drop is nearly double the loss seen in 201, when Hawai'i one of just ten states in




the country to lose population, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. People are simply being

priced out of paradise.

Without question, Hawai'i’s lack of affordable housing exacerbates our state’s homelessness
crisis. In a recently released report, Chief Medical Examiner Dr. Masahiko Kobayashi said that
127 people who were considered homeless at the time of their deaths died on O’ahu in 2019, up

from 120 deaths in 2018 and an increase of 46 percent from 2017 (87 deaths).

Furthermore, over 30 percent of juvenile arrests in Hawai'i are for running away from home, the
highest proportion in the nation. Nationally, one in seven young people between the ages of 10
and 18 will run away. Approximately 75 percent of runaways are female, while 46 percent of
runaway and homeless youth report being physically abused, 38 percent report being emotionally
abused, and 17 percent report being forced into unwanted sexual activity by a family or household

member, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Roughly 30 percent of runaway children will be approached for sexual exploitation within 48 hours
of being on the run, according to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, with over
80 percent being approached for the commercial sex trade during the course of their time on
streets. A federal study found that an estimated 38,600 runaway youth have been sexually
assaulted, in the company of someone known to be sexually abusive, or engaged in sexual activity

in exchange for money, food, or shelter.

Runaways are perceived as easy targets for sex traffickers because they lack stable shelter, a
supportive environment, and financial resources, placing them at greater risk of forced prostitution
and sexual servitude. Traffickers exploit our limited number of available shelter beds to lure young
people into exploitation. As the homeless childcare provider Covenant House observes, traffickers
tell homeless youth that shelters are full and ask, “Where are you going to go? Why don’t you
come with me? I'll take care of you.” Coupled with threats of and actual physical and sexual
violence against the victims or their families, these coercive techniques compel runaway youth to

remain enslaved.




LGBTQ youth, who comprise an estimated 40 percent of the runaway and homeless youth
population in the United States, are exponentially more likely to fall prey to human traffickers
because of discrimination, family and community trauma, and a longing for comfort and
acceptance (an estimated 26 percent of LGBTQ adolescents are rejected by their families and
put out of their homes simply for being open and honest about who they are). In providing care

for victims of human trafficking, we have heard their stories hundreds of times.

We cannot continue to allow the islands to be used as a private Monopoly board for real estate
speculators. To ensure that our islands are affordable for ourselves and future generations, we
must take bold action now to increase our affordable housing supply for working families and
ensure that low-income families who are participating in our state’s rental market—and who are

often Native Hawaiian, Micronesian, Pacific Islander, or other people of color—do not face

retaliation as a result of economic hardship.
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February 10, 2021

The Honorable Aaron Ling Johanson, Chair
House Committee on Consumer Protection and Commerce
Via Videoconference

RE: House Bill 439, Relating to Protection of Tenants
HEARING: Wednesday, February 10, 2021, at 2:00 p.m.

Aloha Chair Johanson, Vice Chair Kitagawa, and Members of the Committee,

I am Peter Davis, Chair of the Government Affairs Committee, testifying on behalf of the
Hawai‘i Association of REALTORS® (“HAR”), the voice of real estate in Hawai‘i, and its
over 10,000 members. HAR strongly opposes H.B. 439, which prohibits landlords from
recovering possession of a dwelling unit from tenants if habitability of the premises is
significantly impaired. Sets a tenant's liability for rent if habitability of the premises is
significantly impaired. Specifies that the damages for retaliatory evictions are equal to two
months' rent or free occupancy for two months.

Tenant Remedies for Habitability Already Covered Under the Law:

Under the Landlord-Tenant Code, Hawai‘i Revised Statutes (HRS) §521, it imposes strict
habitability obligations upon landlords and clear remedies for tenants for failure to properly
maintain a rental unit or for engaging in improper retaliation evictions.

Regarding repairs and landlord obligations to maintain habitability of a unit and tenant
remedies, the Code provides the following:

Landlord Obligations / Tenant Remedies
e HRS §521-64(c) and (d). Emergency repairs must be initiated within 3 business
days. If landlord fails to repair the unit, tenant may perform repairs and provide
landlord with receipts and deduct up to $500 from the next month’s rent.

e HRS § 521-64(a) and (b). Repairs for law, code or ordinance violations must be
initiated within 5 business days. If landlord fails to repair unit, tenant may perform
repairs and provide landlord with receipts and deduct up to $500 or one month's rent,
whichever is greater.

e HRS §521-64(c). General repairs must be initiated within 12 business days. If
landlord fails to repair unit, tenant may perform repairs and provide landlord with
receipts and deduct up to $500 from next month's rent.

REALTOR® is a registered collective membership mark which may be used only by real estate professionals @
who are members of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® and subscribe to its strict Code of Ethics.
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Additionally, under HRS §521-42, a landlord has a duty to supply and maintain a fit

premises at all times during the tenancy, which includes the following under subsection (a):
1. Complying with all applicable building and housing laws materially affecting health

and safety.

Keeping the common areas of a multi-dwelling unit clean and safe

Making all repairs to keep the unit in a livable condition.

Maintaining electrical, plumbing and other facilities in good working order.

Providing garbage bins and frequent waste removal.

Providing running water.

IR

Also, under HRS §521-74, a landlord is prohibited from doing a retaliatory eviction and rent
increase if a tenant in good faith requested repairs or complained in good faith to a
governmental agency concerned with landlord-tenant disputes or to the landlord directly.

If a landlord violates this section, a tenant can recover damages, legal costs and reasonable
attorney fees.

Due Process Concerns:

This measure, allows tenants to unilaterally assert that their unit is "significantly impaired".
There is no provision for an owner to dispute or seek impartial review of whether "significant
impairment" has occurred. Moreover, if the tenant caused the unit to become uninhabitable,
there is no opportunity for the landlord to assert that defense.

Additional Concerns with the Measure:
Additionally, significantly impaired is not defined and subjective and could open the door to
abuse.

Furthermore, if a unit does become uninhabitable and a tenant cannot be temporarily removed
from the dwelling to conduct repairs, there would be no recourse for a property owner to fix
the damaged unit.

Based on existing law regarding landlord obligations and tenant remedies, this measure does
not seem necessary. Furthermore, existing law seems to sufficiently cover damages for
retaliatory evictions and habitability of a unit.

For the foregoing reasons, we respectfully request that this measure be held.

Mahalo for the opportunity to testify on this measure.

REALTOR® is a registered collective membership mark which may be used only by real estate professionals @
who are members of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® and subscribe to its strict Code of Ethics.
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Re:  H.B. 439 (Relating To The Protection Of Tenants)
Hearing Date/Time: February 10, 2021 2:00 p.m,

This testimony is submitted on behalf of the Collection
Law Section (“CLS”) of the Hawaii State Bar Association.
The CLS is a division of the Hawaii State Bar Association and
is comprised of attorneys who handle, among other things,
summary possession and eviction proceedings for both
commercial and residential properties.

The CLS opposes this Bill.

This Bill seeks to provide additional safeguards to
tenants against landlords who do not comply with their
obligations by: (1) prohibiting landlords from recovering
possession of dwelling units if habitability of the premises is
significantly impaired; (2) limit the tenant’s liability for rent to
fair market value of the premises, during periods when
habitability of the premises remains significantly impaired;
and (3) set the amount of damages recoverable by tenants who
have been evicted in retaliation for complaining about
impaired habitability at an amount equal to two months rent,
plus attorneys fees and costs.

By prohibiting landlords from recovering possession,
and excusing tenants from liability for rent if habitability is
significantly impaired, H.B. 439 provides an incentive to
tenants to cause the premises to fall into a state of
uninhabitability.



Tenants could avoid liability for rent by themselves creating conditions to impair the
habitability of the premises. Even if tenants do not actively engage in acts to destroy habitability,
the habitability could be impaired simply by the tenant refusing to allow the Landlord access to be
able to make the necessary repairs. Property managers frequently receive complaints from tenants
who do not want to take off work, to allow access for repairmen, or simply view entry as an
unwanted intrusion into their personal lives. In this regard, the amendments proposed by SB 35
are unfair because it seeks to penalize landlords but fails to take into account the reasons for
habitability of the premises becoming impaired.

By prohibiting recovery of the premises where there is significant impairment of
habitability, the HB 439 proposed amendments also impede the ability of the Landlord to make
necessary repairs, and encourages tenants to continue to live in unsafe housing. If habitability of
the premises is significantly impaired, it is in the tenants’ interests to vacate to allow necessary
repairs to proceed. If passed, the amendments instead would provide a financial incentive for
tenants to simply continue to live in the very conditions that compromise habitability.

HB 439 is also objectionable in that it fails to provide guidance as to what conditions would
meet the standard of significant impairment of habitability, and does not make the proposed
remedies for tenants unavailable if tenant has failed to comply with his obligation to notify landlord
of defective conditions on the premises in a timely manner. Although Hawaii Revised Statutes
Section 521-55 obligates a tenant to notify his landlord of any defective condition of the premises
that the landlord is obligated to repair “as soon as practicable”, tenants do not always comply with
their duty to report to landlord. It is unknown whether the failure to report is out of fear that it will
cause their rent to be increased, or because tenants do not want to have to then allow access, and
live through ongoing repairs to the unit. Whatever the reason, it is not uncommon for property
managers to find themselves doing catchup maintenance between vacancies because tenants do
not timely report conditions needing repair or maintenance.

The Hawaii Landlord-Tenant Code already provides protections to tenants for unsafe
conditions in a rental unit. Namely, Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 521-64 obligates the
landlord, upon written notification from the health department or other governmental agency, that
there exists a condition on the premises which constitutes a health or safety violation, to commence
repairs within 5 business days of notification, unless there are extenuating circumstances which
prevent the repairs from commencing within 5 business days. In addition, with regard to “minor”
defects, the tenant is allowed to arrange for repairs himself and deduct the expense, up to a
maximum amount of $500 or one month’s rent, whichever is greater.

The amendments proposed by HB 439 are unnecessary because there are already remedies
available to tenants to get necessary repairs made. Additionally, if enacted, HB 439 may have the
opposite intended effect, of safeguarding tenants, because even when habitability is significantly
repaired, Landlords would have to arrange for repairs to be carried out while the tenants remain
in possession.



Accordingly, we ask that your Committee “hold” this Bill and not pass it.

Thank you for considering our testimony.

L Cores—

ANN CORREA, ESQ.
Attorney for Collection
Law Section

The comments and recommendations submitted reflect the position/viewpoint of the Collection
Law Section of the Hawaii State Bar Association only. The position/viewpoint has not been
reviewed or approved by the HSBA Board of Directors.



DAVID W.H. CHEE

Attorney at Law

1001 Bishop Street
David W H. Chee ASB Tower, Suite 585 Christine S. Prepose-Kamihara
Telephone:808-539-1150 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 Telephone:808-784-4963
Email: dchee@dcheelaw.com Facsimile No. 808-208-8689 Email: cprepose@dcheelaw.com

FEBRUARY 9, 2021

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE
Rep. Aaron Ling Johanson,
Chair Rep. Lisa Kitagawa, Vice Chair

Re: H.B. No.439 - RELATING TO THE PROTECTION OF TENANTS

Dear Representatives:

[ am an attorney who practices in the field of landlord/tenant law, including residential matters.
I have over 28 years’ experience in the area and my clients manage over 10,000 residential
dwellings across the State of Hawaii. I am writing regarding the above-referenced bill.

L The Bill Should Be Amended To Prevent Continuation of Unsafe Living Conditions

The proposed bill gives a landlord an incentive to fix their properties quickly since the law will
allow a tenant to pay less rent when a unit has a habitability problem. Unfortunately, this can
provide an incentive to a tenant to keep the rent low by preventing a landlord from restoring the
property to a habitable condition. During an economic crises, this incentive must not be
overlooked.

Some tenants are simply willing to live in defective or dangerous conditions if they can get a
discount on their rent. The predictable result of this legislation will be that some tenants
may actively prevent a landlord from repairing defective conditions to keep their rent low.
Sometimes, getting a tenant to cooperate to allow a landlord to make repairs can be difficult.

For example, I have seen tenants refuse to move out of a unit temporarily after a kitchen fire,
even after the water damage caused black mold. In that instance, repairs to the unit were
delayed - and the tenant’s health threatened - because the tenants simply refused to move.

Under this bill, the tenant would receive financial benefits from living in a hazardous
environment and frustrating the landlord’s efforts to repair the premises. We should not
incentivize our community members to trade health and well-being for lower rent.

Since we want landlords to maintain and repair the homes they rent out the legislature should
not erect barriers to that end. To avoid delays in restoring habitability, and to assist landlords
who wish to restore their rental properties as soon as possible, please consider changing the
amendment as follows (at page 6, line 4):


mailto:dchee@dcheelaw.com
mailto:cprepose@dcheelaw.com

(1) No action or proceeding to recover possession of the dwelling unit may be
maintained against the tenant, nor shall the landlord otherwise cause the tenant
to be removed from the dwelling unit involuntarily; provided that:

(A) The tenant cooperates with the landlord to allow for the
restoration of the premises to a habitable condition and continues to
pay rent equal to the fair rental value of the premises or the agreed upon
rent, whichever is less; and

(B) The landlord's ability to recover possession of the unit is restored
upon:

(i) Termination of the rental agreement in accordance with law or
terms of the agreement; or

(ii) Restoration of the premises to a habitable condition,
whichever comes first; and

(2) The tenant's liability for rent, from the date of significant impairment, shall
not exceed the fair rental value of the premises.

Making this small change will encourage everyone to cooperate in the restoration of habitability
to any apartment that has been affected.

2. The Bill is Unclear

The amendment, at section (c) (page 5 lines 17-19) includes the phrase, “significant impairment
of the habitability of the premises” to trigger the applicability of the bill's substantive changes.
HRS 521-8 defines the term “premises” as: “a dwelling unit, appurtenances thereto, grounds, and
facilities held out for the use of tenants generally and any other area or facility whose use is
promised to the tenant.” Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 521-8.

The broad definition of the term “premises” could cause the law to be triggered when, for
example, the rental community’s pool, gym, or parking lot were closed for repairs. Arguably,
when the Governor’s and Mayor’s emergency orders closed pools and gyms because of the
pandemic, those facilities were not “habitable” for the duration of the temporary government
closure, and this statutory language may apply.

Perhaps more importantly, the phrase “significant impairment of the habitability” is not defined.
Since the degree of impairment required to trigger this law is not clear, this law will invite
litigation between landlords and tenants to determine whether an impairment is, or is not,
significant. If, for example, the pool was closed for a day — would that be considered a
significant impairment of the habitability of the premises? If a tenant loses hot water for one day
and then decides that he/she is entitled to withhold all of the rent for the month (a scenario that
actually happens) would this law justify the tenant’s position?



This law may require the Courts to determine whether the closing of the pool or the loss of hot
water for one day is a “significant impairment of the habitability” for the premises, all without
significant legislative guidance. Without more precise guidance to the public and the Courts, I
anticipate lawsuits being brought because the language is not clear, and the results in Court may
not be what the Legislature intends.

3. Hawaii Law Already Does What This Bill Attempts

Current Hawaii already does what this Bill aims to do. Under existing law, there is no doubt
that Landlords are already always required to provide and maintain a habitable dwelling. Haw.
Rev. Stat. Ann. § 521-42. Also under current law, if a landlord fails to maintain a premises’
habitability, the tenant is not required to pay all of the rent. Souza v. Fisher, 139 Haw. 431, 392
P.3d 1215 (Ct. App. 2017), reconsideration denied, No. CAAP-1-0001699, 2017 WL 1948599
(Haw. Ct. App. May 10, 2017). Finally, under current law, if a landlord wrongfully ousts a tenant
from a home overnight, the landlord is liable for twice the rent or two months’ rent (“(c) If the
landlord removes or excludes the tenant from the premises overnight without cause or without
court order so authorizing, the tenant may recover possession or terminate the rental agreement
and, in either case, recover an amount equal to two months’ rent or free occupancy for two
months, and the cost of suit, including reasonable attorney's fees.” Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 521-
63.

So, ultimately, this law does not add any new protections for tenants and raises potential
barriers to landlords who want to fix their properties. This amendment seems to create more
issues than it solves.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,

/s/ David Chee

David W H. Chee, Esq.
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