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H.B. 1062 

RELATING TO COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSES 
 

House Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce 
 
The Department of Transportation supports this bill but requests amendments.   
 
The purpose of the bill is to establish a legal basis for implementing title 49 Code of 
Federal Regulations part 380, subpart F, which requires entry level driver training for 
certain applicants for a commercial driver's license or endorsement.  A couple of 
housekeeping amendments are also included. 
 
The first amendment requested is on Page 6, starting on line 11.  Please insert a 
grandfather clause that is allowed by FMCSA and a verification requirement so that the 
originally proposed amendments (not underlined) together with the amendments 
requested with this testimony (underlined) read as follows: 
 

As of February 7, 2022, except for a driver holding a valid commercial learner’s 
permit or commercial driver’s license that was obtained prior to February 7, 2022, 
every applicant must complete the entry-level driver training requirements as 
specified in title 49 Code of Federal Regulations part 380, subpart F, and be 
verified with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Training Provider 
Registry prior to taking the skills test for a class A or class B commercial driver’s 
license, passenger endorsement, or school bus endorsement, and prior to taking 
the knowledge test for a hazardous materials endorsement. 

 
States that fail to implement these requirements can be penalized by withholding federal 
funds.  In Hawaii, the amount withheld would be $6,185,220 for the first year of 
noncompliance and $12,370,440 for the second and subsequent years. 
 
One of the housekeeping amendments clarifies the validity period of a commercial 
learner's permit by noting that it starts on the date that the driver passes the general 
knowledge test or any required endorsement knowledge tests.  This is the change we 
would like amended.  The proposed wording is appropriate for an applicant who does 
not have a CDL, but there are also CDL holders who need a permit to upgrade their 
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license, such as move from a class B CDL to a class A license.  These applicants may 
not be required to take a knowledge test. It is, therefore, requested that the first 
sentence in subsection (e) in section 2, be amended to read: 
  

(e) The commercial learner's permit shall not be valid for a period in excess of 
one hundred eighty days[.] from the date that the applicant passes the general 
and all required endorsement knowledge tests, or if the applicant is not required 
to take a knowledge test, the period starts when the permit is issued.   

 
The other housekeeping amendment is in section 3, Page 3, lines 9 & 10.  It removes a 
reference that was erroneously left out of Act 67, SLH 2020, which aligned Hawaii’s law 
with a change that was made to 49 Code of Federal Regulations section 391.41(b)(3).  
This regulation was amended to remove the requirement for commercial driver’s license 
holders who are treating diabetes mellitus with insulin to obtain a medical waiver in 
addition to their periodic medical examination.  Rather than using a waiver, the medical 
examiner who examines the driver now confers with the driver’s treating clinician, 
evaluates the driver’s medical records and decides whether the driver’s medical 
condition will have an adverse effect on the driver’s ability to drive safely.  If the driver 
satisfies the medical requirements, a medical examiner’s certificate is issued.  If the 
driver does not meet the requirements, a certificate is not issued.     
 
Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony.    
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February 4, 2021

The Honorable Aaron Ling Johanson, Chair
The Honorable Lisa Kitagawa, Vice Chair
And Members of the Consumer Protection & Commerce

The State'House of Representatives
State Capitol, Conference Room 329
415 South Beretania Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Chair Johanson and Members of the Committee on Transportation:

SUBJECT: H.B. No. 1062 — Relating to Commercial Driver’s Licenses

The City and County of Honolulu, Department of Customer Services (CSD)
supports this measure.

The bill adds a requirement for certain commercial driver’s license applicants to
complete an entry-level driver training course before taking the skills test. This
additional requirement should increase the passing rate for applicants to successfully
obtain their commercial driver licenses.

Additionally, this will meet the requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration’s Entry Level Driver Training regulations.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony on H.B. No. 1062.

Sincerely,

Nola Miyasaki
Director Designate
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