STAND. COM. REP. NO. THE Honolulu, Hawaii , 2021 FEB 17 RE: H.B. No. 149 H.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-First State Legislature Regular Session of 2021 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred H.B. No. 149 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO GIFT CERTIFICATES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to clarify that county-issued stored-value cards are not subject to the State's law that outlines unfair and deceptive practices with respect to gift certificates.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Transportation Services of the City and County of Honolulu.

Your Committee finds counties are modernizing the methods of payment for services they provide through the use of reloadable cards. Your Committee further finds that the law on gift certificates under the State's unfair or deceptive acts or practices could be clarified to explicitly disapply that law to these county-issued stored-value cards.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing the effective date to January 1, 2050, to encourage further discussion.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 352 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 149, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 149, H.D. 1, and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

JOHANSON, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-first Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

	Committee Referral: CPC, FIN		Date: 292021		
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) ☑ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling (C)					
2. KITAGAWA, Lisa (VC)			ang na gana sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa		
3. AQUINO, Henry J.C.					
	n an				
4. HAR, Sharon E.					
5. HASHEM, Mark J.					
6. KONG, Sam Satoru				<u></u>	
	× • • • •				
7. MIZUNO, John M.			and a second		
			ی میں 10 میں میں قبیر مربوع اور اور		
8. MORIKAWA, Dee			- 1. Majawa in ang akan a		
9. ONISHI, Richard H.K.					
	<u>a mita mana dia kaominina dia kaominina</u>		lana ta <u>je pijimantan</u> .		
10. TARNAS, David A.					
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren			allowed as a second strength and a		
11. MATSUMOTO, Lauren	····· Ý				
TOTAL (11)	11				
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.					
A will der Querra)					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					