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Chair Ohno and Members of the Committee: 

 My name is Iris Ikeda, and I am the Commissioner of the Department of 

Commerce and Consumer Affairs’ (Department) Division of Financial Institutions (DFI).  

The Department appreciates the intent of and offers comments on this bill.  

 The purposes of this bill are to: (1) transition from lump sum deferred deposit 

transactions to installment-based small dollar loan transactions with specific consumer 

protection requirements for small dollar loans; (2) beginning 1/1/2022, require licensure 

for small dollar lenders that offer small dollar loans to consumers and specify licensing 

requirements for small dollar lenders; (3) authorize the DFI to appoint 2.0 full-time 

equivalent examiner positions, funded via the Compliance Resolution Fund, to carry out 

the purposes of the small dollar installment loan program; (4) require check cashers to 

be registered with the Department and offer a voluntary payment plan to customers 

under certain circumstances; (5) establish the terms of voluntary payment plans and 

clarify that a customer may only have one outstanding deferred deposit transaction from 
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any source; (6) amend notices to customers required of check cashers; (7) remove the 

exemption for persons engaged in the bona fide retail sale of goods or services; and (8) 

require the DFI to conduct an analysis of the regulation of payday lenders and deferred 

deposit agreements in the State. 

 For the Committee’s information, according to the June 30, 2019, annual report 

filed by banks on their financial condition, five Hawaii chartered nondepository financial 

service loan companies currently offer small dollar consumer loans totaling 

$119,362,396.   

 While the Department appreciates the bill’s intent to regulate small dollar loan 

transactions, it notes that a consumer loan statutory scheme already exists in Hawaii 

Revised Statutes (HRS) chapter 412, article 9.  The DFI has been working with the 

affected industry and would like to use this statutory scheme for licensing, supervision, 

and examinations.  HRS article 9 offers, among other things: (1) precomputed 

consumer loans; (2) provisions on how to calculate the interest (not to exceed 24% a 

year); (3) types of fees that can be charged to consumers; (4) the circumstances under 

which a prepayment penalty can be charged; and (5) provisions on how refunds are 

calculated.  Because this statutory scheme is part of the DFI’s banking statutes, the DFI 

reviews nondepository financial service loan companies in the same manner as it 

reviews banks.  The nondepository companies would be required to provide consumer 

disclosures, as required by federal law.  If the Committee would like to consider this 

statutory scheme, the Department would be available to work with interested parties to 

determine if changes to HRS article 9 are necessary. 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this bill. 



To: Honorable Takashi Ohno, Chair  
Honorable Dale Kobayashi, Vice Chair  
The Committee on Intrastate Commerce 

From: Pattiann Lacio, Senoir Branch Manager, PayDayHawaii Stadium Mall 

March 10, 2020

Call for Amendment to SB 2587  Sec. 15

Not In Support of  SB2587 SD1  or  In Opposition. 

My Name is Pattieann Lacio.  I have 20 year's of experience with short-term credit under 
HRS 480F.  I became the Manager of the Stadium Mall branch under Mr. Cash, Inc. brand 
in 2000 and  Branch Manager under PayDayHawaii brand since 2007. 

I urge the commitee to Amend Section 15 of this bill.

That the Analysis be conducted by The Hawaii State Auditor instead of the Department of 
Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Division of Financial Institutions.  

It has been over 15 years since the last study was completed by the Hawaii State Auditor, 
Sunrise Analysis Report No. 05-11 back in December 2005,  I ask for this study to be 
Updated. There is so much more up to date data for Hawaii as well as the impact created 
from the out of state internet lenders.

Sincerely,
Pattieann Lacio 



     74 Swedesford Road Suite 150 Malvern, PA  19355 (610) 296-3400 Phone  March 11, 2020   Honorable Takashi Ohno, Chair Honorable Dale T. Kobayashi, Vice Chair House Intrastate Commerce Committee Hawaii State Capital 415 S. Beretania Street  Honolulu, Hawaii 96813   Re: SENATE BILL NO. 2587 SD1, RELATING TO CONSUMER PROTECTION  Dear Chair Ohno, Vice Chair Kobayashi and Committee Members:   On behalf of Dollar Financial Group (“DFG”), we respectfully submit the following testimony relating to Senate Bill No. 2587 SD1 (SB 2587), which will be heard by your Committee on March 12, 2020.  DFG SUPPORTS SB 2587, with the recommendations that will be described below. We would like to begin by applauding both the Legislature and this Committee for considering the industry and consumer advocacy groups’ feedback related to prior proposed legislation on alternative financial service products for non-prime consumer borrowers in Hawaii, and drafting a bill that can place Hawaii at the forefront of alternative finance regulation.  By building additional measures into Deferred Deposit Transactions and creating a solid statutory and economic framework for Small Dollar Installment Loans, SB 2587 provides consumers with a greater number of credit options that will be better suited to their situation and credit profiles, while at the same time helping them improve their credit history (which a viable installment lending product will enable them to do). Based on its recent experience providing both Deferred Deposit Transactions and small dollar installment loans throughout the United States and Canada, DFG strongly believes that the optimal regulatory framework is one that enables and encourages the delivery of appropriately priced products best suited to the needs of consumers, while at the same time creating an economically sustainable lending market.  In this regard, it is important to realize that a new installment lending product will require a substantial capital investment prior to any lender being able offer such an installment loan in Hawaii.  In testimony provided in connection with prior bills, local banks have validated this position and indicated that they were not inclined to make such an investment and enter this type of loan market. 
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Honorable Takashi Ohno, Chair Honorable Dale T. Kobayashi, Vice Chair Intrastate Commerce Committee March 11, 2020 Page 2    Accordingly, DFG recommends a number of changes to SB 2587 to ensure that lenders will be incentivized to make such an investment in Hawaii and become licensed small dollar installment providers.  It is essential that the regulatory terms enable a viable and sustainable non-prime, installment lending market to take hold in Hawaii for consumers to be able to move up the credit product ladder, with installment loans acting as a new and essential rung on that ladder.  Our other recommendations seek to better align certain Deferred Deposit Transaction provisions with best practices we have recently seen implemented with success throughout North America.  The most important of these limited changes are: I. Small Dollar Installment Loans  1. Minimum and Maximum Loan Amounts: create a $600 minimum loan amount and increase the maximum from $1,000 to $1,500  2. Monthly Fee Caps: change as follows  
 Loans between $600 and $699.99:  $40 
 Loans between $700 and $799.99: $50 
 Loans of $800 or more: $60  II. Deferred Deposit Transactions  1. Voluntary Payment Plans  a Number of Payments: decrease the amount of payments from 6 to 4  b Maximum Allowable Payments: remove the 5% of a consumer’s gross monthly income limit, and replace it with a 25% cap at the point of origination Maximum and Minimum Loan Amount.  DFG believes that shifting the allowable loan amount from $1–$1,000 to $600–$1,500 will allow for consumers to obtain the right amount of financing for their needs.  Again, we applaud the legislature for recognizing the need for both small dollar installment loans and deferred deposit transactions to foster an environment of economic growth, and believe that differentiating the two products would help serve that goal better.  Eliminating any potential overlap between the two credit products is advisable to help ensure that the consumer receives the financing option that is best for them and enhance the likelihood of a successful transition to a new installment lending product. In maintaining the Deferred Deposit Transaction limit at $600, while creating a new financial product for loans of $600–$1,500, SB 2587 would allow for both immediate short-term, smaller dollar financing (for short-term liquidity needs of the customer) and larger dollar, longer-term financing (for more capital intensive demands of the customer).  DFG firmly believes that non-prime customers are capable of making rational and informed loan product choices that suit their particular requirements.  By properly differentiating the Deferred Deposit Transaction and small dollar installment loan products lenders will be able to better provide the appropriate credit options based on the needs of the customers. 



Honorable Takashi Ohno, Chair Honorable Dale T. Kobayashi, Vice Chair Intrastate Commerce Committee March 11, 2020 Page 3    Our edits to SB 2587 also include a number of other recommendations, the reasons for which we hope are self-evident.  For example, we created a definition for the term “Loan Charges” that explicitly lists allowable fees, rather than leave any ambiguity. Monthly Fee Caps.  It is undebatable that there is greater risk associated with lending in the non-prime credit market segment than in the prime or near-prime/market, and that longer-term credit products, like the installment loan proposed by SB 2587, will introduce even greater degrees of credit risk.  Additionally, while both the existing Deferred Deposit Transactions and small dollar installment loans require operational infrastructure, the small dollar installment loan product requires substantial and extensive changes to those operational, compliance, IT, and customer service requirements to appropriately provide and continually service small dollar installment loans.  We strongly recommend that the fee structure be altered to render the provision of an installment loan product viable for a responsible lender at the authorized interest rate of 36%.  Based on DFG’s modeling and its loan loss experience with the non-prime market in Hawaii, the interest and fee revenue permitted under the current terms of SB 2587 would barely cover the loan loss reserve that would be necessary for this customer credit class in Hawaii.  After accounting for the lender’s own cost of funds, its other operating costs and expenses and an expected level of early prepayments, with the proposed monthly maintenance fee limits, the current SB 2587 installment loan product becomes an unattractive product to any lender (whether a bank or a non-bank lender) in Hawaii, likely leaving the Hawaiian small dollar installment loan industry as a licensable activity with no installment lending volumes and probably no licensees. Voluntary Payment Plan Number of Payments.  DFG recognizes the strong protections that the legislature has created for consumers in Hawaii, and agrees that a voluntary payment plan would be an extremely beneficial addition to Section 480F.  DFG currently offers voluntary payment plans to its customers throughout North America, including in Hawaii.  Our current voluntary payment plan in Hawaii is modeled off of similar plan offerings we have successfully implemented throughout North America (including several Canadian provinces and U.S. states).  Based on our experience, 4 equal monthly payments enables consumers to more readily extinguish their debt than does 6 monthly payments.  At the same time, doing so creates greater efficiencies for a lender, making the provision of the voluntary payment plan more attractive and consistent with best practices being implemented in other jurisdictions.  This consistency will significantly reduce operational costs and inefficiencies of dealing with different regulatory requirements and loan terms that do not enhance consumer protection while adding to the cost of doing business. Voluntary Payment Plan Maximum Allowable Payments.  As discussed above, DFG has extensive experience implementing voluntary payment plans throughout the United States and Canada.  Forcing a voluntary repayment plan to extend beyond four months is not in the best interest of the consumer and limiting the allowable payment amount could cause a voluntary repayment plan to extend far beyond four months.  This keeps the consumer in debt longer, and creates economic inefficiencies for lenders, making the prospect difficult for both parties. 
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As an alternative, DFG recommends eliminating the 5% of the consumer's gross 
monthly income cap on the voluntary payment plans, and instead institute a stronger and more 
robust protection for consumers by capping their initial allowable deferred deposit transaction 
at 25% of their gross monthly income. We are using this 25% income limit with good results 
for our consumers in several jurisdictions, including Hawaii. This will help ensure that fewer 
consumers ever need to enter into voluntary repayment plans and has the effect of capping 
voluntary repayment plan payments, since the consumer's initial deferred deposit transaction 
could never be "too high." 

In summary, we believe that with the regulatory modifications we have suggested, both 

short-term single payment loans and larger, longer-term, installment loans can be established 

in Hawaii and serve as superior credit options for Hawaii's non-prime consumers than what is 

presently provided for under current regulations. The introduction of a new installment loan 

product, in particular, will be beneficial in enabling non-prime consumers to improve their 

credit histories and hopefully gain access to a wider range of loan products. With our 

recommended alterations, SB 2587 can create stronger protections for the consumer and 

provide the efficiencies and economics necessary for a viable non-prime installment lending 

market to take hold in Hawaii. A more effective non-prime lending market can help these 

borrowers by providing better tailored credit products, enabling them to repair or improve their 

credit histories, lowering their cost of credit and, most importantly, providing them with 

continued access to much needed credit to deal with the demands of their daily lives. 

Thank you for your consideration of our testimony. 

Very truly yours, 

DOLARFIN� 
Odell 

General Counsel and Executive Vice President 
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THE SENATE S.B. NO. 2587 

THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE, 2020 S.D. 1 

STATE OF HAWAII   

    

  
  

  
 

 
 

  

  

A BILL FOR AN ACT 
  

  

RELATING TO CONSUMER PROTECTION. 

  

  

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF HAWAII: 

  

 

 

PART I 
     SECTION 1.  The legislature finds that a 2019 survey of household financial health in 

Hawaii identified that sixty-nine per cent of households are experiencing moderate to severe 

financial stress.  One in five households had total spending that exceeded their income.  

Alternative financial service products(AFS), which includes money orders, check cashing, 

payday loans and pawn shop or auto title loans services were used by twenty-one per cent of 

households at least once during the year, and this survey also found that five per cent of 

households are "unbanked" meaning that they do not have a checking or savings account, and an 

additional nineteen per cent are "underbanked" meaning they have at least one of these accounts 

but also rely on an AFSalternative financial services product.  While the specific reasons for 

utilizing AFSalternative financial services products is unclear, it does suggest that there is 

demand for financial services that may offer quick access and convenience, but come with a 

heavy price tag. 

     The legislature further finds that a form of AFSalternative financial services known as 

deferred deposit agreements, commonly referred to as payday loans, are small, short term, 

unsecured loans that borrowers commit to repay from their next paycheck or a regular income 

payment.  According to the Federal Reserve System's Report on the Economic Well-Being of 

U.S.United States Households in 2017, forty per cent of Americans would not be able to cover 

an unexpected expense of $400 without having to sell something or borrow money.  Another 

study conducted by The Pew Charitable Trusts found that the majority of borrowers use deferred 

deposit agreements for recurring expenses, rather than unexpected expenses or emergencies, 
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because they live paycheck to paycheck.  Additional research shows that approximately twelve 

million Americans utilize payday loans annually.  The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 

has reported that seventy per cent of those payday borrowers will end up taking out a second 

payday loan, and some lenders allow borrowers to roll the balance into a new larger loan with the 

same predatoryproblematic fee schedule. 

     The legislature also finds that there has been a shift in the payday industry toward small dollar 

installment loans, which are repayable over time and secured by access to the borrower's 

checking account.  According to the Pew Charitable Trusts, national survey data indicates that 

seventy-nine per cent of payday borrowers prefer small dollar loans that are due in installments, 

which only take a small share of each paycheck.  However, in the absence of sensible regulatory 

safeguards, this type of lending, as well as the traditional deferred deposit lending market, can be 

harmful to consumers. 

     Unfortunately, due to the State's current deferred deposit laws, the payday lending industry 

can engage in practices that trap consumers in unsustainable cycles of debt.  Payday lenders 

structure loans with unrealistically short repayment terms, unaffordable payments, and excessive 

fees, resulting in long-term, high-cost debt and harm to the consumer.  Lenders are also granted 

access to the borrower's checking account to ensure that the lender gets repaid, even if the 

borrower cannot cover rent, utilities, and other basic living expenses.  The Pew Charitable Trusts 

has reported that the average Hawaii payday borrower incurs $529 in fees to borrow $300 over 

five months.  Research also shows that this amount is nearly three times higher than what the 

same lenders charge similarly situated consumers in other states.  Due to the high cost of living 

in the State, these practices are likely to contribute to the current homelessness crisis. 

     The legislature notes that there has been a growing trend around the country to provide more 

consumer protections, which benefit consumers and encourage responsible and transparent 

lending, for deferred deposit transactions and small dollar installment loans within the payday 

lending industry.  Hawaii has not yet joined in these reform efforts.  In 2017, the Consumer 

Financial Protection Bureau released new rules that, among other things, target loans with a 

thirty-six per cent yearly interest rate or higher and restrict payday lenders from extracting 

money from the borrower's account, without explicit consent, if they failed to repay twice in a 

row.  However, the current presidential administration has indicated that it will modify the rules 

before they go into effect, indefinitely rolling back many of the intended consumer protections.  

It is critical that the State take action now to address these harmful practices in light of this delay 

and the weakening of the federal consumer protections for payday and similar loans. 

     The legislature acknowledges that there is a market for small dollar installment loans.  

However, the legislature concludes that if small dollar installment loans are going to be offered 

to Hawaii consumers, there must be appropriate consumer protections in place to ensure these 

loans contain reasonable terms and fees, do not trap borrowers in a cycle of high-interest debt, 

and do not further contribute to the homelessness crisis. 

     Accordingly, the purpose of this part is to encourage transparency, increase consumer 

protection in the payday lending industry, and improve the well-being of Hawaii consumers by: 
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     (1)  Transitioning the payday lending industry from lump sum deferred deposit 

transactions toProviding for new viable installment-based small dollar loan 

transactions in addition to enhanced deferred deposit transactions; 

     (2)  Specifying various consumer protection requirements for small dollar loans; 

     (3)  Beginning January 1, 20212022, requiring licensure for small dollar lenders 

that offer small dollar loans to consumers, subject to the oversight of the division of 

financial institutions of the department of commerce and consumer affairs to protect 

against illegal offshore lending; 

     (4)  Specifying licensing requirements for small dollar lenders; 

     (5)  Capping interest at thirty-six per cent per annum and one simple maximum 

monthly maintenance fee tiered up to $2550; 

     (6)  Amortizing loans in full and renewing the loan while also permitting 

borrowers to choose to repay the loan without penalty; 

     (7)  Capping maximum allowable costs at fiftysixty per cent of the principal loan 

amount, preventing a loan from being either too short or too long in duration; 

     (8)  Capping the maximum allowable loan size at $1,0001,500.00 and setting the 

minimum allowable loan size at $600.01, providing more flexibility for lenders and 

borrowers than under the current law; 

     (9)  Requiring lenders to provide clear disclosures of the loan terms and total 

charges; 

    (10)  Prohibiting a lender from making more than one loan at a time to a consumer, 

preventing incentives for lenders to "split" loans and charge higher fees; and 

    (11)  Authorizing the division of financial institutions to establish and hire two full-

time equivalent permanent examiners to carry out the purposes of the small dollar 

installment loan program, funded via an increase to the ceiling of the compliance 

resolution fund.; 

    (12)  Creating a registration requirement for check cashers, and including Deferred 

Deposit Transactions Providers within this requirement; 

    (13)  Creating a “Voluntary Payment Plan” for deferred deposit transactions; 
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    (14)  Requiring check cashers to maintain records and create reports related to their 

business activities; 

    (15)  Reiterating that a consumer is limited to one deferred deposit transaction at a 

time; and 

    (16)  Requiring Deferred Deposit Transaction Providers to provide additional 

disclosures and post notices; 

    (17)  Creating various other changes to the legislative schema to permit the above 

enumerated purposes; and 

    (18)  Mandating the division of financial institutions of the department of 

commerce and consumer affairs to conduct an analysis of the implementation of the 

regulation of payday lenders and deferred deposit agreements and its impact on 

consumer protection in the State. 

     SECTION 2.  The Hawaii Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new chapter to title 25A 

to be appropriately designated and to read as follows: 

"CHAPTER 

SMALL DOLLAR INSTALLMENT LOANS 

PART I.  GENERAL PROVISIONS 

     §   -1  Definitions.  As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

     "Annual percentage rate" means an annual percentage rate as determined pursuant to section 

107 of the Truth in Lending Act, title 15 United States Code section 1606.  For the purposes of 

this definition, all fees and charges, including interest and monthly maintenance fees authorized 

by this chapter, shall be included in the calculation of the annual percentage rate. 

     "Arranger" means a provider of funds in the syndication of a debt. 

     "Branch office" means any location in this State that is identified by any means to the public 

or customers as a location at which the licensee holds itself out as a small dollar lender. 

     "Commissioner" means the commissioner of financial institutions. 

     "Consumer" means a natural person who is the buyer, lessee, or debtor to whom credit is 

granted in a transaction that is primarily for that natural person's personal, family, or household 

purposes. 

     "Control", in the context of control of an applicant or licensee, means ownership of, or the 

power to vote, twenty-five per cent or more of the outstanding voting securities of a licensee or 

control person.  For the purposes of determining the percentage of an applicant or a licensee 

controlled by any person, there shall be aggregated with the control person's interest the interest 

of any other person controlled by the person, or by any spouse, parent, or child of the person. 

     "Control person" means any person in control of a licensee or applicant. 

     "Default" means a consumer's failure to repay a small dollar loan in compliance with the 

terms contained in a small dollar loan agreement. 

     "Department" means the department of commerce and consumer affairs. 
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     "Division" means the division of financial institutions of the department of commerce and 

consumer affairs. 

     "Elder" means a person who is sixty-two years of age or older. 

     "Finance charges" means the cost of credit or cost of borrowing, including the interest, 

monthly maintenance fees, and other fees authorized by this chapter. 

     "Financial institution" means any bank, savings bank, savings and loan association, financial 

services loan company, or credit union doing business in the State whose accounts are insured by 

the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund, or 

other similar or successor program of federal insurance. 

     "Instrument" means a personal check signed by the consumer and made payable to a person 

subject to this chapter.  The term "instrument" does not include an electronic fund transfer or 

other electronic debit or credit to the consumer's checking account. 

     "Licensee" means a person who is licensed or required to be licensed under this chapter. 

     "Loan amount" means the amount financed, as that term is defined in Truth in Lending 

(Regulation Z), title 12 Code of Federal Regulations, chapter X, part 1026, as amended, or 

supplemented by this chapter. 

     "Maintenance fee" means a monthly fee paid to a licensee to maintain a small dollar loan. 

     "NMLS" means the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry, which is a 

licensing system developed and maintained by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors for the 

state licensing and registration of state-licensed loan originators and other financial services 

providers, or any system provided by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. 

     "Person" means an individual, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 

company, limited liability partnership, or other association of individuals, however organized. 

     "Place of business" means a location where small dollar loans are offered or made and 

includes each website through which a consumer may apply for a small dollar loan from a small 

dollar lender. 

     "Precomputed interest" means an interest method that uses the original payment schedule to 

calculate interest. 

     “Renewal” means the refinancing of a small dollar loan that occurs during the period between 

the original maturity date and the preceding installment payment due date.  The term "renewal" 

does not include the refinancing of a small dollar loan that occurs prior to the penultimate 

installment payment due date. 

     "Small dollar lender" or "lender" means any person who is in the business of offering or 

making a consumer loan, who arranges a consumer loan for a third party, or who acts as an agent 

for a third party, regardless of whether the third party is exempt from licensure under this chapter 

or whether approval, acceptance, or ratification by the third party is necessary to create a legal 

obligation for the third party, through any method including mail, telephone, the Internet, or any 

electronic means. 

     "Small dollar loan" means a loan made pursuant to this chapter. 

     "Truth in Lending Act" means the federal Truth in Lending Act, title 15 United States Code 

section 1601 et seq., as may be amended, and regulations adopted thereunder, as may be 

amended. 
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     "Verified gross income" means evidence from a borrower of one or more paystubs or other 

written evidence of recurring income before taxes. 

     "Verified net income" means evidence from a borrower of one or more paystubs or other 

written evidence of recurring income after taxes and deductions. 

     §   -2  Small dollar loans; requirements; payments.  (a)  Each small dollar loan transaction 

and renewal shall meet the following requirements: 

     (1)  Any transaction and renewal shall be documented in a written agreement 

pursuant to section    -3; 

     (2)  The total amount of the small dollar loan shall not be less than $600.01 or 

exceed $1,0001,500.00 pursuant to section    -5(a); 

     (3)  The total amount of fees and charges a small dollar lender may charge, collect, 

or receive in connection with a small dollar loan shall not exceed fiftysixty per cent of 

the principal loan amount; 

     (4)  A monthly maintenance fee may be charged by the lender, not to exceed the 

following: 

          (A)  $1040 on a loan of an original principal loan amount up to $300.00699.99; 

          (B)  $1550 on a loan of an original principal loan amount of at least $300.01700.00 and up 

to $600.00799.99; and 

          (C)  $2560 on a loan of an original principal loan amount of at least $600.01800 and up to 

$1,000.001,500.00; 

          provided that the monthly maintenance fee shall not be added to the loan 

balance on which the interest is charged; and provided further that a small dollar 

lender shall not charge, collect, or receive a monthly maintenance fee if the borrower 

is a person on active duty in the armed forces of the United States or a dependent of 

that person; 

     (5)  The written agreement required under section    -3 may require multiple 

installment payments; 

     (6)  All repayment schedule due dates shall be dates on which a small dollar lender 

is open for business to the public at the place of business where the small dollar loan 

was made; 

     (7)  A small dollar lender shall accept prepayment in full or in part from a 

consumer prior to the loan due date and shall not charge the consumer a fee or penalty 

if the consumer opts to prepay the loan, provided that in order to make a prepayment 

all past due interest and fees must first be paid; 
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     (8)  The loan amount shall be fully amortized over the term of the loan, and 

maintenance fees shall be applied in arrears on a monthly basis; 

     (9)  A consumer's repayment obligations shall not be secured by a lien on any real 

or personal property; 

    (10)  A small dollar lender shall not charge a consumer any direct or indirect fees 

for a small dollar loan, other than the fees permitted by this chapter; and 

    (11)  The written agreement required under section   -3 shall not require a consumer 

to purchase add-on products, such as credit insurance. 

     (b)  In a multiple installment small dollar loan, a lender may contract for a once every two 

week, twice-monthly, or monthly payment of the loan balance due, including the applicable 

portion of the interest, and earned monthly maintenance fee. 

     (c)  For each payment made by a consumer, a lender shall give the consumer a written receipt 

with the lender's name and address, payment date, amount paid, consumer's name, and sufficient 

information to identify the account to which the payment is applied. 

     (d)  Upon prepayment in full by the consumer, the lender shall refund: 

     (1)  Any unearned portion of the interest charged; and 

     (2)  Any unearned monthly maintenance fees. 

     (e)  Upon request from a consumer or a consumer's agent, a small dollar lender shall provide 

confirmation of the amount required to discharge the small dollar loan obligation in full.  When 

responding to a request under this subsection, the small dollar lender, at a minimum, shall 

include a statement of the amount required to discharge the consumer's obligation fully as of the 

date the notice is provided and for each of the next three business days following that date.  The 

small dollar lender shall make the information required under this subsection available verbally 

and in writing and shall provide it in an expeditious manner, but no later than twofive business 

days after receiving the request. 

     §   -3  Written agreement; requirements; disclosure.  (a)  Each small dollar loan 

transaction and renewal shall be documented by a written agreement signed by the small dollar 

lender and consumer.  The written agreement shall contain the following information: 

     (1)  The name and address of the consumer and the lender; 

     (2)  The transaction date; 

     (3)  The loan amount; 

     (4)  The annual percentage rate charged; 
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     (54)  The authorized interest rate; 

     (65)  A statement of the total amount of finance charges charged, expressed as a 

dollar amount and an annual percentage rate; 

     (76)  The installment payment schedule setting out the amount due on specific due 

dates; 

     (87)  The name, address, and telephone number of any agent or arranger involved 

in the small dollar loan transaction; 

     (98)  The right to rescind the small dollar loan before 5:00 p.m. on the next day of 

business at the location where the loan was originated; 

    (109)  A notice to the consumer that a returned instrument may result in a 

dishonored instrument charge, not to exceed $25; and 

    (1110)  A description of the methods by which small dollar loan payments may be 

made, which may include a debit card payment, Automated Clearing House transfer, 

e-check, other forms of electronic transfers, money order, cash, check, or any 

additional method of loan payment authorized by this chapter or by rule adopted by 

the commissioner pursuant to chapter 91. 

     (b)  The written agreement shall also comply with the disclosure requirements of the Truth in 

Lending Act and any regulation adopted thereunder. 

     (c)  The small dollar lender shall provide to the consumer a printed written disclosure prior to 

signing the written agreement that accurately discloses the types of information in the chart 

below, presented in a format substantively similar to the chart below, in at least twelve-point 

type: 

                                                  "MULTIPLE 

                                                 INSTALLMENT 

                                                  PAYMENT 

  

Amount Financed 

Finance Charge 

Amount you will receive 

Term (months) 

  

Authorized Interest Rate 

  

Monthly Maintenance Fee 

  

Total of All Permitted Charges 
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Total You Will Pay for This Loan 

(Amount Financed, 

Interest, and Monthly Maintenance Fee) 

  

ANNUAL PERCENTAGE RATE 

  

Payment Schedule" 

  

     (d)  The consumer shall sign and date each of two copies of the written disclosure required 

pursuant to subsection (c), one of which shall be given to the consumer and the other of which 

shall be retained by the lender as part of its records of the small dollar loan.  This requirement 

may also be accomplished by electronically signing an electronic copy of the disclosure and 

making the disclosure electronically available to the consumer, if the consumer is applying for 

the loan over the Internet.  For purposes of preparing the written disclosure, the small dollar loan 

shall be structured on a precomputed basis (total of payments) with the assumption that all 

payments will be made as scheduled. 

     (e)  The written agreement may include a demand feature that permits the lender or any other 

person, in the event the consumer fails to meet the repayment terms for any outstanding 

balancemake any payment when due, to terminate the small dollar loan in advance of the original 

maturity date, but no earlier than ten days after repayment was duethe missed payment, and 

demand repayment of the entire outstanding balance.  If the written agreement includes a 

demand feature and the demand feature is exercised, the lender shall be entitled to collect only 

the outstanding balance and a prorated portion of the unpaid interest and fees earned up to the 

date of termination.  For purposes of this subsection, the outstanding balance and prorated 

portion of the unpaid interest and fees shall be calculated as if the consumer had voluntarily 

prepaid the loan in full on the date of termination. 

     §   -4  Authorized interest rate.  (a)  Subject to section   -2(a)(4), a small dollar lender may 

contract for, and receive interest at, a rate not exceeding thirty-six per cent per year on that 

portion of the unpaid principal balance of the loan.  A small dollar lender may contract for and 

receive interest at the single annual rate that would earn the same total interest at maturity of the 

small dollar loan, when the loan is paid according to its agreed terms, as would be earned by the 

application of the graduated rates set forth in this section.  Loans shall be precomputed. 

     (b)  For the purposes of computing precomputed loans, including but not limited to 

calculating interest, a month is considered one-twelfth of a year and a day is considered one three 

hundred sixty-fifth of a year when calculation is made for a fraction of a month. 

     (c)  Loans shall be repayable in substantially equal and consecutive monthly installments of 

principal and interest combined; provided that the first installment period may exceed one month 

by not more than fifteen days and the first installment payment amount may be larger than the 

remaining payments by the amount of interest charged for the extra days; and provided further 

that monthly installment payment dates may be omitted if the parties agree in writing, either in 

the written agreement required under section    -3 or in a subsequent agreement, to accommodate 

consumers withhaving seasonal income. 
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     (d)  Payments may be applied to the combined total of principal and precomputed interest 

until maturity of the loan, with priority given to any past due interest before applying payments 

to the principal. 

     (e)  If a small dollar loan is prepaid in full or renewed prior to the loan's maturity date, the 

lender shall refund to the consumer a prorated portion of the unearned interest and monthly 

maintenance fees based on a ratio of the number of days the loan was outstanding and the 

number of days for which the loan was originally contracted.  For the purposes of this section, 

the monthly maintenance fee shall not be considered to be fully earned at the beginning of a 

month. 

     (f)  If the parties agree in writing, either in the written agreement required under section    -3 

or in a subsequent agreement, to a deferment of wholly unpaid installments, a lender may grant 

one deferment; provided that: 

     (1)  A deferment shall postpone the scheduled due date of the earliest unpaid 

installment and all subsequent installments as originally scheduled, or as previously 

deferred, for a period equal to the deferment period; 

     (2)  The deferment period shall be that period during which no installment is 

scheduled to be paid by reason of the deferment; and 

     (3)  The lender shall not charge or collect a deferment fee. 

     (g)  Other than the interest and charges permitted under this section, no further or other 

amount shall be charged or required by the small dollar lender. 

     (h)  A lender shall not charge or receive loan origination fees. 

     (i)  A lender shall not collect a default charge on any installment not paid in full within ten 

days after its due date. A lender may charge a default charge of $30.  For this purpose, all 

installments are considered paid in the order in which they become due. 

     §   -5  Maximum and Minimum loan amountamounts; prohibition against multiple 

loans.  (a)  A lender shall not lend an amount less $600.01 or greater than $1,0001,500.00 nor 

shall the amount financed exceed $1,0001,500.00 by any one lender at any time to a consumer. 

     (b)  Except as otherwise provided in section   -8, no small dollar lender shall make a small 

dollar loan to a consumer if there exists an outstanding loan between that consumer and any of 

the following: 

     (1)  The small dollar lender; 

     (2)  A person related to the small dollar lender by common ownership or control; 

     (3)  A person in whom the small dollar lender has any financial interest of ten per 

cent or more; or 

     (4)  Any employee or agent of the small dollar lender. 
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     (c)  If a consumer obtains a small dollar loan voluntarily and separately from the consumer's 

spouse and the consumer's action is documented in writing, either in the written agreement 

required under section    -3 or in a subsequent agreement, signed by the consumer, and retained 

by the lender, the transaction shall not be considered a violation of this section. 

     §   -6  Right of rescission.  (a)  A consumer shall have the right to rescind a small dollar loan, 

on or before 5:00 p.m. on the next day of business at the location where the loan was originated, 

by returning the principal in cash, the original check or money order disbursed by the lender, or 

the other disbursement of loan proceeds from the lender to fund the loan.  The lender shall not 

charge the consumer for rescinding the loan. 

     (b)  At the time of rescission, the lender shall refund any loan fees and interest received and 

shall return to the consumer the originally signed written agreement, clearly marked across the 

face: 

          "RESCINDED BY [lender's name; license number], [date]" 

and below which the lender's authorized representative shall sign. 

     §   -7  Notice to consumers; general requirements; right to prepay; loan limits; right to 

rescind.  A small dollar lender shall provide the following notice on each written agreement for 

a small dollar loan.  The notice shall be in a prominent place and in at least twelve-point type: 

          "THIS SMALL DOLLAR LOAN IS NOT INTENDED TO MEET LONG-TERM 

FINANCIAL NEEDS. 

          THIS SMALL DOLLAR LOAN SHOULD BE USED ONLY TO MEET SHORT-

TERM CASH NEEDS. 

          YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO PREPAY THIS SMALL DOLLAR LOAN IN 

FULL OR IN PART WITHOUT A PENALTY. 

          RENEWING THIS SMALL DOLLAR LOAN RATHER THAN PAYING THE 

DEBT IN FULL MAY REQUIRE ADDITIONAL FEES OR CHARGES. 

          STATE LAW PROHIBITS THIS SMALL DOLLAR LOAN FROM 

EXCEEDING ONE THOUSAND FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS ($1,0001,500) 

IN TOTAL DEBT.  EXCEEDING THIS AMOUNT MAY CREATE 

FINANCIAL HARDSHIPS FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY. 

          YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESCIND THIS TRANSACTION BY 5:00 P.M. 

[SPECIFY HERE THE CLOSE OF THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY BY DAY OF 

WEEK AND DATE]." 

     §   -8  Renewal; new loan requirements; consecutive loans; payment plan.  (a)  A small 

dollar loan may be renewed only once.  After one renewal, the consumer shall pay the debt in 

cash or its equivalent. 

     (b)  Upon renewal of a small dollar loan, the lender may renew up to $1,0001,500.00 of the 

remaining unpaid principal balance.  If the unpaid balance on renewal is more than 

$1,0001,500.00, the consumer may be required to pay the remaining balance; provided that the 

lender shall not finance any amount over $1,0001,500.00.  The total amount of fees and charges 

for the renewed loan shall meet the requirements of section    -2, with the understanding that the 

total amount of fees and charges a small dollar lender may charge, collect, or receive in 

connection with the renewal of a small dollar loan shall not exceed sixty per cent of the renewal 

principal loan amount.  If the small dollar loan is renewed prior to the maturity date, the lender 



12 

 

shall refund to the consumer a prorated portion of the finance charge based upon the ratio of time 

left before maturity to the loan term. 

     (c)  Once the consumer has paid off the small dollar loan transaction, the consumer may enter 

into a new small dollar loan agreement with the lender; provided that the lender shall not have 

more than one outstanding loan with a borrower at any one time, pursuant to section   -5. 

     §   -9  Form of loan proceeds.  A small dollar lender may pay the proceeds from a small 

dollar loan to the consumer in the form of a monetary instrument, prepaid debit cards, 

Automated Clearing House transfers, e-checks, other forms of electronic transfers, money order, 

or cash.  The lender shall inform the consumer in writing that the lender shall cash the monetary 

instrument or money order, upon request of the consumer, at no cost to the consumer. 

     §   -10  Endorsement of instrument.  A small dollar lender shall not negotiate or present an 

instrument for payment unless the instrument is endorsed with the actual business name of the 

lender.  The lender shall cash any monetary instrument or money order, upon request of the 

consumer, at no cost to the consumer. 

     §   -11  Redemption of instrument.  Prior to a small dollar lender negotiating or presenting 

the instrument, a consumer shall have the right to redeem any instrument held by the lender as a 

result of a small dollar loan if the consumer pays the full amount of the instrument to the lender. 

     §   -12  Delinquent small dollar loans; restrictions on collection by lender or third party.  

(a)  A small dollar lender shall comply with all applicable state and federal laws when collecting 

a delinquent small dollar loan.  A lender may take civil action to collect principal, interest, fees, 

and costs allowed under this chapter.  A lender may not threaten criminal prosecution as a 

method of collecting a delinquent small dollar loan or threaten to take any legal action against 

the consumer that is not otherwise permitted by law. 

     (b)  Unless invited by the consumer, a lender shall not visit a consumer's residence or place of 

employment for the purpose of collecting a delinquent small dollar loan.  A lender shall not 

impersonate a law enforcement officer or make any statements that might be construed as 

indicating an official connection with any federal, state, or county law enforcement agency or 

any other governmental agency while engaged in collecting a small dollar loan. 

     (c)  A lender shall not communicate with a consumer in a manner intended to harass, 

intimidate, abuse, or embarrass a consumer, including but not limited to communication at an 

unreasonable hour, with unreasonable frequency, by threats of force or violence, or by use of 

offensive language.  A communication shall be presumed to have been made for the purposes of 

harassment if it is initiated by the lender for the purposes of collection and the communication is 

made: 

     (1)  With the consumer's spouse or the consumer's domestic partner in any form, 

manner, or place, more than once;, excluding calling a shared phone number and 

asking to speak to the consumer, sending a text message to a shared phone number, 

sending an electronic mail to a shared electronic mail address, or other electronic 

writing to a shared electronic account; 

     (2)  With a consumer at the consumer's place of employment more than once; 
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     (3)  With the consumer, the consumer's spouse, or the consumer's domestic partner 

at the consumer's place of residence between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m.; or 

     (4)  To a party other than the consumer, the consumer's attorney, the lender's 

attorney, or a consumer credit reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law, except 

for the purposes of acquiring location or contact information about the consumer. 

     (d)  A lender shall maintain an accurate and complete communication log of all telephone and 

written communications with a consumer initiated by the lender regarding any collection efforts, 

including date, time, and the nature of each communication. 

     (e)  For purposes of collecting a dishonored check, this section shall apply to any employee, 

agent, or third party assignee of a lender. 

     (f)  For the purposes of this section, "communication" includes any contact with a consumer, 

initiated by a lender, in person, by telephone, or in writing, including via electronic mail, text 

message, or other electronic writing; provided that: 

     (1)  The term "communication" shall include the time the lender initiates contact 

with a consumer, regardless of whether the communication is received or accessed by 

the consumer; and 

     (2)  The term "communication" shall not include: 

          (A)  Verbal communication with the consumer while the consumer is physically present in 

the lender's place of business; 

          (B)  An unanswered telephone call in which no message, other than a caller identification, 

is left, unless the telephone call is in violation of subsection (c)(3); or 

          (C)  An initial letter to the consumer that includes disclosures under the federal Fair Debt 

Collection Practices Act. 

     §   -13  Authorized dishonored instrument charge.  (a)  Regardless of the number of 

instruments that are returned unpaid, a small dollar lender may contract for and collect one 

returned instrument charge for each payment due on a small dollar loan, not to exceed $25.  The 

lender shall not collect any other fees as a result of the dishonored presentment. 

     (b)  If the loan proceeds instrument fromdelivered by the small dollar lender to the consumer 

is dishonored by the financial institution, the small dollar lender shall cover any fees and charges 

incurred by the consumer as a direct result of the dishonored loan proceeds instrument. 

     §   -14  Posting of license and fees and charges.  Any small dollar lender offering a small 

dollar loan shall conspicuously and continuously post at any place of business where small dollar 

loans are made, the license required pursuant to this chapter and a notice of the fees and charges 

imposed for small dollar loans. 

     §   -15  Internet lending.  (a)  A small dollar lender may advertise and accept applications for 

small dollar loans by any lawful medium, including but not limited to the Internet and may 

provide all required notices and disclosures via the Internet, and the consumer may provide a 

valid electronic signature on the disclosures and loan agreement, subject to subsection (b). 
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     (b)  Small dollar lenders shall be prohibited from advertising or making small dollar loans via 

the Internet without first having obtained a license pursuant to part II of this chapter. 

     (c)  The unique identifier of any small dollar lender originating a small dollar loan, except a 

person who is exempt from licensure under this chapter, shall be clearly shown on all 

solicitations, including websites, and all other documents, as established by rule or order of the 

commissioner. 

     §   -16  Notice on assignment or sale of contract.  (a)  No licenseesmall dollar lender may 

pledge, negotiate, sell, or assign a current and performing small dollar loan, except to another 

licenseesmall dollar lender or to a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings and loan or 

building and loan association, or credit union organized under the laws of Hawaii or the laws of 

the United States. 

     (b)  Prior to sale or assignment of a current and performing small dollar loan contract held by 

the small dollar lender as a result of a small dollar loan, the lender shall place a notice on the 

small dollar loan contract in at least twelve-point type that reads: 

"SMALL DOLLAR LOAN 

          No licenseesmall dollar lender may pledge, negotiate, sell, or assign a small dollar 

loan, except to another licenseesmall dollar lender or to a bank, savings bank, 

trust company, savings and loan or building and loan association, or credit union 

organized under the laws of Hawaii or the laws of the United States." 

     (c)  This provision does not apply to (1) the transfer of a small dollar loan to a company 

affiliated with the small dollar lender that securitizes the small dollar lender’s loan receivables, 

and (2) the pledge or other granting of a security interest in the small dollar loan to a financial 

institution in connection with asset back financing or similar lending facility of the small dollar 

lender, provided that in either scenario, the small dollar lender does not pledge, negotiate, sell, 

assign, or otherwise relinquish its servicing rights and requirements on the small dollar loan. 

     §   -17  Maintenance of books and records.  (a)  Every small dollar lender shall keep in a 

safe and secure place those books and records that directly relate to any small dollar loan made 

within this State, and other books and records as may be necessary for the commissioner to 

ensure full compliance with the laws of this State. 

     (b)  All books and records may be maintained as originals or photocopies, on microfilm or 

microfiche, on computer disks or tapes, or similar forms; provided that the books and records are 

readily accessible and may be easily examined. 

     (c)  All records, statements, and reports required or authorized by this chapter shall be made 

in writing in the English language. 

     (d)  Every lender shall preserve all of its records for a minimum of six years or for a greater or 

lesser period as the commissioner may prescribe by rule adopted pursuant to chapter 91. 

PART II.  LICENSING 

     §   -31  License required.  No person, unless exempt under this chapter, shall act as a small 

dollar lender in this State unless licensed to do so by the commissioner. 

     §   -32  Exemptions.  This chapter shall not apply to the following: 

     (1)  A financial institution; 
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     (2)  A nondepository financial service loan company; 

     (3)  An "open end credit plan", as defined in the Truth in Lending Act, 15 United 

States Code section 1602(j); or 

     (4)  A tax refund anticipation loan. 

     §   -33  License; application; issuance.  (a)  The commissioner shall require all licensees to 

register with NMLS. 

     (b)  Applicants for a license shall apply in a form as prescribed by NMLS or by the 

commissioner.  The application shall contain, at a minimum, the following information: 

     (1)  The legal name, trade names, and business address of the applicant and, if the 

applicant is a partnership, association, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or corporation, of every member, officer, principal, or director thereof; 

     (2)  The principal place of business; 

     (3)  The complete address of any other branch offices at which the applicant 

currently proposes to engage in making small dollar loans; and 

     (4)  Other data, financial statements, and pertinent information as the 

commissioner may require with respect to the applicant or, if an applicant is not an 

individual, each of the applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, 

general partners, and managing members. 

     (c)  To fulfill the purposes of this chapter, the commissioner may enter into agreements or 

contracts with NMLS or other entities to use NMLS to collect and maintain records and process 

transaction fees or other fees related to licensees or other persons subject to this chapter. 

     (d)  For the purpose and to the extent necessary to participate in NMLS, the commissioner 

may waive or modify, in whole or in part, by rule or order, any or all of the requirements of this 

chapter and establish new requirements as reasonably necessary to participate in NMLS. 

     (e)  In connection with an application for a license under this chapter, the applicant, at a 

minimum, shall furnish to NMLS information or material concerning the applicant's identity, 

including: 

     (1)  Fingerprints of the applicant or, if an applicant is not an individual, each of the 

applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, and 

managing members for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and any 

governmental agency or entity authorized to receive the fingerprints for a state, 

national, and international criminal history background check, accompanied by the 

applicable fee charged by the entities conducting the criminal history background 

check; and 
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     (2)  Personal history and experience of the applicant or, if an applicant is not an 

individual, each of the applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, 

general partners, and managing members in a form prescribed by NMLS, including 

the submission of authorization for NMLS and the commissioner to obtain: 

          (A)  An independent credit report obtained from a consumer reporting agency described in 

section 603(p) of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, title 15 United States 

Code section 1681a(p); and 

          (B)  Information related to any administrative, civil, or criminal findings by any 

governmental jurisdiction; 

provided that the commissioner may use any information obtained pursuant to this subsection or 

through NMLS to determine an applicant's demonstrated financial responsibility, character, and 

general fitness for licensure. 

     (f)  The commissioner may use NMLS as an agent for requesting information from and 

distributing information to the United States Department of Justice or any governmental agency. 

     (g)  The commissioner may use NMLS as an agent for requesting and distributing information 

to and from any source directed by the commissioner. 

     (h)  An applicant for a license as a small dollar lender shall be registered with the business 

registration division of the department to do business in this State before a license pursuant to 

this chapter shall be granted. 

     §   -34  Issuance of license; grounds for denial.  (a)  The commissioner shall conduct an 

investigation of every applicant to determine the financial responsibility, character, and general 

fitness of the applicant.  The commissioner shall issue the applicant a license to engage in the 

business of making small dollar loans if the commissioner determines that: 

     (1)  The applicant or, in the case of an applicant that is not an individual, each of 

the applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, and 

managing members, has never had a small dollar lender license revoked in any 

jurisdiction; provided that a subsequent formal vacation of a revocation shall not be 

deemed a revocation; 

     (2)  The applicant or, in the case of an applicant that is not an individual, each of 

the applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, and 

managing members, has not been convicted of, pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or 

been granted a deferred acceptance of a guilty plea under federal law or under chapter 

853 to a felony in a domestic, foreign, or military court: 

          (A)  During the seven-year period preceding the date of the application for licensing; or 

          (B)  At any time preceding the date of application, if the felony involved an act of fraud, 

dishonesty, breach of trust, or money laundering; 

          provided that any pardon of a conviction for which a pardon has been granted 

shall not be deemed a conviction for the purposes of this section; 
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     (3)  The applicant or, in the case of an applicant that is not an individual, each of 

the applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, and 

managing members, has demonstrated financial responsibility, character, and general 

fitness to command the confidence of thea community and to warrant a determination 

that the applicant shall operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently, pursuant to this 

chapter.  For the purposes of this paragraph, a person is not financially responsible 

whenif the person has shown a disregard in the management of the person's financial 

condition.  A determination that a person has shown a disregard in the management of 

the person's financial condition may be based upon: 

          (A)  Current outstanding judgments, except judgments solely as a result of medical 

expenses; 

          (B)  Current outstanding tax liens or other government liens and filings, subject to 

applicable disclosure laws and administrative rules; 

          (C)  Foreclosures within the past three years; and 

          (D)  A pattern of seriously delinquent accounts within the past three years; 

     (4)  The applicant or, in the case of an applicant that is not an individual, each of 

the applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, and 

managing members, has not been convicted of, pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or 

been granted a deferred acceptance of a guilty plea under federal law or chapter 853 to 

any misdemeanor involving an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money 

laundering; 

     (5)  The applicant has satisfied theall other licensing requirements of this chapter; 

and 

     (6)  The applicant has the bond required by section    -35. 

     (b)  The applicant or, in the case of an applicant that is not an individual, each of the 

applicant's control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, and managing 

members shall submit authorization to the commissioner for the commissioner to conduct 

background checks to determine or verify the information in subsection (a) in each state where 

the person has conducted the lending of small dollar loans.  Authorization pursuant to this 

subsection shall include consent to provide additional fingerprints, if necessary, to law 

enforcement or regulatory bodies in other states. 

     (c)  A license shall not be issued to an applicant: 

     (1)  Whose license to conduct business under this chapter, or any similar statute in 

any other jurisdiction, has been suspended or revoked within five years of the filing of 

the present application; 
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     (2)  Whose license to conduct business in the small dollar loan or payday industry 

has been revoked by an administrative order issued by the commissioner or the 

commissioner's designee, or the licensing authority of another state or jurisdiction, for 

the period specified in the administrative order; 

     (3)  Who has advertised directly and purposefully to Hawaiian consumers or made 

internet loans in violation ofprior to obtaining a license under this chapter; or 

     (4)  Who has failed to complete an application for licensure. 

     (d)  A license issued in accordance with this chapter remains in force and effect until 

surrendered, suspended, or revoked, or until the license expires as a result of nonpayment of the 

annual license renewal fee as required by this chapter. 

     §   -35  Fees; bond.  (a)  A small dollar lender shall pay the following fees to the division to 

obtain and maintain a valid license under this chapter: 

     (1)  Initial application fee of $900; 

     (2)  Processing fee of $35 for each control person; 

     (3)  Annual license renewal fee of $600; 

     (4)  Applicable fee charged by the entities conducting the criminal history 

background check of each of the applicant's control persons, executive officers, 

directors, general partners, and managing members for submission to the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation and any governmental agency or entity authorized to receive 

the fingerprints for a state, national, and international criminal history background 

check; and 

     (5)  Applicable fee charged by the entities conducting an independent credit report 

obtained from a consumer reporting agency described in section 603(p) of the Fair 

Credit Reporting Act, title 15 United States Code section 1681a(p). 

     (b)  Each branch office shall pay the following fees to the division to obtain and maintain a 

valid license under this chapter: 

     (1)  Nonrefundable initial application fee of $600; and 

     (2)  Annual license renewal fee of $450. 

     (c)  The applicant shall file and maintain a surety bond, approved by the commissioner, 

executed by the applicant as obligor and by a surety company authorized to operate as a surety in 

this State, whose liability as a surety does not exceed, in the aggregate, the penal sum of the 
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bond.  The penal sum of the bond shall be a minimum of $30,000 and a maximum of $250,000, 

based upon the annual dollar amount of loans originated. 

     (d)  The bond required by subsection (c) shall run to the State of Hawaii as obligee for the use 

and benefit of the State and of any person or persons who may have a cause of action against the 

licensee as obligor under this chapter.  The bond shall be conditioned upon the following: 

     (1)  The licensee as obligor shall faithfully conform to and abide by this chapter 

and all the rules adopted under this chapter; and 

     (2)  The bond shall pay to the State and any person or persons having a cause of 

action against the licensee as obligor all moneys that may become due and owing to 

the State and those persons under and by virtue of this chapter. 

     (e)  Each small dollar lender shall pay a nonrefundable fee of $           to the division for each 

office that is relocated. 

     §   -36  Renewal of license; annual report.  (a)  On or before December 31 of each year, 

each licensee shall pay a renewal fee pursuant to section    -35. 

     (b)  The annual renewal fee shall be accompanied by a report, in a form prescribed by the 

commissioner, which shall include: 

     (1)  A copy of the licensee's most recent audited annual financial statement, 

including balance sheets, statement of income or loss, statement of changes in 

shareholders' equity, and statement of cash flows or, if a licensee is a wholly owned 

subsidiary of another corporation, the consolidated audited annual financial statement 

of the parent corporation in lieu of the licensee's audited annual financial statement; 

     (2)  A report detailing the small dollar lender's activities in this State, including: 

          (A)  The number of small dollar loans made; 

          (B)  The number of small dollar loans the lender is servicing; 

          (C)  The type and characteristics of loans serviced in this State; 

          (D)  The number of small dollar serviced loans in default; and 

          (E)  Any other information that the commissioner may require; 

     (3)  Any material changes to any of the information submitted by the licensee on 

its original application that have not previously been reported to the commissioner on 

any other report required to be filed under this chapter; 

     (4)  A list of the principal place of business and branch locations, if any, within this 

State where business regulated by this chapter is being conducted by the licensee; 

     (5)  Disclosure of any pending or final suspension, revocation, or other 

enforcement action by any state or governmental authority; and 
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     (6)  Any other information the commissioner may require. 

     (c)  A license may be renewed by continuing to meet the licensing requirements of sections    

-33,    -34, and    -35, filing a completed renewal statement on a form prescribed by NMLS or by 

the commissioner, paying a renewal fee, and meeting the requirements of this section. 

     (d)  A licensee that has not filed an annual report that has been deemed complete by the 

commissioner or paid its annual renewal fee by the renewal filing deadline, and has not been 

granted an extension of time to do so by the commissioner, shall have its license suspended on 

the renewal date.  The licensee shall have thirty days after its license is suspended to file an 

annual report and pay the annual renewal fee, plus a late filing fee of $250 for each business day 

after suspension that the commissioner does not receive the annual report and the annual renewal 

fee.  The commissioner, for good cause, may grant an extension of the renewal date or reduce or 

suspend the $250 per day late filing fee. 

     §   -37  Enforcement authorities; violations; penalties.  (a)  To ensure the effective 

supervision and enforcement of this chapter, the commissioner, pursuant to chapter 91, may take 

any disciplinary action as specified in subsection (b) against an applicant or licensee if the 

commissioner finds that: 

     (1)  The applicant or licensee has violated this chapter or any rule or order lawfully 

made pursuant to this chapter; 

     (2)  Facts or conditions exist that would clearly have justified the commissioner in 

denying an application for licensure, had these facts or conditions been known to exist 

at the time the application was made; 

     (3)  The applicant or licensee has failed to provide information required by the 

commissioner within a reasonable time, as specified by the commissioner; 

     (4)  The applicant or licensee has failed to provide or maintain proof of financial 

responsibility; 

     (5)  The applicant or licensee is insolvent; 

     (6)  The applicant or licensee has made, in any document or statement filed with 

the commissioner, a false representation of a material fact or has omitted to state a 

material fact; 

     (7)  The applicant, licensee, or, if an applicant or licensee is not an individual, each 

of the applicant's or licensee's control persons, executive officers, directors, general 

partners, and managing members have been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or 

nolo contendere to a crime involving fraud or deceit, or to any similar crime under the 

jurisdiction of any federal court or court of another state; 



21 

 

     (8)  The applicant or licensee has failed to make, maintain, or produce records that 

comply with section   -17 or any rule adopted by the commissioner pursuant to 

chapter 91; 

     (9)  The applicant or licensee has been the subject of any disciplinary action by any 

state or federal agency that resulted in revocation of a license; 

    (10)  A final judgment has been entered against the applicant or licensee for 

violations of this chapter, any state or federal law concerning small dollar loans, 

deferred deposit loans, check cashing, payday loans, banking, mortgage loan 

originators, money transmitters, or any state or federal law prohibiting deceptive or 

unfair trade or business practices; or 

    (11)  The applicant or licensee has failed, in a timely manner as specified by the 

commissioner, to take or provide proof of the corrective action required by the 

commissioner subsequent to an investigation or examination pursuant to section    -43. 

     (b)  After a finding of one or more of the conditions under subsection (a), the commissioner 

may take any or all of the following actions: 

     (1)  Deny an application for licensure, including an application for a branch office 

license; 

     (2)  Revoke the license; 

     (3)  Suspend the license for a period of time; 

     (4)  Issue an order to the licensee to cease and desist from engaging in any act 

specified under subsection (a); 

     (5)  Order the licensee to make refunds to consumers of excess charges under this 

chapter; 

     (6)  Impose penalties of up to $1,000 for each violation; or 

     (7)  Bar a person from applying for or holding a license for a period of five years 

following revocation of the person's license. 

     (c)  The commissioner may issue a temporary cease and desist order if the commissioner 

makes a finding that the licensee, applicant, or person is engaging, has engaged, or is about to 

engage in an illegal, unauthorized, unsafe, or unsound practice in violation of this chapter.  

Whenever the commissioner denies a license application or takes disciplinary action pursuant to 

this subsection, the commissioner shall enter an order to that effect and notify the licensee, 
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applicant, or person of the denial or disciplinary action.  The notification required by this 

subsection shall be given by personal service or by mail to the last known address of the licensee 

or applicant as shown on the application, license, or as subsequently furnished in writing to the 

commissioner. 

     (d)  The revocation, suspension, expiration, or surrender of a license shall not affect the 

licensee's liability for acts previously committed or impair the commissioner's ability to issue a 

final agency order or impose discipline against the licensee. 

     (e)  No revocation, suspension, or surrender of a license shall impair or affect the obligation 

of any preexisting lawful contract between the licensee and any consumer. 

     (f)  The commissioner may reinstate a license, terminate a suspension, or grant a new license 

to a person whose license has been revoked or suspended if no fact or condition then exists that 

clearly would justify the commissioner in revoking, suspending, or refusing to grant a license. 

     (g)  The commissioner may impose an administrative fine on a licensee or person subject to 

this chapter if the commissioner finds on the record after notice and opportunity for hearing that 

the licensee or person subject to this chapter has violated or failed to comply with any 

requirement of this chapter or any rule prescribed by the commissioner under this chapter or 

order issued under the authority of this chapter. 

     (h)  Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or order of the commissioner shall 

be a separate and distinct violation. 

     (i)  Any violation of this chapter that is directed toward, targets, or injures an elder may be 

subject to an additional civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each violation in addition to any 

other fines or penalties assessed for the violation. 

     §   -38  Voluntary surrender of license.  (a)  A licensee may voluntarily cease business and 

surrender its license by giving written notice to the commissioner of its intent to surrender its 

license.  Prior to the surrender date of a license, the licensee shall have either completed all 

pending small dollar loan transactions or assigned each pending small dollar loan transaction to 

another licensee or entity described in section    -16. 

     (b)  Notice pursuant to this section shall be provided at least thirty days before the surrender 

of the license and shall include: 

     (1)  The date of surrender; 

     (2)  The name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, and electronic mail 

address of a contact individual with knowledge and authority sufficient to 

communicate with the commissioner regarding all matters relating to the licensee 

during the period that it was licensed pursuant to this chapter; 

     (3)  The reason or reasons for surrender; 

     (4)  Total dollar amount of the licensee's outstanding small dollar loans sold in 

Hawaii and the individual amounts of each outstanding small dollar loans, and the 

name, address, and contact telephone number of the licensee to which each 

outstanding small dollar loan was assigned; 
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     (5)  A list of the licensee's Hawaii authorized branch offices, if any, as of the date 

of surrender; 

     (6)  Confirmation that the licensee has notified each of its Hawaii authorized 

branch offices, if any, that the branch offices may no longer make small dollar loans 

on the licensee's behalf; and 

     (7)  Confirmation that the licensee has notified each of its small dollar loan 

consumers, if any, that the small dollar loan is being transferred and the name, 

address, telephone number, and any other contact information of the licensee or other 

entity, as described in section    -16, to whom the small dollar loan was assigned. 

     (c)  Voluntary surrender of a license shall be effective upon the date of surrender specified on 

the written notice to the commissioner as required by this section; provided that the licensee has 

met all the requirements of voluntary surrender and has returned the original license issued. 

     §   -39  Sale or transfer of license; change of control.  (a)  No small dollar lender license 

shall be transferred, except as provided in this section. 

     (b)  A person or group of persons requesting approval of a proposed change of control of a 

licensee shall submit to the commissioner an application requesting approval of a proposed 

change of control of the licensee, accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $500. 

     (c)  After review of a request for approval under subsection (b), the commissioner may 

require the licensee or person or group of persons requesting approval of a proposed change of 

control of the licensee, or both, to provide additional information concerning the persons who 

shall assume control of the licensee.  The additional information shall be limited to similar 

information required of the licensee or persons in control of the licensee as part of its original 

license or renewal application under sections    -33 and    -36.  The information shall include, for 

the five-year period prior to the date of the application for change of control of the licensee, a 

history of material litigation and criminal convictions of each person who, upon approval of the 

application for change of control, will be a principal of the licensee.  Authorization shall also be 

given to conduct criminal history record checks of those persons, accompanied by the 

appropriate payment of the applicable fee for each record check. 

     (d)  The commissioner shall approve a request for change of control under subsection (b) if, 

after investigation, the commissioner determines that the person or group of persons requesting 

approval has the competence, experience, character, and general fitness to control the licensee or 

person in control of the licensee in a lawful and proper manner, and that the interests of the 

public will not be jeopardized by the change of control. 

     (e)  The following persons shall be exempt from the requirements of subsection (b), but the 

licensee regardless shall notify the commissioner when a change of control results in the 

following: 

     (1)  A person who acts as a proxy for the sole purpose of voting at a designated 

meeting of the security holders or holders of voting interests of a licensee or person in 

control of a licensee; 
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     (2)  A person who acquires control of a licensee by devise or descent; 

     (3)  A person who acquires control as a personal representative, custodian, 

guardian, conservator, trustee, or as an officer appointed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction or by operation of law; or 

     (4)  A person whom the commissioner, by rule or order, exempts in the public 

interest. 

     (f)  Before filing a request for approval for a change of control, a person may request, in 

writing, a determination from the commissioner as to whether the person would be considered a 

person in control of a licensee upon consummation of a proposed transaction.  If the 

commissioner determines that the person would not be a person in control of a licensee, the 

commissioner shall enter an order to that effect and the proposed person and transaction shall not 

be subject to subsections (b) through (d). 

     (g)  Subsection (b) shall not apply to public offerings of securities. 

     §   -40  Authorized places of business; principal office; branch offices; relocation; 

closure.  (a)  Every small dollar lender licensed under this chapter shall have and maintain a 

principal place of business in the State, regardless of whether the small dollar lender maintains 

its principal office outside of the State. 

     (b)  If a small dollar lender has more than one place of business, each additional place of 

business in Hawaii shall be licensed as a branch office with the commissioner.  No business shall 

be conducted at a branch office until the branch office has been licensed by the commissioner. 

     (c)  A small dollar lender shall not maintain any branch offices in the State in addition to its 

principal place of business without the prior written approval of the commissioner.  An 

application to establish a branch office shall be submitted through NMLS with a nonrefundable 

application fee as required by section    -35. 

     (d)  A small dollar lender shall not relocate any office in this State without the prior written 

approval of the commissioner.  An application to relocate an office shall be submitted to the 

commissioner at least thirty days prior to relocating and shall set forth the reasons for the 

relocation, the street address of the proposed relocated office, and other information that may be 

required by the commissioner.  An application to relocate an office pursuant to this subsection 

shall be submitted with a nonrefundable fee as required by section    -35. 

     (e)  A small dollar lender shall give the commissioner notice of its intent to close a branch 

office at least thirty days prior to the closing.  The notice shall: 

     (1)  State the intended date of closing; and 

     (2)  Specify the reasons for the closing. 

     (f)  The principal place of business and each branch office of the small dollar lender shall be 

identified in NMLS to consumers as a location at which the licensee holds itself out as a small 

dollar lender. 
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     (g)  A license issued under this chapter shall be prominently displayed in the principal place 

of business and each branch office. 

     §   -41  Payment of fees.  All fees collected pursuant to section    -35, administrative fines, 

and other charges collected pursuant to this chapter shall be deposited into the compliance 

resolution fund established pursuant to section 26-9(o) and shall be payable through NMLS, to 

the extent allowed by NMLS.  Fees not eligible for payment through NMLS shall be deposited 

into a separate account within the compliance resolution fund for use by the division. 

     §   -42  Powers of commissioner.  (a)  The commissioner may adopt rules pursuant to chapter 

91 as the commissioner deems necessary for the administration of this chapter. 

     (b)  In addition to any other powers provided by law, the commissioner shall have the 

authority tomay: 

     (1)  Issue declaratory rulings or informal nonbinding interpretations; 

     (2)  Investigate and conduct hearings regarding any violation of this chapter or any 

rule or order of, or agreement with, the commissioner; 

     (3)  Create fact-finding committees that may make recommendations to the 

commissioner for the commissioner's deliberations; 

     (4)  Require an applicant or any of its control persons, executive officers, directors, 

general partners, and managing members to disclose their relevant criminal history 

and request a criminal history record check in accordance with chapter 846; 

     (5)  Contract with or employ qualified persons, including accountants, attorneys, 

investigators, examiners, auditors, or other professionals who may be exempt from 

chapter 76 and who shall assist the commissioner in exercising the commissioner's 

powers and duties; 

     (6)  Process and investigate complaints, subpoena witnesses and documents, 

administer oaths, and receive affidavits and oral testimony, including telephonic 

communications, and do any and all things necessary or incidental to the exercise of 

the commissioner's power and duties, including the authority to conduct contested 

case proceedings under chapter 91; 

     (7)  Require a licensee to comply with any rule, guidance, guideline, statement, 

supervisory policy or any similar proclamation issued or adopted by the Federal 

Deposit Insurance Corporation to the same extent and in the same manner as a bank 

chartered by the State or, in the alternative, any policy position of the Conference of 

State Bank Supervisors; 
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     (8)  Enter into agreements or relationships with other government officials or 

regulatory associations in order to improve efficiencies and reduce regulatory burden 

by sharing resources, standardized or uniform methods or procedures, and documents, 

records, information, or evidence obtained under this chapter; 

     (9)  Use, hire, contract, or employ public or privately available analytical systems, 

methods, or software to investigate or examine a licensee or person subject to this 

chapter; 

    (10)  Accept and rely on investigation or examination reports made by other 

government officials, within or without this State; and 

    (11)  Accept audit reports made by an independent certified public accountant for 

the licensee or person subject to this chapter in the course of that part of the 

examination covering the same general subject matter as the audit and may 

incorporate the audit report in the report of the examination, report of investigation, or 

other writing of the commissioner. 

     §   -43  Investigation and examination authority.  (a)  In addition to the authority granted 

under section    -42(b), the commissioner shall have the authority tomay conduct investigations 

and examinations in accordance with this section.  The commissioner may access, receive, and 

use any books, accounts, records, files, documents, information, or evidence that the 

commissioner deems relevant to the investigation or examination, regardless of the location, 

possession, control, or custody of the documents, information, or evidence. 

     (b)  For the purposes of investigating violations or complaints arising under this chapter, or 

for the purposes of examination, the commissioner may review, investigate, or examine any 

licensee or person subject to this chapter as often as necessary to carry out the purposes of this 

chapter.  The commissioner may direct, subpoena, or order the attendance of, and examine under 

oath, all persons whose testimony may be required about loans or the business or subject matter 

of any examination or investigation and may direct, subpoena, or order the person to produce 

books, accounts, records, files, and any other documents the commissioner deems relevant to the 

inquiry. 

     (c)  Each licensee or person subject to this chapter shall provide to the commissioner, upon 

request, the books and records relating to the operations of the licensee or person subject to this 

chapter.  The commissioner shall have access to the books and records and shall be permitted to 

interview the control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, managing members, 

principals, managers, employees, independent contractors, agents, and consumers of the licensee 

or person subject to this chapter concerning their business. 

     (d)  Each licensee or person subject to this chapter shall make or compile reports or prepare 

other information, as directed by the commissioner, to carry out the purposes of this section, 

including: 

     (1)  Accounting compilations; 
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     (2)  Information lists and data concerning loan transactions in a format prescribed 

by the commissioner; or 

     (3)  Other information that the commissioner deems necessary. 

     (e)  In conducting any investigation or examination authorized by this chapter, the 

commissioner may control access to any documents and records of the licensee or person under 

investigation or examination.  The commissioner may take possession of the documents and 

records or place a person in exclusive charge of the documents and records.  During the period of 

control, no person shall remove or attempt to remove any of the documents and records except 

pursuant to a court order or with the consent of the commissioner.  Unless the commissioner has 

reasonable grounds to believe the documents or records of the licensee or person under 

investigation or examination have been, or are at risk of being, altered or destroyed for the 

purposes of concealing a violation of this chapter, the licensee or owner of the documents and 

records shall have access to the documents or records as necessary to conduct its ordinary 

business affairs. 

     (f)  The authority of this section shall remain in effect, whether a licensee or person subject to 

this chapter acts or claims to act under any licensing or registration law of this State, or claims to 

act without suchthat authority. 

     (g)  No licensee or person subject to investigation or examination under this section may 

knowingly withhold, abstract, remove, mutilate, destroy, or secrete any books, records, computer 

records, or other information. 

     (h)  The commissioner may charge an investigation or examination fee, payable to the 

commissioner, based upon the cost per hour per examiner for all licensees and persons subject to 

this chapter investigated or examined by the commissioner or the commissioner's staff.  The 

hourly fee shall be $60 or an amount as the commissioner shall establish by rule pursuant to 

chapter 91.  In addition to the investigation or examination fee, the commissioner may charge 

any person who is examined or investigated by the commissioner or the commissioner's staff 

pursuant to this section additional amounts for travel, per diem, mileage, and other reasonable 

expenses incurred in connection with the investigation or examination, payable to the 

commissioner. 

     (i)  Any person having reason to believe that this chapter or the rules adopted under this 

chapter have been violated, or that a license issued under this chapter should be suspended or 

revoked, may file a written complaint with the commissioner, setting forth the details of the 

alleged violation or grounds for suspension or revocation. 

     §   -44  Confidentiality.  (a)  Except as otherwise provided in title 12 United States Code 

section 5111, the requirements under any federal or state law regarding the privacy or 

confidentiality of any information or material provided to NMLS, and any privilege arising under 

federal or state law, including the rules of any federal or state court, with respect to the 

information or material shall continue to apply to the information or material after the 

information or material has been disclosed to NMLS.  The information and material may be 

shared with all state and federal regulatory officials withhaving oversight authority over 
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transactions subject to this chapter, without the loss of privilege or the loss of confidentiality 

protections provided by federal or state law. 

     (b)  For the purposes of this section, the commissioner is authorized to enter into agreements 

or sharing arrangements with other governmental agencies, the Conference of State Bank 

Supervisors, or other associations representing governmental agencies as established by rule or 

order of the commissioner. 

     (c)  Information or material that is subject to a privilege or confidentiality under subsection 

(a) shall not be subject to: 

     (1)  Disclosure under any federal or state law governing the disclosure to the public 

of information held by an officer or an agency of the federal government or a state; or 

     (2)  Subpoena or discovery, or admission into evidence, in any private civil action 

or administrative process, unless any privilege is determined by NMLS to be 

applicable to the information or material; provided that the person to whom the 

information or material pertains waives, in whole or in part, in the discretion of the 

person, that privilege. 

     (d)  Notwithstanding chapter 92F, the examination process and related information and 

documents, including the reports of examination, shall be confidential and shall not be subject to 

discovery or disclosure in civil or criminal lawsuits. 

     (e)  In the event ofIf a conflict between this section and any other section of law relating to 

the disclosure of privileged or confidential information or material occurs, this section shall 

control. 

     (f)  This section shall not apply to information or material relating to the employment history 

of, and publicly adjudicated disciplinary and enforcement actions against, any persons that are 

included in NMLS for access by the public. 

     §   -45  Prohibited practices.  (a)  It shall be a violation of this chapter for a licensee, its 

control persons, executive officers, directors, general partners, managing members, employees, 

or independent contractors, or any other person subject to this chapter to: 

     (1)  Engage in any act that limits or restricts the application of this chapter, 

including making a small dollar loan disguised as a leaseback transaction or a 

personal property, personal sales, or automobile title loan, or by disguising loan 

proceeds as cash rebates for the pretextual installment sale of goods and services; 

     (2)  Make a secured small dollar loan; 

     (3)  Use a consumer's account number to prepare, issue, or create a check on behalf 

of the consumer; 

     (4)  Charge, collect, or receive, directly or indirectly, mandatory credit insurance 

premiums, charges for negotiating forms of loan proceeds other than cash, charges for 
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brokering or obtaining loans, prepayment fees, or any fees, interest, or charges in 

connection with a small dollar loan except those explicitly authorized in this chapter; 

     (5)  Fail to make disclosures as required by this chapter and any other applicable 

state or federal law, including rules or regulations adopted pursuant to state or federal 

law; 

     (6)  Directly or indirectly employ any scheme, device, or artifice to defraud or 

mislead any consumer, any lender, or any person; 

     (7)  Directly or indirectly engage in unfair or deceptive acts, practices, or 

advertising in connection with a small dollar loan toward any person; 

     (8)  Directly or indirectly obtain property by fraud or misrepresentation; 

     (9)  Make a small dollar loan to any person physically located in the State through 

the use of the Internet, facsimile, telephone, kiosk, or other means without first 

obtaining a license under this chapter; 

    (10)  Make, in any manner, any false or deceptive statement or representation, 

including with regard to the rates, fees, or other financing terms or conditions for a 

small dollar loan, or engage in bait and switch advertising; 

    (11)  Make any false statement or knowingly and wilfully make any omission of 

material fact in connection with any reports filed with the division by a licensee or in 

connection with any investigation conducted by the division; 

    (12)  Advertise any rate of interest without conspicuously disclosing the annual 

percentage rate implied by that rate of interest or otherwise fail to comply with any 

requirement of the Truth in Lending Act, or any other applicable state or federal laws 

or regulations; 

    (13)  Make small dollar loans from any unlicensed location; 

    (14)  Draft funds from any depository financial institution without written approval 

of the consumer; provided that nothing in this paragraph shall prohibit the conversion 

of a negotiable instrument into an electronic form for processing through the 

Automated Clearing House or similar system; 

    (15)  Attempt to collect from a consumer's account after two consecutive attempts 

have failed, unless the licensee obtains new written authorization from the consumer 

to transfer or withdraw funds from the account; 
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    (16)  Make a loan to a consumer that includes a demand feature that was not clearly 

disclosed in the written agreement pursuant to section   -3 or collect or demand 

repayment of any outstanding balance or unpaid interest or fees except as provided in 

section   -3; 

    (17)  Fail to comply with allany applicable state and federal lawslaw relating to the 

activities governed by this chapter; or 

    (18)  Fail to pay any fee, assessment, or moneys due to the department. 

     (b)  In addition to any other penalties provided for under this chapter, any small dollar loan 

transaction in violation of subsection (a) shall be void and unenforceable." 

PART II 

     SECTION 3.  Section 478-4, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended by amending subsection 

(d) to read as follows: 

     "(d)  The rate limitations contained in subsections (a) and (b) of this section and section 478-

11.5 shall not apply to any [credit]: 

     (1)  Credit transaction authorized by, and entered into in accordance with the 

provisions of, articles 9 and 10 of chapter 412 or chapter 476[.]; or 

     (2)  Small dollar loan transaction authorized by, and entered into in accordance 

with, chapter   ." 

     SECTION 4.  Section 478-5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "§478-5  Usury not recoverable.  If a greater rate of interest than that permitted by law is 

contracted for with respect to any consumer credit transaction, any home business loan or any 

credit card agreement, the contract shall not, by reason thereof, be void.  But if in any action on 

the contract proof is made that a greater rate of interest than that permitted by law has been 

directly or indirectly contracted for, the creditor shall only recover the principal and the debtor 

shall recover costs.  If interest has been paid, judgment shall be for the principal less the amount 

of interest paid.  This section shall not be held to apply[, to loans] to: 

     (1)  Loans made by financial services loan companies and credit unions at the rates 

authorized under and pursuant to articles 9 and 10 of chapter 412[.]; or 

     (2)  Any small dollar loan regulated under chapter   ." 

     SECTION 5.  Section 478-6, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "§478-6  Usury; penalty.  Any person who directly or indirectly receives any interest or 

finance charge at a rate greater than that permitted by law or who, by any method or device 

whatsoever, receives or arranges for the receipt of interest or finance charge at a greater rate than 

that permitted by law on any credit transaction shall be guilty of usury and shall be fined not 



31 

 

more than $250, unless a greater amount is allowed by law, or imprisoned not more than one 

year, or both." 

     SECTION 6.  Section 480F-3, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "[[]§480F-3[]]  Authorized fees.  [Except as provided in section 480F-4, no] No check casher 

shall charge fees in excess of the following amounts: 

     (1)  Five per cent of the face amount of the check or $5, whichever is greater; 

     (2)  Three per cent of the face amount of the check or $5, whichever is greater, if 

the check is the payment of any kind of state public assistance or federal social 

security benefit payable to the bearer of the check; 

     (3)  Ten per cent of the face amount of a personal check or money order, or $5, 

whichever is greater; or 

     (4)  No more than $10 to set up an initial account and issue an optional 

membership or identification card, and no more than $5 for a replacement optional 

identification card. 

The fees allowed in this section shall not be assessed in any transaction or agreement in which 

the check casher defers deposit of the check." 

     SECTION 7.  Section 480F-6, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "§480F-6  Penalties.  (a)  Any person who violates this chapter shall be deemed to have 

engaged in an unfair or deceptive act or practice in the conduct of any trade or commerce within 

the meaning of section 480-2(a).  Aggrieved consumers may seek those remedies set forth in 

section 480-13(b). 

     (b)  Any person who is not a consumer and is injured by a wilful violation of this chapter may 

bring an action for the recovery of damages, a proceeding to restrain and enjoin those violations, 

or both.  If judgment is for the plaintiff, the plaintiff shall be awarded a sum not less than $1,000 

or threefold damages, whichever sum is greater, and reasonable attorneys' fees together with the 

costs of suit. 

     (c)  A wilful violation of this chapter shall be punishable by a fine of up to $500 and up to 

thirty days imprisonment. 

     [(d)  A customer who enters into a written deferred deposit agreement and offers a personal 

check to a check casher pursuant to that agreement shall not be subject to any criminal penalty 

for failure to comply with the terms of that agreement unless the check is dishonored because the 

customer closed the account or stopped payment on the check.]" 

     SECTION 8.  Section 846-2.7, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended by amending subsection 

(b) to read as follows: 

     "(b)  Criminal history record checks may be conducted by: 
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     (1)  The department of health or its designee on operators of adult foster homes for 

individuals with developmental disabilities or developmental disabilities domiciliary 

homes and their employees, as provided by section 321-15.2; 

     (2)  The department of health or its designee on prospective employees, persons 

seeking to serve as providers, or subcontractors in positions that place them in direct 

contact with clients when providing non-witnessed direct mental health or health care 

services as provided by section 321-171.5; 

     (3)  The department of health or its designee on all applicants for licensure or 

certification for, operators for, prospective employees, adult volunteers, and all adults, 

except adults in care, at healthcare facilities as defined in section 321-15.2; 

     (4)  The department of education on employees, prospective employees, and 

teacher trainees in any public school in positions that necessitate close proximity to 

children as provided by section 302A-601.5; 

     (5)  The counties on employees and prospective employees who may be in 

positions that place them in close proximity to children in recreation or child care 

programs and services; 

     (6)  The county liquor commissions on applicants for liquor licenses as provided 

by section 281-53.5; 

     (7)  The county liquor commissions on employees and prospective employees 

involved in liquor administration, law enforcement, and liquor control investigations; 

     (8)  The department of human services on operators and employees of child caring 

institutions, child placing organizations, and foster boarding homes as provided by 

section 346-17; 

     (9)  The department of human services on prospective adoptive parents as 

established under section 346-19.7; 

    (10)  The department of human services or its designee on applicants to operate 

child care facilities, household members of the applicant, prospective employees of 

the applicant, and new employees and household members of the provider after 

registration or licensure as provided by section 346-154, and persons subject to 

section 346-152.5; 
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    (11)  The department of human services on persons exempt pursuant to section 346-

152 to be eligible to provide child care and receive child care subsidies as provided by 

section 346-152.5; 

    (12)  The department of health on operators and employees of home and 

community-based case management agencies and operators and other adults, except 

for adults in care, residing in community care foster family homes as provided by 

section 321-15.2; 

    (13)  The department of human services on staff members of the Hawaii youth 

correctional facility as provided by section 352-5.5; 

    (14)  The department of human services on employees, prospective employees, and 

volunteers of contracted providers and subcontractors in positions that place them in 

close proximity to youth when providing services on behalf of the office or the Hawaii 

youth correctional facility as provided by section 352D-4.3; 

    (15)  The judiciary on employees and applicants at detention and shelter facilities as 

provided by section 571-34; 

    (16)  The department of public safety on employees and prospective employees 

who are directly involved with the treatment and care of persons committed to a 

correctional facility or who possess police powers including the power of arrest as 

provided by section 353C-5; 

    (17)  The board of private detectives and guards on applicants for private detective 

or private guard licensure as provided by section 463-9; 

    (18)  Private schools and designated organizations on employees and prospective 

employees who may be in positions that necessitate close proximity to children; 

provided that private schools and designated organizations receive only indications of 

the states from which the national criminal history record information was provided 

pursuant to section 302C-1; 

    (19)  The public library system on employees and prospective employees whose 

positions place them in close proximity to children as provided by section 302A-

601.5; 

    (20)  The State or any of its branches, political subdivisions, or agencies on 

applicants and employees holding a position that has the same type of contact with 

children, vulnerable adults, or persons committed to a correctional facility as other 
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public employees who hold positions that are authorized by law to require criminal 

history record checks as a condition of employment as provided by section 78-2.7; 

    (21)  The department of health on licensed adult day care center operators, 

employees, new employees, subcontracted service providers and their employees, and 

adult volunteers as provided by section 321-15.2; 

    (22)  The department of human services on purchase of service contracted and 

subcontracted service providers and their employees serving clients of the adult 

protective and community services branch, as provided by section 346-97; 

    (23)  The department of human services on foster grandparent program, senior 

companion program, and respite companion program participants as provided by 

section 346-97; 

    (24)  The department of human services on contracted and subcontracted service 

providers and their current and prospective employees that provide home and 

community-based services under section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, title 42 

United States Code section 1396n(c), or under any other applicable section or sections 

of the Social Security Act for the purposes of providing home and community-based 

services, as provided by section 346-97; 

    (25)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on proposed directors and 

executive officers of a bank, savings bank, savings and loan association, trust 

company, and depository financial services loan company as provided by section 

412:3-201; 

    (26)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on proposed directors and 

executive officers of a nondepository financial services loan company as provided by 

section 412:3-301; 

    (27)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on the original chartering 

applicants and proposed executive officers of a credit union as provided by section 

412:10-103; 

    (28)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on: 

          (A)  Each principal of every non-corporate applicant for a money transmitter license; 

          (B)  Each person who upon approval of an application by a corporate applicant for a 

money transmitter license will be a principal of the licensee; and 

          (C)  Each person who upon approval of an application requesting approval of a proposed 

change in control of licensee will be a principal of the licensee, 
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          as provided by sections 489D-9 and 489D-15; 

    (29)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on applicants for licensure 

and persons licensed under title 24; 

    (30)  The Hawaii health systems corporation on: 

          (A)  Employees; 

          (B)  Applicants seeking employment; 

          (C)  Current or prospective members of the corporation board or regional system board; or 

          (D)  Current or prospective volunteers, providers, or contractors, 

          in any of the corporation's health facilities as provided by section 323F-5.5; 

    (31)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on: 

          (A)  An applicant for a mortgage loan originator license, or license renewal; and 

          (B)  Each control person, executive officer, director, general partner, and managing 

member of an applicant for a mortgage loan originator company license or 

license renewal, 

          as provided by chapter 454F; 

    (32)  The state public charter school commission or public charter schools on 

employees, teacher trainees, prospective employees, and prospective teacher trainees 

in any public charter school for any position that places them in close proximity to 

children, as provided in section 302D-33; 

    (33)  The counties on prospective employees who work with children, vulnerable 

adults, or senior citizens in community-based programs; 

    (34)  The counties on prospective employees for fire department positions which 

involve contact with children or vulnerable adults; 

    (35)  The counties on prospective employees for emergency medical services 

positions which involve contact with children or vulnerable adults; 

    (36)  The counties on prospective employees for emergency management positions 

and community volunteers whose responsibilities involve planning and executing 

homeland security measures including viewing, handling, and engaging in law 

enforcement or classified meetings and assisting vulnerable citizens during 

emergencies or crises; 
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    (37)  The State and counties on employees, prospective employees, volunteers, and 

contractors whose position responsibilities require unescorted access to secured areas 

and equipment related to a traffic management center; 

    (38)  The State and counties on employees and prospective employees whose 

positions involve the handling or use of firearms for other than law enforcement 

purposes; 

    (39)  The State and counties on current and prospective systems analysts and others 

involved in an agency's information technology operation whose position 

responsibilities provide them with access to proprietary, confidential, or sensitive 

information; 

    (40)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on: 

          (A)  Applicants for real estate appraiser licensure or certification as provided by chapter 

466K; 

          (B)  Each person who owns more than ten per cent of an appraisal management company 

who is applying for registration as an appraisal management company, as 

provided by section 466L-7; and 

          (C)  Each of the controlling persons of an applicant for registration as an appraisal 

management company, as provided by section 466L-7; 

    (41)  The department of health or its designee on all license applicants, licensees, 

employees, contractors, and prospective employees of medical cannabis dispensaries, 

and individuals permitted to enter and remain in medical cannabis dispensary facilities 

as provided under sections 329D-15(a)(4) and 329D-16(a)(3); 

    (42)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on applicants for nurse 

licensure or license renewal, reactivation, or restoration as provided by sections 457-7, 

457-8, 457-8.5, and 457-9; 

    (43)  The county police departments on applicants for permits to acquire firearms 

pursuant to section 134-2 and on individuals registering their firearms pursuant to 

section 134-3; 

    (44)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on: 

          (A)  Each of the controlling persons of the applicant for licensure as an escrow depository, 

and each of the officers, directors, and principals who will be in charge of 

the escrow depository's activities upon licensure; and 

          (B)  Each of the controlling persons of an applicant for proposed change in control of an 

escrow depository licensee, and each of the officers, directors, and 
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principals who will be in charge of the licensee's activities upon approval 

of such application, 

          as provided by chapter 449; 

    (45)  The department of taxation on current or prospective employees or contractors 

who have access to federal tax information in order to comply with requirements of 

federal law, regulation, or procedure, as provided by section 231-1.6; 

    (46)  The department of labor and industrial relations on current or prospective 

employees or contractors who have access to federal tax information in order to 

comply with requirements of federal law, regulation, or procedure, as provided by 

section 383-110; 

    (47)  The department of human services on current or prospective employees or 

contractors who have access to federal tax information in order to comply with 

requirements of federal law, regulation, or procedure, as provided by section 346-2.5; 

    (48)  The child support enforcement agency on current or prospective employees, 

or contractors who have access to federal tax information in order to comply with 

federal law, regulation, or procedure, as provided by section 576D-11.5; [and] 

    (49)  The department of commerce and consumer affairs on each control person, 

executive officer, director, general partner, and managing member of a small dollar 

loan licensee, or an applicant for a small dollar loan license as provided by chapter     ; 

and 

   [(49)] (50)  Any other organization, entity, or the State, its branches, political 

subdivisions, or agencies as may be authorized by state law." 

     SECTION 9.  There is appropriated out of the compliance resolution fund the sum of $           

or so much thereof as may be necessary for fiscal year 2020-2021 to establish and hire two full-

time equivalent (2.0 FTE) permanent examiners, without regard to chapter 76, Hawaii Revised 

Statutes, to carry out the purposes of the small dollar installment loan program established by 

section 2 of this Act; provided that the positions may be added to the position count for the 

division of financial institutions of the department of commerce and consumer affairs. 

     The sum appropriated shall be expended by the department of commerce and consumer 

affairs for the purposes of this part. 

PART III 

     SECTION 10.  Chapter 480F, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended by adding five new 

sections to be appropriately designated and to read as follows: 
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     "§480F-    Registration required.  (a)  No check casher shall conduct business in the State, 

including deferred deposit transactions, without first registering with the department under this 

chapter. 

     (b)  The director shall prescribe the form of the application for registration.  Each application 

shall be accompanied by thean appropriate fee as prescribed by the director by rules adopted 

pursuant to chapter 91. 

     (c)  Check casher registration shall be updated annually and shall include the following: 

     (1)  The address of the principal office of the check casher; 

     (2)  The name and address of the check casher's agent for service of process in the 

State; and 

     (3)  Payment of the appropriate registration renewal fees, as established by the 

director under rules adopted pursuant to chapter 91. 

     §480F-    Voluntary payment plans.  (a)  At the time of origination of a third consecutive 

deferred deposit transaction made to a customer by a check casher, and at the time of origination 

of any subsequent consecutive deferred deposit transactions, the check casher shall offer the 

customer in writing the option to participate in a voluntary payment plan.  Should the customer 

be in financial hardship, a voluntary payment plan may be requested by the customer and 

arranged by the customer and the check casher at any time. 

     (b)  The voluntary payment plan shall be structured to pay the existing debt, both the principal 

and the fee, in at least sixfour equal payments of no more than five per cent of the customer's 

monthly pretax paycheck that coincide with the customer's periodic pay dates or the date the 

customer is scheduled to receive benefits, unless the customer requests different payment due 

dates.  The payments made pursuant to the voluntary payment plan shall be applied directly to 

the existing debt, and the lender shall not charge the customer any additional fee other than an 

administration fee not to exceed $30 for participation in the voluntary payment plan.  The 

administration fee charged for a voluntary payment plan in compliance with this section shall be 

exempt from chapter 478. 

     (c)  The check casher shall provide a written copy of the voluntary payment plan agreement to 

the customer, or an electronic copy if the transaction is being conducted over the Internet.  The 

check casher shall be prohibited from engaging in collection activities while the customer 

continues to make payments in accordance with the payment plan.  The check casher is 

prohibited from making any additional deferred deposit transactions towith the customer prior to 

the completion of the payments under the voluntary payment plan. 

     (d)  The check casher may require the customer to provide a post-dated check or electronic 

authorization for funds transferred for each payment under the voluntary payment plan.  If any 

check or electronic authorization accepted by the check casher as payment for a voluntary 

payment plan is dishonored, the check casher may charge the customer a fee for the dishonored 

instrument not to exceed $20.  The fee charged for a dishonored check or electronic authorization 

in compliance with this section shall be exempt from chapter 478. 
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     (e)  If the customer fails to make payments in accordance with a voluntary payment plan, the 

check casher is entitled to take action as otherwise allowed under this chapter to collect the 

remaining funds due and may charge the customer a one-time default fee of $30. 

     §480F-    Single deferred deposit transaction limitation.  A check casher shall take 

reasonable measuremeasures to ensure that no customer has more than one deferred deposit 

transaction outstanding at a time from all sources.  It shall be sufficient for check cashers shallto 

receive written confirmation from each customer that the customer does not have any 

outstanding deferred deposit transactions as of the date the customer enters into a deferred 

deposit transaction with the check casher in order to satisfy this requirement. 

     §480F-    Records and reports.  Every check casher shall keep records and make reports 

with respect to the operation of business as provided in rules adopted by the director pursuant to 

chapter 91. 

     §480F-    Rules.  The director shall adopt rules necessary to implement this chapter pursuant 

to chapter 91." 

     SECTION 11.  Section 480F-1, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended by adding three new 

definitions to be appropriately inserted and to read as follows: 

     ""Department" means the department of commerce and consumer affairs. 

     "Director" means the director of commerce and consumer affairs. 

     "Financial hardship" means any hardship from loss of income, reduced work hours, increased 

living costs, or other hardships outside of the control of the customer to be determined at the 

discretion of the check casher and evidenced with documentation." 

     SECTION 12.  Section 480F-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "[[]§480F-2[]]  Posting and notice of fees charged.  Any person who cashes one or more 

checks for a fee shall: 

     (1)  Post in a conspicuous place in every location at which the person does business 

a notice that sets forth[:] in no smaller than thirty-eight point type: 

          (A)  The fees charged for cashing a check, for selling or issuing a money order, and for the 

initial issuance of any membership or identification cards; and 

          (B)  That consumer complaints about the check cashing business may be filed with the 

department [of commerce and consumer affairs], and includes and 

identifies the telephone number and address of the consumer information 

service of the department [of commerce and consumer affairs]; 

     (2)  Provide written notice to each customer [of the fees charged for cashing 

checks] in no smaller than twelve-point type that is separate from and in addition to 

any posted notice[;] the following information: 

          (A)  The fees charged for cashing checks; and 

          (B)  That consumer complaints about the check cashing business may be filed with the 

department, including and identifying the telephone number and address 

of the consumer information service of the department; 
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     (3)  Obtain a written acknowledgment from the customer that written notice [of the 

fees charged for cashing checks] as required by paragraph (2) was provided[;] to the 

customer; and 

     (4)  Provide each customer a receipt documenting any and all fees charged." 

     SECTION 13.  Section 480F-4, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "§480F-4  Deferred deposits, when allowed.  (a)  No check casher may defer the deposit of 

a check except as provided in this section. 

     (b)  In addition to the notice required by section 480F-2, a check casher that defers the deposit 

of any checks shall post in a conspicuous place in every location at which the check casher does 

business a notice that sets forth in no smaller than thirty-eight point type: 

     (1)  The total amount of any fees charged for the deferred deposit, expressed both 

in United States currency and as an annual percentage rate; 

     (2)  That customers have a right to rescind a deferred deposit transaction within 

twenty-four hours of the transaction; 

     (3)  That deferred deposit transactions are not suitable for long-term borrowing; 

     (4)  That a customer may have no more than one outstanding deferred deposit 

transaction from all sources; 

     (5)  Information on available financial education services, including contact 

information for an approved budget and credit counselor or an approved housing 

counselor; and 

     (6)  A copy of the registration to do business as a check casher as required by this 

chapter. 

     [(b)] (c)  Each deferred deposit shall be made pursuant to a written agreement that has been 

signed by the customer and the check casher or an authorized representative of the check casher.  

The written agreement shall contain a statement of the following: 

     (1)  The total amount of any fees charged for the deferred deposit, expressed both 

in United States currency and as an annual percentage rate[.]; and 

     (2)  Notices stating that: 

          (A)  The customer has a right to rescind a deferred deposit transaction within twenty-four 

hours of the transaction; 
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          (B)  The customer may have no more than one outstanding deferred deposit transaction 

from all sources; 

          (C)  Deferred deposit transactions are not suitable for long-term borrowing; and 

          (D)  The customer may enter into a voluntary payment plan if the customer: 

              (i)  Is experiencing financial hardship; or 

             (ii)  Has entered into three or more consecutive transactions with the same check casher; 

and 

     (3)  A declaration that financial education services are available and include 

contact information for an approved budget and credit counselor or an approved 

housing counselor. 

The written agreement shall authorize the check casher to defer deposit of the personal check 

until a specific date not later than thirty-two days from the date the written agreement was 

signed.  The written agreement shall not permit the check casher to accept collateral. 

     [(c)] (d)  The face amount of the check shall not exceed $600, or twenty five per cent of the 

customer’s gross monthly income, whichever is less and the deposit of a personal check written 

by a customer pursuant to a deferred deposit transaction may be deferred for no more than thirty-

two days.  A check casher may charge a fee for deferred deposit of a personal check in an 

amount not to exceed fifteen per cent of the face amount of the check.  Any fees charged for 

deferred deposit of a personal check in compliance with this section shall be exempt from 

chapter 478. 

     [(d)] (e)  A check casher shall not enter into an agreement for deferred deposit with a 

customer during the period of time that an earlier agreement for a deferred deposit for the same 

customer is in effect.  A deferred deposit transaction shall not be repaid, refinanced, or 

consolidated by or with the proceeds of another deferred deposit transaction. 

     [(e)] (f)  A check casher who enters into a deferred deposit agreement and accepts a check 

passed on insufficient funds, or any assignee of that check casher, shall not be entitled to recover 

damages in any action brought pursuant to or governed by chapter 490.  No additional interest 

may be collected except the ten per cent allowed by law pursuant to section 478-3 on uncollected 

judgments.  Instead, the check casher may charge and recover a fee for the return of a dishonored 

check in an amount not greater than $20[$20.] the fee incurred by the check casher from its 

financial institution. 

     [(f)] (g)  No amount in excess of the amounts authorized by this section and no collateral 

products such as insurance shall be directly or indirectly charged by a check casher pursuant or 

incident to a deferred deposit agreement. 

     (h)  For the purposes of this section: 

     "Approved budget and credit counselor" and "approved housing counselor" shall have the 

same meaning as those terms are defined in section 667-1." 

     SECTION 14.  Section 480F-5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows: 

     "[[]§480F-5[]]  Exemptions.  This chapter shall not apply to[: 
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     (1)  Any person who is principally engaged in the bona fide retail sale of goods or 

services, and who, either as incident to or independent of the retail sale or service, 

from time to time cashes items for a fee or other consideration, where not more than 

$2, or two per cent of the amount of the check, whichever is greater, is charged for the 

service; or 

     (2)  Any] any person authorized to engage in business as a bank, trust company, 

savings bank, savings and loan association, financial services loan company, or credit 

union under the laws of the United States, any state or territory of the United States, or 

the District of Columbia." 

     SECTION 15.  (a)  The division of financial institutions of the department of commerce and 

consumer affairs shall conduct an analysis of the regulation of payday lenders and deferred 

deposit agreements and its impact on consumer protection in the State as part of its 

implementation of the purposes of this Act. 

     (b)  In conducting the analysis, the division of financial institutions of the department of 

commerce and consumer affairs shall examine the following: 

     (1)  The increasing impact of out-of-state internet lenders who operate in the State; 

     (2)  Data regarding consumer complaints; 

     (3)  The impact of chapter 480F, Hawaii Revised Statutes, on consumers within the 

State over the past fifteen years; and 

     (4)  Any further measures necessary for increased consumer protection in the State. 

     (c)  The division of financial institutions of the department of commerce and consumer affairs 

shall submit a report of findings and recommendations, including any proposed legislation, to the 

legislature no later than twenty days prior to the convening of the regular session of 2021. 

PART IV 

     SECTION 16.  This Act does not affect rights and duties that matured, penalties that were 

incurred, and proceedings that were begun before its effective date. 

     SECTION 17  Statutory material to be repealed is bracketed and stricken.  New statutory 

material is underscored. 

     SECTION 18.  This Act shall take effect on July 1, 20212050; provided that the licensing 

requirements for small dollar lenders established by section 2 of this Act shall take effect on 

January 1, 2022. 
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TESTIMONY IN SUPPORT OF SB2587, SDl RELATING TO CONSUMER PROTECTION

TO: Representative Takashi Ohno, Chair
Representative Dale Kobayashi, Vice Chair
Members of the House Committee on Intrastate Commerce

FR: Mike Mohr, Ghana Holdings, LLC

HEARING: Thursday March 12, 2020, 9:30am, Room 430

Chair Ohno, Vice Chair Kobayashi & Members of the Intrastate Commerce Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in strong support of SB2587. SDl. Relating to Consumer Protection, 
which provides a solid framework of consumer protection requirements for small dollar loans. My name is 
Mike Mohr, and I am with Ghana Holdings, LLC.

SB2587 seeks to close a loophole in our laws that have allowed payday lenders to charge excessive interest rates 
as high as 459%, creating a vicious cycle of dependency and debt among Hawaii's most vulnerable individuals 
and families.

Recent findings released in the Hawaii Financial Health Pulse found that a large majority, 69% of Hawaii 
residents, are struggiing financiaiiy. 54% say their spending equals or exceeds their income, and more than a 
third do not have enough savings to cover three months of living expenses and have volatile incomes that vary 
from month to month. One in five have indicated they have trouble paying their mortgage and rent. As we just 
begin to understand the economic impact and estimated job losses due to COVID-19, our workers and families 
that are already struggling are particularly vulnerable.

To cope with this income volatility and Hawaii's high cost of living, about one fifth (21%) use alternative financial 
services such as payday loans and check-cashing services, which is significantly higher than 15% at the national 
level.

With excessive fees and interest rates placed on these small dollar loans, studies have shown that four out of 
five borrowers end up defaulting on their loan or renewing them within the first two weeks. In many cases, 
borrowers find themselves paying more in fees than they received in credit. To protect active duty members of 
the military and their families from falling victim to these kinds of lending practices, the Military Lending Act 
(MLA) provides consumer protection regulations including capping the APR at 36%. SB2587 would apply a 
similar 36% cap on APR, providing these same protections to all Hawaii residents.

In listening to the testimony presented before previous committees, we are supportive of efforts to also 
consider other regulatory structures to manage small dollar loans.

The Hawaii State Legislature is to be applauded for its focus this session on affordability and cost of living for all 
our residents and families. Ensuring that there are safe, non-predatory means by which individuals can bridge 
the financial gap that inevitably comes up in our daily lives compliments these efforts to improve the financial 
health and quality of life for all Hawaii residents.

Thank you for considering my testimony in strong support of SB2587, SDl and we stand ready and available to 
work with you on this important piece of legislation.

TESTIMONY IN SUPPORT OF SB2587, SD1 RELATING TO CONSUMER PROTECTION

T0: Representative Takashi Ohno, Chair
Representative Dale Kobayashi, Vice Chair
Members of the House Committee on Intrastate Commerce

FR: Mike Mohr, Ohana Holdings, LLC

HEARING: Thursday March 12, 2020, 9:30am, Room 430

Chair Ohno, Vice Chair Kobayashi & Members of the Intrastate Commerce Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in strong sugport of SB2587, SD1, Relating to Consumer Protection,
which provides a solid framework of consumer protection requirements for small dollar loans. My name is
Mike Mohr, and I am with Ohana Holdings, LLC.

SB2587 seeks to close a loophole in our laws that have allowed payday lenders to charge excessive interest rates
as high as 459%, creating a vicious cycle of dependency and debt among Hawaii's most vulnerable individuals
and families.

Recent findings released in the Hawaii Financial Health Pulse found that a large majority, 69% ofHawaii
residents, are struggling financially. 54% say their spending equals or exceeds their income, and more than a
third do not have enough savings to cover three months of living expenses and have volatile incomes that vary
from month to month. One in five have indicated they have trouble paying their mortgage and rent. As we just
begin to understand the economic impact and estimated job losses due to COVID-19, our workers and families
that are already struggling are particularly vulnerable.

To cope with this income volatility and Hawaii's high cost of living, about one fifth (21%) use alternative financial
services such as payday loans and check-cashing services, which is significantly higher than 15% at the national
level.

With excessive fees and interest rates placed on these small dollar loans, studies have shown that four out of
five borrowers end up defaulting on their loan or renewing them within the first two weeks. In many cases,
borrowers find themselves paying more in fees than they received in credit. To protect active duty members of
the military and their families from falling victim to these kinds of lending practices, the Military Lending Act
(MLA) provides consumer protection regulations including capping the APR at 36%. SB2587 would apply a
similar 36% cap on APR, providing these same protections to all Hawaii residents.

In listening to the testimony presented before previous committees, we are supportive of efforts to also
consider other regulatory structures to manage small dollar loans.

The Hawaii State Legislature is to be applauded for its focus this session on affordability and cost of living for all
our residents and families. Ensuring that there are safe, non-predatory means by which individuals can bridge
the financial gap that inevitably comes up in our daily lives compliments these efforts to improve the financial
health and quality of life for all Hawaii residents.

Thank you for considering my testimony in strong support of SB2587, SD1 and we stand ready and available to
work with you on this important piece of legislation.
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