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HADA TESTIMONY OPPOSED to SB2495
RELATING TO USED MOTOR VEHICLES
Presented to the Senate Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection and Health
At the Public Hearing, 9 a.m.. Thursday, February 20, 2020
Conference Room 229, Hawaii State Capitol
by David H. Rolf for members of the Hawaii Automobile Dealers Association,
Hawaii’s franchised new car dealers, who provide sales, warranty work and other factory-certified
maintenance service for Hawaii’s privately-owned and fleet-owned cars and light trucks

Chair Baker, vice chair Chang and members of the committee:

Any change, requiring two keys, in the language of HRS481]2, the written warranty requirements
for used motor vehicles sold in the State, will require a reprinting of the more than 100,000 USED
CAR BUYERS GUIDES posted on all used motor vehicles at some 200 dealerships (70 new car
dealerships and 130 independent used car dealerships), and, for some, the change will involve a
reprogramming of a dealership’s software.

The process involves working with the companies that print the forms, and can take months, and
even longer if other changes have to be incorporated.

A second issue, is that the “...or replacing” language in the bill could be interpreted to mean that
even if a key were lost by the customer during the warranty period, that the dealer would have to
replace a key—some of which (as a key fob, including the reprogramming cost) can cost $220 to
$500 in some luxury vehicles.

Two keys are generally provided. New car dealers report that their auto manufacturer franchise
agreement for Certified Pre-Owned Vehicles requires that two keys (fobs) be provided at time of
purchase.

One dealer reported that for other used vehicles, two keys are generally provided. Generally, the
customer trading in the vehicle provides a vehicle’s two keys at trade-in time. When one key was
provided at trade-in, the purchasing customer of that trade-in vehicle was encouraged to purchase
a second key, but the option was the customer’s.



For the aforementioned reasons, HADA dealers oppose SB2495, and respectfully asks that the
committee defer the measure. Please see the copy of the USED CAR BUYERS GUIIDE., required to be
posted on each used vehicle.

BUYERS GUIDE

IMPORTANT: Spoken promises are difficult to enforce. Ask the dealer to put all promises in jriting. Keep this form.

VEHICLE MAKE MODEL YEAR

WARRANTIES FOR THIS VEHICLE:

VE={|CLE /RENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)

[ | ASIS - NO DEALER WARRANTY

THE DEALER DOES NOT PROVIDE A WARRANTY FOR ANY REPAIRS AFTER SALE.

O FULL WARRANTY.

Z LIMITED WARRANTY. The dealer will pay 100 % of the laborand. 100 % of the parts for the covered systems
that fail during the warranty period. Ask the dealer for a copy of the warranty, and for any documents that
explain warranty coverage, exclusions, and the dealer’s rénair chligations. Implied warranties under your

state’s laws may give you additional rights.

SYSTEMS COVERED:

ENGINE, including all lubricated parts, water pump, fuel pump,
manifolds, engine block, cylinder head, rotary engine housings,
flywheel, gaskets and seals;

TRANSMISSION, including the transmission case, internal parts,
torque converter, gaskets and seals, except four-wheel drive
vehicles are excluded from coverage as provided for in thig
paragraph;

DRIVE AXLE, including front and rear drive axle housings ana
internal parts, axle shafts, propeller shafts, and universal joinis,
except four-wheel drive vehicles are excluded frori coverage as
provided in this paragraph;

BRAKES, including master cylinder, vacuum assist booster, wheel
cylinders, hydraulic lines and fittings, and disc brake.calipers;
RADIATOR

DURATION:
[For cars with mileage between 12,000-24,999: 90 days or
5,020 miles, yvhichever occurs first

Fortars with mileage between 25,000-49,999: 60 days or
3,600 miies, whichever occurs first

ro| cars with mileage between 50,000-74,999: 30 days or
1,009 miles, whichever occurs first

Covered vehicles must be: 1) less than 5 years old; 2) cost more
than $1500; 3) between 12,000 and 75,000 miles; 4) purchased
by a consumer; 5) not custom built or modified for show
purposes or racing; and/or 6) not inoperable or deemed a "total

STEERING, including the steering gear housing arid.all intemal ~ 10ss.”
parts, power steering pump, valve body, piston and rack;-and
ALTERNATOR, generator, starter, and ignition system, excluging

the battery.

NON-DEALER WARRANT ES FOR THIS VEHICLE:

[0 MANUFACTURER’S WARRANTY STILLAPPLIES. The manufacturer’s original warranty has not expired on some
components of the vehicle.

[0 MANUFACTURER'S USED VEHICLE WARRANTY APPLIES.

[0 OTHER USED VEHICLE V/ARRANTY APPLIES.

Ask the dealer for a gopy’ of the warranty document and an explanation of warranty coverage, exclusions, and repair
obligations.

[0 SERVICE CONTRACT. A service contract on this vehicle is available for an extra charge. Ask for details about
coverage, deductible;.orice;*and exclusions. If you buy a service contract within 80 days of your purchase of this
vehicle, implied warrantiéz.urder your state’s laws may give you additional rights.

ASK THE DEALER IF YOUR MECHANIC CAN INSPECT THE VEHICLE ON OR OFF THE LOT.

OBTAIN A ViZHICLE HISTORY REPORT AND CHECK FOR OPEN SAFETY RECALLS. For information on
how to obtain“a vehicle history report, visit ftc.gov/usedcars. To check for open safety recalls, visit safercar.gov.
You will necdtiie.vehicie identification number (VIN) shown above to make the best use of the resources on
these sites

SEE OTHER SIDE ‘or important additional information, including a list of major defects that may occur in
used moiar vehisies.

Si el.concesionario gestiona la venta en espaiiol, pidale una copia de la Guia del Comprador en espaiiol.

Respectfully submitted,
David H. Rolf
For the Members of the Hawaii Automobile Dealers Association

HADA
Making Hawaii Better Together
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