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On the following measure: 
H.B. 2322, H.D. 1, RELATING TO MASSAGE THERAPY 

 
Chair Takumi and Members of the Committee: 

 My name is Risé Doi, and I am the Executive Officer of the Board of Massage 

Therapy (Board).  The Board supports this administration bill. 

 The purposes of this bill are to: (1) authorize and require the Board to promulgate 

and enforce sanitation rules for massage therapy establishments; (2) repeal Hawaii 

Revised Statutes (HRS) section 452-19(a) in favor of existing statutes that already treat 

unlicensed activity as a misdemeanor; and (3) increase the minimum fine from $100 to 

$250 and the maximum fine from $1,000 to $2,000 for each violation. 

 In October 2018, Hawaii Administrative Rules section 11-11-4, which established 

sanitation rules for massage establishments under the Department of Health, was 

repealed.  Since this repeal, massage establishments have not been required to comply 

with any sanitation requirements.   

This bill will provide the Board with statutory authority to promulgate and enforce 

sanitation rules.  In addition, this bill will protect the public by authorizing the Board to 

require that massage therapists operate in sanitary licensed massage establishments.  

The Board strongly supports the bill’s increase of the minimum and maximum fine 

amounts for unlicensed activity violations.  Notably, the increased maximum fine amount 

is consistent with the maximum fine for a misdemeanor in HRS section 706-640.   

 Thank you for the opportunity to testify, and we respectfully ask the Committee to 

pass this administration bill. 



 

 

 

February 10, 2020 

 

 

Aloha Chair Takumi, Vice-Chair Ichiyama, and Members of the House 

Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce: 

 

My name is Olivia Nagashima and I am testifying in my role as the President of 

the American Massage Therapy Association – Hawaii Chapter. More than 8,000 

state licensed massage therapists currently practice in Hawaii. 

 

Our chapter supports HB 2322, HD 1, which requires the Board of Massage 

Therapy to promulgate and enforce sanitation rules for massage establishments 

while increasing the minimum and maximum fines for violations. 

 

Currently Hawaii law states that fines are from $100 (minimum) up to $1,000 

(maximum) for each violation. This bill would make the minimum fine $250, which 

is consistent with what RICO investigators currently charge per violation. We 

believe it is also important to increase the maximum fine for the most severe 

cases of blatant unlicensed activity, which includes solicitation or human 

trafficking. By increasing the maximum fine from $1,000 to $2,000, it is one step in 

the effort to deter these types of activities. 

 

Thank you for the opportunity to submit testimony and we urge you to pass HB 

2322, HD 1. 
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