# THE SENATE THE THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE REGULAR SESSION OF 2020

### COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND ENVIRONMENT

Senator Mike Gabbard, Chair Senator Russell E. Ruderman, Vice Chair

# COMMITTEE ON ENERGY, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, AND TOURISM

Senator Glenn Wakai, Chair Senator Brian T. Taniguchi, Vice Chair

## NOTICE OF HEARING

DATE: Wednesday, March 18, 2020

TIME: 1:15 p.m.

PLACE: Conference Room 224

State Capitol

415 South Beretania Street

## <u>AGENDA</u>

AEN/EET, WAM

#### HB 2492, HD2

(HSCR884-20)

Status & Testimony

### RELATING TO HYDROFLUOROCARBONS.

Establishes regulations on the use of hydrofluorocarbons in state law. Phases out hydrofluorocarbons in favor of alternatives with lower global warming potential. Establishes a preference for products that do not contain hydrofluorocarbons in the state procurement code. Directs the Hawaii State Energy Office and the Environmental Management Division of the Department of Health to study how to increase the use of refrigerants with low global warming potential, reduce the use of hydrofluorocarbons, and recommend how to fund, structure, and prioritize a state program that incentivizes or provides grants to support the elimination of legacy uses of hydrofluorocarbons. Appropriates funds for the study to be performed by the Hawaii State Energy Office. Effective 7/1/2050. (HD2)

Decision Making to follow, if time permits.

Click here to submit testimony.

## Testimony may be submitted up to 24 hours prior to the start of the hearing.

**FOR AMENDED NOTICES:** Measures that have been deleted are stricken through and measures that have been added are underscored. If a measure is both underscored and stricken through, that measure has been deleted from the agenda.

If you require auxiliary aids or services to participate in the public hearing process (i.e., interpretive services (oral or written), ASL interpreter, or wheelchair accessibility), please contact the committee clerk at least 24 hours prior to the hearing so that arrangements can be made.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CALL THE COMMITTEE CLERK AT (808) 586-6693.

Senator Glenn Wakai	Senator Mike Gabbard
Chair	Chair