STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii MAR 21 , 2019 RE: S.B. No. 967 S.D. 1

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2019 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Lower & Higher Education, to which was referred S.B. No. 967, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE STATE PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL COMMISSION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to authorize and appropriate funds for the State Public Charter School Commission to establish and fund charter school prekindergarten classrooms.

The Early Learning Board, State Public Charter School Commission, Office of Hawaiian Affairs, Kualapu'u Public Conversion Charter School, Kamehameha Schools, Kua O Ka La New Century Public Charter School, Laupāhoehoe Community Public Charter School, Wai'alae Elementary Public Charter School, Volcano School of Arts & Sciences, Volcano Community Association, Na Wai Ola Public Charter School, Ho'okāko'o Corporation, Kamaile Academy Public Charter School, and many individuals supported this measure. An individual opposed this measure. The Department of Budget and Finance and Executive Office on Early Learning provided comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Lower & Higher Education that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1538 Page 2

S.B. No. 967, S.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Lower & Higher Education,

WOODSON, Chair JU



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature

HSCR1538

Record of Votes of the Committee on Lower & Higher Education

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 967 SD1	Committee Referral: LHE, FIN	Date:	3/14	119
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass with amendments (HD) Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
LHE Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. WOODSON, Justin H. (C)				·
2. HASHEM, Mark J. (VC)				
3. PERRUSO, Amy A. (VC)				
4. DeCOITE, Lynn				
5. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling			an a	
J. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling				
6. KOBAYASHI, Dale T.		ng <u>11</u>	<u></u>	
7. OHNO, Takashi		2000 A DY 2004 II Commercial and a differential differential differential differential differential differentia	nahiliyin (ala ala ala da	
8. QUINLAN, Sean				
9. TARNAS, David A.				
				с. 1. с.
10. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
11. OKIMOTO, Val				
~~~~				
TOTAL (11)	10			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Markf JH				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				