STAND. COM. REP. NO. 245

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2020

JUN 30

RE: H.C.R. No. 167

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2020 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Water, Land, & Hawaiian Affairs, to which was referred H.C.R. No. 167 entitled:

"HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE UNIQUE LANGUAGE AND CONTRIBUTIONS TO HAWAIIAN CULTURE OF THE NIIHAU COMMUNITY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to recognize the unique language and contributions to the Hawaiian culture of the Niihau community.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Center for Hawaiian Sovereignty Studies and eight individuals.

Your Committee finds that the Niihau community, in addition to being the last intact community of Native Hawaiian speakers who maintain Hawaiian as the primary language of the home, has made invaluable cultural and linguistic contributions to Hawaiian culture and society. Your Committee further finds that recognition and support of the Niihau variety of Hawaiian language will help preserve and carry that unique variety into the future.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Water, Land, & Hawaiian Affairs that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1245-20 Page 2

H.C.R. No. 167 and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Water, Land, & Hawaiian Affairs,

RYA I YAMANE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature

## HSCR 1245-20

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Water, Land, & Hawaiian Affairs

Bill/Resolution No.:     ( R	167 Committee	ee Referral: WLH	, FIN Date	06/29/	20
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
WLH Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. YAMANE, Ryan I. (	(C)		a Maria Tasa wa wasana a sa Maria	n en jage en sentensenen en kom ka	
2. TODD, Chris (VC)					
3. HAR, Sharon E.					~
4. LOWEN, Nicole E.					
5. TARNAS, David A.		V			
6. WILDBERGER, Ti	na				
7. WARD, Gene					
, 2					
<u> </u>					
TOTAL		4	0	0	3
The recommendation is:  Adopted  If joint referral, did not support recommendation.  committee acronym(s) / 7					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					