HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE, 2020 STATE OF HAWAII H.R. NO. **76**

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE LAHAINALUNA LUNAS ON WINNING THE 2019 DIVISION II FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna Seminary, later renamed Lahainaluna 1 2 High School, was founded by American missionaries on 3 September 5, 1831; and 4 5 WHEREAS, at the time at the school's founding, it had only twenty-five students and one instructor in an area of barren 6 7 land gifted to the school by Chiefess Kalakua Hoapiliwahine; and 8 9 WHEREAS, since its founding, the school has continued to 10 evolve to meet the needs of its students by transforming into a public institution of higher learning in 1849; a vocational 11 12 trade school in 1903; a public technical high school in 1923; a 13 comprehensive high school in 1961; and finally a college, career, and citizenship ready school in 2013; and 14 15 16 WHEREAS, on October 26, 2019, the Lahainaluna Lunas football team won their fourteenth consecutive Maui 17 Interscholastic League title; and 18 19 WHEREAS, on November 29, 2019, with an 11-1 record for the 20 season, the Lahainaluna Lunas won their fourth consecutive 21 Hawaii High School Athletic Association Division II 22 23 Championship; and 24 WHEREAS, during this game, the Lahainaluna Lunas rushed for 25 26 three hundred thirty-nine yards thanks in part to the sterling performance of the team's offensive line and blocking backs; and 27 28 29 WHEREAS, as expressed by the Lahainaluna Lunas' co-head coach, Dean Rickard, this championship win is the culmination of 30 the entire team's hard work; and 31 32



H.R. NO. 76

1 WHEREAS, the Lahainaluna Lunas have become one of the 2 Hawaii High School Athletic Association's premiere football 3 programs through the hard work and commitment of the team's 4 coaching staff and players; now, therefore, 5

6 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 7 Thirtieth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 8 2020, that this body hereby congratulates the Lahainaluna Lunas 9 on winning the 2019 Hawaii High School Athletic Association's 10 Division II football championship and extends its warmest Aloha 11 and best wishes to the team and its members for continued 12 success in all future endeavors; and

14 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this body hereby recognizes the 15 nineteen Lahainluna High School seniors who helped the team to 16 win the 2019 Hawaii High School Athletic Association's Division 17 II football championship: Jake Bell, William Bookland, Kekailoa 18 Cajudoy, Kaihulali Casco, Nainoa Irish, Shayla Kanemitsu, Nick Kron, Nainoa Kulukulualani-Sales, Tui Lai, Anu McCabe, Roger 19 20 Nifon, Rylend Nobriga, Richard Olmohs, Kaeo Pedrozo-Kanemitsu, Derek Perez, Mathew Rabino, Brysen Rickard, Brian Sandoval, and 21 Joshua Tihada; and 22

24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this body also recognizes and 25 congratulates Dean Rickard on becoming the co-head coach of the 26 Lahainaluna Lunas.

27

23

13

28

29

OFFERED BY:

MAR 0 5 2020

