KATHY L. KAOHU County Clerk



JAMES G.M. KRUEGER Deputy County Clerk

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY CLERK

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.mauicounty.gov/county/clerk

March 16, 2020

# DEPT. COMM. NO. 49(

Honorable Scott K. Saiki, Speaker State of Hawaii State Capitol, Room 431 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Sir:

Transmitted herewith is a copy of Resolution No. 20-23, which was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on March 13, 2020.

Respectfully,

Kathy Kaehne

KATHY L. KAOHU County Clerk

/lks

Enclosure

# Resolution

**No.** 20–23

#### URGING THE 116<sup>th</sup> UNITED STATES CONGRESS TO SUPPORT H.R. 763 (2020), THE ENERGY INNOVATION AND CARBON DIVIDEND ACT

WHEREAS, on December 20, 2019, the Maui County Council voted unanimously to adopt Resolution 19-209 (2019), ACKNOWLEDGING A CLIMATE EMERGENCY AND COMMITTING TO AN IMMEDIATE JUST TRANSITION AND EMERGENCY MOBILIZATION EFFORT TO RESTORE A SAFE CLIMATE; and

WHEREAS, the combustion of fossil fuels is the primary contributor to carbon emissions; and

WHEREAS, Hawaii is the first state in the nation to legally commit to a zero-emissions, carbon neutral economy by 2045; and

WHEREAS, H.R. 763 (2020), currently pending before the 116<sup>th</sup> Congress, would create a Carbon Dividend Trust Fund for the American people in order to encourage market-driven innovation of clean energy technologies and market efficiencies which will reduce harmful pollution and leave a healthier, more stable, and more prosperous nation for future generations; and

WHEREAS, the proposed bill seeks to reduce carbon emissions and is co-sponsored by 80 members of the United States House of Representatives and endorsed by over 100 states, counties and municipalities; and

WHEREAS, the legislation may be cited as the "Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act" which establishes a fee to be collected on sales of petroleum-based fuels with funds generated paid, as a dividend, to virtually all American citizens; and

WHEREAS, the legislation will protect middle and low-income households by providing them with a dividend or rebate that, on average, would be higher than the increased costs of energy for two-thirds of all households during the transition to clean and renewable energy; and WHEREAS, the Center for Global Energy Policy at Columbia University recently published findings that the passage of this bill will result in a 40% drop in greenhouse gas emissions in 10 to 12 years; and

WHEREAS, Hawaii's Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation Commission strongly recommends that lawmakers enact carbon pricing, declaring that a, "price on carbon is the most effective single action that will achieve Hawaii's ambitious and necessary emissions reduction goals"; and

WHEREAS, many direct climate change impacts are anticipated for the Hawaiian islands, including increases in ocean and air temperatures, sea level rise, droughts, severe weather patterns, ocean acidification, and the secondary impacts of increased risks of wildfires; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it supports the 2020 legislation to enact the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act; and
- 2. That it urges the 116<sup>th</sup> Congress to pass H.R. 763 (2020), and create a Carbon Dividend Trust Fund for the American people to confront the Climate Emergency; and
- 3. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the Honorable Theodore E. Deutch, Representative, United States House of Representatives; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker, United States House of Representatives; the Honorable David Ige, Governor, State of Hawaii; the Honorable Hawaii Scott K. Saiki, Speaker, State House of Representatives; the Honorable Ronald D. Kouchi, President, Hawaii State Senate; Maui County's Delegation to the State Legislature; and the Honorable Michael P. Victorino, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:kmat:20-098b

### COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

¢

WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

## **CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTION**

It is HEREBY CERTIFIED that RESOLUTION NO. 20-23 was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on the 13th day of March, 2020, by the following vote:

MEMBERS	Alice L. LEE Chair	Keani N. W. RAWLINS- FERNANDEZ Vice-Chair	G. Riki HOKAMA	Natalie A. KAMA	Kelly T. KING	Michael J. MOLINA	Tamara A. M. PALTIN	Shane M. SINENCI	Yuki Lei K. SUGIMURA
ROLL CALL	Ауе	Ауе	Aye	Ауе	Aye	Ауе	Ауе	Excused	Excused

Kathy L. Kuchu-COUNTY CLERK