STAND. COM. REP. NO.

1896

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2019

MAR 28

RE: H.R. No. 6

Honorable Scott K. Saiki Speaker, House of Representatives Thirtieth State Legislature Regular Session of 2019 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.R. No. 6 entitled:

"HOUSE RESOLUTION REQUESTING MEMBERS OF THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS TO AMEND FEDERAL LAW TO ENSURE THAT VICTIMS OF SEXUAL HARASSMENT AND SEXUAL ASSAULT WHO MIGHT OTHERWISE BE FORCED INTO ARBITRATION AND SILENCE INSTEAD HAVE ACCESS TO THE COURTS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to request the members of the United States Congress to amend federal law to ensure that victims of sexual harassment and sexual assault who might otherwise be forced into arbitration and silenced instead have access to the courts.

The Hawai'i Civil Rights Commission, Hawai'i State Commission on the Status of Women, Rainbow Family 808, and Hawai'i Women Lawyers testified in support of this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.R. No. 6 and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1896
Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

CHRIS ZEE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The THIRTIETH Legislature



## Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

Bill/Resolution No.: 日 <b>R</b> 6	Committee Referral:	Date:	3/20/19	7
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold  Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
JUD Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LEE, Chris (C)				
2. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A.	(VC)			
3. BROWER, Tom				
4. CREAGAN, Richard P.				
5. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
6. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.				
7 MODIKAWA Da		la grande de la companya de la comp La companya de la co		
7. MORIKAWA, Dee				
8. SAY, Calvin K.Y.				
o. SA1, Calvill K.1.				
9. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
J. Trimini, Gregg		Nagara da sa		
10. YAMANE, Ryan I.			and the same of the same	
11. THIELEN, Cynthia				
TOTAL (11)	8			3
The recommendation is:    Date Adopted   Date Not Adopted   Date				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				