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To:  The Honorable John M. Mizuno, Chair 

and Members of the House Committee on Health & Human Services 
 
Date:  Tuesday, February 13, 2018 
Time:  10:15 A.M. 
Place:   Conference Room 329, State Capitol 
 
From:  Linda Chu Takayama, Director 
  Department of Taxation 
 

Re: H.B. 2231, Relating to Income Tax Credit 
 

 The Department of Taxation (Department) offers the following comments on  
H.B. 2231 for the Committee's consideration. 
 
 H.B. 2231 establishes a refundable income tax credit for the purchase or 
modification of a vehicle for use by a person with a disability.  A summary of key 
provisions follows: 
 

• Adds a new section to Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) chapter 235, creating a 
refundable income tax credit for the purchase or modification of a vehicle for use 
by a person with a disability; 

• Sets the amount of the credit for vehicles with an accessibility lift or ramp at 
$800; 

• Sets the amount of the credit for vehicles that are fully adaptable for use by a 
person with a disability at $5,000; 

• Authorizes the Director of Taxation to require proof of the claim for the credit and 
to adopt rules to implement the credit; 

• Applies to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2018. 
 

First, the Department notes that the proposed credit is refundable.  Generally, the 
Department prefers nonrefundable credits because refundable credits create a higher 
potential for improper claims and abuse.  The Department therefore recommends that this 
credit be made non-refundable. 
 
 Second, the Department notes that the amount of the credit is a fixed amount and 
is not dependent on how much the taxpayer spends on the purchase or modification of a 
vehicle.  Therefore, if a vehicle is purchased or modified for less than the amounts listed, 
the credit will exceed the actual amount spent.  The Department recommends changing 
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the calculation of the credit to equal a percentage of the taxpayers expenses in purchasing 
or modifying a vehicle for use by a person with a disability and use the maximums 
currently listed as the cap amount for the credit.  This way, the credit will never exceed 
the amount spent on the purchase or modification. 
 

Third, the Department notes that the operation of the credit is unclear as written.  
For example, sections (a) and (b) of the credit are redundant and may cause confusion.  
The Department recommends simplifying the operation of the credit by amending 
subsections (a) and (b) to read as follows: 

 
(a)  Each individual taxpayer, who files an individual 
income tax return for a taxable year, and who: 
(1)  Is not claimed or is not otherwise eligible to be 

claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer for 
federal of Hawaii state individual income tax 
purposes, and  

(2)  Purchases or modifies a personal vehicle as 
described in subsection (b), 

may claim a refundable motor vehicle tax credit 
against the taxpayer’s individual income tax liability 
for the taxable year for which the income tax return 
is being filed. 
 
(b)  The refundable motor vehicle tax credit is equal 
to: 
(1)  $800 for the purchase of a vehicle with an 

accessibility lift or ramp, or the modification 
of a vehicle to add an accessibility lift or 
ramp; or 

(2)  $5,000 for the purchase of a vehicle that is, or 
modification of a vehicle to be, fully adaptable 
for use by a person with a disability; 

Provided that taxpayers who are married filing 
separately can only claim the credit they could have 
claimed if the taxpayers had filed jointly. 

 
Fourth, the Department notes that many of the operative terms in the credit are not 

defined.  “Person with a disability,” “accessibility lift or ramp,” and “fully adaptable for 
use” are not defined.  The Department suggests defining these terms to clarify the 
applicability of the credit.   
 

Finally, the Department notes that it is able to administer this new credit with 
current effective date of taxable years beginning after December 31, 2018. 
 
 Thank you for the opportunity to provide comments. 
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SUBJECT:  INCOME, Tax Credit for Vehicle Modification for Disabled Persons 

BILL NUMBER:  HB 2231; SB 2713 (Identical) 

INTRODUCED BY:  HB by TAKAYAMA, GATES; SB by GALUTERIA, KIDANI, Baker, 
Harimoto, Inouye, K. Kahele, Kim, Nishihara, Shimabukuro, Taniguchi, Tokuda, Wakai 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:  Provides an income tax credit to a taxpayer who purchases or 
modifies a personal vehicle for use by a person with a disability. 

SYNOPSIS:  Adds a new section to chapter 235, HRS, to provide a refundable income tax credit 
for an individual who purchases or modifies a personal vehicle designed to allow use by a person 
with a disability. 

The amount of the tax credit is:  $800 for the purchase of a or modification of a vehicle with an 
accessibility lift or ramp; or $5,000 for the purchase or modification of a vehicle to be fully 
adaptable for use by a person with a disability. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Applies to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2018.    

STAFF COMMENTS:  The recitals in section 1 of the bill state that “when a taxpayer modifies a 
personal vehicle to allow a disabled person to enter, exit, or operate the vehicle, they have to pay 
the general excise tax for costs related to those modifications.”  If that is the problem that 
requires tax relief, then why not address the problem directly by providing for a general excise 
tax exemption that then can be claimed by the dealer or mechanic?  The advantage of the general 
excise tax exemption is that the amount of relief is a percentage of the cost, as opposed to flat 
amounts that can lead to disputes over where the line is drawn between classifications. 
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Testimony on H.B. 2231 

Hearing: February 13, 2018 

 

Relating To Income Tax Credit 
 

Chair Mizuno, Vice Chair Kobayashi and members of the Committee. My name is Peter Fritz.  I 

am an individual with a disability and a tax attorney.  I am testifying today in opposition to H.B. 2231 

as drafted.  The approach used in S.B. 2202, H.B. 1931 or H.B. 2424 that excludes certain mobility 

equipment from Hawaii’s General Excise Tax law will prevent potential abuses. 

 

This bill provides an income tax credit to a taxpayer that modifies a personal vehicle for use by a 

person with a disability.  

 

As currently drafted, this bill would allow a vehicle owner to claim a credit of $800 for 

modification of a vehicle with an accessibility ramp regardless of the cost of such modification.  This 

credit is equal to the amount of GET on an expenditure of approximately $16,979.  A taxpayer that 

spends less than this amount would receive a credit that is greater than the GET on the amount spent to 

modify the vehicle. 

 

The credit of $5,000 would cover the GET on an expenditure of approximately $106,112.  I 

recently inquired about fully accessible vans.  I was advised that the purchase price was approximately 

$75,000.  The amount of the credit may exceed the GET on the cost to purchase or modify a vehicle. 

 

This bill as currently drafted would allow the credit to be claimed more than once.  The original 

purchaser could claim the credit and when the vehicle is sold to another party, that person could claim 

the credit. 

 

The approach used in S.B. 2202, H.B. 1931 or H.B. 2424 to exclude certain mobility equipment 

from Hawaii’s General Excise Tax law will prevent potential abuses 

 

I respectfully ask for your support of this bill. 

 

Respectfully submitted,  

 

 

 

Peter L. Fritz 



 

 

The following states generally exempt medical devices from tax when they are sold on a written 

order (prescription) provided by an individual who is required to hold, and actively holds, a state 

license (physician, therapist, etc.):  

Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, 

Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan,  North Carolina, Oklahoma, 

South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia. 

Specific state treatments of medical devices are provided below: 

• Alabama: medical devices are subject to tax unless the item is used for the treatment of 

illness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or internal body part, purchased by or 

on behalf of an individual pursuant to a valid prescription, and covered by and billed to 

Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit plan. The exemption includes, but is not limited 

to, any of the following: durable medical equipment, including repair parts and the 

disposable or single patient use supplies required for the use of the equipment; medical 

oxygen and related equipment and supplies; prosthetic and orthotic devices; and medical 

supplies, as defined and covered under the Medicare program, including, but not limited 

to, items such as catheters, catheter supplies, ostomy bags and supplies related to ostomy 

care, specialized wound care products, and similar items that are covered by and billed to 

Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit plan. 

• Connecticut: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Georgia: exemptions apply to the sale or use of any durable medical equipment or 

prosthetic device sold or used pursuant to a prescription, and to the sale or use of all 

mobility enhancing equipment prescribed by a physician. 

• Illinois: medical devices are taxed at a 1% reduced rate. 

• Maine: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Minnesota: durable medical equipment is generally subject to tax unless it’s sold for 

home use or is paid for or reimbursed by Medicare or Medicaid, regardless of whether 

sold for home use. 

• Mississippi: exemptions allowed for: home medical equipment/supplies, prosthetics, 

orthotics, hearing aids, hearing devices, prescription eyeglasses, oxygen and oxygen 

equipment if prescribed and paid for under Medicare/Medicaid; durable medical 

equipment and home medical supplies if prescribed. 

• Missouri: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Nebraska: for mobility enhancing equipment, a prescription is required. For durable 

medical equipment, home medical supplies, oxygen equipment, and prosthetic devices, a 

prescription is required and they must be of the type eligible for coverage under the 

medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act. 

• Nevada: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• New Jersey: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• New Mexico: medical devices are exempt only if delivered by a licensed practitioner 

incidental to the provision of a service and the value of the device is included in the cost 

of the service. 

• New York: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 



 

 

• North Dakota: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Ohio: prescription is required for exemption unless the item is medical oxygen and 

medical oxygen-dispensing equipment, not sold for home use, and is purchased by 

hospitals, nursing homes, or other medical facilities. 

• Pennsylvania: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Rhode Island: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• South Carolina: medical devices are generally subject to tax unless the item is paid 

directly by funds of South Carolina or the United States under the Medicaid or Medicare 

programs, state or federal law or regulation authorizing the payment prohibits payment of 

the sales or use tax, and the equipment is sold by a provider who holds a South Carolina 

retail sales license and whose principal place of business is located in the state. 

• Tennessee: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Vermont: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Virginia: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Washington: medical devices are generally subject to tax unless they are ostomic items, 

prosthetic devices that are prescribed, furnished or fitted by a person licensed to do so, or 

medically prescribed oxygen components or systems. 

• Wisconsin: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 

• Wyoming: medical devices are generally exempt with or without a prescription. 



Kirby L. Shaw 
House Committee on Health and Human Services 
Tuesday, February 13, 2018, 10:15 a.m. 
HB 2231 – Relating to Income Tax Credit 
 
Aloha Chair Mizuno and Committee Members: 
 
I support HB 2231 – Relating to Income Tax Credit.  This tax credit will help persons with 
disabilities cover the tax on the cost of making their personal vehicle accessible.  In 
addition, where the tax credit exceeds the tax due, the excess of the credit can be applied 
to the outlay for the accessibility modification that will cost over $20,000.  Note that the cost 
of a new minivan without the modification starts at over $25,000. 
 
I use a power wheelchair and own a 2005 Chrysler minivan that was modified.  The 
combined cost of the vehicle and the modification was over $50,000.  Having an accessible 
vehicle gives me the ability to do much more because I do not have to rely on public 
transportation. 
 
If this bill becomes law, I will use the tax credit on my next accessible vehicle purchase. 
 
Please pass HB 2231.  Thank you so much for considering my testimony. 
 
Respectfully, 
 
 
 /S/    
KIRBY L. SHAW 
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