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To:  The Honorable Jill N. Tokuda, Chair 

and Members of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means 
 

Date:  Tuesday, February 7, 2017 
Time:  9:30 A.M. 
Place:  Conference Room 211, State Capitol 
 
From:  Maria E. Zielinski, Director 
  Department of Taxation 
 

Re:  S.B. 1004, Relating to Electronic Payment of Taxes  
 

The Department of Taxation (Department) strongly supports S.B. 1004, an administration 
measure, and provides the following comments for your consideration.   
 

S.B. 1004 lowers the threshold for mandatory electronic payment of taxes from $100,000 
in tax liability per tax year to $40,000 in tax liability per tax year.  The measure also clarifies that 
the threshold is to be applied by tax type, meaning that the mandatory electronic payment would 
only apply to the tax type that meets the threshold.  The bill becomes effective upon approval 
and applies to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017. 

 
First, the Department notes that electronic payment of taxes, codified at section 231-9.9, 

Hawaii Revised Statutes, has been mandated for certain taxpayers since the mid-1990s.  Since 
the requirement was first enacted, the threshold to trigger mandatory electronic payment has 
been $100,000 in tax liability.  The electronic payment has become the most efficient and safest 
form of payment for both the Department and taxpayers.  The Department believes this justifies 
the lower threshold proposed by this measure. 

 
Second, through the Tax System Modernization (TSM) program, the Department is able 

to accept electronic payments of taxes at no cost to taxpayers.  Taxpayers can simply log into 
their respective Hawaii Tax Online (HTO) accounts and make an electronic payment free of 
charge. Currently, taxpayers are able to file and pay their general excise; use; and rental motor 
vehicle, tour vehicle, and car-sharing vehicle surcharge taxes through HTO.  Previously, 
electronic filing of returns for these taxes had been free in the old computer system, but the cost 
to make an electronic payment was $1 per transaction.  The improved efficiencies and the fact 
that electronic payment of taxes is now free of charge further justifies lowering the threshold for 
mandatory electronic payment of taxes. 
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Third, the Department notes that this measure would make the mandatory electronic 
payment thresholds consistent across tax types.  Currently, the threshold is only $40,000 for 
withholding taxes on both the federal and state level, but is $100,000 for all other tax types.  By 
making the thresholds consistent, this measure will simplify tax administration of the mandatory 
electronic payment system. The Department believes lowering this threshold would not present 
an undue burden for most entities with tax liabilities of $40,000 or more, as most are likely 
already using some means of electronic funds transfer. For perspective, taxpayers with $40,000 
in GET tax liability are taxpayers that have $1,000,000 or more in gross revenues.  

 
Finally, the Department notes that the exemption from mandatory electronic payment of 

taxes for “good cause” will remain in the law.  This will allow the Department to continue to use 
discretion when mandating electronic payment to avoid any undue hardship to taxpayers. 
 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide comments. 



L E G I S L A T I V E    T A X    B I L L    S E R V I C E 

TAX FOUNDATION OF HAWAII 
126 Queen Street, Suite 304  Honolulu, Hawaii 96813  Tel. 536-4587 

 
 

SUBJECT:  ADMINISTRATION, Lower Threshold for Electronic Payment of Tax Requirement 

BILL NUMBER:  SB 1004; HB 1138 (Identical) 

INTRODUCED BY:  SB by Kouchi by request; HB by Souki by request 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:  Requires electronic payment of tax if the annual tax is more than 

$40,000 per tax type.  This appears to be a reasonable means of cutting the time required for 

payment processing. 

BRIEF SUMMARY: Amends HRS section 231-9.9 to require electronic payment of any tax 

when the annual amount of the tax type is more than $40,000. 

Provides that a taxpayer who is required to file but doesn’t is penalized 2% of the amount of the 

tax required to be shown on the return. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon approval. 

STAFF COMMENTS: This is an administration measure submitted by the department of 

taxation TAX-03 (17).  The point of the bill is to require electronic payment if the amount of the 

tax type is more than $40,000, as is now provided for payroll withholding.  The threshold for 

other tax types is $100,000.  Electronic payment does seem to be the way of the future, with the 

potential for slashing the wait times and confusion generated by manual processing of checks 

attached to returns. 

 

Digested 2/5/2017 

 



From: mailinglist@capitol.hawaii.gov 
Sent: Friday, February 3, 2017 3:47 PM 
To: WAM Testimony 
Cc: mendezj@hawaii.edu 
Subject: *Submitted testimony for SB1004 on Feb 7, 2017 09:30AM* 
 

SB1004 
Submitted on: 2/3/2017 
Testimony for WAM on Feb 7, 2017 09:30AM in Conference Room 211 

Submitted By Organization Testifier Position 
Present at 

Hearing 

Javier Mendez-Alvarez Individual Support No 

 
 
Comments:  
 
Please note that testimony submitted less than 24 hours prior to the hearing, improperly 
identified, or directed to the incorrect office, may not be posted online or distributed to 
the committee prior to the convening of the public hearing. 
 
Do not reply to this email. This inbox is not monitored. For assistance please email 
webmaster@capitol.hawaii.gov 
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