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To:  The Honorable Sylvia Luke, Chair 

and Members of the House Committee on Finance 
 

Date:  Thursday, February 9, 2017 
Time:  2:00 P.M. 
Place:  Conference Room 308, State Capitol 
 
From:  Maria E. Zielinski, Director 
  Department of Taxation 
 

Re:  H.B. 1412, Relating to Tax Administration  
 

The Department of Taxation (Department) strongly supports H.B. 1412 and provides the 
following comments for your consideration.   
 

H.B. 1412 authorizes the Department to require taxpayers to file tax returns by electronic 
or similar means, subject to a reasonable cause exception.  The bill also imposes a fine of two 
percent of the amount of the tax required to be shown on the return for failure to file by 
electronic or similar means.  H.B. 1412 also lowers the threshold for mandatory electronic 
payment of taxes to $40,000 in tax liability per year and clarifies that threshold is to be applied 
by tax type.  The bill becomes effective immediately but applies to tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2017. 
 

First, the Department believes that the best way to realize the full benefits of the Tax 
System Modernization (TSM) program is to expand electronic filing and electronic payment of 
taxes.  Tax administration gains efficiency as electronic filing increases and TSM will enhance 
the Department’s ability to accept electronic returns and payments.  To achieve these efficiency 
gains, the Department must increase the proportions of electronic filing and payment.  The 
Department believes this measure will accelerate the expansion of both electronic filing and 
electronic payment. 

 
Furthermore, through TSM the Department will be able to accept electronic payments at 

no cost to taxpayers.  Taxpayers can simply log into their respective Hawaii Tax Online (HTO) 
accounts and make electronic payments free of charge. Currently, taxpayers are able to file and 
pay their general excise; use; and rental motor vehicle, tour vehicle, and car-sharing vehicle 
surcharge taxes through HTO.  Previously, electronic filing of returns for these taxes was free, 
but electronic payment cost $1 per transaction.  The improved efficiencies and the fact that 
electronic payment of taxes is now also free further justifies lowering the threshold for 
mandatory electronic payment of taxes. 
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Second, the Department notes that electronic payment of taxes, codified at section 231-
9.9, Hawaii Revised Statutes, has been mandated for certain taxpayers since the mid-1990s.  
Since the requirement was first enacted, the threshold to trigger mandatory electronic payment 
has been $100,000 in tax liability.  Electronic payment has become the most efficient and safest 
form of payment for both the Department and taxpayers.  The Department believes this justifies 
the lower threshold proposed by this measure. 

 
Third, the Department notes that this measure would make the mandatory electronic 

payment thresholds consistent across tax types.  Currently, the threshold is $40,000 for 
withholding taxes but only $100,000 for all other tax types.  By making the thresholds consistent, 
this measure will simplify tax administration of the mandatory electronic payment system. The 
Department believes lowering this threshold would not present an undue burden for most 
affected taxpayers.  Most entities with tax liabilities of $40,000 or more are likely already using 
some means of electronic funds transfer.  For perspective, taxpayers with $40,000 in GET tax 
liability are taxpayers that have $1,000,000 or more in gross revenues.  

 
Finally, both amendments proposed in this measure allow the Department to exercise 

discretion and grant exceptions for cause.  The proposal to require electronic filing does not 
mandate electronic filing, but merely allows the Department to require electronic filing at its own 
discretion.  The proposal also includes a “reasonable cause” exception to be defined by 
administrative rules.  The Department acknowledges that lack of internet access would qualify as 
a reasonable cause.  During the rulemaking process, the Department will gather public testimony 
regarding additional exceptions.  Additionally, the “good cause” exception to mandatory 
electronic payment will remain in the law.  This will allow the Department to continue to use 
discretion when mandating electronic payment to avoid any undue hardship to taxpayers. 
 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide comments.  
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SUBJECT:  ADMINISTRATION, Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax Returns and Payment of 

Taxes 

BILL NUMBER:  SB 851; HB 1412 (Identical) 

INTRODUCED BY:  SB by TOKUDA; HB by LUKE  

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: Requires electronic filing of tax returns.  The statute as drafted 

provides for a reasonable cause exception only if the department adopts rules, and can be 

improved if the reasonable cause exception is written into the law. 

Requires electronic payment of tax if the annual tax is more than $40,000 per tax type.  This 

appears to be a reasonable means of cutting the time required for payment processing. 

BRIEF SUMMARY:  Amends HRS section 231-8.5 to allow the department of taxation to 

require electronic filing of any tax return, application, report, or other document required under 

title 14.  The department may by rule allow exceptions for reasonable cause. 

Provides that a taxpayer who is required to file but doesn’t is penalized 2% of the amount of the 

tax required to be shown on the return. 

Amends HRS section 231-9.9 to require electronic payment of any tax when the annual amount 

of the tax type is more than $40,000. 

Provides that a taxpayer who is required to pay electronically but doesn’t is penalized 2% of the 

amount of the tax required to be shown on the return. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon approval provided section 2 shall apply to taxable years beginning 

after December 31, 2017. 

STAFF COMMENTS:  That part of this measure relating to electronic filing is similar to the 

administration measure submitted by the department of taxation TAX-02 (17) (SB 1003 / HB 

1137) while the part relating to electronic payment is similar to TAX-03 (17) (SB 1004 / HB 

1138).   

The first part of the bill requires electronic filing for all or part of the tax base.  Some of the tax 

base, however, might not be comfortable with electronic payment, let alone electronic filing.  

Electronic filing does seem to be the way of the future, with the potential for speeding up the 

processing of tax returns and at the same time slashing the error rates associated with scanned or 

manually entered returns. 

There seems to be a reasonable cause exception for the penalties, and we suggest that it be 

written into the statute, with the department having the ability to interpret that term if it wishes.  
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As drafted, there is no reasonable cause exception unless the department adopts rules.  We 

suggest language similar to HRS section 231-9.9(c). 

"[§231-8.5]  Electronic filing of tax returns.  (a)  The 

department may [allow] require filing by electronic, 

telephonic, or optical means of any tax return, 

application, report, or other document required under the 

provisions of title 14 administered by the department.  The 

date of filing shall be the date the tax return, 

application, report, or other document is transmitted to 

the department in a form and manner prescribed by 

departmental rules adopted pursuant to chapter 91.  The 

department may determine alternative methods for the 

signing, subscribing, or verifying of a tax return, 

application, report, or other document that shall have the 

same validity and consequences as the actual signing by the 

taxpayer.  A filing under this section shall be treated in 

the same manner as a filing subject to the penalties under 

section 231-39. 

     (b)  If a person who is required under subsection (a) 

to file a return electronically department fails to file 

electronically using an approved method on or before the 

date prescribed therefor, unless it is shown that the 

failure is due to reasonable cause and not to neglect, 

there shall be added to the tax required to be shown on the 

return a penalty of two per cent of the amount of the tax." 

As the bill relates to e-payment, it requires electronic payment if the amount of the tax type is 

more than $40,000, as is now provided for payroll withholding.  The threshold for other tax types 

is $100,000.  Electronic payment does seem to be the way of the future, with the potential for 

slashing the wait times and confusion generated by manual processing of checks attached to 

returns. 
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