



## **Collection Law Section**

Chair: Steven Guttman

Vice Chair: William J. Plum

Secretary: Thomas J. Wong

Treasurer: Arlette S. Harada

## Directors:

Ann Correa Marvin S.C. Dang Christopher Shea Goodwin Steven Guttman Arlette S. Harada James Hochberg Francis P. Hogan Elizabeth A. Kane William J. Plum David B. Rosen Andrew Salenger Mark T. Shklov Yuriko J. Sugimura Thomas J. Wong Reginald K.T. Yee Reply to:

to: STEVEN GUTTMAN, CHAIR 220 SOUTH KING STREET SUITE 1900 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813 TELEPHONE: (808) 536-1900 FAX: (808) 529-7177 E-MAIL: sguttman@kdubm.com

February 2, 2017

Representative Scott Y. Nishimoto, Chair and Members of House Judiciary Committee

Re: HB 1397 Relating to Jury Trial Hearing: 2/3/17 @ 2:00 p.m.

Dear Chair Nishimoto:

This testimony is being submitted on behalf of the Collection Law Section of the Hawaii Bar Association ("CLS").<sup>1</sup> The CLS supports HB 1397. The current limit of \$5,000 has not been indexed for inflation for many years and as such, the issue needs to be addressed.

Thank you.

Respectfully,

/S/ William J. Plum

William J. Plum Vice-Chair Collection Law Section of the HSBA

\hb 1397-a.cls

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The comments and recommendations submitted reflect the position/viewpoint of the Collection Law Section of the HSBA. The position/viewpoint has not been reviewed or approved by the HSBA Board of Directors, and is not being endorsed by the Hawaii State Bar Association.