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COMMENTARY ON CHAPTER 706 

 

  Act 314, Session Laws 1986, amended this chapter to reflect a 

shift from the present policy underlying sentencing, which 

emphasizes rehabilitation, to one intended to achieve the goal 

of just punishment.  Conference Committee Report No. 51-86. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Neither this chapter nor chapter 353 prohibits the Hawaii 

paroling authority from setting a prisoner's minimum term at a 

period equal to his or her maximum sentence.  97 H. 183, 35 P.3d 

210 (2001). 

  Chapter not violated and pre-sentence report sufficiently 

complied with §706-602, where defendant asserted that court did 

not order or receive a pre-sentence correctional diagnosis and 

report as required by §706-601(1)(a), therefore, since the 

information required under §706-602 was not furnished to court 

for its consideration in imposing sentence, the sentences were 

not imposed in accordance with provisions of this chapter and 

were illegal.  10 H. App. 535, 880 P.2d 208 (1992). 

  Criminal contempt of court under §710-1077 is not available as 

a sanction for a violation of a condition of probation as there 

is no provision in this chapter that authorizes the use of 

criminal contempt as a sanction for violation of a condition of 

probation; the exclusive sanctions for a violation of a 

condition of probation in this chapter are set forth in §706-

625.  120 H. 312 (App.), 205 P.3d 577 (2009). 

 

"PART I.  PRE-SENTENCE INVESTIGATION AND REPORT, AUTHORIZED 

DISPOSITION, AND CLASSES OF FELONIES 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  Comments and Questions About Mental Health Law in Hawaii.  13 

HBJ, no. 4, at 13 (1978). 

 

 §706-600  Sentence in accordance with this chapter.  No 

sentence shall be imposed otherwise than in accordance with this 

chapter. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §10] 

 



COMMENTARY ON §706-600 

 

  This section establishes that dispositions for all offenses--

whether defined within or outside of the Penal Code--are to be 

imposed in accordance with this chapter and that, except for the 

power of the court to impose "incidental civil sanctions such as 

forfeitures of property, suspension or cancellation of licenses, 

removal from office and the like," as provided in §706-605(4), 

"the only dispositions authorized are those permitted by the 

Code."[1] 

  The Penal Code, in centralizing provisions relating to the 

disposition of convicted defendants in one chapter, differs from 

previous law which provided a separate sanction (fine or 

imprisonment or both) for each offense.  This resulted in 

authorized sentences which, when considered in relation to the 

potential danger to the person resulting from the commission of 

each offense, gave rise to a sense of inconsistency.  An act of 

destruction of real or personal property with intent to hinder 

the United States in its military preparations was given a 20-

year sentence and a $10,000 fine[2] while kidnapping was deemed 

worthy of a life sentence but only a $1,000[3] fine.  An offense 

delicately called "carnal abuse" of a female child under twelve 

years of age was punishable by life imprisonment,[4] whereas 

manslaughter, defined as killing without malice aforethought, 

received a relatively lenient ten-year sentence.[5]  Larceny 

from the person drew a two-year sentence and a $2,000 fine,[6] 

whereas simple larceny, not involving any potential danger to 

the person, was punished by a ten-year sentence but no fine at 

all.[7]  None of the penalties mentioned is inherently wrong, 

although most are questionable, but taken together they reflect 

no consistent policy. 

  By centralizing sentencing the Code seeks to achieve an 

internal consistency which is lacking under previous law. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  As §706-661 and this section do not authorize a court to 

impose a single sentence on a defendant who has been convicted 

of multiple charges, trial court did not violate plea agreement 

by imposing a life term for each class A felony defendant was 

convicted of, and then running each life term concurrently.  91 

H. 20, 979 P.2d 1046 (1999). 

 

__________ 

§706-600 Commentary: 

 

1.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 12 (1954). 



 

2.  H.R.S. §767-2. 

 

3.  Id. §749-1. 

 

4.  Id. §768-36. 

 

5.  Id. §748-7. 

 

6.  Id. §750-22. 

 

7.  Id. §750-19. 

 

" §706-600.5  Definitions of terms in this chapter.  In this 

chapter, unless a different meaning plainly is required: 

 "Day" means a twenty-four-hour period of time. 

 "Month" means a thirty-day period of time. 

 "Secure drug treatment facility" means a facility employing 

security protocols modeled after a minimum-security detention 

center, including continuous direct supervision. 

 "Year" means a three hundred sixty-five-day period of time. 

[L 1987, c 202, §1; am L Sp 2009, c 4, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-600.5 

 

  Act 202, Session Laws 1987, clarified the time periods within 

this chapter by providing definitions for a "day," "month," and 

"year."  This clarification should eliminate confusion by law 

enforcement personnel in regard to these time periods.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 556. 

  Act 4, Special Session Laws 2009, promoted the rehabilitation 

of convicted drug offenders through alternatives to 

incarceration by authorizing the placement of certain drug 

offenders in secure drug treatment facilities.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 25.  Act 4 amended this section by adding 

the definition of "secure drug treatment facility." 

 

" [§706-600.6]  Time of release.  A person imprisoned whose 

term of imprisonment ends between the hours of 9:00 p.m. to 

12:00 midnight, may be released at 9:00 p.m.  A person 

imprisoned whose term of imprisonment ends between the hours of 

12:00 midnight to 7:00 a.m. may be released at 9:00 p.m. the day 

before the person's scheduled release. [L 1987, c 202, §2; gen 

ch 1992] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-600.6 

 



  Act 202, Session Laws 1987, clarified the "time of release" 

for prisoners.  House Standing Committee Report No. 556. 

 

" §706-601  Pre-sentence diagnosis and report.  (1)  Except 

as provided in subsections (3) and (4), the court shall order a 

pre-sentence correctional diagnosis of the defendant and accord 

due consideration to a written report of the diagnosis before 

imposing sentence where: 

 (a) The defendant has been convicted of a felony; or 

 (b) The defendant is less than twenty-two years of age and 

has been convicted of a crime. 

 (2)  The court may order a pre-sentence diagnosis in any 

other case. 

 (3)  With the consent of the court, the requirement of a 

pre-sentence diagnosis may be waived by agreement of both the 

defendant and the prosecuting attorney; provided that in felony 

cases, the prosecuting attorney shall inform, or make reasonable 

efforts to inform, the victim or the victim's surviving 

immediate family members of their rights to be present at the 

sentencing hearing and to provide information relating to the 

impact of the crime, including any requested restitution. 

 (4)  The court on its own motion may waive a pre-sentence 

correctional diagnosis where: 

 (a) A prior pre-sentence diagnosis was completed within 

one year preceding the sentencing in the instant case; 

 (b) The defendant is being sentenced for murder or 

attempted murder in any degree; or 

 (c) The sentence was agreed to by the parties and approved 

by the court under rule 11 of the Hawaii rules of 

penal procedure. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 

314, §11; am L 1997, c 275, §1; am L 2016, c 231, §15] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-601 

 

  In any system which vests discretion in the sentencing 

authority, it is necessary that the authority have sufficient 

and accurate information so that it may rationally exercise its 

discretion.  In our penal system which vests sentencing 

authority in the court, it is extremely unlikely that without a 

special provision providing for a pre-sentence investigation and 

report that the relevant information will be brought to the 

attention of the court.  The vast majority of cases are disposed 

of upon pleas of guilty.  It is obvious that in such cases the 

court has no information upon which to select between and among 

various sentencing alternatives.  Even where the case is tried 

before the sentencing judge, the evidence at trial is not likely 

to produce information relevant to sentencing a subsequently 



convicted defendant.  Relevant information, such as the 

defendant's history of delinquency or criminality, physical and 

mental condition, family situation and background, economic 

status, education, occupation, and personal habits, are not 

likely to be fully explored in an adversary proceeding designed 

to decide the issue of guilt. 

  This section requires a pre-sentence investigation in the 

cases specified; it allows the court to order a pre-sentence 

investigation in any other case.  In a system with unlimited 

resources, a pre-sentence investigation and report might be 

required in the case of every convicted defendant regardless of 

whether the offense was a felony, misdemeanor, or violation.  

However, realizing the limitations of the State's resources, the 

Code has required a pre-sentence investigation and report only 

in cases of felons and youthful offenders.  This requirement is 

in substantial accord with recent studies on sentencing.[1] 

  This section is also in substantial accord with Hawaii rules 

of procedure governing criminal cases in the circuit courts,[2] 

which have jurisdiction over felony cases and over some 

misdemeanor cases (those which are tried before a jury).  

However, it is left to the circuit court's discretion whether a 

pre-sentence investigation and report is or is not ordered.  In 

candor, it must be pointed out that as a regular practice such 

reports are ordered and the Code in large degree brings the law 

into conformity with existing circuit court practice. 

  District courts, which have original jurisdiction over 

misdemeanor cases, presently have no procedure or authorization 

for pre-sentence investigation.  Supplemental services will have 

to be added to the district courts, either by legislation, court 

rule, or administratively, so the pre-sentence investigators 

(probation officers or otherwise) are available in all courts 

which would be required or authorized to take into consideration 

a pre-sentence report before imposing sentence. 

  Subsection (3) was added to the Code to accommodate the 

request of some defendants for immediate sentence.  The court 

has sometimes granted this request where the offense is of a 

very minor nature and the court is inclined to impose only a 

fine or to suspend imposition of sentence. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-601 

 

  In 1972 the legislature, when enacting the Penal Code, 

substituted the phrase "pre-sentence correctional diagnosis" for 

"pre-sentence investigation," in order to conform the language 

to the new correctional procedures provided for with the 

establishment of the Correctional Diagnostic Center.  The 

Conference Committee stated that "a 'correctional diagnosis' 



will provide a more comprehensive psychiatric, social, and 

correctional analysis of a defendant than previously provided 

with a 'pre-sentence investigation'."  Conference Committee 

Report No. 2 (1972). 

  Act 275, Session Laws 1997, amended this section to allow 

courts to waive the pre-sentence diagnosis and report under 

certain specified circumstances.  The legislature found that 

under current law, a pre-sentence diagnosis and report must be 

prepared for all individuals convicted of a felony offense and 

all convicted defendants less than twenty-two years of age, 

unless the report is waived by both the defendant and the 

prosecuting attorney.  However, in certain cases, the sentence 

to be imposed is predetermined due to plea agreements or 

sentencing guidelines; thus, the diagnosis and report are 

unnecessary.  The amendment expedites the disposal of criminal 

cases and reduces unnecessary delays in sentencing.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 72, House Standing Committee Report No. 

1650. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (3) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Rules of Court 

 

  Plea agreements, see HRPP rule 11(f). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Commentary quoted in holding that it was proper to include in 

a pre-sentence diagnosis and report the defendant's juvenile 

court record for consideration by the sentencing court.  56 H. 

75, 527 P.2d 1269 (1974). 

  In extended sentence hearing, pre-sentence report held 

inadmissible hearsay.  56 H. 628, 548 P.2d 632 (1976). 

  Cited as requiring court to consider pre-sentence report 

before sentencing for a felony.  60 H. 100, 588 P.2d 409 (1978). 

  In resentencing cases, ordering of updated pre-sentence report 

is within discretion of court.  61 H. 226, 602 P.2d 13 (1979). 

  No merit to defendant's point on appeal that contended that 

circuit court violated right to due process when it assumed role 

of prosecutor and attempted to establish a record on which to 

base a minimum mandatory sentence; circuit court was mandated by 

this section and §706-606.5 to do what it did.  9 H. App. 583, 

854 P.2d 238 (1993). 

  Pre-sentence report sufficiently complied with §706-602 and 

chapter 706 was not violated, where defendant asserted that 



court did not order or receive a pre-sentence correctional 

diagnosis and report as required by subsection (1)(a), 

therefore, since the information required under §706-602 was not 

furnished to the court for its consideration in imposing 

sentence, the sentences were not imposed in accordance with 

provisions of chapter 706 and were illegal.  10 H. App. 535, 880 

P.2d 208 (1992). 

  Court properly relied on defendant's pre-sentence 

investigation report that included two prior convictions that 

had been dismissed fifteen years earlier, where defendant had an 

opportunity to object to the validity of these prior convictions 

as contained in the pre-sentence investigation report, but 

failed to do so; defendant waived the argument that the court 

should not have considered the two prior convictions.  129 H. 

135 (App.), 295 P.3d 1005 (2013). 

  Cited:  73 H. 259, 831 P.2d 523 (1992). 

 

__________ 

§706-601 Commentary: 

 

1.  American Bar Association Project on Minimum Standards for 

Criminal Justice, Standards Relating to Sentencing Alternatives 

and Procedures §4.1 (Tentative Draft, 1967) hereinafter cited in 

this chapter as A.B.A. Standards; National Council on Crime and 

Delinquency, Model Sentencing Act 2 (1963) [hereinafter cited in 

this chapter as M.S.A.]; and M.P.C. §7.07(1). 

 

2.  H.R.Cr.P., Rules 1, 32, and 54 (1960). 

 

" §706-602  Pre-sentence diagnosis, notice to victims, and 

report.  (1)  The pre-sentence diagnosis and report shall be 

made by personnel assigned to the court or other agency 

designated by the court and shall include: 

 (a) An analysis of the circumstances attending the 

commission of the crime; 

 (b) The defendant's history of delinquency or criminality, 

physical and mental condition, family situation and 

background, economic status and capacity to make 

restitution or to make reparation to the victim or 

victims of the defendant's crimes for loss or damage 

caused thereby, education, occupation, and personal 

habits; 

 (c) Information made available by the victim or other 

source concerning the effect that the crime committed 

by the defendant has had upon said victim, including 

but not limited to, any physical or psychological harm 

or financial loss suffered; 



 (d) Information concerning defendant's compliance or non-

compliance with any order issued under section 806-11; 

and 

 (e) Any other matters that the reporting person or agency 

deems relevant or the court directs to be included. 

 (2)  The court personnel or agency shall give notice of the 

Crime Victim Compensation Act, the application for compensation 

procedure, and the possibility of restitution by the defendant 

to all victims of the convicted defendant's criminal acts. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1973, c 179, §23; am L 1975, c 89, §1; 

am L 1990, c 256, §1; gen ch 1992; am L 1993, c 215, §5; am L 

1998, c 240, §8; am L 2012, c 51, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-602 

 

  This section sets forth the topics required to be covered in 

the pre-sentence investigation and report.  The Code recognizes 

that these topics constitute a minimum of the information which 

should be before the sentencing judge.  Additional matters may 

be included by the pre-sentence investigator.  A defendant is 

protected against the inclusion of unfounded facts, derogatory 

information, statements and conclusions by the provision of 

§706-604 providing for notice and opportunity to controvert. 

  This section is in accord with existing Hawaii rules of 

procedure[1] and, although it is somewhat more specific, it has 

been approved by the Adult Probation Office of the First 

Circuit. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-602 

 

  In enacting the Code, the legislature changed the Proposed 

Draft by substituting the phrase "pre-sentence diagnosis" for 

the phrase "pre-sentence investigation".  (See Supplemental 

Commentary on §706-601.) 

  Act 179, Session Laws 1973, amended this section to provide 

that the pre-sentence diagnosis and report shall "be made by 

personnel assigned to the court, intake center, or other agency 

designated by the court."  This amendment was made as part of an 

extensive act implementing that portion of the Hawaii 

Correctional Master Plan pertaining to the management and 

establishment of intake service centers, correctional 

facilities, and programs. 

  Act 89, Session Laws 1975, amended this section to require 

that an analysis of the convicted person's ability to make 

restitution to the victim of the convicted person's crime be 

included in the pre-sentence diagnosis and report.  As amended, 

the section further requires appropriate personnel to notify the 



victim of the victim's right to restitution.  The intent of the 

legislature was to repay the victim for the victim's loss and 

develop in the convicted person "...a degree of self-respect and 

pride in knowing that he or she has righted the wrong 

committed."  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 789, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 425. 

  Act 256, Session Laws 1990, amended this section to require 

the inclusion of information on the effect of the crime to the 

victim in all pre-sentencing reports submitted to the courts.  

The legislature believed that sentencing decisions which are 

based solely on the circumstances of the defendant's prior 

history and on an abstract view of the offense are decisions 

made in a vacuum.  The legislature was convinced that the 

sentencing judge should, therefore, be informed of the impact 

which the offense has had on the victim as a representative of 

the entire community because criminal proceedings are brought on 

behalf of and intended to protect everyone.  House Standing 

Committee Report No. 1193-90. 

  Act 215, Session Laws 1993, amended this section to provide 

that the pre-sentence diagnosis and report shall include 

information concerning the defendant's compliance or 

noncompliance with any order issued to the defendant pursuant to 

§806-11, at the time of arraignment, to dispose of all firearms 

and ammunition within the defendant's possession in a manner in 

compliance with chapter 134 within forty-eight hours of the 

issuance of the order.  Conference Committee Report No. 66. 

  Act 240, Session Laws 1998, renamed the criminal injuries 

compensation commission to the crime victim compensation 

commission to more accurately reflect the commission's purpose.  

This section was amended to conform to that name change.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 1060-98. 

  Act 51, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by deleting 

the Intake Service Center as an agency responsible for preparing 

the pre-sentence diagnosis and report for defendants and for 

giving notices of the Crime Victim Compensation Act and other 

specified restitution procedures to increase efficiency in the 

pre-sentence investigative process as it relates to convicted 

defendants.  The legislature found that Act 51 updated the law 

relating to pre-sentence investigation process and reporting and 

correctly designated pre-sentence investigation and reporting 

duties to the Judiciary.  House Standing Committee Report No. 

607-12, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3187. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  "History of delinquency" construed to authorize use of 

defendant's juvenile record in pre-sentence report, and such use 



is not a violation of §§571-49 and 571-84.  56 H. 75, 527 P.2d 

1269 (1974). 

  Pre-sentence report sufficiently complied with this section 

and chapter 706 was not violated, where defendant asserted that 

court did not order or receive a pre-sentence correctional 

diagnosis and report as required by §706-601(1)(a), therefore, 

since the information required under this section was not 

furnished to the court for its consideration in imposing 

sentence, the sentences were not imposed in accordance with 

provisions of chapter 706 and were illegal.  10 H. App. 535, 880 

P.2d 208 (1992). 

  Where defendants were convicted of misdemeanor offenses and 

were more than twenty-two years old at the time of their 

convictions, trial court was not statutorily required to order 

the preparation of a presentence investigation report for 

defendants before sentencing them.  117 H. 490 (App.), 184 P.3d 

805 (2008). 

  Where record indicated that defendants were afforded their 

right under subsection (2) to be meaningfully heard or to 

controvert any "unfounded facts, derogatory information, 

statements and conclusions" in the partial presentence 

investigation report, trial court did not violate their due 

process right when it denied their motion to strike a paragraph 

from the report.  117 H. 490 (App.), 184 P.3d 805 (2008). 

  Cited:  73 H. 259, 831 P.2d 523 (1992). 

 

__________ 

§706-602 Commentary: 

 

1.  H.R.Cr.P., Rule 32(c)(2) (1960). 

 

" §706-603  DNA analysis monetary assessment; DNA registry 

special fund.  (1)  In addition to any disposition authorized by 

chapter 706 or 853, every defendant convicted of a felony 

offense shall be ordered to pay a monetary assessment of $500 or 

the actual cost of the DNA analysis, whichever is less.  The 

court may reduce the monetary assessment if the court finds, 

based on evidence presented by the defendant and not rebutted by 

the State, that the defendant is not and will not be able to pay 

the full monetary assessment and, based on the finding, shall 

instead order the defendant to pay an assessment that the 

defendant will be able to pay within five years. 

 (2)  Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the 

assessment and penalty provided by this section shall be in 

addition to, and not in lieu of, and shall not be used to offset 

or reduce, any fine or restitution authorized or required by 



law.  All assessments and penalties shall be paid into the DNA 

registry special fund established in subsection (3). 

 (3)  There is established a special fund to be known as the 

DNA registry special fund which shall be administered by the 

attorney general.  The fund shall consist of: 

 (a) All assessments and penalties ordered pursuant to 

subsection (1); 

 (b) All other moneys received by the fund from any other 

source; and 

 (c) Interest earned on any moneys in the fund. 

Moneys in the DNA registry special fund shall be used for DNA 

collection, DNA testing, and related costs of recording, 

preserving, and disseminating DNA information pursuant to 

chapter 844D. 

 (4)  Restitution shall be made before payment of the 

monetary assessment pursuant to section 706-651. [L 1972, c 9, 

pt of §1; am L 1973, c 179, §24; am L 1974, c 54, §4; am L 1979, 

c 3, §4 and c 105, §65; am L 1980, c 232, §37; am L 1986, c 314, 

§12; am L 1987, c 145, §4; am L 1991, c 231, §2; am L 1998, c 

271, §1; am L 2001, c 157, §35; am L 2005, c 112, §4; am L 2016, 

c 231, §16] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-603 

 

  This section recognizes that in some, if not many, cases the 

court will need medical and psychiatric information not normally 

found within the scope of the pre-sentence investigation and 

report.  It is clear that in deciding which of numerous 

sentencing alternatives should be employed--e.g., fine, 

suspended sentence, probation (and the conditions thereof), or 

imprisonment--the court will need and should be allowed to call 

upon the professional insights of medical experts.  The need for 

such professional help has been well stated in the A.B.A. 

Standards: 

 Reliance on the trial court for such significant 

correctional decisions suggests the imperative need for 

informational services beyond the normal pre-sentence report.  

There will inevitably be instances in which the pre-sentence 

report together with other information acquired during the 

trial will either leave the court short of desired information 

or will have raised additional questions which can only be 

answered by an examination of the defendant's physical, 

emotional or mental condition.  The lack of access to 

facilities which can supply such information will force the 

court to an uninformed guess as to the proper disposition. 

 Too much is at stake to place the court in such a position.  

On occasion the simple correction of a physical defect has 



altered the course of a seemingly incorrigible offender.  The 

use of prison in such a context could reinforce the offender's 

anti-social tendencies.  Similarly, the pattern of psychiatric 

study followed by appropriate treatment offers significant 

advantages over the simple detention which characterizes so 

many of our prisons.  The system needs the ability to discover 

the cases where unusual factors may indicate the desirability 

of an unusual disposition.  The availability of facilities 

such as are contemplated by this section is one step in 

providing that capability.[1] 

  The Code does not deal with the question of whether the State 

should establish one or more reception and diagnostic centers to 

meet the needs of sentencing courts or whether the court's needs 

should be met by the employment on a case-by-case basis of local 

physicians and psychiatrists.[2]  That decision will have to be 

made eventually, however, the Code is formulated in a manner 

which allows for future expansion of facilities in this area. 

  This section represents a needed addition to Hawaii law. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-603 

 

  Act 179, Session Laws 1973, amended this section to permit a 

convicted defendant to be remanded to an intake service center 

or community correctional center in addition to a clinic or 

hospital.  This amendment was part of the implementation of the 

Hawaii Correctional Master Plan.  (See Supplemental Commentary 

on §706-602.) 

  Act 54, Session Laws 1974, amended this section to permit the 

use of a certified clinical psychologist in making a pre-

sentence diagnosis or evaluation.  (Cf. Supplemental Commentary 

on §§704-404, 411, and 414.) 

  Act 3, Session Laws 1979, amended this section by providing 

for a three member examination panel (to be appointed in the 

same manner as the examination panels in §§704-404, 411, and 

414) as the sole alternative to a single examiner.  This was 

done to allow greater flexibility in appointing mental health 

professionals to the panels.  Act 105 amended this section to 

restore language inadvertently deleted by Act 54, Session Laws 

1974. 

  Act 232, Session Laws 1980, amended this section to restore 

amendments made by Act 3, §4, Session Laws 1979, which were 

superseded by Act 105, Session Laws 1979, under a general 

supersession clause. 

  Act 314, Session Laws 1986, amended "certified clinical 

psychologists" to "licensed psychologists."  This change was 

made because psychologists are licensed and not certified and 

the term "clinical" does not accurately describe psychologists 



qualified to determine penal responsibility and fitness to 

proceed.  Act 314 also provided an exception to the licensure 

requirement which recognizes that under §465-3(4), psychologists 

employed under government certification or civil service rules 

are exempt from the licensure requirement.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 51-86. 

  Act 145, Session Laws 1987, permitted the department of health 

to set minimum standards for participation and appointment of a 

sanity examiner.  The legislature felt this change would allow 

additional assurances of higher quality testimony by these 

examiners.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 691, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 1217. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 1991, required the court to order a 

defendant convicted of a sexual offense, a violent crime, or the 

attempt of either, to submit to blood and saliva testing to be 

used for a DNA identification profile which will allow law 

enforcement officials to identify reoffenders.  The legislature 

weighed the balance between the defendant's right to privacy and 

the needs of society, and found that the needs of society to 

deter sexual and violent crimes outweighed the defendant's right 

to privacy.  House Standing Committee Report No. 1018. 

  Act 271, Session Laws 1998, amended this section to require 

defendants convicted of sexual or violent offenses to provide 

blood samples for DNA analysis.  The court is allowed to order 

convicted defendants to pay a monetary assessment of $500 or the 

actual cost of DNA analysis, whichever is less, to defray the 

costs of obtaining, storing, and testing the blood sample.  Act 

271 created a DNA registry special fund, administered by the 

attorney general, into which the monetary assessments are to be 

deposited.  A person who negligently or recklessly fails to 

provide blood samples is guilty of a misdemeanor, and a person 

who intentionally or knowingly fails to provide blood samples is 

guilty of a class C felony. 

  The legislature recognized that DNA information is an 

increasingly valuable tool for investigating, prosecuting, and 

defending criminal cases.  The legislature found that the 

development of a DNA registry is important to protect the public 

from further criminal acts committed by the offenders, but that 

the cost of the DNA sampling process is borne by police 

departments without state funding.  The legislature agreed that 

convicted defendants who are required to provide DNA samples 

should be assessed a fee to defray the costs of testing.  

Conference Committee Report No. 110, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 3009. 

  Act 157, Session Laws 2001, amended this section, among 

others, to conform amendments relating to revocation of motor 

vehicle registrations under administrative revocation 



proceedings with the comprehensive law regarding driving under 

the influence which is to take effect on January 1, 2002.  Act 

157 conformed and consolidated the provisions of Act 189, 

Session Laws 2000, to existing law regarding driving while under 

the influence of alcohol or drugs, and suspension and revocation 

of licenses.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1406. 

  Act 112, Session Laws 2005, established a statewide DNA 

database and data bank identification program for all convicted 

felons.  Conference Committee Report No. 184.  Act 112 amended 

this section by deleting the provisions regarding blood samples 

for DNA analysis and by requiring every convicted felon to pay a 

monetary assessment of $500 or the actual cost of the DNA 

analysis, whichever is less. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (4) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Cited as authorizing a pre-sentence psychiatric examination.  

60 H. 100, 588 P.2d 409 (1978). 

 

__________ 

§706-603 Commentary: 

 

1.  A.B.A. Standards, comments at 229. 

 

2.  Cf. A.B.A. Standards, comments at 229-231. 

 

" §706-604  Opportunity to be heard with respect to sentence; 

notice of pre-sentence report; opportunity to controvert or 

supplement; transmission of report to department.  (1)  Before 

imposing sentence, the court shall afford a fair opportunity to 

the defendant to be heard on the issue of the defendant's 

disposition. 

 (2)  The court shall furnish to the defendant or the 

defendant's counsel and to the prosecuting attorney a copy of 

the report of any pre-sentence diagnosis or psychological, 

psychiatric, or other medical examination and afford fair 

opportunity, if the defendant or the prosecuting attorney so 

requests, to controvert or supplement them.  The court shall 

amend or order the amendment of the report upon finding that any 

correction, modification, or addition is needed and, where 

appropriate, shall require the prompt preparation of an amended 

report in which material required to be deleted is completely 

removed or other amendments, including additions, are made. 



 (3)  In all circuit court cases, regardless of whether a 

pre-sentence report has been prepared or waived, the court shall 

afford a fair opportunity to the victim to be heard on the issue 

of the defendant's disposition, before imposing sentence.  The 

court, service center, or agency personnel who prepare the pre-

sentence diagnosis and report shall inform the victim of the 

sentencing date and of the victim's opportunity to be heard.  In 

the case of a homicide or where the victim is a minor or is 

otherwise unable to appear at the sentencing hearing, the 

victim's family shall be afforded the fair opportunity to be 

heard. 

 (4)  If the defendant is sentenced to imprisonment, a copy 

of the report of any pre-sentence diagnosis or psychological, 

psychiatric, or other medical examination, which shall 

incorporate any amendments ordered by the court, shall be 

transmitted immediately to the department of public safety. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §13; am L 1987, c 338, 

§10; am L 1988, c 305, §10; am L 1989, c 211, §8; gen ch 1992; 

am L 1993, c 216, §1; am L 2006, c 230, §16; am L 2016, c 231, 

§17] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-604 

 

  Subsection (1) is a restatement of the existing rule of 

procedure[1] and practice. 

  Subsection (2) is addressed to one of the most troublesome 

problems in the area of pre-sentence investigation: the question 

of whether the pre-sentence investigation report should be 

disclosed to the defendant.  The right of the defendant to 

controvert the pre-sentence report is meaningless to the extent 

that the report, or a part thereof, is not made available to the 

defendant. 

  The Model Sentencing Act allows the court discretion in making 

the pre-sentence report available in ordinary felony cases, but 

with respect to murderers and dangerous offenders the report is 

made available in its entirety.  The Act further provides that 

"Subject to the control of the court, the defendant shall be 

entitled to cross-examine those who have rendered reports to the 

court."[2] 

  The Model Penal Code provides that "the Court shall advise the 

defendant or his counsel of the factual contents and the 

conclusions of any pre-sentence investigation or psychiatric 

examination and afford fair opportunity, if the defendant so 

requests, to controvert them.  The sources of confidential 

information need not, however, be disclosed."[3] 

  The applicable Hawaii rule of criminal procedure takes the 

same position as the Model Penal Code.  It reads: 



    The court shall upon request seasonably made disclose the 

information contained in the report to the prosecution or 

to the defendant's attorney or the defendant without 

disclosing any source of information which was received in 

confidence, and in such event the court shall make the same 

disclosure to the other party.[4] 

  The right to controvert is meaningless unless the report 

itself, rather than the factual contents and conclusions, is 

made available to the defendant.  Even more ludicrous would be 

the insertion into the report of information the source of which 

is regarded as confidential.  The defendant, under such 

circumstances could not be expected to controvert such 

information by showing, for example, that the source was 

unreliable or biased.  The question of whether the defendant 

should be sentenced to imprisonment or to probation is no less 

significant than the question of guilt and the defendant should 

not have this decision made on the basis of information which 

the defendant is not allowed an opportunity to challenge. 

  The A.B.A. Standards have, for the most part, accepted this 

approach.[5]  In rejecting the M.S.A. and M.P.C. positions, the 

commentary to the A.B.A. Standards states: 

  The view which is reflected in subsection (b) [of 4.4] is 

based upon both an assessment of the values which are 

served by non-disclosure and a balance of these values 

against basic fairness to the defendant.  Specifically, the 

argument that sources of information will dry up if the 

defendant's attorney is permitted to examine the report 

falters on two grounds. 

  The first is based on the experience of those members of 

the Committee who have lived under a system in which 

disclosure is routine, and is supplemented by the 

Committee's examination of sample reports produced under 

such a system.  The conclusion is that there is little 

factual basis for the fear that information will become 

unavailable if the report is disclosed.  The quality and 

value of a pre-sentence report will turn to an infinitely 

greater extent on the skill of the probation service and 

the availability of adequate supporting facilities than it 

will on whether its contents remain a secret.... 

  The second reason is more fundamental.  One of the basic 

values underlying the manner in which the guilt phase of a 

criminal case proceeds is that the defendant is entitled to 

know the details of the charge against him and is entitled 

to an opportunity to respond.  It is believed that this 

value is subverted by a system which does not require 

disclosure of the information contained in the pre-sentence 

report.[6] 



  The Code takes the position that full disclosure is necessary 

to protect the defendant and the court from inaccuracies which 

secret reports breed.  Anything less than full disclosure is 

inconsistent with the truth-seeking function of the judicial 

process and the rehabilitative function of penal sentences.  

"Long since exploded is the theory that a defendant who has been 

convicted of crime no longer has any rights, or that any 

sentence less than the maximum is the result of an act of 

grace."[7] 

  The A.B.A. Standards include the following provision for 

nondisclosure in certain "extraordinary cases": 

 In extraordinary cases, the court should be permitted to 

except from disclosure parts of the report which are not 

relevant to a proper sentence, diagnostic opinion which 

might seriously disrupt a program of rehabilitation, or 

sources of information which has been obtained on a promise 

of confidentiality.  In all cases where parts of the report 

are not disclosed under such authority, the court should be 

required to state for the record the reasons for its action 

and to inform the defendant and his attorney that 

information has not been disclosed.  The action of the 

court in excepting information from disclosure should be 

subject to appellate review.[8] 

  The Code rejects this exception, even in its limited form.  

The Code takes the position that it would be better to delete 

such information from the pre-sentence report--information which 

by its very nature is questionable because of its secrecy--than 

to allow the information to be included in the report and not be 

made available to the defendant.  Although not dealt with 

specifically in the A.B.A. Standards, the decision to except a 

part of the pre-sentence report from disclosure would be 

essentially an ex parte proceeding, thus further excluding the 

defendant from participation in the resolution of issues which 

affect the defendant's rights.  The entire exception, and its 

attendant procedure, seems at best to be a compromise solution 

on the part of A.B.A.'s Advisory Committee whose commentary 

reads in part: 

 By endorsing a general policy in favor of disclosure, by 

making non-disclosure of specific items a burdensome task 

to be justified as an exception, and by providing for 

review to determine whether non-disclosure was justified, 

the majority believes that the danger will be minimized, 

but that an outlet will be available to accommodate 

justifiable fears in particular cases.  In a very few 

cases, this position will result in disclosure of 

information which the advocates of secrecy would prefer not 



to disclose.  Such is the price of a system which derives 

value from the fairness with which it operates.[9] 

  In Honolulu a copy of the pre-sentence investigation report 

when ordered by the court is routinely furnished to defense 

counsel.  It does not appear from current practice that the 

untoward results feared by the advocates of secrecy result from 

full disclosure.  Furthermore, the Office of Adult Probation, as 

a matter of administrative practice, excepts from its reports 

information given by an informant who seeks to remain anonymous.  

Even when the probation authorities were charged with 

investigating custody matters in domestic relations cases, a 

practice which no longer obtains, they refrained from this 

utilization of confidential information.  The actual procedure 

in Hawaii appears to be more advanced than its laws in this 

area.  The Code brings the law into step with current practice. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-604 

 

  Act 305, Session Laws 1988, included licensed psychologists 

among the professionals which may provide offender examination 

services to the Hawaii criminal justice system.  The legislature 

stated that the present laws, which permit only psychiatric 

evaluation, are inconsistent with the many and varied uses the 

court has found for the services of licensed psychologists.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2153. 

  Act 216, Session Laws 1993, amended this section to afford a 

fair opportunity to a victim, or in certain cases, the victim's 

family, to be heard on the issue of the defendant's disposition 

before sentence is imposed.  The legislature anticipated that, 

in those instances in which the victim or family may be unable 

to personally attend a hearing, the court would accept and 

consider written statements for the purpose of allowing an 

opportunity to be heard.  Conference Committee Report No. 60. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended this section to require 

the court to amend an examiner's report upon finding that any 

correction, modification, or addition is needed.  House Standing 

Committee Report No. 665-06. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (3) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  This is a companion provision to §706-602, and affords 

defendant opportunity to controvert or supplement the report.  

56 H. 75, 527 P.2d 1269 (1974). 



  Error to refuse defendant an opportunity to be heard and to 

supplement pre-sentence report.  56 H. 292, 535 P.2d 127 (1975). 

  Court is not restricted to the information in the pre-sentence 

report in considering the sentence to be imposed.  59 H. 1, 575 

P.2d 448 (1978). 

  Defendants have no right to examine probation officer's 

sentencing recommendation.  67 H. 408, 689 P.2d 754 (1984). 

  A sentencing court must afford a defendant his or her right of 

pre-sentence allocution before ruling on the applicability of 

the young adult defendants statute.  90 H. 280, 978 P.2d 718 

(1999). 

  The alleged inaccuracy in defendant's pre-sentence 

investigation report did not rise to the level of plain error 

because, among other things, the record indicated that the 

circuit court based its imposition of a consecutive sentence on 

defendant's "extensive" criminal record as a whole, and not 

solely on the specific convictions that defendant claimed were 

invalid.  131 H. 94, 315 P.3d 720 (2013). 

  Where defendant argued that the pre-sentence investigation 

report listed convictions that were allegedly dismissed, because 

defendant did not raise a good faith challenge on the record 

stating, as to each challenged conviction, the basis or bases 

for the challenge, the circuit court did not err in relying on 

the report.  131 H. 94, 315 P.3d 720 (2013). 

  Denial of a fair opportunity to be heard on a defendant's 

disposition before imposing sentence violated clear mandate of 

subsection (1) and HRPP rule 32(a); misdemeanors and violations 

fell within scope of subsection (1).  77 H. 241 (App.), 883 P.2d 

663 (1994). 

  Where defendant was not sentenced to imprisonment, court did 

not abuse discretion in denying defendant's request to examine 

adult probation officer regarding pre-sentence report.  83 H. 

280 (App.), 925 P.2d 1104 (1996). 

  Where record showed that prior to imposing sentence, the trial 

court gave defendant the opportunity to speak and that defendant 

made an extensive statement to the court, and ended by telling 

the court "and that's basically all I have to say, sir", which 

was followed by the trial court's comments and denial of 

defendant's request to "say something else", trial court did not 

deny defendant's right of allocution and did not err in its 

refusal to afford defendant a second allocution in response to 

the court's comments.  120 H. 480 (App.), 210 P.3d 3 (2009). 

  Cited:  60 H. 100, 588 P.2d 409 (1978). 

  Cited:  131 H. 537, 319 P.3d 456 (2014). 

 

__________ 

§706-604 Commentary: 



 

1.  H.R.Cr.P., Rule 32(a) (1960). 

 

2.  M.S.A. §4. 

 

3.  M.P.C. §7.07(5). 

 

4.  H.R.Cr.P. Rule 32(c)(3) (1960). 

 

5.  A.B.A. Standards §4.4. 

 

6.  A.B.A. Standards, comments at 219-220. 

 

7.  Id. at 221. 

 

8.  Id. §4.4(b) (in part). 

 

9.  Id. comments at 225. 

 

" §706-605  Authorized disposition of convicted defendants.  

(1)  Except as provided in parts II and IV or in section 706-647 

and subsections (2), (6), and (7), and subject to the applicable 

provisions of this Code, the court may sentence a convicted 

defendant to one or more of the following dispositions: 

 (a) To be placed on probation as authorized by part II; 

 (b) To pay a fine as authorized by part III and section 

706-624; 

 (c) To be imprisoned for a term as authorized by part IV; 

or 

 (d) To perform services for the community under the 

supervision of a governmental agency or benevolent or 

charitable organization or other community service 

group or appropriate supervisor; provided that the 

convicted person who performs such services shall not 

be deemed to be an employee of the governmental agency 

or assigned work site for any purpose.  All persons 

sentenced to perform community service shall be 

screened and assessed for appropriate placement by a 

governmental agency coordinating public service work 

placement as a condition of sentence. 

 (2)  The court shall not sentence a defendant to probation 

and imprisonment except as authorized by part II. 

 (3)  In addition to any disposition authorized in 

subsection (1), the court may sentence a person convicted of a 

misdemeanor or petty misdemeanor to a suspended sentence. 



 (4)  The court may sentence a person who has been convicted 

of a violation to any disposition authorized in subsection (1) 

except imprisonment. 

 (5)  The court shall sentence a corporation or 

unincorporated association that has been convicted of an offense 

in accordance with section 706-608. 

 (6)  The court shall impose a compensation fee upon every 

person convicted of a criminal offense pursuant to section 

351-62.6; provided that the court shall waive the imposition of 

a compensation fee if it finds that the defendant is unable to 

pay the compensation fee.  When a defendant is ordered to make 

payments in addition to the compensation fee, payments by the 

defendant shall be made in the order of priority established in 

section 706-651. 

 (7)  The court shall order the defendant to make 

restitution for losses as provided in section 706-646.  In 

ordering restitution, the court shall not consider the 

defendant's financial ability to make restitution in determining 

the amount of restitution to order.  The court, however, shall 

consider the defendant's financial ability to make restitution 

for the purpose of establishing the time and manner of payment. 

 (8)  This chapter does not deprive the court of any 

authority conferred by law to decree a forfeiture of property, 

suspend or cancel a license, remove a person from office, or 

impose any other civil penalty.  Such a judgment or order may be 

included in the sentence. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1975, c 

89, §2; am L 1978, c 96, §1; am L 1980, c 93, §1; am L 1986, c 

226, §1 and c 314, §14; am L 1990, c 100, §1; am L 1995, c 215, 

§1; am L 1998, c 206, §4, c 240, §6, and c 269, §4; am L 2005, c 

144, §2; am L 2006, c 230, §17; am L 2016, c 231, §18] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-605 

 

  This section states the various sentencing alternatives that 

are available to the court upon conviction of a defendant for an 

offense.  With the exceptions of civil commitment in lieu of 

sentence and mandatory life imprisonment for murder, the 

authorized dispositions for crimes are:  suspension of sentence, 

fine, probation, imprisonment, probation with limited 

imprisonment, fine and probation, and fine and imprisonment.  

Subsection (2) makes clear that, with respect to violations, 

only suspension of sentence or a fine are authorized. 

  The Code departs from previous practice in that it authorizes 

suspension of the sentence but does not authorize imposition of 

sentence and suspension of its execution.[1]  If suspension of 

sentence works out badly and the court subsequently determines 

that a sentence must be imposed upon the defendant, the correct 



sentence ought to be determined at the time of imposition rather 

than at the prior time when the court ordered its suspension.  

The facts which give rise to the need for imposition and 

execution of sentence should, of course, be made the subject of 

an up-to-date pre-sentence investigation and report.  The judge 

ordering suspension of sentence (or suspension of execution) 

cannot be expected at the time of suspension to formulate a 

contingent sentence which will account for subsequent facts. 

  Probation is treated as a specific sentence rather than being 

treated as "the accompaniment of suspension."[2]  Previous 

practice was to suspend either imposition or execution of 

sentence and to place the defendant on probation.  As the Model 

Penal Code commentary points out: "The matter is of relatively 

minor moment but may serve in some respects to focus thought 

upon probation as an independent sanction, a result we think 

important to achieve."[3] 

  With the exception of murder (see §706-606), the Code does not 

exclude the possibility of suspension of sentence or probation 

in cases of offenses thought to be particularly heinous.  This 

is contrary to previous law which provided mandatory 

imprisonment in cases of murder in the first or second degree, 

rape, carnal abuse of a female under the age of twelve, incest 

between parents and children or stepchildren, arson, kidnapping, 

robbery in the first degree, burglary in the first degree when 

armed with a deadly weapon, embezzlement of public moneys, and 

the giving or accepting of a bribe or extortion by a public 

officer, agent or employee.[4]  Although imprisonment would most 

likely be warranted upon conviction on these types of serious 

offenses, the Code takes the position that, with the exception 

of murder, the legislature should not compel imprisonment for 

any crime before the circumstances of the crime and facts 

concerning the defendant are known to the sentencing authority. 

 This provision rests on the view that no legislative 

definition or classification of offenses can take account 

of all contingencies.  However right it may be to take the 

gravest view of an offense in general, there will be cases 

comprehended in the definition where the circumstances were 

so unusual, or the mitigations so extreme, that a suspended 

sentence or probation would be proper.  We see no reason to 

distrust the courts upon this matter or to fear that such 

authority will be abused.[5] 

  Subsection (3) indicates that the special problems presented 

by corporate or associational defendants are dealt with in §706-

608. 

  Subsection (4) reserves for the court the authority which has 

been conferred upon it by law to declare forfeiture, suspend or 

cancel licenses, remove persons from office and impose other 



penalties which are civil in nature.  The court in a criminal 

case retains its power to impose, in addition to authorized 

penal sanctions, any civil sanction authorized by law which is 

warranted by the facts of the committed offense. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-605 

 

  Act 89, Session Laws 1975, amended this section by adding 

subsection (1)(e), empowering the court to order the convicted 

person to make restitution to the victim of the crime.  The 

purpose of this change was to repay the victim for loss and 

develop in the convicted person "...a degree of self-respect and 

pride in knowing that he or she has righted the wrong 

committed."  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 789, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 425. 

  Act 96, Session Laws 1978, added subsection (1)(f) to provide 

an alternative sentence for convicted persons for whom fines or 

imprisonment may not be deemed appropriate and to remove any 

doubt as to the authority of the court to impose a sentence 

requiring community service.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 974-78, House Standing Committee Report No. 586-78. 

  Act 93, Session Laws 1980, amended subsection (2) to make it 

clear that the courts have the authority to sentence persons 

convicted of violations to perform community service.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 131-80.  The Act also substituted 

sex-neutral words for gender-based terms. 

  Act 100, Session Laws 1990, amended subsection (1)(e) to 

require mandatory screening for persons sentenced to perform 

community service to reduce instances of inappropriate 

placements which jeopardize the safety of the agency, the 

public, or the offender.  House Standing Committee Report No. 

1191-90. 

  Act 215, Session Laws 1995, amended subsection (1) to 

authorize the court to order a convicted defendant to pay 

restitution to the criminal injuries compensation commission if 

the victim of the crime has been granted a compensation award by 

the commission.  Prior to the amendment, the law was unclear as 

to whether the court had authority to order that restitution be 

paid directly to the criminal injuries compensation commission.  

The amendment also will provide additional revenues for the 

criminal injuries compensation commission, thus allowing the 

commission to compensate victims promptly for losses.  The 

legislature found it "appropriate and fiscally responsible" to 

require a convicted criminal to reimburse the commission when 

the commission granted an award to the crime victim.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 1356. 



  Act 206, Session Laws 1998, amended this section to, among 

other things, require the imposition of a fee against convicted 

criminals.  The monetary assessment of convicted criminal 

defendants is to fund disbursements made by the criminal 

injuries compensation commission.  The legislature found that 

state compensation of victims of criminal acts is well-founded 

in public policy and is the law in every state of the Union.  

The legislature also found that thirty-four states administered 

compensation programs that were financially self-sufficient and 

funded from fees, fines, penalties, civil recoveries, and/or 

restitution.  Adoption of such a program would be prudent and 

consistent with the legislature's objective of cutting 

government costs, considering the State's economic situation.  

Conference Committee Report No. 156. 

  Act 240, Session Laws 1998, amended this section by changing 

the name of the criminal injuries compensation commission to the 

crime victim compensation commission.  The legislature found 

that the purpose of the criminal injuries compensation 

commission is to aid victims of crime by providing them 

compensation for their victimization, and further, that the 

change would more clearly reflect the purpose of the commission 

to the public.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 726. 

  Act 269, Session Laws 1998, amended this section to allow 

victims of crime to enforce a criminal restitution order in the 

same manner as a civil judgment.  Conference Committee Report 

No. 89. 

  Act 144, Session Laws 2005, amended this section by 

establishing the order of priority for a defendant to make 

payments in addition to the compensation fee.  The priority 

schedule ensures that the victim of a defendant's crime receives 

the first amount of compensation paid by the defendant.  

Conference Committee Report No. 161, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 1210. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended this section to, among 

other things, require that when restitution is ordered, the 

amount of restitution is not based on the defendant's financial 

ability to make restitution, but the defendant's financial 

ability to make restitution [shall] be considered in 

establishing the time and manner of payment.   House Standing 

Committee Report No. 665-06. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (6) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 



  Restitution order may not be enforced against money earned 

from prison labor.  63 H. 12, 621 P.2d 334 (1980). 

  Purpose and intent is to have convicted person make 

restitution for criminal acts; court can delegate function of 

making recommendations regarding restitution but cannot delegate 

sentencing function.  68 H. 292, 711 P.2d 1295 (1985). 

  A suspended sentence may only be conditioned upon the offender 

remaining free from further convictions; a formal hearing is not 

required to revoke a suspended sentence.  70 H. 597, 778 P.2d 

716 (1989). 

  Restitution order failed to comply with subsection (1)(d) and 

was illegally imposed; sentencing court failed to make any 

finding that $122,248.95 was an amount that defendant could 

afford to pay in restitution and to prescribe manner of payment; 

court expressly and improperly delegated judicial function of 

determining manner of payment to an administrative body, the 

Hawaii paroling authority.  78 H. 127, 890 P.2d 1167 (1995). 

  Court did not order defendant to pay restitution in amount 

that exceeded defendant's ability to pay under subsection (1)(d) 

where defendant's testimony indicated defendant would have 

ability to fully satisfy amount of ordered restitution.  83 H. 

105, 924 P.2d 1211 (1996). 

  Trial court was not authorized, under this section, to order 

defendant to pay restitution to the Honolulu police department 

for its drug "buy money" expenses where (1) it was unlikely that 

ordering defendant to pay restitution would aid defendant in 

developing a degree of self-respect and pride in knowing that 

defendant has righted the wrong committed; and (2) department 

did not qualify as a "crime victim" under chapter 351 and 

defendant's offenses did not qualify as a "violent crime" under 

§351-32.  93 H. 34 (App.), 995 P.2d 335 (2000). 

  Trial court was required to comply with Hawaii supreme court's 

instructions and enter findings and conclusions specifically 

illustrating that defendant could afford to pay $20,000 in 

restitution pursuant to subsection (1)(d), and determine the 

relevant time period, defendant's gross income and necessary 

expenses during that time period.  93 H. 290 (App.), 1 P.3d 760 

(2000). 

  Trial court erred by improperly ordering restitution without 

expressly determining defendant's ability to pay and by 

delegating the authority to determine the payment amounts and 

timing to the department of public safety; restitution order 

vacated.  103 H. 68 (App.), 79 P.3d 686 (2003). 

  Because there was no provision in this section for the 

imposition of anger management or other treatment programs, but 

§706-624(2)(j) authorized the imposition of, inter alia, mental 

health treatment as a discretionary term of probation, district 



court erred by sentencing defendant to both the thirty-day term 

of imprisonment (the maximum term of imprisonment for a petty 

misdemeanor) and anger management classes for defendant's 

harassment conviction (a petty misdemeanor).  Defendant could 

have been sentenced to a thirty-day term of incarceration or a 

six-month term of probation, but not both, and thus defendant's 

sentence was illegal.  130 H. 332 (App.), 310 P.3d 1033 (2013). 

 

__________ 

§706-605 Commentary: 

 

1.  See, e.g., H.R.S. §711-77. 

 

2.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 13 (1954). 

 

3.  Id. 

 

4.  H.R.S. §711-77. 

 

5.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 13-14 (1954). 

 

" §706-605.1  Intermediate sanctions; eligibility; criteria 

and conditions.  (1)  The judiciary shall implement alternative 

programs that place, control, supervise, and treat selected 

defendants in lieu of a sentence of incarceration. 

 (2)  Defendants may be considered for sentencing to 

alternative programs if they have not been convicted of a non-

probationable class A felony. 

 (3)  A defendant may be sentenced by a district, family, or 

circuit court judge to alternative programs. 

 (4)  As used in this section, "alternative programs" means 

programs that are created and funded by legislative 

appropriation or federal grant naming the judiciary or one of 

its operating agencies as the expending agency and that are 

intended to provide an alternative to incarceration.  

Alternative programs may include: 

 (a) House arrest, or curfew using electronic monitoring 

and surveillance, or both; 

 (b) Drug court programs for defendants with assessed 

alcohol or drug abuse problems, or both; 

 (c) Therapeutic residential and nonresidential programs, 

including secure drug treatment facilities; and 

 (d) Similar programs created and designated as alternative 

programs by the legislature or the administrative 

director of the courts for qualified defendants who do 

not pose significant risks to the community. [L Sp 



1995, c 25, §4; am L Sp 2009, c 4, §2; am L 2016, c 

231, §19] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Similar provisions, see §§353-10.5 and 353-63.5. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-605.1 

 

  Act 25, Special Session Laws 1995, added this section, which 

requires the judiciary to implement alternative programs that 

place, control, supervise, and treat selected defendants in lieu 

of an incarceration sentence.  The legislature addressed the 

problem of prison overcrowding by, inter alia, providing for the 

implementation of alternatives to incarceration that do not 

undermine public safety.  House Standing Committee Report No. 

23-S, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2-S (1995 Special 

Session).  See also Conference Committee Report No. 122, Senate 

Bill No. 82 (vetoed). 

  Act 4, Special Session Laws 2009, amended this section, 

authorizing the placement of certain drug offenders in secure 

drug treatment facilities, to promote the rehabilitation of 

convicted drug offenders through alternatives to incarceration.  

The legislature found that providing convicted drug offenders 

with drug rehabilitation programs in a secure drug treatment 

facility would reduce the offenders' rate of recidivism upon 

release and help the offenders develop an important and 

meaningful role in society.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 1285, Conference Committee Report No. 25. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended this section to implement 

recommendations made by the Penal Code Review Committee convened 

pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  Report on the Success of the Maui/Molokai Adult Drug Court:  

Proven Successful, the New Paradigm for our Criminal Justice 

System?  34 UH L. Rev. 423 (2012). 

 

" §706-605.5  REPEALED.  L 2016, c 231, §30. 

 

" §706-606  Factors to be considered in imposing a sentence.  

The court, in determining the particular sentence to be imposed, 

shall consider: 

 (1) The nature and circumstances of the offense and the 

history and characteristics of the defendant; 

 (2) The need for the sentence imposed: 



  (a) To reflect the seriousness of the offense, to 

promote respect for law, and to provide just 

punishment for the offense; 

  (b) To afford adequate deterrence to criminal 

conduct; 

  (c) To protect the public from further crimes of the 

defendant; and 

  (d) To provide the defendant with needed educational 

or vocational training, medical care, or other 

correctional treatment in the most effective 

manner; 

 (3) The kinds of sentences available; and 

 (4) The need to avoid unwarranted sentence disparities 

among defendants with similar records who have been 

found guilty of similar conduct. [L 1972, c 9, pt of 

§1; am L 1976, c 92, §8; am L 1981, c 27, §1; am L 

1986, c 314, §15] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Imprisonment for murder, see §§706-656 and 706-657. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-606 

 

  [Section 606 of the Proposed Draft of the Penal Code provided 

that a person convicted of murder would be sentenced to an 

indeterminate term of imprisonment the maximum length of which 

would be life or twenty years as determined by the court.  The 

legislature revised §706-606 and added the provision for 

mandatory life imprisonment without parole (but subject to 

commutation) now contained in subsection (a).  The following 

commentary is based on the original proposal.] 

  The crime of murder is the most serious offense in the 

penal law; because of this the Code departs from the 

general policy underlying §706-605 and makes murder a non-

probationable offense in all cases. 

  The flexible mode of disposition provided by §706-605 is 

premised on the rationale that, although most class A 

felons will, perhaps, be sentenced to an indeterminate term 

of imprisonment, no legislative classification can take 

account of unusual circumstances or extreme mitigations 

which would indicate that a sentence to probation, rather 

than to imprisonment, is warranted.  The case is even 

stronger for defendants convicted of less serious offenses.  

However, in providing a bar to probation for persons 

convicted of murder (i.e., intentionally or knowingly 

causing the death of another person), the Code takes the 



position that, regardless of the information obtained by 

pre-sentence procedure, the court's options ought to be 

limited to which maximum, life or twenty years, will be 

applicable to the convicted defendant's term of 

imprisonment.  The actual time of release from imprisonment 

will then be determined by the board of paroles and 

pardons, which will have more time and resources to devote 

to a more deliberate determination of the defendant's 

fitness to return to open society. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-606 

 

  When the legislature adopted the Code in 1972, it revised 

§706-606 to provide for life imprisonment without the 

possibility of parole in the four enumerated cases specified in 

subsection (a).  However, the legislature provided that upon the 

Governor's commutation, parole would be possible at the end of 

twenty years of imprisonment.  Subsection (b) essentially 

derived from the Proposed Draft. 

  The Conference Committee Report specifically provides that:  

"It is the intent of your Committee that the term 'peace 

officer' [see subsection (a)(i)] includes judges and prosecuting 

attorneys.  It is also the intent of your Committee that §701-

101 of the Penal Code shall apply to prisoners presently serving 

sentences of life without parole who are, after twenty years of 

imprisonment, subject to the same review as provided in §706-

606."  Conference Committee Report No. 2 (1972). 

  Act 27, Session Laws 1981, eliminated the court's discretion 

under subsection (b) to impose a sentence of either life 

imprisonment with possibility of parole or twenty years 

imprisonment.  As amended the subsection requires the court to 

impose the same indeterminate sentence in all cases. 

  Act 314, Session Laws 1986, deleted the provisions concerning 

sentencing for murder and replaced it with criteria to be 

considered by a court in imposing any sentence, including the 

need to afford deterrence to criminal conduct and to impose just 

punishment.  Conference Committee Report No. 51-86. 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  Risky Business:  Assessing Dangerousness in Hawai‘i.  24 UH L. 

Rev. 63 (2001). 

 

Case Notes 

 



  Murder contract not element of offense of murder; only 

relevant for purpose of sentence enhancement.  807 F.2d 805 

(1987). 

  Not unconstitutionally vague.  751 F. Supp. 853 (1990). 

  The better rule is to include in indictment the aggravating 

circumstances which result in application of statute enhancing 

the penalty for the crime committed.  59 H. 625, 586 P.2d 250 

(1978). 

  Subsection (b) not unconstitutional.  Judge must impose 

sentence of life imprisonment with possibility of parole, but 

allowed to reduce it to twenty years if factors or circumstances 

warrant lesser sentence.  64 H. 193, 638 P.2d 307 (1981). 

  Sentencing court abused discretion by finding defendant 

committed murder by hire.  67 H. 573, 698 P.2d 287 (1985). 

  Trial court abused its discretion in rigidly applying family 

court sentencing guidelines promulgated without legislative 

authority.  72 H. 521, 824 P.2d 837 (1992). 

  Sentencing court may properly consider criminal convictions 

that occurred subsequent to original illegal sentence when 

applying §706-606 factors on resentencing.  79 H. 281, 901 P.2d 

481 (1995). 

  Where no evidence that group engaged in or endorsed illegal 

activities, insufficient evidence to establish any reasonable 

correlation between defendant's association with group and 

imposition of consecutive prison sentences under paragraph (1).  

81 H. 309, 916 P.2d 1210 (1996). 

  No abuse of discretion in court sentencing defendant to 

extended terms of imprisonment under §§706-661 and 706-662 

where, inter alia, court considered each of the factors 

enumerated in this section and all the mitigating factors raised 

by defendant.  83 H. 335, 926 P.2d 1258 (1996). 

  The January 1, 1987 repeal of language in subsection (b) (pre-

1986 amendment) authorizing a court to impose a sentence of life 

imprisonment with the possibility of parole for murder in cases 

other than described in subsection (a) (pre-1986 amendment) did 

not invalidate any such sentence imposed prior to the repeal 

date.  102 H. 282, 75 P.3d 1173 (2003). 

  A sentencing court may not impose discretionary conditions of 

probation pursuant to §706-624(2) unless there is a factual 

basis in the record indicating that such conditions "are 

reasonably related to the factors set forth in this section" and 

insofar as such "conditions involve only deprivations of liberty 

or property", that they are reasonably necessary for the 

purposes indicated in paragraph (2).  103 H. 462, 83 P.3d 725 

(2004). 

  The circuit court's statement regarding defendant's "extensive 

criminality":  (1) related directly to the history and 



characteristics of the defendant and identified the specific 

facts or circumstances within the range of statutory factors 

that the court considered in imposing a consecutive sentence; 

and (2) provided the conclusions drawn by the court after 

consideration of all the facts that pertain to the statutory 

factors, and confirmed for defendant, the public, and the court 

that the decision to impose consecutive sentences was 

deliberate, rational, and fair.  131 H. 94, 315 P.3d 720 (2013). 

  Where the determination by the intermediate court of appeals 

(ICA) that the circuit court, in imposing a consecutive 

sentence, "likely concluded" that defendant was dangerous to the 

safety of the public or posed an unacceptable risk of re-

offending, and that rehabilitation appeared unlikely, arguably 

could be read as speculating as to the circuit court's 

reasoning, it appeared that the ICA was rather attempting to 

link the circuit court's express reasoning to the examples in 

State v. Hussein, and to the extent doing so constituted error 

by the ICA, the error did not warrant vacating defendant's 

convictions.  131 H. 94, 315 P.3d 720 (2013). 

  Seven-day term of imprisonment was not unreasonably related to 

factors set forth in this section, considering nature of offense 

and circumstances presented by the record.  10 H. App. 381, 876 

P.2d 1331 (1994). 

  Trial court did not abuse its discretion in sentencing 

defendant to consecutive terms of imprisonment under §706-668.5 

where, taking into consideration all of the factors set forth in 

this section, the court pointed to the high level of cruelty, 

violence, and viciousness involved in the commission of the 

offenses, that most of the offenses took place in front of 

defendant's two-year-old son, defendant's lack of remorse, the 

clear and present danger defendant posed to complainant and the 

community, and the poor prospects for defendant's 

rehabilitation.  106 H. 365 (App.), 105 P.3d 242 (2004). 

  Where trial court's rationale for imposing jail time reflected 

the factors listed in this section, and the jail time imposed 

did not exceed the maximum jail term authorized by §706-663, 

trial court did not clearly exceed the bounds of reason nor 

disregard rules or principles of law or practice to defendant's 

substantial detriment in imposing a jail term; thus, trial court 

did not abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to 120 

days' imprisonment.  116 H. 403 (App.), 173 P.3d 550 (2007). 

  Family court did not abuse its discretion by requiring 

defendant to attend domestic violence counseling as a condition 

of defendant's probation; where defendant was charged with 

endangering the welfare of an incompetent person under §709-905 

based on substantial evidence that defendant assaulted 

complainant, under §706-624(2), the court was free to impose 



discretionary conditions of probation that are reasonably 

related to the factors set forth in this section and to the 

extent that the conditions involve only deprivations of liberty 

as are reasonably necessary for the purposes indicated in 

paragraph (2).  121 H. 228 (App.), 216 P.3d 1251 (2009). 

  Court did not abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to 

consecutive terms of imprisonment under §706-668.5 because it 

considered the factors set forth in this section; defendant's 

extensive record and the fact that defendant caused a lot of 

harm in the community were specific circumstances that led the 

court to conclude that a consecutive sentence was appropriate.  

129 H. 135 (App.), 295 P.3d 1005 (2013). 

  Cited: 73 H. 81, 829 P.2d 1325 (1992). 

  Discussed:  78 H. 127, 890 P.2d 1167 (1995); 81 H. 421 (App.), 

918 P.2d 228 (1996). 

 

" §706-606.1  REPEALED.  L 1986, c 314, §16. 

 

" §706-606.2  Special sentencing considerations for arson; 

other actions not prohibited.  (1)  In addition to any other 

penalty imposed, a person convicted of arson involving fire set 

to brush, grass, vegetation on the land resulting in damage to 

ten thousand square feet or more of property, may be required 

to: 

 (a) Pay any costs associated with extinguishing the fire, 

which shall include, but are not limited to: 

  (i) Personnel salary, benefits, and overtime; 

  (ii) The operation, maintenance, and repair of 

apparatus, aircraft, and equipment; 

  (iii) Supplies expended, damaged, or lost; and 

  (iv) Rehabilitation supplies during firefighting 

operations; and 

 (b) Perform community service work in the region in which 

the property damage occurred. 

With regard to any fine or monetary penalty that may be imposed 

on a minor convicted or adjudicated for an offense of arson, the 

parents or legal guardians of the minor shall be liable for the 

percentage of costs associated with extinguishing the fire based 

upon the apportionment of fire damage to real or personal 

property caused by the minor as a result of committing the 

offense of arson, regardless of whether the property is publicly 

or privately owned. 

 (2)  Nothing in this section shall prohibit a separate 

criminal action being brought by the State or a civil action 

being brought by the State or a third party for conduct that 

constitutes an offense of arson. [L 2006, c 182, §1; am L 2007, 

c 9, §18 and c 11, §1; am L 2008, c 17, §1] 



 

Cross References 

 

  Arson, see chapter 708, pt XIII. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-606.2 

 

  Act 182, Session Laws 2006, added this section, creating 

special sentencing considerations for arson.  The section allows 

the assessment of the costs associated with putting out a fire 

and community service against the person who set the fire.  The 

section also holds a parent or guardian of a minor who sets a 

brush fire liable for the cost of damages attributable to the 

minor.  The legislature found that making parents and legal 

guardians of minor defendants liable for damages would be a 

strong incentive for them to take a more proactive approach in 

regulating the actions of their children.  The section also 

states that a separate criminal or civil action is not 

prohibited.  Conference Committee Report No. 48-06, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 1124-06, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 2569. 

  Act 9, Session Laws 2007, amended this section by deleting the 

brackets around the word "fine" to ratify the revisor's 

substitution of the word "fine" for "fire" in the section, and 

by adding subsection designations to conform to the style of the 

Hawaii Penal Code.  House Standing Committee Report No. 807. 

  Act 11, Session Laws 2007, amended this section to clarify 

that special sentencing provisions for arson apply to persons 

convicted of arson resulting in damage to more than ten thousand 

square feet of property.  The current law states that the damage 

to property must be exactly ten thousand square feet to qualify 

for special sentencing considerations.  Act 11 provided that the 

damage be ten thousand square feet or more.  House Standing 

Committee Report No. 773, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

1128. 

  Act 17, Session Laws 2008, amended subsection (1), clarifying 

the costs associated with extinguishing a brush fire that a 

person convicted of arson may be required to pay to include 

personnel salary, benefits, and overtime; the operation, 

maintenance, and repair of apparatus, aircraft, and equipment; 

supplies expended, damaged, or lost; and rehabilitation supplies 

during firefighting operations. The court lacked guidance as to 

the costs the court could require an arsonist to pay for 

starting a brush fire.  The legislature found that the Act was 

just, would reduce the counties' financial burden incurred for 

firefighting expenses, and would serve as a deterrent to those 



who would commit arson.  House Standing Committee Report No. 

1522-08, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2557. 

 

" §706-606.3  Expedited sentencing program.  (1)  A person 

who has committed intra-family sexual assault may be considered 

for the expedited sentencing program in accordance with this 

section.  As used in this section, "intra-family" sexual assault 

means any criminal offense of felony sexual assault under 

section 707-730, 707-731, or 707-732, or incest, as defined in 

section 707-741, in which the victim of the offense is related 

to the defendant by consanguinity or marriage, or resides in the 

same dwelling unit as the defendant, and the victim was, at the 

time of the sexual assault, under the age of eighteen. 

 (2)  The police department of the county in which the 

sexual assault took place or any other appropriate investigative 

law enforcement agency shall confer with the appropriate 

prosecuting authority.  If the prosecuting authority determines 

that it is appropriate to provide notice of the expedited 

sentencing program to the defendant, the police department or 

other appropriate investigative law enforcement agency shall 

give the defendant written notice of the existence of the 

expedited sentencing program provided in this section.  The 

notice provision shall not be a prerequisite to questioning the 

defendant.  The notice provision shall not obligate the 

prosecuting authority to issue a statement of "no objection" 

when considering the defendant for the expedited sentencing 

program. 

 (3)  The written notice shall state: 

 

 "YOU ARE ADVISED TO SEEK LEGAL COUNSEL IMMEDIATELY.  IF YOU 

CANNOT AFFORD PRIVATE COUNSEL, CONTACT THE OFFICE OF THE 

PUBLIC DEFENDER.  FAILURE TO CONTACT AN ATTORNEY MAY 

DISQUALIFY YOU FROM THIS PROGRAM.  A copy of section 706-

606.3, Hawaii Revised Statutes, is attached to this notice.  

You are under investigation for a felony sexual assault 

against a minor.  Upon completion of this investigation, if 

there is sufficient basis to believe that you have 

committed a sexual assault, the case will be referred to 

the appropriate prosecuting authority for review and 

possible institution of criminal charges.  Hawaii law 

provides for a range of ordinary prison sentences for 

felony sexual assault ranging from five years up to twenty 

years, or life imprisonment, depending upon the offense.  

However, section 706-606.3, Hawaii Revised Statutes, 

provides that a person who commits a sexual assault upon a 

minor but who admits guilt, cooperates with the prosecuting 

authority, and participates in appropriate assessment and 



treatment may be considered for the expedited sentencing 

program.  A person who is sentenced in accordance with the 

expedited sentencing program may be sentenced to a term of 

probation.  Probation may be revoked, however, for failure 

to comply with the terms of the probation pursuant to 

section 706-625.  To qualify for consideration for the 

expedited sentencing program, your legal counsel first must 

request from the office of the prosecuting authority named 

in this notice a written statement as to whether that 

office has any objection to your being considered for the 

expedited sentencing program.  THE COURT WILL NOT CONSIDER 

YOU FOR THE EXPEDITED SENTENCING PROGRAM UNDER SECTION 706-

606.3, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES, UNLESS YOUR LEGAL COUNSEL 

HAS RECEIVED A WRITTEN STATEMENT THAT THE APPROPRIATE 

PROSECUTING AUTHORITY HAS NO OBJECTION TO YOUR BEING 

CONSIDERED FOR THE EXPEDITED SENTENCING PROGRAM AND THE 

REQUEST FOR THAT WRITTEN STATEMENT WAS MADE WITHIN FOURTEEN 

DAYS OF YOUR RECEIPT OF THIS NOTICE.  FURTHER, THE COURT 

WILL NOT CONSIDER YOU FOR THE EXPEDITED SENTENCING PROGRAM 

UNDER SECTION 706-606.3, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES, UNLESS, 

ONCE YOUR LEGAL COUNSEL HAS RECEIVED THIS NOTICE, YOU HAVE 

MADE A GOOD FAITH EFFORT TO AVOID THE NECESSITY OF THE 

CHILD BEING REMOVED FROM THE FAMILY HOME, INCLUDING BUT NOT 

LIMITED TO MOVING AND REMAINING OUT OF THE FAMILY HOME 

UNTIL OTHERWISE ORDERED BY THE COURT." 

 

The written notice also shall provide: 

 (a) Instructions on how to contact the appropriate 

prosecuting authority, including any necessary 

addresses and telephone numbers; and 

 (b) The name of the person delivering the notice and the 

date it was given to the alleged offender. 

 (4)  A defendant shall not be considered by the court for 

the expedited sentencing program under this section unless the 

defendant's legal counsel requests within fourteen days of the 

defendant's receipt of the written notice, that the defendant be 

considered for the expedited sentencing program, and defendant's 

counsel subsequently receives a written statement from the 

appropriate prosecuting authority stating that it has no 

objection to the defendant being considered for the expedited 

sentencing program in accordance with this section.  

Additionally, each of the following criteria shall be met: 

 (a) After receiving the required written notice, the 

defendant made a good faith effort to avoid the 

necessity of the child being removed from the family 

home, including but not limited to moving and 



remaining out of the family home until otherwise 

ordered by the court; 

 (b) The victim of the sexual assault was under the age of 

eighteen when the sexual assault was committed; 

 (c) The defendant was never previously sentenced under 

this section and has never been convicted of felony 

sexual assault under section 707-730, 707-731, or 707-

732, or incest under section 707-741; 

 (d) A guardian ad litem appointed in a family court 

proceeding, or a person assigned by the Children's 

Advocacy Center to serve as guardian ad litem, agreed 

that it would be in the best interest of the child for 

the defendant to be considered for the expedited 

sentencing program.  No prosecuting authority shall 

issue a statement of no objection without this prior 

agreement; and 

 (e) The defendant has complied with the requirements for 

consideration for the expedited sentencing program as 

established in subsection (6); provided that at 

sentencing the prosecuting authority may oppose the 

defendant's participation in the expedited sentencing 

program if the prosecuting authority determines that 

the defendant has failed to satisfy the criteria under 

subsection (6). 

 (5)  The prosecuting authority and the child's guardian ad 

litem may consult with any other appropriate agency or 

individual to assist in a decision whether to provide a written 

statement of "no objection" prior to the defendant being 

considered for sentencing under the expedited sentencing 

program. 

 (6)  Within seven business days of receipt of the written 

notice stating that the appropriate prosecuting authority has no 

objection to the defendant being considered for the expedited 

sentencing program in accordance with this section, unless the 

prosecuting authority waives compliance with the time limit, the 

defendant shall: 

 (a) Continue to make a good faith effort to avoid the 

necessity of the child being removed from the family 

home, including but not limited to moving and 

remaining out of the family home until otherwise 

ordered by the court; 

 (b) Admit to commission of the sexual assault to the 

police department of the county in which the assault 

took place or other appropriate investigative law 

enforcement agency; 

 (c) Provide to the appropriate prosecuting authority a 

written waiver of indictment and preliminary hearing 



for any criminal charges arising from the sexual 

assault; and 

 (d) Enter a voluntary plea of guilty to the charge or 

charges alleged upon or following arraignment. 

 (7)  Notwithstanding sections 706-606.5, 706-620, 706-659, 

706-660, and 706-660.2, a defendant considered for the expedited 

sentencing program under this section when sentence is imposed 

may be sentenced to a term of probation pursuant to section 706-

624; provided that if the defendant is sentenced to a term of 

imprisonment as a condition of probation, the term of 

imprisonment may allow for the defendant's retention of 

employment. 

 (8)  The term of probation under this section shall be as 

follows: 

 (a) For an offense under section 707-730 or 707-731, 

twenty years; and 

 (b) For an offense under section 707-732 or 707-741, ten 

years. 

 (9)  In addition to the conditions of probation provided 

under section 706-624, a sentence under this section shall 

include that the defendant shall: 

 (a) Participate in court approved, appropriate sex 

offender assessment and treatment that shall conform 

to the guidelines developed by the adult probation 

division of the appropriate circuit court, until 

clinically discharged; provided that: 

  (i) The prosecuting authority shall be provided 

notice and the opportunity for a hearing prior to 

any authorization for treatment discontinuance by 

the court or the adult probation division; 

  (ii) The defendant shall pay for the cost of the 

assessment and treatment to the extent that the 

defendant has the ability to do so; and 

  (iii) A lack of assessment and treatment resources 

shall result in the defendant not being 

considered for the expedited sentencing program; 

 (b) Provide a written waiver of confidentiality for any 

assessment, treatment, counseling, therapy, or other 

program ordered as a condition of probation; 

 (c) Comply with all orders entered in a proceeding 

pursuant to chapter 587A; and 

 (d) Comply with other condition deemed by the court to be 

reasonably necessary for the protection of the victim 

of the sexual assault or the rehabilitation of the 

defendant. 

 (10)  There shall be a rebuttable presumption in favor of 

the court imposing a sentence in accordance with this section 



when a defendant qualifies for the expedited sentencing program, 

and written notice of "no objection" is issued by the 

prosecuting authority.  The court shall provide written findings 

of fact setting forth specific reasons justifying imposition of 

a sentence that is not in accordance with this section. [L 1993, 

c 316, §§1, 6; am L 1995, c 157, §1; am L 2001, c 127, §§2, 3; 

am L 2010, c 135, §7] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Children's justice program, see chapter 588. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-606.3 

 

  Act 316, Session Laws 1993, added this section to create an 

option for expedited sentencing of persons who have committed 

intra-family sexual assault.  The legislature found that this 

section offers a new approach to removing obstacles that delay 

and hinder the successful prosecution of certain sex offenders, 

offers prosecutors an option to encourage offenders to plead 

guilty and accept treatment early in the proceedings, and offers 

hope that treatment and intensive monitoring will minimize the 

chance of further abuse.  The intent is to accomplish an 

increase in criminal convictions, punishment, and deterrence, 

while providing better protection for potential victims, not 

only from sexual assault but from the trauma of being the 

primary witness against a family member.  House Standing 

Committee Report No. 1174, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

849. 

  Act 157, Session Laws 1995, extended the sunset date of this 

section from June 30, 1995 to June 30, 2001.  The legislature 

found that the expedited sentencing program served as "a viable 

alternative in a small number of select cases" and that the 

program should continue to be available within the criminal 

justice system.  However, the legislature believed that there 

was insufficient basis to determine whether the program should 

be made permanent.  Conference Committee Report No. 62. 

  Act 127, Session Laws 2001, repealed the sunset date for the 

expedited sentencing program of the family court.  The purpose 

of the program was to allow for the expeditious removal of the 

offender from the family home, in cases of intra-family felony 

sexual assault or incest, thus allowing the child to remain in 

the home.  The legislature found that the program applied only 

to those offenders found to be "safe to probate" and minimized 

the possibility of revictimizing the child by eliminating the 

need to testify and requiring treatment and supervision of all 

members of the child's family.  The legislature further found 



that the program had been effective and beneficial to the 

families concerned.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1453, 

Conference Committee Report No. 114. 

  Act 135, Session Laws 2010, created a new Child Protective Act 

[chapter 587A] to make paramount the safety and health of 

children who have been harmed or are in life circumstances that 

threaten harm, and to ensure that the Child Protective Act was 

in conformity with Federal Title IV-E provisions.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 112-10.  Act 135 amended this section by 

replacing the reference to chapter 587 with a reference to the 

new chapter. 

 

" §706-606.4  Sentencing in enumerated offenses committed in 

the presence of a minor.  (1)  In addition to the factors 

considered under section 706-606, the court shall consider the 

following aggravating factors in determining the particular 

sentence to be imposed: 

 (a) The defendant has been convicted of committing or 

attempting to commit an offense; and 

 (b) The offense contemporaneously occurred in the presence 

of a minor. 

 (2)  As used in this section: 

 "In the presence of a minor" means in the actual physical 

presence of a child or knowing that a child is present and may 

hear or see the offense. 

 "Offense" means a violation of section 707-710 (assault in 

the first degree), 707-711 (assault in the second degree), 707-

730 (sexual assault in the first degree), 707-731 (sexual 

assault in the second degree), 707-732 (sexual assault in the 

third degree), or 709-906 (abuse of family or household 

members). [L 1999, c 268, §2; am L 2003, c 3, §16; am L 2016, c 

157, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-606.4 

 

  Act 268, Session Laws 1999, added this section to require 

judges, when imposing a sentence, to consider the fact that the 

crime was committed in the presence of a minor as an aggravating 

factor of the crime; the court shall consider the aggravating 

factors in addition to the factors to be considered under §706-

606.  The legislature found that children who witness domestic 

violence are harmed in many ways, and acknowledged that domestic 

violence is a perpetuation of a violent cycle, as children of 

abuse grow up to be abusers themselves.  Studies have documented 

multiple problems among children that have witnessed continual 

assaults by one parent on another in the home, including 

psychological and emotional distress, cognitive functioning 



problems, and physical problems.  Because of the high social and 

financial costs resulting from domestic violence, the 

legislature agreed that more serious penalties should be imposed 

for both their deterrent and punitive effects.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 26. 

  Act 3, Session Laws 2003, made a technical amendment to this 

section, by deleting the brackets around the word "or" in the 

phrase "abuse of family or household members." 

  Act 157, Session Laws 2016, amended this section to provide 

that the commission of certain offenses of assault, sexual 

assault, and abuse of a family or household member in the 

presence of a minor is an aggravating factor to be considered in 

the sentencing of the defendant convicted of the offense.  The 

legislature found that research has shown that children who 

witness assault or domestic violence can suffer severe emotional 

and developmental difficulties that are similar to those of 

children who are victims of direct physical and mental abuse.  

By broadening the application of the aggravating factor 

considered by the courts when sentencing defendants convicted of 

committing certain crimes in the presence of a minor pursuant to 

this section to include the commission of assault and sexual 

assault offenses regardless of the preexisting legal 

relationship between the defendant and the victim or the child, 

Act 157 recognized the impact that witnessing an assault has on 

a child.  The use of the aggravating factor for sentencing does 

not elevate the seriousness of the offense charged.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 13-16. 

 

" §706-606.5  Sentencing of repeat offenders.  (1)  

Notwithstanding section 706-669 and any other law to the 

contrary, any person convicted of murder in the second degree, 

any class A felony, any class B felony, or any of the following 

class C felonies: 

 (a) Section 134-7 relating to persons prohibited from 

owning, possessing, or controlling firearms or 

ammunition; 

 (b) Section 134-8 relating to ownership, etc., of certain 

prohibited weapons; 

 (c) Section 134-17 only as it relates to providing false 

information or evidence to obtain a permit under 

section 134-9; 

 (d) Section 188-23 relating to possession or use of 

explosives, electrofishing devices, and poisonous 

substances in state waters; 

 (e) Section 386-98(d)(1) relating to fraud violations and 

penalties; 

 (f) Section 431:2-403(b)(2) relating to insurance fraud; 



 (g) Section 707-703 relating to negligent homicide in the 

second degree; 

 (h) Section 707-711 relating to assault in the second 

degree; 

 (i) Section 707-713 relating to reckless endangering in 

the first degree; 

 (j) Section 707-716 relating to terroristic threatening in 

the first degree; 

 (k) Section 707-721 relating to unlawful imprisonment in 

the first degree; 

 (l) Section 707-732 relating to sexual assault in the 

third degree; 

 (m) Section 707-752 relating to promoting child abuse in 

the third degree; 

 (n) Section 707-757 relating to electronic enticement of a 

child in the second degree; 

 (o) Section 707-766 relating to extortion in the second 

degree; 

 (p) Section 708-811 relating to burglary in the second 

degree; 

 (q) Section 708-821 relating to criminal property damage 

in the second degree; 

 (r) Section 708-831 relating to theft in the second 

degree; 

 (s) Section 708-835.5 relating to theft of livestock; 

 (t) Section 708-836 relating to unauthorized control of 

propelled vehicle; 

 (u) Section 708-839.55 relating to unauthorized possession 

of confidential personal information; 

 (v) Section 708-839.8 relating to identity theft in the 

third degree; 

 (w) Section 708-852 relating to forgery in the second 

degree; 

 (x) Section 708-854 relating to criminal possession of a 

forgery device; 

 (y) Section 708-875 relating to trademark counterfeiting; 

 (z) Section 710-1071 relating to intimidating a witness; 

 (aa) Section 711-1103 relating to riot; 

 (bb) Section 712-1221 relating to promoting gambling in the 

first degree; 

 (cc) Section 712-1224 relating to possession of gambling 

records in the first degree; 

 (dd) Section 712-1247 relating to promoting a detrimental 

drug in the first degree; or 

 (ee) Section 846E-9 relating to failure to comply with 

covered offender registration requirements, 



or who is convicted of attempting to commit murder in the second 

degree, any class A felony, any class B felony, or any of the 

class C felony offenses enumerated above and who has a prior 

conviction or prior convictions for the following felonies, 

including an attempt to commit the same: murder, murder in the 

first or second degree, a class A felony, a class B felony, any 

of the class C felony offenses enumerated above, or any felony 

conviction of another jurisdiction, shall be sentenced to a 

mandatory minimum period of imprisonment without possibility of 

parole as provided in subsection (2). 

 (2)  A mandatory minimum period of imprisonment without 

possibility of parole during that period shall be imposed 

pursuant to subsection (1), as follows: 

 (a) One prior felony conviction: 

  (i) Where the instant conviction is for murder in the 

second degree or attempted murder in the second 

degree--ten years; 

  (ii) Where the instant conviction is for a class A 

felony--six years, eight months; 

  (iii) Where the instant conviction is for a class B 

felony--three years, four months; and 

  (iv) Where the instant conviction is for a class C 

felony offense enumerated above--one year, eight 

months; 

 (b) Two prior felony convictions: 

  (i) Where the instant conviction is for murder in the 

second degree or attempted murder in the second 

degree--twenty years; 

  (ii) Where the instant conviction is for a class A 

felony--thirteen years, four months; 

  (iii) Where the instant conviction is for a class B 

felony--six years, eight months; and 

  (iv) Where the instant conviction is for a class C 

felony offense enumerated above--three years, 

four months; and 

 (c) Three or more prior felony convictions: 

  (i) Where the instant conviction is for murder in the 

second degree or attempted murder in the second 

degree--thirty years; 

  (ii) Where the instant conviction is for a class A 

felony--twenty years; 

  (iii) Where the instant conviction is for a class B 

felony--ten years; and 

  (iv) Where the instant conviction is for a class C 

felony offense enumerated above--five years. 

 (3)  Except as provided in subsection (4), a person shall 

not be sentenced to a mandatory minimum period of imprisonment 



under this section unless the instant felony offense was 

committed during the period as follows: 

 (a) Within twenty years after a prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for murder in 

the first degree or attempted murder in the first 

degree; 

 (b) Within twenty years after a prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for murder in 

the second degree or attempted murder in the second 

degree; 

 (c) Within twenty years after a prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for a class A 

felony; 

 (d) Within ten years after a prior felony conviction where 

the prior felony conviction was for a class B felony; 

 (e) Within five years after a prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for a class C 

felony offense enumerated above; 

 (f) Within the maximum term of imprisonment possible after 

a prior felony conviction of another jurisdiction. 

 (4)  If a person was sentenced for a prior felony 

conviction to a special term under section 706-667, then the 

person shall not be sentenced to a mandatory minimum period of 

imprisonment under this section unless the instant felony 

offense was committed during that period as follows: 

 (a) Within eight years after a prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for a class A 

felony; 

 (b) Within five years after the prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for a class B 

felony; 

 (c) Within four years after the prior felony conviction 

where the prior felony conviction was for a class C 

felony offense enumerated above. 

 (5)  Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, any 

person convicted of any of the following misdemeanor offenses: 

 (a) Section 707-712 relating to assault in the third 

degree; 

 (b) Section 707-717 relating to terroristic threatening in 

the second degree; 

 (c) Section 707-733 relating to sexual assault in the 

fourth degree; 

 (d) Section 708-822 relating to criminal property damage 

in the third degree; 

 (e) Section 708-832 relating to theft in the third degree; 

and 



 (f) Section 708-833.5(2) relating to misdemeanor 

shoplifting, 

and who has been convicted of any of the offenses enumerated 

above on at least three prior and separate occasions within 

three years of the date of the commission of the present 

offense, shall be sentenced to no less than nine months of 

imprisonment.  Whenever a court sentences a defendant under this 

subsection for an offense under section 707-733, the court shall 

order the defendant to participate in a sex offender assessment 

and, if recommended based on the assessment, participate in the 

sex offender treatment program established by chapter 353E. 

 (6)  The sentencing court may impose the above sentences 

consecutive to any sentence imposed on the defendant for a prior 

conviction, but the sentence shall be imposed concurrent to the 

sentence imposed for the instant conviction.  The court may 

impose a lesser mandatory minimum period of imprisonment without 

possibility of parole than that mandated by this section where 

the court finds that strong mitigating circumstances warrant the 

action.  Strong mitigating circumstances shall include, but 

shall not be limited to the provisions of section 706-621.  The 

court shall provide a written opinion stating its reasons for 

imposing the lesser sentence. 

 (7)  A person who is imprisoned in a correctional 

institution pursuant to subsection (1) shall not be paroled 

prior to the expiration of the mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment imposed pursuant to subsection (1). 

 (8)  For purposes of this section: 

 (a) Convictions under two or more counts of an indictment 

or complaint shall be considered a single conviction 

without regard to when the convictions occur; 

 (b) A prior conviction in this or another jurisdiction 

shall be deemed a felony conviction if it was 

punishable by a sentence of death or of imprisonment 

in excess of one year; and 

 (c) A conviction occurs on the date judgment is entered. 

[L 1976, c 181, §1; am L 1979, c 98, §1; am L 1980, c 

284, §1; am L 1981, c 69, §1; am L 1986, c 314, §17; 

am L 1987, c 181, §3; am L 1990, c 28, §2; am L 1996, 

c 87, §1; am L 1997, c 277, §2; am L 1999, c 195, §10 

and c 244, §1; am L 2006, c 80, §1 and c 139, §4; am L 

2007, c 49, §2; am L 2008, c 80, §2; am L 2009, c 149, 

§6; am L 2014, c 114, §1; am L 2016, c 231, §20] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Former conviction in another jurisdiction, see §706-665. 

  Negligent homicide in the first degree, see §707-702.5. 



 

COMMENTARY ON §706-606.5 

 

  This section was added by Act 181, Session Laws 1976.  Finding 

a clear danger to the people of Hawaii in the high incidence of 

offenses being committed by repeat offenders, the legislature 

felt it necessary to provide for mandatory terms of imprisonment 

without possibility of parole in cases of repeated offenses by 

prior offenders.  House Conference Committee Report No. 32, 

Senate Conference Committee Report No. 33. 

  Act 98, Session Laws 1979, amended this section to provide 

that persons convicted of any of the crimes enumerated be 

punished as repeat offenders if they are subsequently convicted 

of any of the enumerated offenses within the time of the maximum 

sentence of the prior conviction.  Under the prior law, a person 

had to be convicted of the same enumerated crime on more than 

one occasion.  The legislature felt this amendment was needed to 

alleviate concerns that the repeat offender problem be dealt 

with seriously.  Conference Committee Report No. 11. 

  Act 284, Session Laws 1980, completely revised this section.  

It expanded the list of offenses carrying the possibility of 

mandatory minimum sentences and divided the offenses into the 

two classes enumerated in subsections (1) and (2).  Further, it 

introduced a degree of flexibility into the sentencing procedure 

by allowing the court, upon written opinion, to set a lesser 

minimum sentence than that prescribed if there were strong 

mitigating circumstances to warrant such action. 

  Act 314, Session Laws 1986, amended the repeat offender law so 

that mandatory minimum terms of imprisonment are increased as 

the severity of the repeat offense increases.  Thus, the 

mandatory minimum term for a class A repeat offender is greater 

than that term for a class B repeat offender.  The period of 

time during which a felon is considered to have a prior felony 

conviction is dependent on the seriousness of the prior felony; 

the more severe the prior crime, the longer it remains a prior 

conviction. 

  Only certain class C felonies were made subject to the repeat 

offender law since the legislature intended to have some 

latitude as to which of those crimes should fall within the 

repeat offender category.  Conference Committee Report No. 51-

86. 

  Act 181, Session Laws 1987, added felony convictions of 

another jurisdiction to the list of crimes ("prior felonies") 

which are considered in the sentencing of repeat offenders.  The 

Act also added, to the list of applicable periods, that the 

period within which the repeat offender statute applies is the 

maximum possible prison term of the prior felony conviction of 



another jurisdiction.  The Act repealed subsection (4)(a) to 

clarify that this section requires only one felony conviction 

prior to the felony for which the defendant is sentenced 

pursuant to this section.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

1130. 

  Act 87, Session Laws 1996, added the crime of unauthorized 

control of propelled vehicle to the class C felonies subject to 

repeat offender sentencing.  The legislature found that vehicle 

thefts and property taken from the vehicles was a serious 

problem in the State, and that this kind of theft affected a 

significant number of visitors and residents.  The Act also 

amended the section to prohibit the parole of repeat offenders 

prior to the expiration of their mandatory minimum terms of 

imprisonment.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2598. 

  Act 277, Session Laws 1997, amended this section by including 

the offense of trademark counterfeiting in the list of offenses 

for repeat offenders.  The legislature found that trademark 

counterfeiting was a recurring problem in Hawaii for retail 

boutiques and trademark products of the University of Hawaii, 

and that tourists are often the target for the scams.  The 

legislature believed that the Act would safeguard not only 

consumers from the sale of counterfeit products, but would also 

protect the reputation and quality of trademarks and ensure that 

trademarks are used for their legitimate and intended purposes.  

House Standing Committee Report No. 1620, Senate Standing 

Committee Report No. 759. 

  Act 195, Session Laws 1999, amended this section to include 

§188-23 as an offense subject to repeat offender sentencing.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1487. 

  Act 244, Session Laws 1999, amended this section by, among 

other things, providing:  (1) that the multiple offender of 

assault in the third degree, terroristic threatening in the 

second degree, sexual assault in the fourth degree, criminal 

property damage in the third degree, theft in the third degree, 

or misdemeanor shoplifting, shall be sentenced to no less than 

nine months of imprisonment in cases where a person is convicted 

on at least three prior and separate occasions of any of the 

specified misdemeanor offenses within a three-year period;  and 

(2) that the court shall order a defendant sentenced under §707-

733, relating to sexual assault in the fourth degree, to 

participate in a sex offender assessment and participate in the 

sex offender treatment program, if necessary and appropriate. 

  The legislature found that there are many criminals who 

repeatedly commit misdemeanor offenses; these persons know that 

under current law, if caught, the consequences of their conduct 

will be relatively minor.  As such, there is currently no 

serious deterrent to their repeated criminal behavior.  A 



mandatory sentence will send a strong message that repeated 

criminal behavior will not be tolerated.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 42, House Standing Committee Report No. 1466. 

  Act 80, Session Laws 2006, added electronic enticement of a 

child in the second degree to the list of class C felonies 

subject to repeat offender sentencing.  Act 80 provided a means 

to ensure the safety of Hawaii's children, enhance enforcement 

efforts, and impose significant penalties against those who prey 

on the most vulnerable members of the community.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 10-06, House Standing Committee Report No. 

1520-06. 

  Act 139, Session Laws 2006, increased the protection of 

personal information by providing for repeat felony offender 

sentencing of offenders with prior felony convictions who are 

convicted of unauthorized possession of confidential personal 

information or of identity theft in the third degree.  Hawaii 

law enforcement has found it difficult to curb the rise in 

identity theft-related crimes when identity thieves in 

possession of personal information who have not yet caused a 

monetary loss to the victim cannot be prosecuted for crimes 

other than petty misdemeanor thefts.  The legislature found that 

increasing the penalties for identity theft by amending the law 

to make identity theft an enumerated offense within the repeat 

offender statute would help to deter identity theft crimes.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2636, House Standing 

Committee Report No. 1295-06. 

  Act 49, Session Laws 2007, amended this section to deter 

insurance fraud by including felony insurance fraud relating to 

workers' compensation, accident and health or sickness, and 

motor vehicle insurance, and insurance provided by mutual 

benefit societies and health maintenance organizations, among 

the offenses subject to repeat felony offender sentencing.  The 

legislature found that while insurance [fraud] is often 

perceived as a nonviolent and victimless crime, the 

ramifications of insurance fraud affect everyone through higher 

insurance premiums.  House Standing Committee Report No. 913, 

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1589. 

  Act 80, Session Laws 2008, amended subsection (1) by including 

the offense of failure to comply with covered offender 

registration requirements.  Conference Committee Report No. 82-

08. 

  Act 149, Session Laws 2009, which amended subsection (1), 

established an insurance fraud investigations branch to replace 

the insurance fraud investigations unit, with expanded authority 

to prevent, investigate, and prosecute insurance fraud to 

include all lines of insurance except workers' compensation.  

Act 149 also established criminal and administrative penalties 



for insurance fraud in all covered lines of insurance and for 

different types of insurance fraud.  The legislature found that 

because insurance fraud occurs in every line of insurance, the 

State's insurance fraud law should be expanded accordingly.  

Conference Committee Report No. 26, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 1338. 

  Act 114, Session Laws 2014, amended this section by, among 

other things, deleting the conviction of theft in the first 

degree and promoting prostitution in the second degree from the 

class C felony offenses enumerated in this section.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 3249, Conference Committee Report 

No. 41-14. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended this section to implement 

recommendations made by the Penal Code Review Committee convened 

pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Not applicable to defendant who had no prior conviction for 

any offense for which now charged.  800 F.2d 861 (1986). 

  Where defendant contended, inter alia, that federal sentencing 

guidelines preempted use of Hawaii repeat offender statute, 

defendant's conviction was subject to the statute, which applied 

to offenses committed on federal enclaves; district court did 

not err in applying the statute.  105 F.3d 463 (1997). 

  "Prior conviction" includes convictions which occurred before 

the effective date of statute.  61 H. 262, 602 P.2d 914 (1979). 

  Sentencing under section--procedural requirements.  61 H. 262, 

602 P.2d 914 (1979). 

  Statute as it applies to burglary in the first degree is not 

unconstitutional as violative of the cruel and unusual 

punishment, equal protection, due process, or ex post facto 

clauses.  61 H. 262, 602 P.2d 914 (1979). 

  Proof of legal representation.  61 H. 281, 602 P.2d 927 

(1979). 

  Sufficiency of evidence of prior conviction.  61 H. 281, 602 

P.2d 927 (1979). 

  Mandatory minimum sentence for repeat offenders of §712-1242 

not constitutionally proscribed.  61 H. 285, 602 P.2d 930 

(1979). 

  Requirement of notice of intended application of section.  61 

H. 285, 602 P.2d 930 (1979). 

  State must show defendant was represented by counsel at prior 

conviction or had waived such representation.  61 H. 285, 602 

P.2d 930 (1979). 

  Conviction on multiple counts considered as one prior 

conviction.  63 H. 509, 630 P.2d 633 (1981). 



  Lesser mandatory minimum sentence under subsection (3) may be 

imposed for persons convicted prior to effective date of 1980 

amendment but sentenced after it.  64 H. 210, 638 P.2d 319 

(1981). 

  Not ambiguous.  66 H. 182, 658 P.2d 882 (1983). 

  Section does not apply to attempted felonies.  67 H. 476, 691 

P.2d 1169 (1984). 

  Sentence is illegal if not imposed on repeat offender in 

compliance with statute's requirements.  67 H. 531, 696 P.2d 344 

(1985). 

  Mandatory minimum sentence may not run consecutively to 

sentence for underlying conviction.  67 H. 616, 699 P.2d 988 

(1985). 

  "Conviction" refers to judgment entered upon finding of guilt.  

Two sentences on the same day for separate offenses charged in 

two indictments are two convictions.  68 H. 124, 706 P.2d 1293 

(1985). 

  Defendant's prior four-year sentence as young adult is the 

"maximum sentence of the prior conviction".  68 H. 169, 706 P.2d 

1304 (1985). 

  Defendant's two prior convictions did not merge into one prior 

conviction.  71 H. 153, 785 P.2d 1314 (1990). 

  A sentencing court may order that a mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment imposed under §706-660.1 be served consecutively to 

a mandatory period of imprisonment imposed under this section in 

connection with a separate felony conviction arising out of a 

charge contained in the same indictment or complaint.  84 H. 

476, 935 P.2d 1021 (1997). 

  Section divests sentencing court of authority to impose 

consecutive mandatory minimum periods of imprisonment on a 

defendant convicted of multiple felony counts charged in the 

same indictment or complaint.  84 H. 476, 935 P.2d 1021 (1997). 

  Trial court's refusal to find strong mitigating circumstances 

pursuant to subsection (4) (1998) and imposition of concurrent 

mandatory minimum ten-year terms not unconstitutional where 

defendant could have reasonably been deemed to pose a danger to 

society, more serious crimes by repeat offenders may be punished 

in Hawaii by longer mandatory minimum terms, and other 

jurisdictions permitted significantly lengthier sentences for 

repeat offenders.  93 H. 87, 997 P.2d 13 (2000). 

  Inasmuch as the plain and unambiguous language of this section 

requires application of the repeat offender statute over "any 

other law to the contrary", the circuit court did not err in 

sentencing defendant as a repeat offender pursuant to this 

section; in all cases in which this section is applicable, 

including those in which a defendant would otherwise be eligible 

for probation under §706-622.5, the circuit courts must sentence 



defendants pursuant to the provisions of this section.  103 H. 

228, 81 P.3d 408 (2003). 

  By its plain language, Act 44, L 2004, prospectively permitted 

greater discretion to sentencing courts confronted with 

conflicts between this section and §706-622.5 than they 

previously possessed; thus, based on the legislative intent 

reflected in Act 44, the Act 161, L 2002 version of §706-622.5, 

under which defendant was sentenced, did not trump the repeat 

offender statute.  106 H. 1, 100 P.3d 595 (2004). 

  Trial court properly sentenced defendant as a repeat offender 

based on defendant's conviction of promoting a dangerous drug in 

the third degree under §712-1243, an enumerated class C felony 

under this section.  106 H. 146, 102 P.3d 1044 (2004). 

  A defendant is entitled, by timely HRPP rule 35 motion to 

correct sentence or by HRPP rule 40 petition, to move for 

correction of an enhanced sentence once the defendant has 

successfully attacked a prior conviction on which the sentence 

was based in whole or part because that conviction no longer 

constitutes a proper basis for increased punishment for a 

subsequent offense under this section.  109 H. 458, 128 P.3d 340 

(2006). 

  Where defendant was a convicted felon subject to a mandatory 

minimum sentence for a repeat offense as of the date the 

judgment was entered, the trial court properly relied on the 

prior conviction in sentencing defendant because the prior 

conviction had not been vacated at the time of sentencing.  109 

H. 458, 128 P.3d 340 (2006). 

  Because defendant was charged on January 5 and April 13, 2004, 

prior to L 2004, Act 44's effective date of July 1, 2004, the 

trial court erred in applying Act 44's ameliorative amendments 

to defendant's sentence by failing to observe the statutory 

command of Act 44, §29; thus, as defendant conceded that 

defendant qualified as a repeat offender under this section in 

light of a prior conviction of unauthorized control of a 

propelled vehicle, the trial court was required to apply this 

section to sentence defendant to a mandatory minimum sentence of 

one year and eight months.  115 H. 79, 165 P.3d 980 (2007). 

  By virtue of the directive "notwithstanding ... any other law" 

present in this section, where mandatory minimum terms are 

imposed consecutively in the discretion of the court, 

indeterminate maximum sentences must also run consecutively 

despite §706-668 (repealed 1986) because mandatory minimums are 

part of, and incorporated within, the period or term of the 

indeterminate maximum sentence involved, and indeterminate 

maximum terms must run consecutively in order for the mandatory 

minimum sentence to be imposed consecutively as permitted by 

this section.  118 H. 210, 188 P.3d 724 (2008). 



  In considering how the term "maximum term of imprisonment 

possible" in subsection (2)(f)  should be applied to sentencing 

schemes that do not fit the Hawaii mold, the words of the 

statute should be strictly applied, with the focus on "terms of 

imprisonment"; thus, appellate court erred in interpreting the 

mandatory parole term required by Colorado law to be served 

after the term of imprisonment as part of the "maximum term of 

imprisonment possible", even though reincarceration could 

subject a parolee to additional time in prison.  118 H. 425, 193 

P.3d 341 (2008). 

  The term "maximum term of imprisonment possible" in subsection 

(2)(f) refers to the maximum term of imprisonment to which a 

court in a foreign jurisdiction may possibly sentence a 

convicted defendant.  118 H. 425, 193 P.3d 341 (2008). 

  Where, in light of defendant's stipulation, the combined 

evidence should have "reasonably satisfied" the trial court as 

to the prior conviction and its sentence date, the trial court 

abused its discretion in failing to accord the evidence its 

proper weight; thus, because defendant committed the promoting a 

dangerous drug offense within the "maximum term of imprisonment 

possible" after defendant's Colorado conviction, which was six 

years, application of the mandatory minimum term under 

subsection (2)(f) was appropriate.  118 H. 425, 193 P.3d 341 

(2008). 

  A sentencing judge may consider imposing a defendant's 

mandatory minimum sentence consecutively to the shortest of any 

sentence previously imposed.  122 H. 495, 229 P.3d 313 (2010). 

  Imposing a prison sentence consecutively to "any sentence" 

pursuant to subsection (5), including the lesser of such 

sentences, is a novel, but accurate view of the statute; thus, 

henceforth, the circuit court must state on the record its 

reasons for imposing a consecutive as opposed to a concurrent 

sentence under §706-668.5 or this section.  122 H. 495, 229 P.3d 

313 (2010). 

  In determining voluntariness of guilty plea, judge should have 

established that petitioner was aware of mandatory minimum 

sentence to same extent as petitioner's awareness of maximum 

sentence.  9 H. App. 122, 826 P.2d 440 (1992). 

  No merit to defendant's points on appeal that contended that: 

(1) circuit court violated right to due process when it assumed 

role of prosecutor and attempted to establish a record on which 

to base a minimum mandatory sentence; and (2) imposition of 

mandatory minimum sentence was unauthorized because circuit 

court's finding that defendant had prior felony conviction was 

not supported by sufficient evidence.  9 H. App. 583, 854 P.2d 

238 (1993). 



  Trial court did not err in granting the State's motion for 

sentencing of repeat offender and ordering that defendant was 

subject to the repeat offender sentencing provisions of this 

section where defendant committed the offense of promoting a 

dangerous drug in the second degree within the maximum term of 

imprisonment possible after defendant's conviction in federal 

district court and the maximum term of imprisonment came from 

the United States Code.  125 H. 497 (App.), 264 P.3d 676 (2011). 

 

" §706-606.6  Repeat violent and sexual offender; enhanced 

sentence.  (1)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law to 

the contrary, any person who is convicted of an offense under 

section 707-701.5, 707-702, 707-730, 707-731, 707-732, 707-

733.6, 707-750, 708-840, 712-1202, 712-1203, or 712-1209.1, 

after having been convicted on at least three prior and separate 

occasions of an offense under section 707-701.5, 707-702, 707-

710, 707-711, 707-730, 707-731, 707-732, 707-733.6, 707-750, 

708-840, 712-1202, 712-1203, or 712-1209.1, or of an offense 

under federal law or the laws of another state that is 

comparable to an offense under section 707-701.5, 707-702, 707-

710, 707-711, 707-730, 707-731, 707-732, 707-733.6, 707-750, 

708-840, 712-1202, 712-1203, or 712-1209.1, shall be sentenced 

to an extended term of imprisonment as provided in section 706-

661. 

 (2)  A conviction shall not be considered a prior offense 

unless the conviction occurred within the following time 

periods: 

 (a) For an offense under section 707-701.5, 707-702, 

707-730, 707-733.6, 707-750, 708-840, 712-1202, 712-

1203, or 712-1209.1, within the past twenty years from 

the date of the instant offense; 

 (b) For an offense under section 707-710 or 707-731, 

within the past ten years from the date of the instant 

offense; 

 (c) For an offense under section 707-711 or 707-732, 

within the past five years from the date of the 

instant offense; or 

 (d) For an offense under federal law or the laws of 

another state that is comparable to an offense under 

section 707-701.5, 707-702, 707-710, 707-711, 707-730, 

707-731, 707-732, 707-733.6, 707-750, 708-840, 712-

1202, 712-1203, or 712-1209.1, within the maximum term 

of imprisonment possible under the appropriate 

jurisdiction. [L 1999, c 286, §1; am L 2006, c 60, §4; 

am L 2014, c 114, §2] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-606.6 



 

  Act 286, Session Laws 1999, added this section, mandating an 

extended term of imprisonment for multiple offenses, to heighten 

penalties for habitual violent and sexual offenders.  The 

legislature found that repeat violent and sexual offenders 

deserve some degree of enhanced sentencing.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 89. 

  Act 60, Session Laws 2006, amended this section by deleting 

the references to §707-733.5, repealed by Act 60, and 

substituting references to §707-733.6, added by Act 60.  Act 60 

reenacted provisions that define the behavior that constitutes 

the crime of continuous sexual assault of a minor under the age 

of fourteen years and the unanimity that is required to convict 

a person of the crime.  House Standing Committee Report No. 150-

06. 

  Act 114, Session Laws 2014, amended this section to include 

the offenses of promoting prostitution in the first and second 

degrees, and solicitation of a minor for prostitution.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 3249, Conference Committee Report 

No. 41-14. 

 

" §706-607  Civil commitment in lieu of prosecution or of 

sentence.  (1)  When a person prosecuted for a class C felony, 

misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor is a chronic alcoholic, 

narcotic addict, or person suffering from mental abnormality and 

the person is subject by law to involuntary hospitalization for 

medical, psychiatric, or other rehabilitative treatment, the 

court may order such hospitalization and dismiss the 

prosecution.  The order of involuntary hospitalization may be 

made after conviction, in which event the court may set aside 

the verdict or judgment of conviction and dismiss the 

prosecution. 

 (2)  The court shall not make an order under subsection (1) 

unless it is of the view that it will substantially further the 

rehabilitation of the defendant and will not jeopardize the 

protection of the public. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-607 

 

  This section extends the concept of involuntary 

hospitalization in the penal context beyond its classic use in 

cases of irresponsible defendants.[1]  The section does not 

itself create the authority for the involuntary hospitalization 

of certain types of offenders, but rather it acknowledges that 

where the defendant is subject by law to involuntary 

hospitalization, the court may order the hospitalization in lieu 



of prosecution or sentence.  In the terminology of the Model 

Penal Code: 

  This section does not authorize civil commitment in any 

case but rather pre-supposes that authority for the 

commitment is otherwise conferred by law.  Only in that 

event is the commitment authorized in lieu of sentence.[2] 

  The Code allows the court, in its discretion, to order 

hospitalization in three limited situations: where a person 

prosecuted for a class C felony or lesser grade of crime is (1) 

a chronic alcoholic, (2) a narcotic addict, or (3) a person 

suffering from a mental abnormality not amounting to an excusing 

condition under chapter 704.  The commitment in each case is to 

a medical institution for rehabilitative treatment. 

  The section is in accord with the trend of the law favoring 

medical and para-medical incarceration rather than incarceration 

which is largely, but not solely, punitive.[3] 

  It should be noted that the section is not restricted to 

crimes directly related to the defendant's physical or mental 

condition.  Rather, the court is empowered to order 

hospitalization, if authorized by civil law, in cases where the 

crime is only tangentially related to the defendant's 

abnormality. 

 ...[W]hen the method of subjecting narcotic users to 

treatment is commitment, it makes small sense to deny that 

authority if the addict is not guilty of possession merely 

but has also committed a larceny, for example, to find the 

means for getting his supply.[4] 

The same example might be used in the case of chronic 

alcoholics. 

  Subsection (2) provides a statutory guideline for the exercise 

of judicial discretion.  The court should, of course, refrain 

from ordering civil commitment unless such commitment will 

substantially further the rehabilitation of the defendant 

without jeopardizing the protection of the public. 

  Finally, it should be noted that this section is not a self-

executing one.  It does not solve the difficult problem of 

determining in what cases of physical or mental illness or 

abnormality involuntary hospitalization ought to be authorized.  

The resolution of that question can only result from a complete 

reevaluation of the laws authorizing involuntary 

hospitalization. 

 

__________ 

§706-607 Commentary: 

 

1.  Cf. Chapter 704. 

 



2.  M.P.C., Proposed Official Draft 105 (1962). 

 

3.  See H.R.S., chapter 334, as amended. 

 

4.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 31 (1954). 

 

" §706-608  Penalties against corporations and unincorporated 

associations; forfeiture of corporate charter or revocation of 

certificate authorizing foreign corporation to do business in 

the State.  (1)  The court may sentence a corporation or an 

unincorporated association which has been convicted of an 

offense to be placed on probation as authorized by part II of 

this chapter or to be fined as authorized by part III of this 

chapter. 

 (2)  When a corporation is convicted of a crime or a high 

managerial agent of a corporation, as defined in section [702-

229], is convicted of a crime committed in the conduct of the 

affairs of the corporation, the court, in sentencing the 

corporation or the agent, may order the charter of a corporation 

organized under the laws of this State forfeited or the 

certificate of a foreign corporation authorizing it to do 

business in this State revoked upon finding: 

 (a) That the board of directors or a high managerial agent 

acting in behalf of the corporation has, in conducting 

the corporation's affairs, intentionally engaged in a 

persistent course of criminal conduct[;] and 

 (b) That for the prevention of future criminal conduct of 

the same character, the public interest requires the 

charter of the corporation to be forfeited and the 

corporation to be dissolved or the certificate to be 

revoked. 

 (3)  The proceedings authorized by subsection (2) shall be 

conducted in accordance with the procedures authorized by law 

for the involuntary dissolution of a corporation or the 

revocation of the certificate authorizing a foreign corporation 

to conduct business in this State.  Such proceedings shall be 

deemed additional to any other proceedings authorized by law for 

the purpose of forfeiting the charter of a corporation or 

revoking the certificate of a foreign corporation. [L 1972, c 9, 

pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §18] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-608 

 

  Subsection (1) provides for the ordinary disposition in cases 

of convicted corporations and unincorporated associations, i.e., 

suspended sentence or fine. 



  Subsection (2) provides for further sanctions in cases of 

corporate crime; dissolution of the corporate entity in the case 

of domestic corporations and revocation of a foreign 

corporation's right to do business within the State.  Such 

sanctions are obviously severe and should be reserved for cases 

involving (1) intentional and persistent misconduct, and (2) a 

need for public protection which cannot be otherwise met.  

However, "persistent misconduct need not be restricted to prior 

convictions of the corporation or its agents for criminal 

offenses."[1] 

  The concentration of corporate wealth would tend to indicate 

that sanctions involving merely a fine may not be sufficient.  

However, although the Code authorizes forfeiture of the 

corporate charter and revocation of a foreign corporation's 

right to do business in the State, these sanctions are not 

automatic upon conviction or even a finding of persistent 

misconduct.  Here, as in other areas, the Code provides a 

flexible approach by vesting discretion in the court. 

  Subsection (3) provides that involuntary dissolution in a 

penal case shall follow procedures authorized by law for 

involuntary dissolution in a civil context. 

  Unlike the Model Penal Code, which provides for institution of 

separate proceedings for forfeiture or revocation, this Code 

authorizes the sentencing court to decree forfeiture of a 

domestic corporate charter or revocation of a certificate of 

foreign corporation authorized to do business in this State.  

Unlike many jurisdictions in the United States, which the Model 

Penal Code was drafted to accommodate, criminal cases in Hawaii 

are not handled by courts of limited jurisdiction.  The criminal 

calendar is rotated annually and neither lack of judicial 

expertise nor lack of judicial power would suggest that in 

Hawaii forfeiture or revocation should be handled by a separate 

court. 

 

__________ 

§706-608 Commentary: 

 

1.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 4, comments at 203 (1955). 

 

" §706-609  Resentence for the same offense or for offense 

based on the same conduct not to be more severe than prior 

sentence.  When a conviction or sentence is set aside on direct 

or collateral attack, the court shall not impose a new sentence 

for the same offense, or for a different offense based on the 

same conduct, which is more severe than the prior sentence. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1] 

 



COMMENTARY ON §706-609 

 

  This section is derived from the American Bar Association's 

Standards Relating to Sentencing Alternatives and Procedures.[1]  

The section is self-explanatory.  The reasons which compelled 

the American Bar Association Project to recommend this section 

have been well stated in the commentary to the Standards.  We 

yield to the temptation to quote that commentary at length:  

  There are three reasons which have led the Advisory 

Committee to this view.  The first relates to the selection 

process which leads to the possibility of an increased 

sentence.  The only argument which can justify an increase 

following a re-trial is that the original sentence was too 

light, either because the first judge was too lenient or 

because new facts have been presented.  However, the only 

class of persons who are vulnerable to this argument 

consists of those who have exercised the right to challenge 

their convictions.  There is no basis for believing that 

there exists any rational correspondence between this group 

and those offenders who may indeed deserve an increase....  

  The second argument is closely related.  The risk of a 

greater sentence as the result of the assertion of the 

right of review necessarily acts as a deterrent to the 

exercise of the right.  The issue thus posed is whether 

this is a desirable result.  The Advisory Committee 

believes that it is not.  The extent of the pressure placed 

on an individual defendant bears no relation to the degree 

of injustice which may have been perpetrated.  A system 

which fears the assertion of error to a degree that it must 

place artificial deterrents in the path which leads to 

review is not a healthy system.  There can also be adverse 

effects on the rehabilitative effort of the individual 

defendant who believes that he was wronged but is told that 

he may have to subject himself to the possibility of a 

greater wrong in order to assert any error.  

  The third reason which leads the Advisory Committee to 

this view begins with the difficulties which a contrary 

position would invite.  It is a matter of record that some 

judges have imposed harsher sentences because of lack of 

sympathy with the constitutional rights asserted by some 

defendants, and in a frank attempt to minimize the numbers 

who will assert such rights in the future.  Yet it is at 

least clear that greater punishment should not be inflicted 

on the defendant because he has asserted his right to 

appeal.  The only justification for an increased sentence, 

as noted above, is either that the first judge was too 

lenient or that new facts have been discovered.  A position 



contrary to the standard proposed here would thus 

necessitate in every case a factual inquiry to determine 

the motivation of the judge who imposed the new sentence.  

As the Fourth Circuit recently pointed out, it is 

"impossible, and most distasteful" for other courts to be 

required to make that kind of inquiry.  Patton v. North 

Carolina, 381 F.2d 636, 641 (4th Cir. 1967).  If the system 

can avoid such a result at a cost which is not prohibitive, 

it most certainly should do so.  In the Advisory 

Committee's view, the cost in this instance particularly in 

light of the other reasons advanced above is not 

significant.  

  Finally, it should also be noted that there are 

substantial constitutional arguments which can be made 

against a practice contrary to the proposed standard.  The 

First and Fourth Circuits have recently held an increased 

sentence after a re-trial to be unconstitutional.  See 

Marano v. United States, 374 F.2d 583 (1st Cir. 1967); 

Patton v. North Carolina, 381 F.2d 636 (4th Cir. 1967).  

The Third Circuit has disagreed.  See United States ex rel. 

Starner v. Russell, 378 F.2d 808 (3d Cir. 1967), cert. 

denied, 36 U.S. Law Week 3148 (Oct. 9, 1967)....[2]  

  The Code finds the reasoning of the commentary to the 

Standards persuasive and accordingly, in this section, accepts 

the recommendation purposed. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Section inapplicable to cases where a new sentence, which is 

not more severe than a prior sentence, adversely affects a 

defendant's parole status.  79 H. 281, 901 P.2d 481 (1995). 

  This section applies to a situation where the first sentence 

was imposed after a trial and the second sentence was imposed 

after a retrial, or, where the first sentence was imposed after 

an unbargained plea and the second sentence was imposed after a 

trial.  102 H. 346 (App.), 76 P.3d 589 (2003). 

  Section does not directly apply to the Hawaii paroling 

authority's setting of a defendant's minimum term of 

incarceration.  126 H. 555 (App.), 273 P.3d 1241 (2012). 

  Discussed:  83 H. 507, 928 P.2d 1 (1996). 

 

__________ 

§706-609 Commentary: 

 

1.  A.B.A. Standards.  

 

2.  Id.  Comments at 198-200. 



 

" §706-610  Classes of felonies.  (1)  Apart from first and 

second degree murder and attempted first and second degree 

murder, felonies defined by this Code are classified, for the 

purpose of sentence, into three classes, as follows: 

 (a) Class A felonies; 

 (b) Class B felonies; and 

 (c) Class C felonies. 

 A felony is a class A, class B, or class C felony when it 

is so designated by this Code.  Except for first and second 

degree murder and attempted first and second degree murder, a 

crime declared to be a felony, without specification of class, 

is a class C felony. 

 (2)  A felony defined by any statute of this State other 

than this Code shall constitute for the purpose of sentence a 

class C felony, except if another provision of law specifically 

defines a felony to be of a specified class as defined by this 

Code, such felony shall be treated for the purpose of sentence 

as provided by this chapter for that class of felony. [L 1972, c 

9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §19; am L 1987, c 181, §4] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-610 

 

  The chapter takes the general position that authorized 

sentences must take into consideration two things:  (1) the 

seriousness of the crime, and (2) the character of the 

defendant.  The Penal Code divides crime into three grades--

felonies, misdemeanors, and petty misdemeanors--according to 

their seriousness.  This section further subdivides felonies 

into three classes.  With the exception of special provisions 

calling for the possibility of lifetime imprisonment for the 

offense of murder, the Code thus provides five categories of 

crimes "which should exhaust the possibilities of reasonable, 

legislative discrimination."[1] 

  The prior Hawaii criminal law provided for two categories of 

crimes:  felonies and misdemeanors.[2]  However, within each 

category, the legislature had fixed a multitude of different 

sentences which are not necessarily consistent with one another 

or adequately correlated to the relative seriousness of the 

offense.[3] 

  The number and variety of the distinctions of this order 

found in most existing systems is one of the main causes of 

the anarchy in sentencing that is so widely deplored.  Any 

effort to rationalize the situation must result in the 

reduction of distinctions to a relatively few important 

categories.[4] 



  Subsection (2) reduces to a class C felony, those felonies 

defined by a statute not within this Code.  This reflects the 

"judgment that the [Penal] Code should deal at least with any 

area of criminality involving crimes so serious that 

classification as a [class A or class B] felony for sentence 

purposes is justified."[5] 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-610 

 

  Act 314, Session Laws 1986, amended this section so that non-

Code statutes enacted since 1973 may designate felonies as class 

A or B felonies, rather than automatically being deemed class C 

felonies under present law.  Conference Committee Report No. 51-

86. 

  Act 181, Session Laws 1987, added language to this section to 

reflect the recently created statutory murder and attempted 

murder crimes.  These crimes are murder in the first and second 

degree and attempted murder in the first and second degree.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1130. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Because criminal solicitation to commit first degree murder is 

a crime declared to be a felony without specification of class 

within meaning of this section, it is a class C felony for 

sentencing purposes, subject to the sentencing provisions of 

§706-660.  84 H. 229, 933 P.2d 66 (1997). 

  For sentencing purposes, conspiracy to commit second degree 

murder is a class C felony under this section and subject to the 

sentencing provisions of §706-660, not §706-656.  84 H. 280, 933 

P.2d 617 (1997). 

  As an attempt to commit a crime is an offense of the same 

class and grade as the offense which is attempted, and second 

degree murder committed under the "aggravated circumstances" set 

forth in §706-660.2 is expressly distinguished from classified 

felonies and, pursuant to this section, from unclassified 

felonies thus, attempted second degree murder is not an 

"unclassified" offense for purposes of sentencing and is not 

treated as a class C felony pursuant to §706-660.2.  96 H. 17, 

25 P.3d 792 (2001). 

  Section 291C-12 failure to stop offense committed prior to its 

1992 amendment was outside of this code and constituted a class 

C felony for purposes of sentencing.  9 H. App. 333, 839 P.2d 

1186 (1992). 

 

__________ 

§706-610 Commentary: 



 

1.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 10 (1954). 

 

2.  H.R.S. §701-2. 

 

3.  Cf. commentary on §706-600. 

 

4.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 10-11 (1954). 

 

5.  Id. at 11. 

 

"PART II.  PROBATION 

 

Note 

 

  Part heading amended by L 1986, c 314, §20. 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  The Abandonment of Punishment.  16 HBJ, no. 2, at 63 (1981). 

 

 §706-620  Authority to withhold sentence of imprisonment.  

A defendant who has been convicted of a crime may be sentenced 

to a term of probation unless: 

 (1) The crime is first or second degree murder or 

attempted first or second degree murder; 

 (2) The crime is a class A felony, except class A felonies 

defined in chapter 712, part IV, and by section 

707-702; 

 (3) The defendant is a repeat offender under section 

706-606.5; 

 (4) The defendant is a felony firearm offender as defined 

in section 706-660.1(2); 

 (5) The crime involved the death of or the infliction of 

serious or substantial bodily injury upon a child, an 

elder person, or a handicapped person under section 

706-660.2; or 

 (6) The crime is cruelty to animals where ten or more pet 

animals were involved under section 711-1108.5 or 

711-1109. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, 

§21; am L 1988, c 89, §2; am L 1990, c 67, §8; am L 

1994, c 229, §1; am L 1996, c 197, §1; am L 2013, c 

210, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-620 

 



  The broad discretion vested in the court by §706-605 with 

respect to choosing between and among various authorized 

dispositions necessitates some statutory guidelines for the 

exercise of that discretion.  This section states a policy in 

favor of withholding a sentence of imprisonment unless, as 

stated, there is (1) undue risk by repetitive criminal behavior, 

(2) need for institutionalized correctional facilities, or (3) 

need to reflect the seriousness of the crime which, under the 

circumstances of the case, can only be accomplished by 

imprisonment.  The general policy of this section is 

supplemented by a statement in the following section of grounds 

which, while not controlling the discretion of the court, should 

be accorded weight in favor of withholding a sentence of 

imprisonment. 

  Previous Hawaii law, while favoring probation or suspension of 

sentence by implication, gave the court a free hand--but no 

guidance--in selecting the proper sentence or disposition. 

  Every circuit court, when it appears to its satisfaction 

that the ends of justice and the best interests of the 

public as well as of the defendant in a criminal case will 

be subserved thereby, may after conviction or after a plea 

of guilty or nolo contendere (except in cases of [certain 

specified crimes[1]]) suspend the imposition or execution 

of sentence, in full or in part, and place the defendant 

upon probation for such period and upon such terms and 

conditions as it may deem best.[2] 

  The Code seeks to provide more definitive criteria for the 

exercise of the broad discretion vested in the court. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-620 

 

  Act 89, Session Laws 1988, amended this section for the 

purpose of mandating harsher penalties for crimes against 

victims who are less able to protect themselves.  The 

legislature found that passage of these amendments afforded a 

greater measure of protection for the groups enumerated in this 

section.  House Standing Committee Report No. 459-88, Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2544. 

  Act 229, Session Laws 1994, amended this section to allow the 

court discretion to sentence a defendant convicted of a class A 

felony drug offense (as defined in chapter 712, part IV) to 

probation.  The legislature believed that, in certain instances, 

the public is better served by allowing judges some discretion 

in evaluating all appropriate sentencing and treatment 

alternatives available for drug offenders.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 62. 



  Act 197, Session Laws 1996, amended this section to retain 

probation for the offense of manslaughter, which the Act made a 

class A felony.  The legislature believed that courts should 

still be given the discretion to sentence a person to probation 

in "extremely rare circumstances where strong mitigating 

circumstances exist."  Conference Committee Report No. 71. 

  Act 210, Session Laws 2013, amended this section to prohibit 

sentencing a defendant to a term of probation if the defendant 

is convicted of cruelty to animals in the first or second degree 

involving ten or more pet animals.  Conference Committee Report 

No. 74. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Exercise of court's discretion in applying these standards is 

not reviewable on appeal in absence of abuse.  60 H. 314, 588 

P.2d 929 (1979). 

  Defendant's arrest and conviction for two petty misdemeanors 

while awaiting sentencing for another conviction demonstrates 

"undue risk" justifying imprisonment.  4 H. App. 566, 670 P.2d 

834 (1983). 

  Cited:  73 H. 81, 829 P.2d 1325 (1992). 

 

__________ 

§706-620 Commentary: 

 

1.  Cf. commentary on §706-605. 

 

2.  H.R.S. §711-77. 

 

" §706-621  Factors to be considered in imposing a term of 

probation.  The court, in determining whether to impose a term 

of probation, shall consider: 

 (1) The factors set forth in section 706-606 to the extent 

that they are applicable; 

 (2) The following factors, to be accorded weight in favor 

of withholding a sentence of imprisonment: 

  (a) The defendant's criminal conduct neither caused 

nor threatened serious harm; 

  (b) The defendant acted under a strong provocation; 

  (c) There were substantial grounds tending to excuse 

or justify the defendant's criminal conduct, 

though failing to establish a defense; 

  (d) The victim of the defendant's criminal conduct 

induced or facilitated its commission; 

  (e) The defendant has no history of prior delinquency 

or criminal activity or has led a law-abiding 



life for a substantial period of time before the 

commission of the present crime; 

  (f) The defendant's criminal conduct was the result 

of circumstances unlikely to recur; 

  (g) The character and attitudes of the defendant 

indicate that the defendant is unlikely to commit 

another crime; 

  (h) The defendant is particularly likely to respond 

affirmatively to a program of restitution or a 

probationary program or both; 

  (i) The imprisonment of the defendant would entail 

excessive hardship to the defendant or the 

defendant's dependents; and 

  (j) The expedited sentencing program set forth in 

section 706-606.3, if the defendant has qualified 

for that sentencing program. [L 1972, c 9, pt of 

§1; am L 1980, c 165, §1; am L 1986, c 314, §22; 

gen ch 1992; am L 1993, c 316, §§2, 6; am L 1995, 

c 157, §1; am L 2001, c 127, §3] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-621 

 

  This section states grounds or the types of factors which, 

while not controlling the court in the exercise of its 

discretion, should be accorded weight in favor of withholding 

the sanction of imprisonment.  The exercise of discretion by 

different judges cannot be expected to lead to precisely uniform 

sentences; however, legislative guidelines such as the Code 

proposes will promote consistency in sentencing. 

Such guides, if properly defined, should serve to promote 

both the thoughtfulness and consistency of dispositions, 

while distributing responsibility between the legislature 

and the court.  This is the normal procedure in other 

fields involving large discretionary powers; there seems no 

reason why it should not be attempted here.[1] 

  These factors suggest that the court's first concern might be 

to determine the future danger threatened by the defendant's 

continued presence in open society, and that it minimize its 

concern for the purely deterrent purposes of the sanction of 

imprisonment. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-621 

 

  Act 165, Session Laws 1980, deleted former paragraphs (2) and 

(6) and amended paragraph (8).  After reviewing the section, the 

legislature "decided to leave a great deal of discretion with 

the trial court to allow for the greatest possible leeway in 



dealing effectively with convicted persons."  Conference 

Committee Report No. 35-80 (53-80). 

  Act 316, Session Laws 1993, amended this section to provide 

that the court, in determining whether to impose a term of 

probation, shall consider the expedited sentencing program set 

forth in §706-606.3 if the defendant has qualified for that 

program.  House Standing Committee Report No. 1174, Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 849. 

  Act 157, Session Laws 1995, extended the sunset date of the 

amendment to this section made by Act 316, Session Laws 1993, 

from June 30, 1995 to June 30, 2001.  The legislature found that 

the expedited sentencing program served as "a viable alternative 

in a small number of select cases" and that the program should 

continue to be available within the criminal justice system.  

However, the legislature believed that there was insufficient 

basis to determine whether the program should be made permanent.  

Conference Committee Report No. 62. 

  Act 127, Session Laws 2001, repealed the sunset date for the 

expedited sentencing program of the family court, and in doing 

so, also prevented the possibility of the inadvertent repeal of 

important probation laws established in connection with the 

program.  The purpose of the program was to allow for the 

expeditious removal of the offender from the family home, in 

cases of intra-family felony sexual assault or incest, thus 

allowing the child to remain in the home.  The legislature found 

that the program applied only to those offenders found to be 

"safe to probate" and minimized the possibility of revictimizing 

the child by eliminating the need to testify and requiring 

treatment and supervision of all members of the child's family.  

The legislature further found that the program had been 

effective and beneficial to the families concerned.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 1453, Conference Committee Report 

No. 114. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  These grounds may be accorded great weight, but do not control 

the discretion of the court.  60 H. 314, 588 P.2d 929 (1979). 

  Although "drug use" is not a prerequisite to eligibility for 

probation under §706-659, the legislature contemplated, 

consistent with the factors enumerated in this section, that the 

trial court would grant probation in cases where strong 

mitigating circumstances favored it.  97 H. 440, 39 P.3d 567 

(2002). 

  Upon revocation of probation pursuant to §706-625(3), in light 

of the record, §706-660 and this section, trial court did not 

abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to imprisonment 



"for a term of not more than ten years with credit for time 

served".  97 H. 135 (App.), 34 P.3d 1034 (2001). 

  Cited:  73 H. 81, 829 P.2d 1325 (1992). 

  Mentioned:  76 H. 408, 879 P.2d 513 (1994). 

 

__________ 

§706-621 Commentary: 

 

1.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 34 (1954). 

 

" §706-622  Requirement of probation; exception.  When a 

person who has been convicted of a felony is not sentenced to 

imprisonment, the court shall place the person on probation.  

Nothing in this part shall prohibit the court from suspending 

any sentence imposed upon persons convicted of a crime other 

than a felony. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §23; 

gen ch 1992] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-622 

 

  Once the decision has been made to withhold a sentence of 

imprisonment, some criteria must be stated for choosing between 

suspending sentence and sentencing the defendant to probation.  

The Code favors placing the defendant on probation if the 

defendant needs "the supervision, guidance, assistance, or 

direction that the probation service can provide."  In the case 

of defendants convicted of serious crimes, probation will be the 

usual sentence (if imprisonment is withheld).  For those 

defendants convicted of minor crimes (especially first 

offenders), a suspended sentence may suffice. 

 

" §706-622.5  Sentencing for drug offenders; expungement.  

(1)  Notwithstanding section 706-620(3), a person convicted for 

the first or second time for any offense under section 329-43.5 

involving the possession or use of drug paraphernalia or any 

felony offense under part IV of chapter 712 involving the 

possession or use of any dangerous drug, detrimental drug, 

harmful drug, intoxicating compound, marijuana, or marijuana 

concentrate, as defined in section 712-1240, but not including 

any offense under part IV of chapter 712 involving the 

distribution or manufacture of any such drugs or substances and 

not including any methamphetamine offenses under sections 

712-1240.7, 712-1240.8 as that section was in effect prior to 

July 1, 2016, 712-1241, and 712-1242, is eligible to be 

sentenced to probation under subsection (2) if the person meets 

the following criteria: 



 (a) The court has determined that the person is nonviolent 

after reviewing the person's criminal history, the 

factual circumstances of the offense for which the 

person is being sentenced, and any other relevant 

information; 

 (b) The person has been assessed by a certified substance 

abuse counselor to be in need of substance abuse 

treatment due to dependency or abuse under the 

applicable Diagnostic and Statistical Manual and 

Addiction Severity Index; and 

 (c) Except for those persons directed to substance abuse 

treatment under the supervision of the drug court, the 

person presents a proposal to receive substance abuse 

treatment in accordance with the treatment plan 

prepared by a certified substance abuse counselor 

through a substance abuse treatment program that 

includes an identified source of payment for the 

treatment program. 

 (2)  A person eligible under subsection (1) may be 

sentenced to probation to undergo and complete a substance abuse 

treatment program if the court determines that the person can 

benefit from substance abuse treatment and, notwithstanding that 

the person would be subject to sentencing as a repeat offender 

under section 706-606.5, the person should not be incarcerated 

to protect the public.  If the person fails to complete the 

substance abuse treatment program and the court determines that 

the person cannot benefit from any other suitable substance 

abuse treatment program, the person shall be subject to 

sentencing under the applicable section under this part.  As a 

condition of probation under this subsection, the court may 

direct the person to undergo and complete substance abuse 

treatment under the supervision of the drug court if the person 

has a history of relapse in treatment programs.  The court may 

require other terms and conditions of probation, including 

requiring that the person contribute to the cost of the 

substance abuse treatment program, comply with deadlines for 

entering into the substance abuse treatment program, and reside 

in a secure drug treatment facility. 

 (3)  For the purposes of this section, "substance abuse 

treatment program" means drug or substance abuse treatment 

services provided outside a correctional facility by a public, 

private, or nonprofit entity that specializes in treating 

persons who are diagnosed with having substance abuse or 

dependency and preferably employs licensed professionals or 

certified substance abuse counselors. 

 (4)  Upon written application from a person sentenced under 

this part or a probation officer, the court shall issue a court 



order to expunge the record of conviction for that particular 

offense; provided that a person has successfully completed the 

substance abuse treatment program and complied with other terms 

and conditions of probation.  A person sentenced to probation 

under this section who has not previously been sentenced under 

this section shall be eligible for one time only for expungement 

under this subsection. 

 (5)  Nothing in this section shall be construed to give 

rise to a cause of action against the State, a state employee, 

or a treatment provider. [L 2002, c 161, §3; am L 2004, c 44, 

§11; am L 2006, c 230, §18; am L Sp 2009, c 4, §3; am L 2012, c 

140, §2; am L 2016, c 231, §21] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-622.5 

 

  Act 161, Session Laws 2002, added this section to require, 

among other things, that first-time nonviolent drug offenders be 

sentenced to undergo and complete drug treatment instead of 

incarceration.  The legislature found that the link between 

substance abuse and crime is well-established.  The legislature 

did not wish to diminish the seriousness of crime, but looked to 

approaching crime as being the result of addiction that is 

treatable.  The treatment route was expected to produce a 

reduction in crime and recidivism.  The legislature intended to 

promote treatment of nonviolent substance abuse offenders, 

rather than incarceration, as being in the best interests of the 

individual and the community at large.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 96-02. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended subsection (1) to exclude 

the offenses of methamphetamine trafficking in the first and 

second degrees from the offenses for which first-time drug 

offenders may be eligible to be sentenced to probation. 

  Act 4, Special Session Laws 2009, amended subsection (2) 

authorizing the placement of certain drug offenders in secure 

drug treatment facilities, to promote the rehabilitation of 

convicted drug offenders through alternatives to incarceration.  

The legislature found that providing convicted drug offenders 

with drug rehabilitation programs in a secure drug treatment 

facility would reduce the offenders' rate of recidivism upon 

release and help the offenders develop an important and 

meaningful role in society.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 1285, Conference Committee Report No. 25. 

  Act 140, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by:  (1) 

allowing for the sentence of probation for certain second time 

drug offenses; and (2) clarifying that a person sentenced to 

probation as a first time drug offender who has not been 

previously sentenced to probation as a drug offender shall be 



eligible for expungement only once.  The legislature found that 

the rates of crime, victimization, and arrests and felony 

convictions for violent and property crimes had declined, while 

the number of persons incarcerated or under probation 

supervision, in some cases, had increased.  The legislature also 

found that existing law required the courts to impose a prison 

sentence for an offender who had a second felony conviction for 

drug possession.  Act 140 amended the law to allow for second 

time drug offenders to be eligible for probation.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 3352, Conference Committee Report 

No. 130-12. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsections (1) and (4) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Inasmuch as the plain and unambiguous language of §706-606.5 

requires application of the repeat offender statute over "any 

other law to the contrary", the circuit court did not err in 

sentencing defendant as a repeat offender pursuant to §706-

606.5; in all cases in which §706-606.5 is applicable, including 

those in which a defendant would otherwise be eligible for 

probation under this section, the circuit courts must sentence 

defendants pursuant to the provisions of §706-606.5.  103 H. 

228, 81 P.3d 408 (2003). 

  Defendants with prior felony convictions of drug offenses are 

disqualified from sentencing pursuant to this section, even if 

the convictions occurred in other jurisdictions and therefore 

not "under part IV of chapter 712", so long as the offenses 

would implicate part IV of chapter 712 if committed in Hawaii.  

104 H. 71, 85 P.3d 178 (2004). 

  By its plain language, Act 44, L 2004, prospectively permitted 

greater discretion to sentencing courts confronted with 

conflicts between this section and §706-606.5 than they 

previously possessed; thus, based on the legislative intent 

reflected in Act 44, the Act 161, L 2002 version of this 

section, under which defendant was sentenced, did not trump the 

repeat offender statute.  106 H. 1, 100 P.3d 595 (2004). 

  As section is ameliorative in its intent and effect and its 

application would neither be detrimental nor materially 

disadvantageous to the defendant, retrospective application of 

this section as established by Act 161, L 2002, was not 

prohibited; where defendant did not qualify as a first-time drug 

offender, the trial court did not err in sentencing defendant 



pursuant to §712-1243(3) (2002).  107 H. 215, 112 P.3d 69 

(2005). 

  Consistent with §706-625(1), because petitioner, who was 

sentenced to probation under subsection (1), had completed 

petitioner's probation term and was subsequently discharged and 

thus "satisfied the disposition of the court", as provided by 

§706-630, petitioner had, in effect, complied with the terms and 

conditions of probation for purposes of expungement under 

subsection (4).  129 H. 363, 300 P.3d 1022 (2013). 

 

" [§706-622.8]  First-time drug offender prior to 2004; 

probation; expungement.  A person sentenced prior to July 1, 

2004, for a first-time drug offense, pursuant to section 

706-622.5, and who otherwise meets all the requirements of 

section 706-622.5, may apply to the court for expungement of the 

record of conviction for the drug offense.  The court shall 

issue a court order to expunge the record of conviction for the 

drug offense; provided the person has successfully completed a 

substance abuse treatment program and has complied with the 

other terms and conditions set by the court.  A person granted 

an expungement of conviction under this section or section 706-

622.5(4) shall not be eligible for another expungement of 

conviction under this section or section 706-622.5. [L 2006, c 

58, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-622.8 

 

  Act 58, Session Laws 2006, added this section to allow a 

person sentenced prior to July 1, 2004, for a first-time drug 

offense pursuant to §706-622.5, who completed a drug treatment 

program and complied with the terms set by the court, to apply 

for expungement of the record of conviction.  Act 58 corrected a 

drafting error in Act 161, Session Laws 2002, which authorized 

an expungement of the record of arrest rather than the record of 

conviction.  Act 44, Session Laws 2004, corrected the error, 

authorizing the expungement of the record of conviction, but 

only prospectively from its effective date, July 1, 2004.  This 

led to the inconsistent result of some defendants being 

permitted to expunge their record of conviction and others not 

being able to do so.  Act 58 permitted defendants sentenced 

prior to Act 44, Session Laws 2004, to expunge their record of 

conviction.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3212. 

 

" §706-622.9  Sentencing for first-time property offenders; 

expungement.  (1)  Notwithstanding section 706-620(3), a person 

convicted for the first time of any class C felony property 

offense under chapter 708 who has not previously been sentenced 



under section 706-606.5, section 706-622.5, or this section is 

eligible to be sentenced to probation under subsection (2) if 

the person meets the following criteria: 

 (a) The court has determined that the person is nonviolent 

after reviewing the person's criminal history, the 

factual circumstances of the offense for which the 

person is being sentenced, and any other relevant 

information; 

 (b) The person has been assessed by a certified substance 

abuse counselor to be in need of substance abuse 

treatment due to dependency or abuse under the 

applicable Diagnostic and Statistical Manual and 

Addiction Severity Index; 

 (c) The court has determined that the offense for which 

the person is being sentenced is related to the 

person's substance abuse dependency or addiction; 

 (d) The court has determined that the person is genuinely 

motivated to obtain and maintain substance abuse 

treatment, based upon consideration of the person's 

history, including whether substance abuse treatment 

has previously been afforded to the person, and an 

appraisal of the person's current circumstances and 

attitude; and 

 (e) Except for those persons directed to substance abuse 

treatment under the supervision of the drug court, the 

person presents a proposal to receive substance abuse 

treatment in accordance with the treatment plan 

prepared by a certified substance abuse counselor 

through a substance abuse treatment program that 

includes an identified source of payment for the 

treatment program. 

 (2)  A person eligible under subsection (1) may be 

sentenced to probation to undergo and complete a substance abuse 

treatment program if the court determines that the person can 

benefit from substance abuse treatment and, notwithstanding that 

the person would be subject to sentencing as a repeat offender 

under section 706-606.5, the person should not be incarcerated 

to protect the public.  If the person fails to complete the 

substance abuse treatment program and the court determines that 

the person cannot benefit from any other suitable substance 

abuse treatment program, the person shall be sentenced as 

provided in this part.  As a condition of probation under this 

subsection, the court may direct the person to undergo and 

complete substance abuse treatment under the supervision of the 

drug court if the person has a history or relapse in treatment 

programs.  The court may require other terms and conditions of 

probation, including requiring that the person contribute to the 



cost of the substance abuse treatment program, comply with 

deadlines for entering into the substance abuse treatment 

program, and reside in a secure drug treatment facility. 

 (3)  Upon written application from a person sentenced under 

this part or a probation officer, the court shall issue a court 

order to expunge the record of conviction for that particular 

offense; provided that a person has successfully completed the 

substance abuse treatment program and complied with other terms 

and conditions of probation.  A person sentenced to probation 

under this section shall be eligible for expungement under this 

subsection only if the person has not been previously convicted 

of a felony offense in this or another jurisdiction. 

 (4)  Nothing in this section shall be construed to give 

rise to a cause of action against the State, a state employee, 

or a treatment provider. 

 (5)  For the purposes of this section, "substance abuse 

treatment program" means drug or substance abuse treatment 

services provided outside a correctional facility by a public, 

private, or nonprofit entity that specializes in treating 

persons who are diagnosed with having substance abuse or 

dependency and preferably employs licensed professionals or 

certified substance abuse counselors. [L 2006, c 230, §1; am L 

Sp 2009, c 4, §4; am L 2016, c 231, §22] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-622.9 

 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, added §706-622.9, to provide 

guidelines for the sentencing of first-time property offenders 

and the expungement of records.  House Standing Committee Report 

No. 665-06. 

  Act 4, Special Session Laws 2009, amended subsection (2) 

authorizing the placement of certain drug offenders in secure 

drug treatment facilities, to promote the rehabilitation of 

convicted drug offenders through alternatives to incarceration.  

The legislature found that providing convicted drug offenders 

with drug rehabilitation programs in a secure drug treatment 

facility would reduce the offenders' rate of recidivism upon 

release and help the offenders develop an important and 

meaningful role in society.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 1285, Conference Committee Report No. 25. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (3) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

" §706-623  Terms of probation.  (1)  When the court has 

sentenced a defendant to be placed on probation, the period of 



probation shall be as follows, unless the court enters the 

reason therefor on the record and sentences the defendant to a 

shorter period of probation: 

 (a) Ten years upon conviction of a class A felony; 

 (b) Five years upon conviction of a class B or class C 

felony under part II, V, or VI of chapter 707, chapter 

709, and part I of chapter 712 and four years upon 

conviction of any other class B or C felony; 

 (c) One year upon conviction of a misdemeanor; except that 

upon a conviction under section 586-4, 586-11, or 709-

906, the court may sentence the defendant to a period 

of probation not exceeding two years; or 

 (d) Six months upon conviction of a petty misdemeanor; 

provided that up to one year may be imposed upon a 

finding of good cause. 

The court, on application of a probation officer, on application 

of the defendant, or on its own motion, may discharge the 

defendant at any time.  Prior to the court granting early 

discharge, the defendant's probation officer shall be required 

to report to the court concerning the defendant's compliance or 

non-compliance with the conditions of the defendant's probation 

and the court shall afford the prosecuting attorney an 

opportunity to be heard.  The terms of probation provided in 

this part, other than in this section, shall not apply to 

sentences of probation imposed under section 706-606.3. 

 (2)  When a defendant who is sentenced to probation has 

previously been detained in any state or county correctional or 

other institution following arrest for the crime for which 

sentence is imposed, the period of detention following arrest 

shall be deducted from the term of imprisonment if the term is 

given as a condition of probation.  The pre-sentence report 

shall contain a certificate showing the length of such detention 

of the defendant prior to sentence in any state or county 

correctional or other institution, and the certificate shall be 

annexed to the official records of the defendant's sentence. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §24; am L 1989, c 124, 

§1; am L 1993, c 316, §§3, 6; am L 1994, c 229, §2; am L 1995, c 

157, §1; am L 1998, c 172, §7; am L 2001, c 127, §3; am L 2006, 

c 230, §19; am L 2009, c 88, §§8, 17(1); am L 2010, c 166, §21; 

am L 2012, c 140, §3 and c 143, §1] 

 

Note 

 

  The L 2012, c 140, §3 amendment applies to offenses committed 

on or after January 1, 2013.  L 2012, c 140, §5. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-623 



 

  This section is in accord with previous Hawaii law providing a 

maximum probation period of five years in felony cases.[1]  The 

prior law did not, however, state a maximum period of suspension 

of sentence in felony cases--although, by implication, it could 

have been read as five years also.[2]  With respect to felony 

cases, this section of the Code changes the law by explicitly 

correlating the maximum period of suspension with the maximum 

period of probation.  Whether the defendant should be sentenced 

to probation because the defendant needs supervision, guidance, 

assistance, or direction is an independent question; there is no 

rational basis for providing a longer period for suspension than 

for probation. 

  Because of the structure of courts in Hawaii, some anomalous 

results obtained under prior law.  Upon the appeal of a 

misdemeanor case from the district court to the circuit court, 

the defendant, if conviction was upheld, could have had the 

defendant's sentence suspended or be sentenced to probation in 

the same manner and for the same period as a convicted felon.[3]  

Had the misdemeanant not appealed the misdemeanant would have 

been subject solely to the district court, the powers of which 

were more limited in this area.  Prior to this Code, the 

district court did not have a probation service; however, the 

district magistrate could suspend the imposition or execution of 

sentence on the terms or conditions the district magistrate 

deemed best.  The period of suspension could not, however, 

exceed thirteen months.[4] 

  The changes which this section makes in the law are obvious.  

It provides a maximum period of suspension of sentence or 

probation for misdemeanants, petty misdemeanants, and felons 

regardless of the court handling the case.  Secondly, it would 

allow probation to be utilized by district court magistrates if 

a probation service is established in that court. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-623 

 

  Section 623 of the Proposed Code provided that the period of 

suspension or probation shall be two years in the case of a 

conviction for a misdemeanor or petty misdemeanor.  However, the 

Legislature reduced the period to one year in the case of a 

conviction for a misdemeanor and six months in the case of a 

conviction for a petty misdemeanor, finding the proposed two-

year period too severe and inconsistent with the actual length 

of imprisonment allowed upon conviction for these offenses.  

Conference Committee Report No. 2 (1972). 

  Act 124, Session Laws 1989, required courts to grant pre-

sentence imprisonment credit to defendants who had been 



sentenced to imprisonment as a condition of probation and who 

were detained prior to sentencing.  Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 1342. 

  Act 316, Session Laws 1993, amended this section to provide 

that the terms of probation in chapter 706, part II, other than 

in this section, shall not apply to sentences of probation 

imposed under §706-606.3, which creates an option for the 

expedited sentencing of persons who have committed intra-family 

sexual assault.  House Standing Committee Report No. 1174, 

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 849. 

  Act 229, Session Laws 1994, amended this section to provide, 

inter alia, that when a defendant is sentenced to be placed on 

probation, the period of probation shall be ten years upon 

conviction of a class A felony unless the court enters the 

reason therefor on the record and sentences the defendant to a 

shorter period of probation.  The legislature found that a 

longer probationary period for class A felony drug offenders 

would protect the public's interests and safety in the unusual 

cases where probation may be granted.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 62. 

  Act 157, Session Laws 1995, extended the sunset date of the 

amendment to this section made by Act 316, Session Laws 1993, 

from June 30, 1995 to June 30, 2001.  The legislature found that 

the expedited sentencing program served as "a viable alternative 

in a small number of select cases" and that the program should 

continue to be available within the criminal justice system.  

However, the legislature believed that there was insufficient 

basis to determine whether the program should be made permanent.  

Conference Committee Report No. 62. 

  Act 172, Session Laws 1998, amended this section to allow for 

a two-year sentence of probation for domestic violence 

convictions.  Conference Committee Report No. 80. 

  Act 127, Session Laws 2001, repealed the sunset date for the 

expedited sentencing program of the family court, and in doing 

so, also prevented the possibility of the inadvertent repeal of 

important probation laws established in connection with the 

program.  The purpose of the program was to allow for the 

expeditious removal of the offender from the family home, in 

cases of intra-family felony sexual assault or incest, thus 

allowing the child to remain in the home.  The legislature found 

that the program applied only to those offenders found to be 

"safe to probate" and minimized the possibility of revictimizing 

the child by eliminating the need to testify and requiring 

treatment and supervision of all members of the child's family.  

The legislature further found that the program had been 

effective and beneficial to the families concerned.  Senate 



Standing Committee Report No. 1453, Conference Committee Report 

No. 114. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended subsection (1) to allow a 

six-month extension of probation for a petty misdemeanor if good 

cause is found.  House Standing Committee Report No. 665-06. 

  Act 88, Session Laws 2009, amended subsection (1) to permit 

probationary periods of eighteen to twenty-four months for 

persons convicted under various conditions for driving under the 

influence.  Act 88 continued to promote highway safety by 

statutorily establishing several recommendations of the ignition 

interlock implementation task force established by Act 171, 

Session Laws 2008.  House Standing Committee Report No. 617, 

Conference Committee Report No. 116. 

  Act 166, Session Laws 2010, amended subsection (1) by 

eliminating probationary provisions for convicted second and 

third [driving under the influence] offenders.  Act 166 

continued the work of the ignition interlock implementation task 

force, as a final implementation of the recommendations 

regarding the ignition interlock device program.  The 

legislature found that although gains were made in reducing both 

driving under the influence arrests and the total number of 

alcohol-related fatalities, today's offender is more likely to 

have a highly elevated alcohol concentration and, as a whole, 

Hawaii's rate of alcohol-related fatalities remains unacceptably 

high.  However, people with revoked licenses still need to get 

to work, to transport their families, and to fulfill other 

obligations, and there often is no efficient alternative to 

driving.  Just as there is no single cause of this problem, 

there is no single solution, and Hawaii needs another tool to 

address it.  House Standing Committee Report No. 718-10, Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2167, Conference Committee Report 

No. 88-10. 

  Act 140, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by:  (1) 

allowing for probation for a period of four years for certain 

class B or class C felonies; and (2) clarifying that prior to 

granting early discharge, a defendant's probation officer must 

report to the court concerning the defendant's non-compliance, 

in addition to the defendant's compliance with the conditions of 

the defendant's probation.  The legislature found that Act 140 

was an outgrowth of the Justice Reinvestment Working Group and 

the Council of State Governments Justice Center to study, 

analyze, and make recommendations for improvements in the 

criminal justice system and corrections system in all fifty 

states.  The analysis revealed that crime and victimization 

rates in Hawaii have declined, as have arrests and felony 

convictions for violent and property crimes.  However, the 

population under probation supervision and incarceration has not 



declined, and in some cases had increased.  Senate Standing 

Committee Report No. 2973, Conference Committee Report No. 130-

12. 

  Act 143, Session Laws 2012, amended this section to require a 

defendant's probation officer to provide the court information 

regarding the defendant's compliance or non-compliance with 

probation prior to the court determining whether to grant an 

early discharge from probation.  The legislature found that 

under existing law, the court may grant early discharge from 

probation without input from a defendant's probation officer 

regarding that defendant's compliance with probation terms.  Act 

143 served as an additional tool for the courts to use in their 

assessment and determination of whether a defendant should be 

discharged from probation early.  Conference Committee Report 

No. 73-12. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Subsection (2) pertains to periods of detention served 

following arrest and prior to the sentence imposed by the court 

in the first instance; circuit court did not abuse its 

discretion in refusing to credit defendant for time served in 

conjunction with previous periods of probation.  79 H. 194, 900 

P.2d 770 (1995). 

  Section does not authorize trial court to compel a criminal 

defendant to execute a promissory note in the amount of any 

restitution order, or any balance thereof, as a condition of 

probation.  83 H. 105, 924 P.2d 1211 (1996). 

  Defendant was not statutorily entitled to credit for time 

served under presentence house arrest where conditions and 

restrictions of house arrest did not amount to detention in a 

"state or county institution"; as defendant enjoyed no 

visitation, living environment, or telephone or other 

communicative restrictions, and was under the direct supervision 

of private citizens, including parents, relatives and friends, 

defendant was not confined in an "other institution" within the 

meaning of subsection (2).  94 H. 315, 13 P.3d 324 (2000). 

  To fall within the ambit of subsection (2), a defendant 

detained in an "other institution" must be confined in such a 

manner as to be tantamount to imprisonment in a state or county 

correctional institution; defendant must be under the direct 

supervision and control of state or county actors, or actors 

under state or county control, such as subcontracted halfway 

houses or drug treatment centers.  94 H. 315, 13 P.3d 324 

(2000). 

  Cited:  146 F.3d 661 (1998). 

__________ 



§706-623 Commentary: 

 

1.  H.R.S. §711-77. 

 

2.  Id. 

 

3.  Id. 

 

4.  H.R.S. §710-12. 

 

" §706-624  Conditions of probation.  (1)  Mandatory 

conditions.  The court shall provide, as an explicit condition 

of a sentence of probation: 

 (a) That the defendant not commit another federal or state 

crime or engage in criminal conduct in any foreign 

jurisdiction or under military jurisdiction that would 

constitute a crime under Hawaii law during the term of 

probation; 

 (b) That the defendant report to a probation officer as 

directed by the court or the probation officer; 

 (c) That the defendant remain within the jurisdiction of 

the court, unless granted permission to leave by the 

court or a probation officer; 

 (d) That the defendant notify a probation officer prior to 

any change in address or employment; 

 (e) That the defendant notify a probation officer promptly 

if arrested or questioned by a law enforcement 

officer; 

 (f) That the defendant permit a probation officer to visit 

the defendant at the defendant's home or elsewhere as 

specified by the court; and 

 (g) That the defendant make restitution for losses 

suffered by the victim or victims if the court has 

ordered restitution pursuant to section 706-646. 

 (2)  Discretionary conditions.  The court may provide, as 

further conditions of a sentence of probation, to the extent 

that the conditions are reasonably related to the factors set 

forth in section 706-606 and to the extent that the conditions 

involve only deprivations of liberty or property as are 

reasonably necessary for the purposes indicated in section 706-

606(2), that the defendant: 

 (a) Serve a term of imprisonment to be determined by the 

court at sentencing in class A felony cases under 

section 707-702, not exceeding two years in class A 

felony cases under part IV of chapter 712, not 

exceeding eighteen months in class B felony cases, not 

exceeding one year in class C felony cases, not 



exceeding six months in misdemeanor cases, and not 

exceeding five days in petty misdemeanor cases; 

provided that notwithstanding any other provision of 

law, any order of imprisonment under this subsection 

that provides for prison work release shall require 

the defendant to pay thirty per cent of the 

defendant's gross pay earned during the prison work 

release period to satisfy any restitution order.  The 

payment shall be handled by the adult probation 

division and shall be paid to the victim on a monthly 

basis; 

 (b) Perform a specified number of hours of services to the 

community as described in section 706-605(1)(d); 

 (c) Support the defendant's dependents and meet other 

family responsibilities; 

 (d) Pay a fine imposed pursuant to section 706-605(1)(b); 

 (e) Work conscientiously at suitable employment or pursue 

conscientiously a course of study or vocational 

training that will equip the defendant for suitable 

employment; 

 (f) Refrain from engaging in a specified occupation, 

business, or profession bearing a reasonably direct 

relationship to the conduct constituting the crime or 

engage in the specified occupation, business, or 

profession only to a stated degree or under stated 

circumstances; 

 (g) Refrain from frequenting specified kinds of places or 

from associating unnecessarily with specified persons, 

including the victim of the crime, any witnesses, 

regardless of whether they actually testified in the 

prosecution, law enforcement officers, co-defendants, 

or other individuals with whom contact may adversely 

affect the rehabilitation or reformation of the person 

convicted; 

 (h) Refrain from use of alcohol or any use of narcotic 

drugs or controlled substances without a prescription; 

 (i) Refrain from possessing a firearm, ammunition, 

destructive device, or other dangerous weapon; 

 (j) Undergo available medical or mental health assessment 

and treatment, including assessment and treatment for 

substance abuse dependency, and remain in a specified 

facility if required for that purpose; 

 (k) Reside in a specified place or area or refrain from 

residing in a specified place or area; 

 (l) Submit to periodic urinalysis or other similar testing 

procedure; 



 (m) Refrain from entering specified geographical areas 

without the court's permission; 

 (n) Refrain from leaving the person's dwelling place 

except to go to and from the person's place of 

employment, the office of the person's physician or 

dentist, the probation office, or any other location 

as may be approved by the person's probation officer 

pursuant to court order.  As used in this paragraph, 

"dwelling place" includes the person's yard or, in the 

case of condominiums, the common elements; 

 (o) Comply with a specified curfew; 

 (p) Submit to monitoring by an electronic monitoring 

device; 

 (q) Submit to a search by any probation officer, with or 

without a warrant, of the defendant's person, 

residence, vehicle, or other sites or property under 

the defendant's control, based upon the probation 

officer's reasonable suspicion that illicit substances 

or contraband may be found on the person or in the 

place to be searched; 

 (r) Sign a waiver of extradition and pay extradition costs 

as determined and ordered by the court; 

 (s) Comply with a service plan developed using current 

assessment tools; and 

 (t) Satisfy other reasonable conditions as the court may 

impose. 

 (3)  Written statement of conditions.  The court shall 

order the defendant at the time of sentencing to sign a written 

acknowledgment of receipt of conditions of probation.  The 

defendant shall be given a written copy of any requirements 

imposed pursuant to this section, stated with sufficient 

specificity to enable the defendant to comply with the 

conditions accordingly. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1973, c 

136, §5; am L 1978, c 224, §1; am L 1984, c 257, §2; am L 1986, 

c 314, §25; am L 1987, c 262, §1; am L 1989, c 48, §1; am L 

2006, c 230, §20; am L 2012, c 292, §3; am L 2016, c 231, §23] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-624 

 

  Previous Hawaii law provided the sentencing court with limited 

guidance or control in the exercise of its discretion in 

imposing conditions upon suspension of sentence or upon sentence 

to probation.  The circuit court could impose "such terms and 

conditions as it may deem best" and was specifically authorized 

to condition probation on (1) commitment to the Hawaii Youth 

Correctional Facility, (2) periodic or intermittent confinement 

in a county jail, (3) payment of a fine in a prescribed manner, 



(4) restitution or reparation, and (5) providing support to a 

person for whose support the defendant is legally 

responsible.[1]  District courts could condition suspension of 

sentence on "such terms and conditions as the magistrate may 

deem best."  The magistrate was specifically authorized to 

condition suspension on (1) periodic or intermittent confinement 

in jail, and (2) attendance at a traffic course or school 

prescribed by the magistrate.[2] 

  The Code seeks to focus on various appropriate conditions 

without limiting unduly the exercise of judicial discretion.  

Subsection (2) presents various authorized conditions and 

subsection (2)(m) is intended to insure flexibility for the 

court in devising the imposing conditions, provided the 

"conditions reasonably relate to the rehabilitation of the 

defendant." 

  Subsection (3) continues past statutory authorization for 

limited imprisonment as a condition of probation, but sets the 

maximum at six months.  Probation and imprisonment are in some 

respects inconsistent with one another.  Probation attempts to 

correct the defendant without interrupting the defendant's 

contact with open society.  Imprisonment, on the other hand, is 

the isolation of the defendant from open society.  

Notwithstanding this area of inconsistency, the Code recognizes 

the utility of providing a limited degree of imprisonment as a 

possible condition of probation. 

  Subsection (3) also continues the past policy of the law by 

providing that the court may order that the term of imprisonment 

required to be served as a condition of probation be served 

intermittently.  Thus, the court may, for example, order that 

the defendant serve the defendant's period of confinement at 

nights or on weekends so that undue economic hardship will not 

result to the defendant or members of the defendant's family. 

  Subsection (4) is an addition to the law suggested by the 

Model Penal Code and accepted in other states.[3]  The intent is 

to provide the defendant with notice of what is expected of the 

defendant in a form which will not escape the defendant's 

memory. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-624 

 

  Act 136, Session Laws 1973, amended subsection (3) by deleting 

a sentence which provided that upon revocation of probation any 

term of imprisonment served as part of the probation shall not 

be credited toward the subsequent imprisonment.  The legislature 

felt that the allowance of credit would do equity.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 858, House Standing Committee 

Report No. 726. 



  Act 224, Session Laws 1978, amended subsection (3) to 

authorize a court when sentencing a felon to probation to impose 

a term of imprisonment not exceeding one year as a condition of 

probation.  The amendment is intended to give the court the 

discretion to require a convicted felon to serve a longer term 

of imprisonment as a condition of probation than a person 

convicted of a misdemeanor.  Under prior law the maximum term of 

imprisonment, whether for a felon or for a misdemeanant, was set 

at six months. 

  Act 257, Session Laws 1984, added subsection (2)(g) to allow a 

court, as a condition of a suspended sentence or probation, to 

restrict a convicted person from entering certain geographical 

areas without the court's permission. 

  Act 262, Session Laws 1987, amended this section to provide 

home detention as an alternative to incarceration.  The use of 

home detention is limited.  It is not meant to be used as a 

means to reduce the prison population, or as a means to place a 

prisoner on probation or early release where the prisoner is in 

need of intensive supervision or is not eligible or qualified 

for early parole.  The legislature does not intend home 

detention to be used by a court as justification to sentence a 

convicted person to probation if the person would not otherwise 

be sentenced to probation under the existing discretionary 

conditions.  Senate Conference Committee Report No. 61, House 

Conference Committee Report No. 35. 

  Act 48, Session Laws 1989, required convicted persons on work 

release to pay a percentage of their earnings for restitution.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1133, House Standing 

Committee Report No. 629. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended this section by, among 

other things, (1) expanding the conditions of probation to 

include prohibiting the defendant from engaging in criminal 

conduct in any foreign or military jurisdiction that would 

constitute a crime under Hawaii law during the term of 

probation; (2) requiring the defendant to make restitution to 

the victim if ordered by the court; (3) increasing the terms of 

imprisonment that may be imposed as part of a sentence of 

probation and including five days' imprisonment for petty 

misdemeanors; and (4) including ammunition as an item that a 

person on probation may be prohibited from possessing.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 665-06. 

  Act 292, Session Laws 2012, amended subsection (2) by 

providing the courts with discretion when determining terms of 

imprisonment for various offenses and stipulating maximum terms 

of imprisonment for these offenses.  The legislature noted that 

traffic related fatalities were a serious issue and that persons 

convicted of certain offenses involving traffic fatalities 



should be dealt with accordingly.  Further, the legislature 

believed that a judge should continue to hold the discretionary 

authority regarding the term of imprisonment as a condition of 

probation for a person convicted of manslaughter.  Finally, 

allowing the courts the discretion to impose terms of 

imprisonment for certain violations up to a maximum period would 

help to ensure the safety of Hawaii's roadways.  Senate Standing 

Committee Report No. 3229, Conference Committee Report No. 44-

12. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (2) to 

authorize a court, among other things, to add, as a condition 

for probation under certain circumstances, that a defendant 

submit to searches by a probation officer of the defendant's 

person, residence, vehicle, or other sites and property under 

the defendant's control, and to sign a waiver of extradition and 

pay extradition costs as the court may determine.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 138-16. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Condition that defendant "refrain from company of people of 

questionable character" was not invalid for vagueness.  59 H. 

366, 580 P.2d 1282 (1978). 

  Conditions imposed must be reasonable.  59 H. 378, 581 P.2d 

759 (1978). 

  Where time for performing condition is not specified, 

performance is to be within a reasonable time.  59 H. 378, 581 

P.2d 759 (1978). 

  Purpose and intent is to have convicted person make 

restitution for criminal acts; court can delegate function of 

making recommendations regarding restitution but cannot delegate 

sentencing function.  68 H. 292, 711 P.2d 1295 (1985). 

  Requirement that defendant submit to periodic urinalysis for 

drugs was proper.  72 H. 67, 806 P.2d 407 (1991). 

  If, at a combined sentencing disposition, imprisonment is 

imposed as a condition in more than one probation sentence, the 

period of imprisonment served for concurrent sentences of 

probation shall not exceed the maximum term allowed for a 

sentence of probation.  97 H. 430, 39 P.3d 557 (2002). 

  In a sentence of probation, imprisonment may be imposed only 

as a condition of the sentence of probation, not to exceed the 

maximum term established in subsection (2)(a).  97 H. 430, 39 

P.3d 557 (2002). 

  A sentencing court may not impose discretionary conditions of 

probation pursuant to subsection (2) unless there is a factual 

basis in the record indicating that such conditions "are 

reasonably related to the factors set forth in §706-606" and 



insofar as such "conditions involve only deprivations of liberty 

or property", that they are reasonably necessary for the 

purposes indicated in §706-606(2).  103 H. 462, 83 P.3d 725 

(2004). 

  Based on defendant's history, the circumstances of the case, 

and the seriousness of the offense, the family court did not 

exceed the bounds of reason or disregard rules or principles of 

law to the substantial detriment of defendant when it sentenced 

defendant to undergo sex offender evaluation and treatment as a 

condition of probation.  107 H. 117, 111 P.3d 12 (2005). 

  A straightforward reading of subsection (3) prohibits the 

adoption of an "actual notice" rule; thus, under the plain and 

unambiguous language of subsection (3), it is mandated that 

defendants be given written copies of their conditions.  118 H. 

15, 185 P.3d 200 (2008). 

  In connection with the conditions from this section that are 

incorporated by reference in §853-1, the "provision" in 

subsection (3) that requires a defendant who is granted 

probation to be given a written copy of the conditions, must 

necessarily apply to a defendant granted a deferred acceptance 

of guilty plea, who must adhere to such similar conditions.   

118 H. 15, 185 P.3d 200 (2008). 

  Defendant's probation may not be revoked for failure to comply 

with special condition of probation, even though defendant was 

never provided with written notice of that condition, as 

required by subsection (3). 10 H. App. 192, 862 P.2d 295 (1993). 

  Seven-day term of imprisonment was not unreasonably related to 

factors set forth in §706-606, considering nature of offense and 

circumstances presented by the record.  10 H. App. 381, 876 P.2d 

1331 (1994). 

  Based on this statute and §706-671(1), sentencing court would 

have no authority to sentence defendant to five years' probation 

and more than one year in prison; furthermore, the court was 

required to credit defendant for time already served in pre-

trial detention.  79 H. 317 (App.), 901 P.2d 1296 (1995). 

  In light of paragraph (n), family court was authorized to 

require defendant to undergo polygraph testing as a reasonable 

condition of the granting of defendant's deferred acceptance of 

nolo contendere plea under §853-1.  92 H. 289 (App.), 990 P.2d 

1171 (1999). 

  Where, pursuant to paragraph (3) (2005), defendant did not 

receive a written copy of the conditions of defendant's deferred 

acceptance of no contest plea, trial court erred in setting 

aside plea.  116 H. 38 (App.), 169 P.3d 990 (2007). 

  Family court did not abuse its discretion by requiring 

defendant to attend domestic violence counseling as a condition 

of defendant's probation; where defendant was charged with 



endangering the welfare of an incompetent person under §709-905 

based on substantial evidence that defendant assaulted 

complainant, under subsection (2), the court was free to impose 

discretionary conditions of probation that are reasonably 

related to the factors set forth in §706-606 and to the extent 

that the conditions involve only deprivations of liberty as is 

reasonably necessary for the purposes indicated in §706-606(2).  

121 H. 228 (App.), 216 P.3d 1251 (2009). 

  Because there was no provision in §706-605 for the imposition 

of anger management or other treatment programs, but subsection 

(2)(j) authorized the imposition of, inter alia, mental health 

treatment as a discretionary term of probation, district court 

erred by sentencing defendant to both the thirty-day term of 

imprisonment (the maximum term of imprisonment for a petty 

misdemeanor) and anger management classes for defendant's 

harassment conviction (a petty misdemeanor).  Defendant could 

have been sentenced to a thirty-day term of incarceration or a 

six-month term of probation, but not both, and thus defendant's 

sentence was illegal.  130 H. 332 (App.), 310 P.3d 1033 (2013). 

  Cited:  73 H. 81, 829 P.2d 1325 (1992). 

  Discussed:  78 H. 343, 893 P.2d 194 (1995). 

  Mentioned:  74 H. 75, 837 P.2d 776 (1992). 

 

__________ 

§706-624 Commentary: 

 

1.  H.R.S. §711-77. 

 

2.  Id. §710-12. 

 

3.  M.P.C. §301.1, Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 145-146 

(1954). 

 

" §706-624.5  Notice of probation.  (1)  Whenever the court 

places a defendant convicted of an offense against the person as 

described in chapter 707, or of an attempt to commit such an 

offense on probation without requiring the serving of a term of 

imprisonment, the court shall provide written notice to each 

victim of such offense of the probation, whenever the victim has 

made a written request for such notice.  Notice shall be given 

to the victim at the address given on the request for notice or 

such other address as may be provided to the court by the victim 

from time to time. 

 (2)  Neither the failure of any state officer or employee 

to carry out the requirements of this section nor compliance 

with it shall subject the State or the officer or employee to 

liability in any civil action.  However, such failure may 



provide a basis for such disciplinary action as may be deemed 

appropriate by competent authority. [L 1983, c 184, §2(1); am L 

1986, c 314, §26] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Notice of escape, see §706-673. 

  Rights of victims and witnesses in criminal proceedings, see 

chapter 801D. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-624.5 

 

  Act 184, Session Laws 1983, added this section to require 

notification to a crime victim if a defendant who harmed the 

victim is released into the community after conviction.  This 

addition was intended to insure that crime victims "are treated 

with fairness and respect" and that agencies in the criminal 

justice system cooperate with each other to provide information 

and other help to crime victims.  House Conference Committee 

Report No. 46. 

 

" §706-625  Revocation, modification of probation conditions.  

(1)  The court, on application of a probation officer, the 

prosecuting attorney, the defendant, or on its own motion, after 

a hearing, may revoke probation except as provided in subsection 

(7), reduce or enlarge the conditions of a sentence of 

probation, pursuant to the provisions applicable to the initial 

setting of the conditions and the provisions of section 706-627. 

 (2)  The prosecuting attorney, the defendant's probation 

officer, and the defendant shall be notified by the movant in 

writing of the time, place, and date of any such hearing, and of 

the grounds upon which action under this section is proposed.  

The prosecuting attorney, the defendant's probation officer, and 

the defendant may appear in the hearing to oppose or support the 

application, and may submit evidence for the court's 

consideration.  The defendant shall have the right to be 

represented by counsel.  For purposes of this section the court 

shall not be bound by the Hawaii rules of evidence, except for 

the rules pertaining to privileges. 

 (3)  The court shall revoke probation if the defendant has 

inexcusably failed to comply with a substantial requirement 

imposed as a condition of the order or has been convicted of a 

felony.  The court may revoke the suspension of sentence or 

probation if the defendant has been convicted of another crime 

other than a felony. 



 (4)  The court may modify the requirements imposed on the 

defendant or impose further requirements, if it finds that such 

action will assist the defendant in leading a law-abiding life. 

 (5)  When the court revokes probation, it may impose on the 

defendant any sentence that might have been imposed originally 

for the crime of which the defendant was convicted. 

 (6)  As used in this section, "conviction" means that a 

judgment has been pronounced upon the verdict. 

 (7)  The court may require a defendant to undergo and 

complete a substance abuse treatment program when the defendant 

has committed a violation of the terms and conditions of 

probation involving possession or use, not including to 

distribute or manufacture as defined in section 712-1240, of any 

dangerous drug, detrimental drug, harmful drug, intoxicating 

compound, marijuana, or marijuana concentrate, as defined in 

section 712-1240, unlawful methamphetamine trafficking as 

provided in section 712-1240.6, or involving possession or use 

of drug paraphernalia under section 329-43.5.  If the defendant 

fails to complete the substance abuse treatment program or the 

court determines that the defendant cannot benefit from any 

other suitable substance abuse treatment program, the defendant 

shall be subject to revocation of probation and incarceration.  

The court may require the defendant to: 

 (a) Be assessed by a certified substance abuse counselor 

for substance abuse dependency or abuse under the 

applicable Diagnostic and Statistical Manual and 

Addiction Severity Index; 

 (b) Present a proposal to receive substance abuse 

treatment in accordance with the treatment plan 

prepared by a certified substance abuse counselor 

through a substance abuse treatment program that 

includes an identified source of payment for the 

treatment program; 

 (c) Contribute to the cost of the substance abuse 

treatment program; and 

 (d) Comply with any other terms and conditions of 

probation. 

 As used in this subsection, "substance abuse treatment 

program" means drug or substance abuse treatment services 

provided outside a correctional facility by a public, private, 

or nonprofit entity that specializes in treating persons who are 

diagnosed with substance abuse or dependency and preferably 

employs licensed professionals or certified substance abuse 

counselors. 

 Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to give rise 

to a cause of action against the State, a state employee, or a 

treatment provider. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1985, c 192, 



§1; am L 1986, c 314, §27; am L 1989, c 45, §1; gen ch 1993; am 

L 1994, c 5, §6; am L 2002, c 161, §5; am L 2004, c 44, §12] 

 

Note 

 

  Section 712-1240.6 referred to in text is repealed. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-625 

 

  This section restates prior law[1] and allows the court to 

increase or relax the conditions of probation.  Such power is 

essential if the disposition is to remain flexible.  However, if 

an increase in the severity of the conditions is proposed, the 

court must accord the defendant the procedural rights stated in 

§706-627. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-625 

 

  Act 192, Session Laws 1985, amended this section and 

consolidated it with the law governing the revocation of 

probation or suspension of sentence, formerly contained in §706-

628 and part of §706-627.  As a result, §706-628 is repealed. 

  Act 45, Session Laws 1989, defined the word "conviction" as 

applied in the revocation or modification of probation 

conditions.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1282, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 844. 

  Act 5, Session Laws 1994, amended this section by changing the 

subsection designations from letters to numbers for the purpose 

of consistency in the Hawaii Penal Code.  Subsection references 

throughout the Penal Code are designated by numbers rather than 

letters.  House Standing Committee Report No. 329-94, Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2638. 

  Act 161, Session Laws 2002, amended this section to require 

the court not to revoke probation for the first violation of a 

nonviolent drug-related probation condition, and to require that 

the probation violators be sentenced to undergo and complete 

drug treatment instead of incarceration.  The legislature found 

that the link between substance abuse and crime is well-

established.  The legislature did not wish to diminish the 

seriousness of crime, but looked to approaching crime as being 

the result of addiction that is treatable.  The treatment route 

was expected to produce a reduction in crime and recidivism.  

The legislature intended to promote treatment of nonviolent 

substance abuse offenders, rather than incarceration, as being 

in the best interests of the individual and the community at 

large.  Conference Committee Report No. 96-02. 

 



Case Notes 

 

  Criteria for modification.  55 H. 632, 525 P.2d 1119 (1974). 

  Mandated revocation of probation under certain circumstances 

is a means to compel a court to review defendant's original 

sentence in light of new facts.  Court may reimpose the same 

sentence.  69 H. 424, 744 P.2d 1208 (1987). 

  Defendant was prejudiced because of inability to independently 

test urine samples.  70 H. 194, 767 P.2d 243 (1989). 

  Court had discretion to consider factors other than 

defendant's wilfulness in determining whether failure to comply 

with probation condition was inexcusable under section.  73 H. 

81, 829 P.2d 1325 (1992). 

  Statutory language of subsection (e) (1992) must be harmonized 

with §706-671(2), mandating credit for time served in 

imprisonment.  78 H. 343, 893 P.2d 194 (1995). 

  Court abused discretion in revoking defendant's probation 

where defendant made the monthly payments as condition of 

probation and there was no other justifiable cause for 

revocation.  79 H. 511, 904 P.2d 525 (1995). 

  Subsection (5), which permits a trial court on revocation of 

probation to impose any sentence that might have originally been 

imposed at the time of conviction, does not apply to the 

sentencing procedure attendant to revocation of a deferred 

acceptance of guilty plea, which is already specifically 

governed by §853-3.  93 H. 362, 3 P.3d 1239 (2000). 

  Where petitioner lacked "written notice" that probation 

revocation was sought because petitioner was a high risk to 

commit another offense, and petitioner was not notified of the 

"evidence" of other sexual assaults that was used "against" 

petitioner in seeking revocation, petitioner's due process 

rights were violated.  125 H. 114, 254 P.3d 425 (2011). 

  Consistent with subsection (1), because petitioner, who was 

sentenced to probation under §706-622.5(1), had completed 

petitioner's probation term and was subsequently discharged and 

thus "satisfied the disposition of the court", as provided by 

§706-630, petitioner had, in effect, complied with the terms and 

conditions of probation for purposes of expungement under §706-

622.5(4).  129 H. 363, 300 P.3d 1022 (2013). 

  For purposes of determining whether a defendant has 

inexcusably failed to comply with a substantial requirement 

imposed as a condition of a probation order, courts should 

consider (1) whether the defendant's actions were intentional; 

and (2) whether the defendant's actions, if intentional, were a 

deliberate attempt to circumvent the court's probation order, 

considering the goals of sentencing the defendant to probation.  

132 H. 209, 320 P.3d 874 (2014). 



  In probation modification or revocation hearings, courts 

should apply a "good cause" standard for determining whether a 

continuance should be granted; family court abused its 

discretion in denying defendant's request for a continuance, 

where defendant had "good cause" for requesting a continuance 

and the court's error in failing to grant a continuance was not 

harmless.  132 H. 209, 320 P.3d 874 (2014). 

  Court cannot revoke probation and impose new probation term.  

6 H. App. 253, 718 P.2d 1117 (1986). 

  Where defendant made conscious and wilful decision to fail to 

comply with a substantial requirement imposed as a condition of 

probation under subsection (3), court did not abuse discretion 

in revoking probation and imposing sentence which may have been 

originally imposed.  82 H. 441 (App.), 922 P.2d 1054 (1996). 

  Circuit court properly concluded that it was required to 

revoke defendant's probation pursuant to subsection (c) because 

of subsequent felony conviction.  83 H. 102 (App.), 924 P.2d 596 

(1996). 

  When defendant refused to admit having committed the sex 

crimes and failed to pass the lie detector tests, defendant did 

not "inexcusably" fail to comply with a substantial requirement 

imposed as a condition of the probation order under subsection 

(3) as the trial court could not order defendant to admit 

defendant's sex crimes and defendant did not personally 

expressly and explicitly agree to admit defendant's sex crimes 

and to accept probation on that basis.  93 H. 321 (App.), 2 P.3d 

725 (2000). 

  Upon revocation of probation pursuant to subsection (3), in 

light of the record, §§706-660 and 706-621, trial court did not 

abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to imprisonment 

"for a term of not more than ten years with credit for time 

served".  97 H. 135 (App.), 34 P.3d 1034 (2001). 

  Where defendant failed to submit to drug/alcohol assessments, 

failed to report to defendant's probation officer, failed to 

notify probation officer of a change in address, and failed to 

pay the crime victim compensation and probation service fees, 

these violations of defendant's terms and conditions of 

probation did not involve the possession or use of drugs as 

meant under subsection (7); thus, trial court erred in its 

interpretation and application of this subsection.  112 H. 208 

(App.), 145 P.3d 751 (2006). 

  Criminal contempt of court under §710-1077 is not available as 

a sanction for a violation of a condition of probation as there 

is no provision in this chapter that authorizes the use of 

criminal contempt as a sanction for violation of a condition of 

probation; the exclusive sanctions for a violation of a 



condition of probation in this chapter are set forth in this 

section.  120 H. 312 (App.), 205 P.3d 577 (2009). 

 

_______________ 

§706-625 Commentary: 

 

1.  H.R.S. §711-77. 

 

" §706-626  Summons or arrest of defendant on probation; 

commitment without bail.  At any time before the discharge of 

the defendant or the termination of the period of probation: 

 (1) The court may, in connection with the probation, 

summon the defendant to appear before it or may issue 

a warrant for the defendant's arrest; 

 (2) A probation or law enforcement officer, having 

probable cause to believe that the defendant has 

failed to comply with a requirement imposed as a 

condition of the order, may arrest the defendant 

without a warrant and the defendant shall be held in 

custody pending the posting of bail pursuant to a bail 

schedule established by the court, or until a hearing 

date is set; provided that when the punishment for the 

original offense does not exceed one year, the 

probation or law enforcement officer may admit the 

probationer to bail; or 

 (3) The court, if there is probable cause to believe that 

the defendant has committed another crime or has been 

held to answer therefor, may commit the defendant 

without bail, pending a determination of the charge by 

the court having jurisdiction thereof. [L 1972, c 9, 

pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §28; am L 1989, c 125, §1; 

am L 2001, c 24, §1 and c 91, §4] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-626 

 

  The court, in order to control the conditions of suspension or 

probation, must have power, either by summons or warrant, to 

require the defendant to appear before the court.  Subsection 

(1) provides this power.  Subsection (2) provides a more limited 

power for probation and peace officers; they may arrest without 

a warrant only where there is probable cause to believe that the 

defendant has failed to comply with a condition of probation or 

suspension. 

  Subsection (3) is addressed to the problem presented by a 

defendant who is on probation or under suspended sentence and 

who is accused or charged with commission of another crime.  The 

commission of a crime while on probation or under suspension of 



sentence would, in most cases, constitute a violation of a 

condition of probation or suspension.  The question thus 

presented is whether the issue of guilt, with respect to the 

most recent crime, should be tried informally as a violation of 

a condition of suspension or probation or whether the issue 

should be tried independently.  The Code resolves this question 

by providing that the defendant may be held pending an 

independent or formal determination by the court having 

jurisdiction over the charge, thus preserving for the defendant 

all procedural rights.  This subsection must be read in 

conjunction with §706-628(1) which provides for revocation in 

cases where the defendant "has been convicted of another crime." 

  Subsection (1) is in substantial accord with prior law 

governing the circuit courts.[1]  Subsection (2) is an addition 

to the law and subsection (3) represents a slight departure from 

it.  The circuit court apparently had the power--although it may 

choose not to exercise it--to decide, in a probation proceeding, 

the issue of whether the defendant has committed a crime during 

the period of probation.[2] 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-626 

 

  Act 125, Session Laws 1989, required that a probationer be 

placed in custody after arrest for a probation violation and 

permitted an arrested probationer to post bail in certain 

circumstances.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1331. 

  Act 24, Session Laws 2001, amended this section to authorize 

probation or peace officers to admit defendants to bail when the 

punishment for the original offense does not exceed one year.  

Although law enforcement personnel may set bail for petty 

misdemeanor and misdemeanor offenses, they are not authorized to 

do so for probation violators and must defer to the courts.  The 

legislature found that the ability to immediately arrest and set 

bail for petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor probationers would 

allow more efficient processing of probation violations.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 1516, House Standing Committee 

Report No. 547. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Subsection (3) should not be read to mean that statutes on 

probation are concerned only with offenses committed after a 

defendant is placed on probation.  Implications arising from 

this section and commentary cannot be used to define language of 

§706-628(1).  62 H. 159, 612 P.2d 1168 (1980). 

  Evidentiary requirements of subsection (3), satisfaction of.  

1 H. App. 98, 614 P.2d 405 (1980). 



  Under subsection (3), upon showing of probable cause court has 

discretionary authority to commit without bail.  1 H. App. 98, 

614 P.2d 405 (1980). 

  Motion to commit without bail pursuant to subsection (3) tolls 

the period of probation.  1 H. App. 469, 620 P.2d 1082 (1980). 

  Period of probation which had been tolled begins to run again 

after written entry of judgment.  4 H. App. 35, 658 P.2d 910 

(1983). 

 

__________ 

§706-626 Commentary: 

 

1.  See H.R.S. §711-80. 

 

2.  Id. 

 

" §706-627  Tolling of probation.  (1)  Upon the filing of a 

motion to revoke a probation or a motion to enlarge the 

conditions imposed thereby, the period of probation shall be 

tolled pending the hearing upon the motion and the decision of 

the court.  The period of tolling shall be computed from the 

filing date of the motion through and including the filing date 

of the written decision of the court concerning the motion for 

purposes of computation of the remaining period of probation, if 

any.  In the event the court fails to file a written decision 

upon the motion, the period shall be computed by reference to 

the date the court makes a decision upon the motion in open 

court.  During the period of tolling of the probation, the 

defendant shall remain subject to all terms and conditions of 

the probation except as otherwise provided by this chapter. 

 (2)  In the event the court, following hearing, refuses to 

revoke the probation or grant the requested enlargement of 

conditions thereof because the defendant's failure to comply 

therewith was excusable, the defendant may be granted the period 

of tolling of the probation for purposes of computation of the 

remaining probation, if any. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1977, 

c 106, §1; am L 1980, c 156, §1; am L 1985, c 192, §2; am L 

1986, c 314, §29] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-627 

 

  This section affords the defendant threatened with loss or 

change of suspension or probation status the same procedural 

protection afforded a defendant at the time of original 

disposition.[1]  Determinations to revoke suspension or 

probation, or to change the conditions thereof, are sometimes 

made with a degree of informality that does not afford to the 



defendant adequate opportunity to obtain counsel and to be heard 

upon the evidence. 

 This is an area where dangers of abuse are real and the 

normal procedural protection proper.  That a defendant has 

no right to suspension or probation does not justify the 

alteration of his status by methods that must seem and 

sometimes be unfair.[2] 

Although written notice, the right to be represented by counsel, 

and the right to controvert and be heard upon the evidence, are 

provided by this section, it is not contemplated that the court 

must strictly enforce the rules of evidence.  In this type of 

hearing, where the relevant issues are decided by a court 

without the presence of a jury, the court should be granted some 

flexibility in this area. 

  Act 106, Session Laws 1977, added subsections (2) and (3) to 

provide for tolling the period of probation or suspension of 

sentence pending the hearing to revoke the probation or 

suspension or to increase the conditions thereof.  Formerly, 

with no tolling provisions, it was possible for the period of 

probation or suspended sentence to run out before termination of 

the hearing, relieving defendant of any further obligation even 

though the defendant may have committed acts justifying change 

in the defendant's probation or suspension status.  The amended 

section is intended to prevent such situations from occurring.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1105, House Standing 

Committee Report No. 450. 

  Act 156, Session Laws 1980, made the granting of the period of 

tolling discretionary rather than mandatory.  The legislature 

felt that the prior law gave the defendants an unfair advantage 

by allowing them "credit" on their sentence even while they were 

not abiding by its terms.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

753-80, House Standing Committee Report No. 434-80. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  The tolling provisions under this section apply to deferral 

periods pursuant to a deferred acceptance of guilty plea under 

§853-1.  92 H. 322, 991 P.2d 832 (2000). 

  Where State did not file a written motion to revoke 

defendant's deferred acceptance of guilty plea, the probationary 

period was not tolled; thus, as the deferment period had expired 

two months earlier, trial court lacked jurisdiction to revoke 

defendant's deferred acceptance of guilty plea.  118 H. 15, 185 

P.3d 200 (2008). 

  Filing motion under subsection (2) is not the only method of 

tolling period of probation; motion under §706-626(3) also tolls 

period.  1 H. App. 469, 620 P.2d 1082 (1980). 



  Mentioned:  55 H. 632, 525 P.2d 1119 (1974). 

 

__________ 

§706-627 Commentary: 

 

1.  Cf. §706-604. 

 

2.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 152 (1954). 

 

" §706-628  REPEALED.  L 1985, c 192, §3. 

 

Cross References 

 

  For similar provisions, see §706-625. 

 

" §706-629  Calculation of multiple dispositions involving 

probation and imprisonment, or multiple terms of probation.  (1)  

When the disposition of a defendant involves more than one 

crime: 

 (a) The court shall not impose a sentence of probation and 

a sentence of imprisonment except as authorized by 

section 706-624(2)(a); and 

 (b) Multiple periods of probation shall run concurrently 

from the date of the first such disposition. 

 (2)  When a defendant, already under sentence, is convicted 

for another crime committed prior to the former disposition: 

 (a) The court shall not sentence to probation a defendant 

who is under sentence of imprisonment with more than 

six months to run; 

 (b) Multiple periods of probation shall run concurrently 

from the date of the first such disposition; and 

 (c) When a defendant, already under sentence of probation, 

is sentenced to imprisonment, the service of 

imprisonment shall not toll the prior sentence of 

probation. 

 (3)  When a defendant is convicted of a crime committed 

while on probation and such probation is not revoked: 

 (a) If the defendant is sentenced to imprisonment, the 

service of such sentence shall not toll the prior 

sentence of probation; and 

 (b) If the defendant is sentenced to probation, the period 

of such probation shall run concurrently with or 

consecutively to the remainder of the prior period, as 

the court determines at the time of disposition. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §30] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-629 



 

  This section reflects the Code's preference for concurrent 

sentences and its disfavor of consecutive sentences.[1] 

  Subsection (1) deals with the problems presented when the 

disposition of a defendant involves more than one offense or 

when a defendant, already under sentence or suspension of 

sentence, is convicted for an offense committed prior to the 

former disposition. 

  Subsection (1)(a) continues the position of the Code that 

probation and imprisonment are inconsistent dispositions unless 

imprisonment is limited to a short period of six months or 

less.[2] 

  Subsection (1)(b) provides that periods of suspension or 

probation run concurrently from the date of the first 

disposition.  If imprisonment is not warranted, there hardly 

seems any justification for providing elongated periods of 

suspension or probation when the disposition of the defendant 

involves more than one offense or when a defendant, already 

under suspension of sentence or on probation, is convicted for a 

crime committed prior to the former disposition. 

  Subsection (1)(c) provides that service of an indeterminate 

term of imprisonment, with its built-in term of parole, shall 

satisfy a suspended sentence on another count or a prior 

suspended sentence or a prior sentence to probation.  By 

providing that the indeterminate term of imprisonment satisfies 

the other dispositions, subsection (1)(c) results in substantial 

concurrent service of all dispositions. 

  By providing that periods of suspension or probation run 

during a period of imprisonment for a definite term, subsection 

(1)(d) provides concurrent service of dispositions in situations 

involving suspension or probation and a definite term of 

imprisonment. 

  Subsection (2) is addressed to a somewhat different problem:  

multiple dispositions involving an offense committed while under 

suspension of sentence or on probation. 

  Subsection (2)(a) provides that if the defendant is sentenced 

to imprisonment for an indeterminate term, the service of such 

sentence shall satisfy the prior unrevoked suspended sentence or 

sentence to probation.  This is in conformity with the concept 

of concurrent dispositions. 

  Subsection (2)(b) provides that if the defendant is sentenced 

to imprisonment for a definite term, the period of the prior 

suspension or prior probation shall not run during imprisonment.  

This is a slight departure from the policy of the Code generally 

favoring concurrent dispositions.  However, because definite 

terms of imprisonment are relatively short, and because the 

defendant has committed a crime while under suspension or on 



probation, the situation calls for a departure from the general 

policy and permits dispositions which are to be served 

consecutively.  This subsection is analogous to §706-668 which 

permits consecutive terms of imprisonment for crimes committed 

while in prison.  A further consideration for subsection (2)(b) 

is that, if the period of suspension of probation runs during a 

definite term of imprisonment (which does not have a built-in 

term of parole), there might, in some cases, not be sufficient 

means for court control following discharge of the defendant 

from imprisonment. 

  Finally, subsection (2)(c) provides that, where the court has 

not revoked a prior disposition of suspension or probation and 

has imposed an additional period of suspension or probation, the 

multiple periods shall run either concurrently or consecutively 

as the court determines at the time of sentence.  Once again, 

although this subsection represents a limited departure from the 

policy of the Code favoring concurrent service of dispositions, 

it is called for by the defendant's situation.  Again, it is 

analogous to the powers that the Code grants the sentencing 

court, under §706-668, in cases where a prisoner has committed a 

crime while in prison or during escape. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Imprisonment for a felony does not toll a prior probation 

sentence for an unrelated felony.  71 H. 612, 801 P.2d 1206 

(1990). 

  If, at a combined sentencing disposition, imprisonment is 

imposed as a condition in more than one probation sentence, the 

period of imprisonment served for concurrent sentences of 

probation shall not exceed the maximum term allowed for a 

sentence of probation.  97 H. 430, 39 P.3d 557 (2002). 

  Subsection (1) applies to the combined sentencing disposition 

for multiple convictions, irrespective of whether the crimes 

were charged or tried in separate cases; subsection (1)(b) 

requires that in the event multiple sentences of probation are 

imposed, the sentences must run concurrently. 97 H. 430, 39 P.3d 

557 (2002). 

 

__________ 

§706-629 Commentary: 

 

1.  Cf. §706-670. 

 

2.  Commentary to §706-624. 

 



" §706-630  Discharge of defendant.  Upon the termination of 

the period of the probation or the earlier discharge of the 

defendant, the defendant shall be relieved of any obligations 

imposed by the order of the court and shall have satisfied the 

disposition of the court, except as to any action under this 

chapter to collect unpaid fines, restitution, attorney's fees, 

costs, or interest. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, 

§31; am L 1998, c 269, §5] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-630 

 

  This section provides that the court may discharge the 

defendant prior to the termination of the period of suspension 

or probation and that, if the defendant is not so discharged, no 

formal discharge is required upon termination of the statutory 

period of suspension or probation.  Upon termination of the 

statutory period, the defendant is relieved of any further 

obligation by operation of law.  This provision is a 

continuation of prior Hawaii law.[1] 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-630 

 

  Act 269, Session Laws 1998, amended this section to allow 

victims of crime to enforce a criminal restitution order in the 

same manner as a civil judgment.  Conference Committee Report 

No. 89. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Consistent with §706-625(1), because petitioner, who was 

sentenced to probation under §706-622.5(1), had completed 

petitioner's probation term and was subsequently discharged and 

thus "satisfied the disposition of the court", as provided by 

this section, petitioner had, in effect, complied with the terms 

and conditions of probation for purposes of expungement under 

§706-622.5(4).  129 H. 363, 300 P.3d 1022 (2013). 

  Where defendant paid all monthly restitution amounts imposed 

as a condition of probation sentence, there were no other 

grounds in record to revoke defendant's probation, and probation 

term had expired, under this section (1993), defendant should 

have been relieved of the obligations imposed by the probation 

sentence; trial court thus erred in imposing "free-standing" 

restitution order remaining in full force and effect beyond 

termination of defendant's term of probation.  92 H. 36 (App.), 

986 P.2d 987 (1999). 

  Where Act 269's 1998 amendment took effect after defendant was 

sentenced, by its own terms did not apply retroactively to 



extend defendant's obligation to pay restitution beyond 

defendant's period of probation, and did not empower the trial 

court to resentence defendant to a freestanding restitution 

order, as defendant was not in violation of defendant's 

conditions of probation stated in the 1995 resentencing order, 

trial court had no authority to resentence defendant on May 4, 

2000, by its restitution order.  98 H. 137 (App.), 44 P.3d 288 

(2002). 

  Where defendant's term of probation had already ended when the 

State charged defendant with criminal contempt for violating the 

no-contact condition of probation, and the State failed to take 

any steps during defendant's probation to revoke, modify or 

enlarge its terms and thereby toll the period of probation, the 

district court no longer had jurisdiction to revoke defendant's 

probation or modify or enlarge its terms; thus, by convicting 

defendant of criminal contempt as a sanction for a probation 

violation, the court essentially extended defendant's probation 

term for two years, which was inconsistent with this section.  

120 H. 312 (App.), 205 P.3d 577 (2009). 

 

__________ 

§706-630 Commentary: 

 

1.  See H.R.S. §711-80. 

 

" §706-631  Probation is a final judgment for other purposes.  

A judgment sentencing a defendant to be placed on probation 

shall be deemed tentative, to the extent provided in this 

chapter, but for all other purposes shall constitute a final 

judgment. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §32] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-631 

 

  This section is addressed to the question of finality inherent 

in every disposition involving suspension of sentence or 

sentence to probation.  As §§706-625 and 628 indicate, the 

conditions of suspension or probation may be modified or the 

disposition itself may be revoked.  These features of suspension 

or probation are, of course, necessary in order that the 

sentencing authority can maintain control over the disposition.  

However, merely because the sentencing court maintains some 

continuing flexibility with respect to the disposition, the 

conviction and disposition should not be regarded as lacking 

finality for other purposes such as constituting a judgment for 

purposes of appeal and a prior conviction for purposes of 

extended imprisonment. 



  This section, therefore, provides that a suspension of 

sentence or sentence to probation shall be deemed tentative to 

the extent provided in chapter 706, but for all other purposes 

such disposition shall constitute a final judgment. 

 

"PART III.  FINES AND RESTITUTION 

 

Note 

 

  Part heading amended by L 1998, c 269, §3; L 2000, c 205, §5. 

 

 §706-640  Authorized fines.  (1)  A person who has been 

convicted of an offense may be sentenced to pay a fine not 

exceeding: 

 (a) $50,000, when the conviction is of a class A felony, 

murder in the first or second degree, or attempted 

murder in the first or second degree; 

 (b) $25,000, when the conviction is of a class B felony; 

 (c) $10,000, when the conviction is of a class C felony; 

 (d) $2,000, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor; 

 (e) $1,000, when the conviction is of a petty misdemeanor 

or a violation; 

 (f) Any higher amount equal to double the pecuniary gain 

derived from the offense by the defendant; 

 (g) Any higher or lower amount specifically authorized by 

statute. 

 (2)  Notwithstanding section 706-641, the court shall 

impose a mandatory fine upon any defendant convicted of theft in 

the first or second degree committed by receiving stolen 

property as set forth in section 708-830(7).  The fine imposed 

shall be the greater of double the value of the stolen property 

received or $25,000 in the case of a conviction for theft in the 

first degree; or the greater of double the value of the stolen 

property received or $10,000 in the case of a conviction for 

theft in the second degree.  The mandatory fines imposed by this 

subsection shall not be reduced except and only to the extent 

that payment of the fine prevents the defendant from making 

restitution to the victim of the offense, or that the 

defendant's property, real or otherwise, has been forfeited 

under chapter 712A as a result of the same conviction for which 

the defendant is being fined under this subsection.  

Consequences for nonpayment shall be governed by section 706-

644; provided that the court shall not reduce the fine under 

section 706-644(4) or 706-645. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 

1986, c 314, §33; am L 1987, c 181, §5; am L 1997, c 149, §4] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-640 



 

  This section sets forth the maximum fine authorized for any 

offense according to grade and class.  The maximum amount 

provided should be sufficient for both deterrent and 

correctional purposes; discretion in imposing a fine within the 

set maximum should be guided by the criteria set forth in §706-

641. 

  The most significant use of the fine as a means of penalizing 

the offender is in offenses involving pecuniary gain.  When the 

amount of pecuniary gain is proven, subsection (5) subordinates 

the stated amounts and authorizes a greater fine in an amount 

equal to double the pecuniary gain. 

  Subsection (6) acknowledges that other higher or lower fines 

may be authorized with respect to specific offenses when deemed 

necessary or appropriate to the situation.  Subsection (6) also 

preserves and recognizes higher and lower limits for offenses 

which are set by provisions of law not within the Penal Code. 

  Because of the questionable wisdom and constitutionality of 

authorizing the disposition of assessing costs against convicted 

defendants in criminal cases, the Code departs from prior Hawaii 

law and does not authorize such a sentence.  As a practical 

matter, costs are almost never imposed in criminal cases.  The 

departure is from previous statutory language rather than 

practice. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-640 

 

  Act 314, Session Laws 1986, increased the maximum amounts of 

fines to allow a sentencing court discretion to impose severe 

fines, especially when the offender derives great financial gain 

from the criminal activity.  Conference Committee Report No. 51-

86. 

  Act 181, Session Laws 1987, added language to this section to 

reflect the recently created statutory murder and attempted 

murder crimes.  These crimes are murder in the first and second 

degree and attempted murder in the first and second degree.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1130. 

  Act 149, Session Laws 1997, amended this section to impose 

mandatory fines upon persons convicted of receiving stolen 

property.  With the property crime rate continuing to escalate 

at a dramatic rate, the legislature supported the imposition of 

severe penalties for those who are in receipt of stolen 

property, in an effort to deter the criminal activity.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 1600. 

 

" §706-641  Criteria for imposing fines.  (1)  The court 

shall not sentence a defendant only to pay a fine, when any 



other disposition is authorized by law, except in misdemeanor 

and petty misdemeanor cases. 

 (2)  The court shall not sentence a defendant to pay a fine 

in addition to a sentence of imprisonment or probation unless: 

 (a) The defendant has derived a pecuniary gain from the 

crime; or 

 (b) The court is of the opinion that a fine is specially 

adapted to the deterrence of the crime involved or to 

the correction of the defendant. 

 (3)  The court shall not sentence a defendant to pay a fine 

unless: 

 (a) The defendant is or will be able to pay the fine; and 

 (b) The fine will not prevent the defendant from making 

restitution to the victim of the offense. 

 (4)  In determining the amount and method of payment of a 

fine, the court shall take into account the financial resources 

of the defendant and the nature of the burden that its payment 

will impose. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §34] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-641 

 

  This section states the general position of the Code against 

the routine imposition of fines where other types of disposition 

are authorized.  Even in the case of violations, where only a 

fine or suspended sentence is authorized, the fine imposed 

should be measured in terms of the defendant's ability to pay 

and in terms of the defendant's ability to make compensation to 

the victims, if any, of the defendant's offense. 

  Where other types of disposition are available, the court 

should not impose only a fine unless the court makes a 

determination that "a fine alone suffices for the protection of 

the public." 

  More is required of the court in order to impose both 

imprisonment and a fine or probation and a fine upon a 

defendant.  The court is authorized by subsection (2) to impose 

such a sentence only if the defendant derived pecuniary gain 

from the crime or the court is of the opinion that a fine (in 

addition to imprisonment or probation) will serve either a 

correctional or deterrent function. 

  Subsection (3)(a) seeks to eliminate fines which the defendant 

cannot pay.  Incarceration should not result from mere inability 

to pay an imposed fine.  Contumacious non-payment is quite 

another thing and is handled in subsequent sections.  Subsection 

(3)(b) seeks to prevent the imposition of a fine which would 

interfere with restitution or reparation to the victim. 



  Subsection (4) instructs the court to consider the defendant's 

financial resources with respect to the fine's amount and its 

method of payment (lump sum or installment payments). 

  The Code differs from prior law in that it ends the 

possibility of imprisonment for noncontumacious failure to make 

payment.[1]  It also supplies legislative guidelines previously 

absent from the law. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Where defendant was sentenced pursuant to §431:10C-117(a)(2), 

because the district court may have been unaware of the 

applicability of quoted parts of this section and §706-642 and 

of its discretionary authority to sentence defendant to perform 

community service rather than to pay the fine, appellate court 

vacated the part of the sentence ordering defendant to pay a 

$1,000 fine and remanded that part for resentencing.  77 H. 476 

(App.), 888 P.2d 376 (1995). 

 

__________ 

§706-641 Commentary: 

 

1.  See H.R.S. §712-4. 

 

" §706-642  Time and method of payment.  (1)  When a 

defendant is sentenced to pay a fine, the court may grant 

permission for the payment to be made within a specified period 

of time or in specified installments.  If no such permission is 

embodied in the sentence, the fine shall be payable forthwith by 

cash, check, or by a credit card approved by the court. 

 (2)  When a defendant sentenced to pay a fine is also 

sentenced to probation, the court may make the payment of the 

fine a condition of probation. 

 (3)  When a defendant sentenced to pay a fine is also 

ordered to make restitution or reparation to the victim or 

victims, or to the person or party who has incurred loss or 

damage because of the defendant's crime, the payment of 

restitution or reparation shall have priority over the payment 

of the fine, pursuant to section 706-651.  No fine shall be 

collected until the restitution or reparation order has been 

satisfied. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1980, c 50, §3; am L 

1986, c 226, §2; am L 2016, c 231, §24] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-642 

 

  This section merely gives the court specific statutory 

authorization for two common sentencing practices:  (1) 



installment payments of a fine, and (2) making a fine one of the 

conditions of continued probation. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-642 

 

  Act 50, Session Laws 1980, authorized the payment of fines by 

credit cards in recognition of the widespread use of credit 

cards and to enable the courts to take advantage of an efficient 

system of collection. 

  Act 226, Session Laws 1986, ensured that, in cases where both 

fines and restitution are imposed, the latter has priority; no 

fine is to be collected until the restitution order is 

satisfied.  In enacting this change, the legislature stated that 

it "supports the concept of restitution as a valuable means of 

compensating losses incurred by victims and confronting the 

offender with the direct personal consequences of the crime."  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 798-86. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (3) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Where defendant was sentenced pursuant to §431:10C-117(a)(2), 

because the district court may have been unaware of the 

applicability of quoted parts of §706-641 and this section and 

of its discretionary authority to sentence defendant to perform 

community service rather than to pay the fine, appellate court 

vacated the part of the sentence ordering defendant to pay a 

$1,000 fine and remanded that part for resentencing.  77 H. 476 

(App.), 888 P.2d 376 (1995). 

 

" §706-643  Disposition of funds.  (1)  The defendant shall 

pay a fine or any installment thereof to the cashier or clerk of 

the district or circuit court.  In the event of default in 

payment, the clerk shall notify the prosecuting attorney and, if 

the defendant is on probation, the probation officer. 

 (2)  All fines and other final payments received by a clerk 

or other officer of a court shall be accounted for, with the 

names of persons making payment, and the amount and date 

thereof, being recorded.  All such funds shall be deposited with 

the director of finance to the credit of the general fund of the 

State.  With respect to fines and bail forfeitures that are 

proceeds of the wildlife revolving fund under section 183D-10.5, 

and fines that are proceeds of the compliance resolution fund 

under sections 26-9(o) and 431:2-410, the director of finance 



shall transmit the fines and forfeitures to the respective 

funds. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §35; am L 1990, 

c 83, §2; am L 2006, c 230, §21; am L 2009, c 149, §7] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-643 

 

  This section provides for payment to the clerk of the 

sentencing court and incorporates previous provisions of law 

with respect to disposition of collected funds.  Out of an 

abundance of caution, subsection (2) deals with all funds 

collected in civil as well as penal cases.  This broad scope is 

made necessary by previous provisions of former Title 37 

(Criminal Law) dealing with funds collected in civil cases.  See 

H.R.S. §§712-8 and 712-9 as codified prior to this Code. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-643 

 

  Act 83, Session Laws 1990, required the deposit of hunting 

fines and bail forfeitures to the wildlife revolving fund 

creating additional funds for wildlife programs.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2085. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended subsection (1) to require 

the defendant to pay a fine to the cashier or clerk of the 

district or circuit court, instead of the clerk of the 

sentencing court. 

  Act 149, Session Laws 2009, established an insurance fraud 

investigations branch to replace the insurance fraud 

investigations unit, with expanded authority to prevent, 

investigate, and prosecute insurance fraud to include all lines 

of insurance except workers' compensation.  Act 149 amended 

subsection (2), requiring the deposit of fines and settlements 

resulting from insurance fraud prosecutions into the compliance 

resolution fund to help the insurance fraud investigations 

branch cover the cost of preventing, investigating, and 

prosecuting insurance fraud.  The legislature found that because 

insurance fraud occurs in every line of insurance, the State's 

insurance fraud law should be expanded accordingly.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 26, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

1338. 

 

" §706-644  Consequences of nonpayment; imprisonment for 

contumacious nonpayment; summary collection.  (1)  When a 

defendant is sentenced pursuant to section 706-605, granted a 

conditional discharge pursuant to section 712-1255, or granted a 

deferred plea pursuant to chapter 853, and the defendant is 

ordered to pay a fee, fine, or restitution, whether as an 

independent order, as part of a judgment and sentence, or as a 



condition of probation or deferred plea, and the defendant 

defaults in the payment thereof or of any installment, the 

court, upon the motion of the prosecuting attorney or upon its 

own motion, may require the defendant to show cause why the 

defendant's default should not be treated as contumacious and 

may issue a summons or a warrant of arrest for the defendant's 

appearance.  Unless the defendant shows that the defendant's 

default was not attributable to an intentional refusal to obey 

the order of the court, or to a failure on the defendant's part 

to make a good faith effort to obtain the funds required for the 

payment, the court shall find that the defendant's default was 

contumacious and may order the defendant committed until the 

fee, fine, restitution, or a specified part thereof is paid. 

 (2)  When a fee, fine, or restitution is imposed on a 

corporation or unincorporated association, it is the duty of the 

person or persons authorized to make disbursement from the 

assets of the corporation or association to pay it from those 

assets, and their failure to do so may be held contumacious 

unless they make the showing required in subsection (1). 

 (3)  The term of imprisonment for nonpayment of fee, fine, 

or restitution shall be specified in the order of commitment, 

and shall not exceed one day for each $25 of the fee or fine, 

thirty days if the fee or fine was imposed upon conviction of a 

violation or a petty misdemeanor, or one year in any other case, 

whichever is the shorter period.  A person committed for 

nonpayment of a fee or fine shall be given credit toward payment 

of the fee or fine for each day of imprisonment, at the rate of 

$25 per day. 

 (4)  If it appears that the defendant's default in the 

payment of a fee, fine, or restitution is not contumacious, the 

court may make an order allowing the defendant additional time 

for payment, reducing the amount of each installment, or 

revoking the fee, fine, or the unpaid portion thereof in whole 

or in part, or converting the unpaid portion of the fee or fine 

to community service.  A defendant shall not be discharged from 

an order to pay restitution until the full amount of the 

restitution has actually been collected or accounted for. 

 (5)  Unless discharged by payment or, in the case of a fee 

or fine, service of imprisonment pursuant to subsection (3), an 

order to pay a fee, fine, or restitution, whether as an 

independent order, as a part of a judgment and sentence, or as a 

condition of probation or deferred plea pursuant to chapter 853, 

may be collected in the same manner as a judgment in a civil 

action.  The State or the victim named in the order may collect 

the restitution, including costs, interest, and attorney's fees, 

pursuant to section 706-646.  The State may collect the fee or 



fine, including costs, interest, and attorney's fees pursuant to 

section 706-647. 

 (6)  Attorney's fees, costs, and interest shall not be 

deemed part of the penalty, and no person shall be imprisoned 

under this section in default of payment of attorney's fees, 

costs, and interest. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, 

§36; gen ch 1992; am L 1996, c 137, §2; am L 1998, c 269, §6; am 

L 2000, c 205, §6] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-644 

 

  The Code equates a fine with a court-imposed civil obligation 

in favor of the State.  Thus the contempt power is utilized to 

enforce that obligation.  Subsection (1) provides that the court 

may summon the defendant, or issue a warrant for the defendant's 

arrest, and order the defendant to show cause why the 

defendant's failure to pay the fine should not be regarded by 

the court as contumacious.  If the defendant cannot, the 

defendant will be imprisoned as in the cases of civil contempt. 

  In the case of convicted corporations or unincorporated 

associations, subsection (2) places a similar duty to pay, or to 

justify default of payment, on the officer or agent of a 

corporation or unincorporated association authorized to 

distribute its assets. 

  Subsection (3) sets the limit on the period of imprisonment 

for contumacious nonpayment of fines.  The terms are intended to 

be coercive, but not debilitating.  The credit allowed is the 

same as that under previous law.[1] 

  Subsection (4) permits the court to take a flexible approach 

to noncontumacious default.  The court may lower the amount of 

each payment or may revoke the fine in whole or in part. 

  Subsection (5) makes clear that all the processes for 

collection of an unpaid civil judgment are available for 

collection of a fine.  This subsection is in accord with prior 

law.[2] 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-644 

 

  Act 137, Session Laws 1996, amended this section to provide 

that fines and costs may be collected in the same manner as a 

civil judgment, and that the state attorney general may 

institute proceedings to collect the fine and costs, including 

interest and attorney's fees, as a civil judgment in the court 

of appropriate jurisdiction.  The legislature found that the Act 

(which also amended the traffic code by enacting a new section 

with similar provisions) would assist the judiciary in 

collecting fines and costs imposed in traffic and criminal 



cases.  The Act also deleted the first sentence of subsection 

(5) to remove potential conflict between existing law and the 

provisions of the Act.  House Standing Committee Report No. 379-

96, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2987. 

  Act 269, Session Laws 1998, amended this section by, among 

other things, allowing victims of crime to enforce a criminal 

restitution order in the same manner as a civil judgment.  

Conference Committee Report No. 89. 

  Act 205, Session Laws 2000, amended this section by adding 

that the nonpayment of any fees, in addition to the nonpayment 

of any fine or restitution ordered by a court, would be subject 

to the penalties and consequences imposed under this section. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Provision relating to imprisonment for contumacious nonpayment 

mentioned.  60 H. 160, 587 P.2d 1220 (1978). 

  From and after July 20, 1998, the amended provisions of this 

section statutorily provide for free standing orders of 

restitution (FSOs) to be imposed, inter alia, as a condition of 

probation; where original sentence of defendant on March 29, 

1995, made restitution a condition of probation, restitution 

could not later be ordered as an FSO pursuant to this section.  

103 H. 269, 81 P.3d 1184 (2003). 

  Where a case predates July 20, 1998, the effective date of 

amendments to this section, a free standing order of restitution 

(FSO) could have been separately and independently imposed at 

the time of a defendant's original sentencing, in addition to 

any other sentence such as probation or imprisonment; however, 

an FSO could not be imposed as a modification of a probation 

condition, or as a new term of probation following revocation, 

or otherwise.  103 H. 269, 81 P.3d 1184 (2003). 

  Mentioned:  55 H. 632, 525 P.2d 1119 (1974). 

 

__________ 

§706-644 Commentary: 

 

1.  See H.R.S. §712-5. 

 

2.  See id. §§712-1 and 712-3. 

 

" §706-645  Revocation of fine or restitution.  (1)  A 

defendant who has been sentenced to pay a fine or restitution 

and who is not in contumacious default in the payment thereof 

may at any time petition the court which sentenced the defendant 

for a revocation of the fine or restitution or of any unpaid 

portion thereof. 



 (2)  If it appears to the satisfaction of the court that 

the circumstances which warranted the imposition of the fine or 

restitution have changed, or that it would otherwise be unjust 

to require payment, the court may revoke the fine or restitution 

or the unpaid portion thereof in whole or in part.  Prior to 

revocation, the court shall afford the prosecuting attorney an 

opportunity to be heard. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 

314, §37; gen ch 1992] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-645 

 

  This section allows a defendant, who is not in contumacious 

default, to voluntarily appear and seek the relief that would be 

accorded to the defendant if the defendant's appearance were 

involuntary under §706-644. 

 

" §706-646  Victim restitution.  (1)  As used in this 

section, "victim" includes any of the following: 

 (a) The direct victim of a crime including a business 

entity, trust, or governmental entity; 

 (b) If the victim dies as a result of the crime, a 

surviving relative of the victim as defined in chapter 

351; 

 (c) A governmental entity that has reimbursed the victim 

for losses arising as a result of the crime or paid 

for medical care provided to the victim as a result of 

the crime; or 

 (d) Any duly incorporated humane society or duly 

incorporated society for the prevention of cruelty to 

animals, contracted with the county or State to 

enforce animal-related statutes or ordinances, that 

impounds, holds, or receives custody of a pet animal 

pursuant to section 711-1109.1, 711-1109.2, or 

711-1110.5; provided that this section does not apply 

to costs that have already been contracted and 

provided for by the counties or State. 

 (2)  The court shall order the defendant to make 

restitution for reasonable and verified losses suffered by the 

victim or victims as a result of the defendant's offense when 

requested by the victim.  The court shall order restitution to 

be paid to the crime victim compensation commission if the 

victim has been given an award for compensation under chapter 

351.  If the court orders payment of a fine in addition to 

restitution or a compensation fee, or both, the payment of 

restitution and compensation fee shall be made pursuant to 

section 706-651. 



 (3)  In ordering restitution, the court shall not consider 

the defendant's financial ability to make restitution in 

determining the amount of restitution to order.  The court, 

however, shall consider the defendant's financial ability to 

make restitution for the purpose of establishing the time and 

manner of payment.  The court shall specify the time and manner 

in which restitution is to be paid.  While the defendant is in 

the custody of the department of public safety, restitution 

shall be collected pursuant to chapter 353 and any court-ordered 

payment schedule shall be suspended.  Restitution shall be a 

dollar amount that is sufficient to reimburse any victim fully 

for losses, including but not limited to: 

 (a) Full value of stolen or damaged property, as 

determined by replacement costs of like property, or 

the actual or estimated cost of repair, if repair is 

possible; 

 (b) Medical expenses; and 

 (c) Funeral and burial expenses incurred as a result of 

the crime. 

 (4)  The restitution ordered shall not affect the right of 

a victim to recover under section 351-33 or in any manner 

provided by law; provided that any amount of restitution 

actually recovered by the victim under this section shall be 

deducted from any award under section 351-33. [L 1998, c 269, pt 

of §1; am L 1999, c 18, §17; am L 2006, c 230, §22; am L 2012, c 

211, §5; am L 2013, c 207, §1; am L 2016, c 231, §25] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-646 

 

  Act 269, Session Laws 1998, added this section and §706-647 to 

allow victims of crime to enforce a criminal restitution order 

in the same manner as a civil judgment.  This section also 

includes within the definition of "victim" a governmental entity 

which has reimbursed the victim for losses arising as a result 

of the crime, and allows the court to order restitution to be 

paid to the criminal injuries compensation commission if the 

victim has been given an award for compensation by the 

commission.  Under current law, a defendant may be required by 

the court to pay restitution for losses caused to the victim.  

Collection of the restitution was left to governmental entities 

such as the judiciary, paroling authority, and department of 

public safety; these entities often were able to collect only a 

small fraction of the amount.  Moreover, although the criminal 

injuries compensation commission helped victims by providing 

some compensation, victims of property crimes and some violent 

crimes were ineligible for any compensation from the commission.  

Furthermore, although a victim may bring a civil action against 



the defendant, the process was costly and time-consuming.  The 

legislature believed that victims should have a "fast track" 

ability to be compensated for their losses by allowing victims 

to enforce the criminal restitution order as a civil judgment, 

using all of the civil collection remedies.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 89, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

3008. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended this section to, among 

other things, require that when restitution is ordered, the 

amount ordered is not based on the defendant's financial ability 

to make restitution, but the defendant's financial ability to 

make restitution [shall] be considered in establishing the time 

and manner of payment.  House Standing Committee Report No. 665-

06. 

  Act 211, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by making a 

conforming amendment to include medical assistance provided by 

the State as an expense for which restitution may be ordered to 

conform with amendments made to other sections in the Hawaii 

Revised Statutes by Act 211.  The legislature found that the 

medicaid program's ability to recover moneys from third parties 

to which it was entitled must be strengthened to maintain the 

viability of the medicaid program.  Act 211 would assist the 

medicaid program in recovering those moneys, thereby reducing 

the burden on the program imposed by third parties and helping 

to ensure that the program is sustainable.  Senate Standing 

Committee Report No. 3314. 

  Act 207, Session Laws 2013, amended subsection (1) by 

expanding the definition of "victim" to:  (1) include duly 

incorporated humane societies or duly incorporated societies for 

the prevention of cruelty to animals, contracted with the county 

or State, in order to provide those societies with restitution 

for reasonable and verified losses suffered; and (2) provide 

that duly incorporated humane societies or duly incorporated 

societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals, contracted 

with the county or State, should not receive restitution as a 

victim for costs that have already been contracted and provided 

for by the counties or State.  The legislature found that in a 

recent decision, the circuit court of the first circuit denied 

restitution to the Hawaiian Humane Society for their expenses 

incurred in caring for one hundred fifty-three dogs previously 

subjected to animal cruelty in the second degree.  The court 

held that the Hawaiian Humane Society was not a government 

agency or a "direct victim" of the crime committed.  Although 

the Hawaiian Humane Society assumed care of the dogs and became 

the legal owner of all of the dogs upon forfeiture proceedings, 

the court held that it was not the "actual owner" and was not 

entitled to restitution under this section.  Act 207 provided 



clear language to allow any duly incorporated humane society 

contracted with a county or State to receive restitution for 

expenses incurred when caring for an animal as a result of 

animal forfeiture or impoundment.  Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 1294, Conference Committee Report No. 19. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsections (2) and (3) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Defendant's argument that a crime victim who received 

indemnification from an insurer did not suffer a "loss" within 

the meaning of this section was without merit; the only 

exception for or reduction of restitution plainly stated in this 

section is that any amount actually recovered by the victim from 

the criminal should be deducted from the amount the victim might 

recover from the crime victim compensation special fund pursuant 

to §351-33.  121 H. 135 (App.), 214 P.3d 1125 (2009). 

  Trial court properly ordered defendant to repay the full 

amount of losses to employer without reduction for amounts paid 

by insurance, which furthered the rehabilitative purposes of 

this section to the greatest extent possible; if defendant was 

not required to pay any restitution, defendant would not have 

righted the wrong defendant committed and no rehabilitative 

purpose would be achieved; the interests of justice would not be 

served by allowing a thief to retain or otherwise benefit from 

the spoils of the thief's crime simply because the thief picked 

a victim who was prudent enough to have obtained insurance.  121 

H. 135 (App.), 214 P.3d 1125 (2009). 

  Where defendant was ordered to pay restitution to employer, 

the direct victim of defendant's crime, not employer's insurer, 

defendant's sentence complied with subsection (1).  121 H. 135 

(App.), 214 P.3d 1125 (2009). 

  Where (1) traffic accident victim, and not defendant, caused 

the accident, (2) it appeared that victim's vehicle flipped over 

on its roof causing victim's immediate death upon impact, and 

(3) there was no evidence in the record that defendant's 

criminal misconduct of failing to remain at the scene of the 

accident, provide information, and render reasonable assistance 

pursuant to §§291C-12 and 291C-14 caused victim's injuries or 

death, no nexus between defendant's conduct and victim's 

injuries and death had been demonstrated; thus, restitution 

could not be imposed under this section.  121 H. 191 (App.), 216 

P.3d 117 (2009). 



  District court erred by ordering defendant to pay restitution 

for victim's lost wages under subsection (3); restitution for 

wage loss was contrary to the legislative intent behind this 

section, and thus, lost wages were not compensable as 

restitution.  130 H. 332 (App.), 310 P.3d 1033 (2013). 

  In light of this section's requirement that the restitution 

amount be "reasonable and verified" and that the victim is in 

the best position to provide information regarding and 

verification of his or her losses caused by the defendant, where 

restitution is contested, the burden to present a prima facie 

showing regarding restitution request is best placed on the 

prosecution who brings the restitution motion on behalf of the 

victim of the crime.  130 H. 332 (App.), 310 P.3d 1033 (2013). 

  Portion of restitution award for medical expenses vacated and 

remanded where district court found there was a basis in 

evidence to conclude defendant caused injury and resultant 

expenses to victim, while recognizing that victim had a 

preexisting neck condition and had been receiving treatment, but 

ruled no apportionment was possible where no expert medical 

opinion or competent medical evidence was presented; conclusion 

was at odds with the court's findings regarding the worsening of 

the victim's condition and consequential change in victim's 

medical treatment and based on a misconception that imposition 

of all medical expenses could be made on defendant where there 

was insufficient evidence upon which to base an apportionment.  

130 H. 332 (App.), 310 P.3d 1033 (2013). 

 

" §706-647  Civil enforcement.  (1)  A certified or 

exemplified copy of an order of any court of this State for 

payment of a fine or restitution pursuant to section 706-605 may 

be filed in the office of the clerk of an appropriate court of 

this State as a special proceeding without the assessment of a 

filing fee or surcharge.  The order, whether as an independent 

order, as part of a judgment and sentence, or as a condition of 

probation or deferred plea, shall be enforceable in the same 

manner as a civil judgment. 

 (2)  In the event the victim has received or applied for 

reimbursement from any governmental entity, the victim named in 

the order or the victim's attorney shall also mail notice of the 

filing to the governmental entity providing reimbursement and 

shall file proof of mailing with the clerk. 

 (3)  Fees for docketing, transcription, or other 

enforcement proceedings shall be as provided by law for 

judgments of a court of this State. [L 1998, c 269, pt of §1; am 

L 2000, c 113, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-647 



 

  Act 269, Session Laws 1998, added this section and §706-646 to 

allow victims of crime to enforce a criminal restitution order 

in the same manner as a civil judgment.  Under current law, a 

defendant may be required by the court to pay restitution for 

losses caused to the victim.  Collection of the restitution was 

left to governmental entities such as the judiciary, paroling 

authority, and department of public safety; these entities often 

were able to collect only a small fraction of the amount.  

Moreover, although the criminal injuries compensation commission 

helped victims by providing some compensation, victims of 

property crimes and some violent crimes were ineligible for any 

compensation from the commission.  Furthermore, although a 

victim may bring a civil action against the defendant, the 

process was costly and time-consuming.  The legislature believed 

that victims should have a "fast track" ability to be 

compensated for their losses by allowing victims to enforce the 

criminal restitution order as a civil judgment, using all of the 

civil collection remedies.  Conference Committee Report No. 89. 

  Act 113, Session Laws 2000, amended this section to authorize 

the waiver of filing fees when victims of crime seek civil 

enforcement of court-ordered restitution.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 40. 

 

" §706-648  Probation services fee.  (1)  The court, when 

sentencing a defendant to probation or granting deferral of a 

plea under section 853-1, shall order the defendant to pay a 

probation services fee.  The amount of the fee shall be as 

follows: 

 (a) $150, when the term of probation or period of deferral 

is for more than one year; or 

 (b) $75, when the term of probation or period of deferral 

is for one year or less; 

provided that no fee shall be ordered when the court determines 

that the defendant is unable to pay the fee. 

 (2)  The entire fee ordered or assessed shall be payable 

forthwith by cash, check, or by a credit card approved by the 

court.  When a defendant is also ordered to pay a fine, make 

restitution, pay a crime victim compensation fee, or pay other 

fees in addition to the probation services fee under subsection 

(1), payments by the defendant shall be made pursuant to section 

706-651. 

 (3)  Any defendant received for supervision pursuant to 

chapter 353B shall be assessed a probation services fee pursuant 

to this section. 

 (4)  The defendant shall pay the fee to the clerk of the 

court.  The fee shall be deposited with the director of finance 



who shall transmit the fee to the probation services special 

fund pursuant to section 706-649. [L 2000, c 205, pt of §2; am L 

2001, c 55, §29; am L 2004, c 78, §2; am L 2012, c 295, §1; am L 

2016, c 231, §26] 

 

Note 

 

  The 2012 amendment shall not apply to any defendant granted a 

deferred acceptance of guilty or no contest plea before July 9, 

2012.  L 2012, c 295, §3. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-648 

 

  Act 205, Session Laws 2000, added this section to require a 

court, when sentencing a defendant to probation, to order the 

defendant to pay a probation services fee.  The legislature 

found that this was necessary to help defray the costs of 

administering probation services.  Conference Committee Report 

No. 45, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3375. 

  Act 78, Session Laws 2004, amended this section to change the 

reference to the Interstate Parole and Probation Compact 

codified as part III of chapter 353 and repealed by Act 78, to 

reflect the new Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Adult 

Offenders, codified as chapter 353B.  House Standing Committee 

Report No. 176-04. 

  Act 295, Session Laws 2012, amended this section to authorize 

the courts to assess a fee for probation services to all 

offenders under the supervision of the adult client services 

branch, including those granted deferred acceptance of guilty 

plea or deferred acceptance of nolo contendere plea, to hold 

offenders accountable for their actions and make them 

responsible for paying for some of their supervision costs.  The 

legislature found that in 2000, it established probation 

services fees to help defray the costs of administering 

probation services.  However, this fee could not be ordered for 

those offenders who are granted deferrals.  Act 295 would allow 

the courts to collect probation services fees from offenders 

placed on deferral to make them accountable for their actions 

and to help pay for their supervision costs, and addressed the 

Judiciary's need for additional revenue to meet the rising costs 

of supervising offenders that are not covered by the general 

fund.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2344. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (2) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 



" §706-649  Probation services special fund.  (1)  There is 

established in the state treasury a special fund to be known as 

the probation services special fund.  All probation services 

fees collected under section 706-648 shall be deposited into 

this fund. 

 (2)  Moneys in the probation services special fund shall be 

used by the judiciary to: 

 (a) Monitor and enforce compliance with the terms and 

conditions of probation and other supervision programs 

for defendants; and 

 (b) Support other duties and activities related to the 

supervision of defendants. [L 2000, c 205, pt of §2; 

am L 2004, c 10, §11; am L 2012, c 303, §2] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-649 

 

  Act 10, Session Laws 2004, amended this section by removing 

the reference to the probation services special fund's exemption 

under §§36-27 and 36-30, to make this section consistent with 

the amendments made to §§36-27 and 36-30 by L 2003, c 179.  Act 

179, Session Laws 2003, amended §§36-27 and 36-30 by removing 

the exemption of certain special funds, among them the probation 

services special fund under this section, from paying the costs 

of central service operations of government and administrative 

expenses incurred by the departments responsible for the 

operations supported by the special funds.  However, this 

section was not amended and still contained language exempting 

the fund from these expenses.  House Standing Committee Report 

No. 1015-04. 

  Act 303, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by specifying 

that moneys in the probation services special fund be used by 

the Judiciary to monitor and enforce the compliance of probation 

terms and other supervision programs for defendants, and support 

other duties and activities related to the supervision of 

defendants.  The legislature found that in 2008, it authorized 

the Judiciary and the Hawaii paroling authority to asses a fee 

for each application made by a parolee or probationer for a 

transfer out of the State to the mainland, and required that the 

fees collected be deposited into the general fund.  During that 

same year, the legislature established a full-time position for 

an interstate coordinator to manage these transfer activities, 

but did not fund this position.  Although the interstate 

coordinator position was eventually funded and filled through 

monies from the probation services special fund, additional 

revenue was needed to support the cost of an interstate 

coordinator.  The interstate coordinator is an important 

position within the State's interstate compact office because 



the coordinator oversees all interstate matters and serves as 

the primary contact for Hawaii probation and parole staff and 

mainland staff to ensure the accurate screening and timely 

processing of all transfer requests.  Act 303 would allow the 

interstate transfer fees to be deposited into the probation 

services special fund to help defray the costs of an interstate 

coordinator and other related expenses, and clarified the 

purposes of the probation services special fund.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2338, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 3278. 

 

" §706-650  Drug demand reduction assessments; special fund.  

(1)  In addition to any disposition authorized by chapter 706 or 

853, any person who is: 

 (a) Convicted of an offense under part IV of chapter 712, 

except sections 712-1250.5 and 712-1257; 

 (b) Convicted under section 707-702.5; 

 (c) Convicted of a felony or misdemeanor offense under 

part IV of chapter 329; 

 (d) Convicted under section 291-3.1, 291-3.2, 291-3.3, 

291E-61, or 291E-61.5; 

 (e) Found in violation of part III of chapter 291E; or 

 (f) Charged with any offense under paragraphs (a) to (d) 

who has been granted a deferred acceptance of guilty 

or no contest plea; 

shall be ordered to pay a monetary assessment under subsection 

(2), except as provided under subsection (5). 

 (2)  Monetary assessments for individuals subject to 

subsection (1) shall not exceed the following: 

 (a) $3,000 when the offense is a class A felony; 

 (b) $2,000 when the offense is a class B felony; 

 (c) $1,000 when the offense is a class C felony; 

 (d) $500 when the offense is a misdemeanor; or 

 (e) $250 when the person has been found guilty of an 

offense under section 712-1249, 291-3.1, 291-3.2, 291-

3.3, 291E-61, or has been found in violation of part 

III of chapter 291E. 

Notwithstanding sections 706-640 and 706-641 and any other law 

to the contrary, the assessments provided by this section shall 

be in addition to and not in lieu of, and shall not be used to 

offset or reduce, any fine authorized or required by law and 

shall be paid pursuant to section 706-651. 

 (3)  There is established a special fund to be known as the 

"drug demand reduction assessments special fund" to be 

administered by the department of health.  The disbursement of 

money from the drug demand reduction assessments special fund 



shall be used to supplement substance abuse treatment and other 

substance abuse demand reduction programs. 

 (4)  All monetary assessments paid and interest accrued on 

funds collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited into 

the drug demand reduction assessments special fund. 

 (5)  If the court determines that the person has the 

ability to pay the monetary assessment and is eligible for 

probation or will not be sentenced to incarceration, unless 

otherwise required by law, the court may order the person to 

undergo a substance abuse treatment program at the person's 

expense.  If the person undergoes a substance abuse treatment 

program at the person's expense, the court may waive or reduce 

the amount of the monetary assessment. Upon a showing by the 

person that the person lacks the financial ability to pay all or 

part of the monetary assessment, the court may waive or reduce 

the amount of the monetary assessment. [L 1995, c 205, §§1, 4; 

am L 1996, c 7, §1; am L 1998, c 152, §3; am L 2001, c 116, §1; 

am L 2004, c 152, §1; am L 2016, c 231, §27] 

 

Note 

 

  Transfer of certain interest earnings to general fund until 

June 30, 2015. L 2009, c 79, §30(a)(40). 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-650 

 

  Act 152, Session Laws 2004, made permanent the drug demand 

reduction assessments enacted in Act 205, Session Laws 1995, and 

also, among other things, expanded the number of offenses for 

which the monetary assessments will be imposed; made the 

monetary assessments mandatory; specified that, in addition to 

restitution to the victim, probation and crime victim 

compensation fees shall also be paid before payment of the 

assessment; gave the court the discretion to order the offender 

to undergo substance abuse treatment at the offender's expense 

if the court determines that the offender is eligible for 

probation or will not be sentenced to prison; and provided that 

the court may waive or reduce the amount of the assessment if 

the offender undergoes treatment at the offender's expense or 

upon a showing that the offender lacks the financial ability to 

pay all or part of the assessment.  House Standing Committee 

Report No. 1245-04. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended this section to implement 

recommendations made by the Penal Code Review Committee convened 

pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 



" §706-650.5  Human trafficking victim services fund.  (1)  

In addition to any disposition authorized by chapter 706, any 

individual who is: 

 (a) Convicted of an offense under part VIII of chapter 

707; or 

 (b) Convicted of an offense under part I of chapter 712; 

shall be ordered to pay a fee under subsection (2). 

 (2)  Fees for individuals subject to subsection (1) shall 

not exceed the following: 

 (a) $5,000 when the offense is a class A felony; 

 (b) $2,500 when the offense is a class B felony; 

 (c) $1,000 when the offense is a class C felony; 

 (d) $500 when the offense is a misdemeanor; or 

 (e) $250 when the offense is a petty misdemeanor. 

 (3)  There is established within the state treasury a 

special fund to be known as the human trafficking victim 

services fund to be administered by the department of labor and 

industrial relations.  The disbursement of money from the human 

trafficking victim services fund shall be used to supplement 

programs, grants, or purchase of service contracts that support 

or provide comprehensive services to victims of labor 

trafficking crimes under part VIII of chapter 707, or victims of 

trafficking related to crimes under part I of chapter 712.  

Moneys in the special fund shall be used for new or existing 

programs, grants, or purchase of service contracts and shall not 

supplant any other moneys previously allocated to these 

programs, grants, or purchase of service contracts. 

 (4)  All fees paid and interest accrued on funds collected 

pursuant to this section shall be deposited into the human 

trafficking victim services fund. 

 (5)  When a defendant is ordered to make payments in 

addition to the human trafficking victim services fee authorized 

under subsection (2), payments by the defendant shall be made 

pursuant to section 706-651. 

 (6)  The department of labor and industrial relations shall 

submit to the legislature no later than twenty days prior to the 

convening of each regular session a written annual report that 

provides the following: 

 (a) An accounting of the receipts of and expenditures from 

the human trafficking victim services fund; and 

 (b) Any recommendations to improve support of and services 

to victims of labor trafficking crimes under part VIII 

of chapter 707, or victims of trafficking related to 

crimes under part I of chapter 712. [L 2014, c 119, 

§1; am L 2016, c 231, §28] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-650.5 



 

  Act 119, Session Laws 2014, added this section to impose a 

human trafficking victim services fee upon individuals who are 

convicted of certain trafficking offenses and to establish the 

human trafficking victim services fund, to provide support and 

services to human trafficking victims.  The legislature found 

that existing law did not provide a source of revenue to support 

and provide services to human trafficking victims who often 

require access to basic and life-sustaining services, including 

toiletries and food, and may require long-term access to stable 

and supportive environments, such as licensed residential 

treatment facilities.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

3043, Conference Committee Report No. 97-14. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (5) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

" [§706-651]  Payments by defendant; order of priority.  When 

a defendant is ordered to make payments pursuant to chapters 

351, 706, 846F, and 853, or as otherwise provided by law, 

payments shall be made in the following order of priority: 

 (1) Restitution; 

 (2) Crime victims compensation fee; 

 (3) Probation services fee; 

 (4) Human trafficking victim services fee; 

 (5) Other fees, including but not limited to internet 

crimes against children fee and drug demand reduction 

assessment fee; 

 (6) DNA analysis monetary assessment; and 

 (7) Fines. [L 2016, c 231, §14] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-651 

 

 Act 231, Session Laws 2016, added this section, which 

establishes the priority for payments that a defendant is 

ordered to make, including restitution, crime victims 

compensation fee, probation services fee, human trafficking 

victims services fees, DNA analysis monetary assessment, and 

fines.  Conference Committee Report No. 138-16. 

 

"PART IV.  IMPRISONMENT 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  The Abandonment of Punishment.  16 HBJ, no. 2, at 63 (1981). 

 



 §706-656  Terms of imprisonment for first and second degree 

murder and attempted first and second degree murder.  (1)  

Persons eighteen years of age or over at the time of the offense 

who are convicted of first degree murder or first degree 

attempted murder shall be sentenced to life imprisonment without 

the possibility of parole. 

 As part of such sentence, the court shall order the 

director of public safety and the Hawaii paroling authority to 

prepare an application for the governor to commute the sentence 

to life imprisonment with parole at the end of twenty years of 

imprisonment; provided that persons who are repeat offenders 

under section 706-606.5 shall serve at least the applicable 

mandatory minimum term of imprisonment. 

 Persons under the age of eighteen years at the time of the 

offense who are convicted of first degree murder or first degree 

attempted murder shall be sentenced to life imprisonment with 

the possibility of parole. 

 (2)  Except as provided in section 706-657, pertaining to 

enhanced sentence for second degree murder, persons convicted of 

second degree murder and attempted second degree murder shall be 

sentenced to life imprisonment with possibility of parole.  The 

minimum length of imprisonment shall be determined by the Hawaii 

paroling authority; provided that persons who are repeat 

offenders under section 706-606.5 shall serve at least the 

applicable mandatory minimum term of imprisonment. 

 If the court imposes a sentence of life imprisonment 

without possibility of parole pursuant to section 706-657, as 

part of that sentence, the court shall order the director of 

public safety and the Hawaii paroling authority to prepare an 

application for the governor to commute the sentence to life 

imprisonment with parole at the end of twenty years of 

imprisonment; provided that persons who are repeat offenders 

under section 706-606.5 shall serve at least the applicable 

mandatory minimum term of imprisonment. [L 1986, c 314, §39; am 

L 1987, c 181, §6 and c 338, §10; am L 1989, c 211, §8; am L 

1993, c 271, §2; am L 1996, c 15, §1; am L 2014, c 202, §2] 

 

Note 

 

  The 2014 amendment applies to proceedings arising on or after 

July 2, 2014 and to proceedings that were begun but not 

concluded before July 2, 2014.  L 2014, c 202, §6. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-656 

 

  Act 271, Session Laws 1993, amended this section to provide 

that in cases designated under §706-657, the person may be 



sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of parole.  

The legislature felt that the court should have the discretion 

to determine when the circumstances of the murder justify the 

enhanced sentence, and that this discretion should be limited to 

those situations demonstrating exceptional depravity.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 1171, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 689. 

  Act 202, Session Laws 2014, amended subsection (1) by applying 

a sentence of life imprisonment without the possibility of 

parole to persons eighteen years of age or over at the time of 

the offense who are convicted of first degree murder or first 

degree attempted murder; and requiring that persons under 

eighteen years of age at the time of the offense who are 

convicted of first degree murder or first degree attempted 

murder are sentenced to life imprisonment with the possibility 

of parole.  The legislature found that Hawaii is one of the few 

states that still allow life sentences without the possibility 

of parole for juvenile offenders.  International law prohibits 

life sentence without parole for juvenile offenders under the 

age of eighteen at the time the crime is committed.  The United 

States is the only country in the world that sentences its 

children to a lifetime of incarceration.   In Miller v. Alabama, 

132 S. Ct. 2455 (2012), the U.S. Supreme Court held that 

mandatory life sentences without parole for those under the age 

of eighteen at the time of their crimes violate the Eighth 

Amendment's prohibition on cruel and unusual punishments.  The 

legislature also recognized that mitigating factors may exist 

for cases involving a juvenile offender.  In Miller, the Supreme 

Court stated that youth is a moment and "condition of life when 

a person may be most susceptible to influence and to 

psychological damage."  Therefore, the legislature encouraged 

the sentencing judge to take into account and consider any 

mitigating factors for cases involving a juvenile offender.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3248, Conference Committee 

Report No. 56-14. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  For sentencing purposes, conspiracy to commit second degree 

murder is a class C felony under §706-610 and subject to the 

sentencing provisions of §706-660, not this section.  84 H. 280, 

933 P.2d 617 (1997). 

  Sentence for murder not an extended term.  6 H. App. 409, 723 

P.2d 186 (1986). 

 

" §706-657  Enhanced sentence for second degree murder.  The 

court may sentence a person who was eighteen years of age or 



over at the time of the offense and who has been convicted of 

murder in the second degree to life imprisonment without the 

possibility of parole under section 706-656 if the court finds 

that the murder was especially heinous, atrocious, or cruel, 

manifesting exceptional depravity or that the person was 

previously convicted of the offense of murder in the first 

degree or murder in the second degree in this State or was 

previously convicted in another jurisdiction of an offense that 

would constitute murder in the first degree or murder in the 

second degree in this State.  As used in this section, the 

phrase "especially heinous, atrocious, or cruel, manifesting 

exceptional depravity" means a conscienceless or pitiless crime 

which is unnecessarily torturous to a victim and "previously 

convicted" means a sentence imposed at the same time or a 

sentence previously imposed which has not been set aside, 

reversed, or vacated. 

 Hearings to determine the grounds for imposing an enhanced 

sentence for second degree murder may be initiated by the 

prosecutor or by the court on its own motion.  The court shall 

not impose an enhanced term unless the ground therefor has been 

established at a hearing after the conviction of the defendant 

and on written notice to the defendant of the ground proposed.  

Subject to the provision of section 706-604, the defendant shall 

have the right to hear and controvert the evidence against the 

defendant and to offer evidence upon the issue. 

 The provisions pertaining to commutation in section 706-

656(2), shall apply to persons sentenced pursuant to this 

section. [L 1993, c 271, §1; am L 1996, c 15, §2; am L 2014, c 

202, §3] 

 

Note 

 

  The 2014 amendment applies to proceedings arising on or after 

July 2, 2014 and to proceedings that were begun but not 

concluded before July 2, 2014.  L 2014, c 202, §6. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-657 

 

  Act 271, Session Laws 1993, added this section to give 

discretion to the court to sentence an individual, in a second 

degree murder case evidencing exceptional depravity, to life 

imprisonment without possibility of parole under §706-656.  The 

legislature felt that this discretion should be limited to those 

situations in which the circumstances demonstrate that the 

individual who committed the crime is exceptionally depraved, 

and therefore should receive the enhanced sentence.  House 



Standing Committee Report No. 1171, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 689. 

  Act 15, Session Laws 1996, amended this section to provide 

that a court may sentence a person convicted of murder in the 

second degree to life imprisonment without the possibility of 

parole, if the person had a prior conviction for murder.  The 

Act addressed the problem encountered by the prosecution in 

Briones v. State, 74 H. 442 (1993), in attempting to obtain a 

conviction of the defendant for murder in the first degree for 

killing two persons.  The supreme court held in Briones v. State 

that the defendant must have had the prior intent or state of 

mind to kill two persons before the defendant killed the first 

person, for a conviction for murder in the first degree, which 

has a sentence of life imprisonment without parole.  The 

legislature's intent was to permit a court to sentence a 

defendant to life imprisonment without the possibility of parole 

when the defendant commits two or more murders.  Senate Standing 

Committee Report No. 2592, House Standing Committee Report No. 

221-96. 

  Act 202, Session Laws 2014, amended this section to apply the 

sentencing guidelines under the section to persons eighteen 

years of age or over at the time of the offense.  The 

legislature found that Hawaii is one of the few states that 

still allow life sentences without the possibility of parole for 

juvenile offenders.  International law prohibits life sentences 

without parole for juvenile offenders under the age of eighteen 

at the time the crime is committed.  The United States is the 

only country in the world that sentences its children to a 

lifetime of incarceration.  In Miller v. Alabama, 132 S. Ct. 

2455 (2012), the U.S. Supreme Court held that mandatory life 

sentences without parole for those under the age of eighteen at 

the time of their crimes violate the Eighth Amendment's 

prohibition on cruel and unusual punishments.  The Supreme Court 

reasoned that children are constitutionally different from 

adults for sentencing purposes, and because juveniles have 

diminished culpability and greater prospects for reform, they 

are less deserving of the most severe punishments.  The Supreme 

Court concluded that the distinctive attributes of youth 

diminish the penological justifications for imposing the 

harshest sentences on juvenile offenders, even when they commit 

terrible crimes.  Act 202 recognized the constitutional 

differences relating to sentencing between juvenile and adult 

offenders by eliminating the sentences of life imprisonment 

without the possibility of parole for juvenile offenders.   

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3248, Conference Committee 

Report No. 56-14. 

 



Case Notes 

 

  The findings necessary to impose an enhanced sentence under 

this section must be made by the trier of fact; if the 

prosecution elects to seek an enhanced sentence pursuant to this 

section, it must be alleged in the complaint.  92 H. 19, 986 

P.2d 306 (1999). 

  Section requires State to prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, 

that the victim suffered unnecessary torture and that the 

defendant intentionally or knowingly inflicted unnecessary 

torture upon the victim; "unnecessary torture" means the 

infliction of extreme physical or mental suffering, beyond that 

which necessarily accompanies the underlying killing.  93 H. 

224, 999 P.2d 230 (2000). 

  Trial court erred in imposing enhanced sentence under this 

section where court's findings of fact regarding whether victim 

screamed or incurred defensive wounds were clearly erroneous and 

there was no substantial evidence that victim suffered 

unnecessary torture.  93 H. 224, 999 P.2d 230 (2000). 

  Jury's findings whether murder was "especially heinous, 

atrocious, or cruel, manifesting exceptional depravity"; 

unanimity requirement clarified.  95 H. 1, 18 P.3d 203 (2001). 

  Section not unconstitutionally vague as section provides 

adequate guidance to a fact-finder charged with determining 

whether a murder was "especially heinous, atrocious, or cruel, 

manifesting exceptional depravity" and provides adequate notice 

to the person of ordinary intelligence that an enhanced sentence 

may be imposed if he or she intentionally or knowingly inflicts 

unnecessary torture on the murder victim and the victim in fact 

suffers unnecessary torture.  95 H. 1, 18 P.3d 203 (2001). 

 

" §706-659  Sentence of imprisonment for class A felony.  

Notwithstanding part II; sections 706-605, 706-606, 706-606.5, 

706-660.1, 706-661, and 706-662; and any other law to the 

contrary, a person who has been convicted of a class A felony, 

except class A felonies defined in chapter 712, part IV, or 

section 707-702, shall be sentenced to an indeterminate term of 

imprisonment of twenty years without the possibility of 

suspension of sentence or probation.  The minimum length of 

imprisonment shall be determined by the Hawaii paroling 

authority in accordance with section 706-669.  A person who has 

been convicted of a class A felony defined in chapter 712, part 

IV, or section 707-702, may be sentenced to an indeterminate 

term of imprisonment, except as provided for in section 706-

660.1 relating to the use of firearms in certain felony offenses 

and section 706-606.5 relating to repeat offenders.  When 

ordering such a sentence, the court shall impose the maximum 



length of imprisonment which shall be twenty years.  The minimum 

length of imprisonment shall be determined by the Hawaii 

paroling authority in accordance with section 706-669. [L 1980, 

c 294, §1; am L 1994, c 229, §3; am L 2012, c 292, §4] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-659 

 

  Act 294, Session Laws 1980, enacted this section to provide 

for automatic sentence of imprisonment for any person convicted 

of a class A felony.  The legislature stated:  "Your Committee 

feels that the seriousness of class A felonies...merits 

mandatory imprisonment.  This bill effects this purpose by 

denying suspension of sentence and probation as sentencing 

options in class A convictions, but retains, through 

indeterminate sentence, the option of parole by the paroling 

authority in order that unusual extenuating circumstances can be 

given due consideration."  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 

965-80. 

  Act 229, Session Laws 1994, amended this section, inter alia, 

to allow the court to make an exception for a person convicted 

of a class A felony defined in chapter 712, part IV, from the 

mandatory sentence of an indeterminate term of imprisonment 

without the possibility of suspension of sentence or probation.  

The legislature believed that, in certain instances, the public 

is better served by allowing judges some discretion in 

evaluating all appropriate sentencing and treatment alternatives 

available for drug offenders.  Conference Committee Report No. 

62. 

  Act 292, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by exempting 

a person convicted of manslaughter from a mandatory 

indeterminate term of twenty years imprisonment without the 

possibility of suspension of sentence or probation, but allowing 

that person to be sentenced to an indeterminate maximum and 

minimum term of imprisonment to be determined by the court and 

paroling authority respectively.  The legislature noted that 

traffic related fatalities were a serious issue and that persons 

convicted of certain offenses involving traffic fatalities 

should be dealt with accordingly.  The legislature found that 

Act 292 provided clarity regarding the imposition of a term of 

imprisonment, as a condition for probation, for a person 

convicted of manslaughter, and makes this section consistent 

with §706-620(2), which allows for a sentence of probation for 

an offense of manslaughter.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 3229, Conference Committee Report No. 44-12. 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 



  The Protection of Individual Rights Under Hawai‘i's 

Constitution.  14 UH L. Rev. 311 (1992). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Reasonable inference could be drawn that sentencing court 

considered special eight-year term under §706-667 prior to 

sentencing young adult defendant to twenty-year term.  73 H. 

259, 831 P.2d 523 (1992). 

  Although "drug use" is not a prerequisite to eligibility for 

probation under this section, the legislature contemplated, 

consistent with the factors enumerated in §706-621, that the 

trial court would grant probation in cases where strong 

mitigating circumstances favored it.  97 H. 440, 39 P.3d 567 

(2002). 

 

" §706-660  Sentence of imprisonment for class B and C 

felonies; ordinary terms; discretionary terms.  (1)  Except as 

provided in subsection (2), a person who has been convicted of a 

class B or class C felony may be sentenced to an indeterminate 

term of imprisonment except as provided for in section 706-660.1 

relating to the use of firearms in certain felony offenses and 

section 706-606.5 relating to repeat offenders.  When ordering 

such a sentence, the court shall impose the maximum length of 

imprisonment which shall be as follows: 

 (a) For a class B felony--ten years; and 

 (b) For a class C felony--five years. 

The minimum length of imprisonment shall be determined by the 

Hawaii paroling authority in accordance with section 706-669. 

 (2)  A person who has been convicted of a class B or class 

C felony for any offense under part IV of chapter 712 may be 

sentenced to an indeterminate term of imprisonment; provided 

that this subsection shall not apply to sentences imposed under 

sections 706-606.5, 706-660.1, 712-1240.5, 712-1240.8 as that 

section was in effect prior to July 1, 2016, 712-1242, 712-1245, 

712-1249.5, 712-1249.6, 712-1249.7, and 712-1257. 

 When ordering a sentence under this subsection, the court 

shall impose a term of imprisonment, which shall be as follows: 

 (a) For a class B felony--ten years or less, but not less 

than five years; and 

 (b) For a class C felony--five years or less, but not less 

than one year. 

The minimum length of imprisonment shall be determined by the 

Hawaii paroling authority in accordance with section 706-669. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1976, c 92, §8 and c 204, §2; am L 

1980, c 294, §2; am L 1986, c 314, §38; am L 2013, c 280, §2; am 

L 2016, c 231, §29] 



 

COMMENTARY ON §706-660 

 

  This section embodies three important policy determinations of 

the Code. 

  With the exception of special problems calling for extended 

terms of incarceration as provided in subsequent sections, it 

provides for only one possible maximum length of imprisonment 

for each class of felony.  Assuming care is used in designating 

the grade and class of each offense, this should go a long way 

in ameliorating the variety of inconsistent sentences previously 

authorized. 

  In 1965, the legislature enacted a law designed to end 

judicially imposed inconsistent sentences of imprisonment.[1]  

This policy known as true indeterminate sentencing is continued.  

The court's discretion is limited to choosing between 

imprisonment and other modes of sentencing.  Once the court has 

decided to sentence a felon to imprisonment, the actual time of 

release is determined by parole authorities.  Having decided on 

imprisonment, the court must then impose the maximum term 

authorized.[2]  The concept is accepted in California[3] and is 

being proposed in Michigan.[4]  This policy is also in 

substantial accord with the proposed A.B.A. Standards on 

sentencing.[5] 

  Inevitably, there will remain some disparity arising from the 

fact that some judges will be more strongly inclined toward 

granting probation (or other non-imprisonment disposition) than 

others.  The criteria set forth in part II of this chapter, for 

withholding a sentence of imprisonment, are intended to 

alleviate this disparity somewhat.  Moreover, §706-669, 

governing the procedure for determining the actual minimum time 

to be served, provides that the parole board must make an 

initial determination as soon as practicable but, in any event, 

no later than six months following commitment.  Thus, "[g]rossly 

inappropriate denial[s] of probation can in most instances be 

cured fairly promptly through parole, if the circumstances 

favoring release are evident...."[6] 

  Finally, this section embodies a policy of differentiating 

exceptional problems calling for extended terms of 

imprisonment[7] from the problems which the vast majority of 

offenders present.  Most of the felony sentences previously 

authorized in Hawaii were clearly intended to encompass the most 

dangerous offender.  The uniform application of a sentence 

designed to encompass exceptional cases seems clearly 

unwarranted in the cases presented by the vast majority of 

offenders.  This is borne out by the A.B.A.'s recent study: 



 ...[M]any sentences authorized by statute in this country 

are, by comparison to other countries and in terms of the 

needs of the public, excessively long for the vast majority 

of cases.  Their length is undoubtedly the product of 

concern for protection against the most exceptional cases, 

most notably the particularly dangerous offender and the 

professional criminal.  It would be more desirable for the 

penal code to differentiate explicitly between most 

offenders and such exceptional cases, by providing lower, 

more realistic sentences for the former and authorizing a 

special term for the latter.[8] 

  The sentences provided in this section, when compared to the 

extended sentences authorized in subsequent sections, seek to 

achieve the recommended explicit differentiation. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-660 

 

  Act 204, Session Laws 1976, amended the first sentence by 

adding the exception excluding persons convicted of felonies 

involving firearms.  In its report, the Conference Committee 

states that it "intends to require the court in cases of 

felonies where a firearm was used to impose a mandatory term of 

imprisonment" and that nothing contained in the bill "should be 

construed as precluding (a) the court from imposing an 

indeterminate sentence or an extended indeterminate sentence, or 

(b) the Hawaii paroling authority from fixing the minimum term 

of imprisonment at a length greater than the term of 

imprisonment provided for in this bill [706-660.1]."  Conference 

Committee Report Nos. 34 and 35. 

  Act 294, Session Laws 1980, restricted this section to 

sentences for class B and C felonies, eliminating provisions 

relating to class A felonies.  For class A felonies, see §706-

659. 

  Act 280, Session Laws 2013, amended this section by granting a 

sentencing court the discretion to sentence a defendant 

convicted of a class B or class C felony drug offense to a 

prison sentence of a length appropriate to the defendant's 

particular offense and underlying circumstances.  Specifically, 

this Act allows a court to impose a sentence of imprisonment for 

certain class B felonies for not less than five years, and a 

sentence of imprisonment for certain class C felonies for not 

less than one year.  The legislature found that state mandatory 

minimum sentencing laws are being challenged across the nation 

because these laws mandate longer prison sentences regardless of 

whether the sentencing court believes the punishment is 

appropriate based on the circumstances and facts of the case.  

Studies have shown that mandatory minimum sentencing of drug 



users causes an increase in incarceration costs and have a 

disproportionate impact on women and certain racial and ethnic 

groups.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 496, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 1464. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended subsection (2) to 

implement recommendations made by the Penal Code Review 

Committee convened pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 

155, S.D. 1 (2015). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Because criminal solicitation to commit first degree murder is 

a crime declared to be a felony without specification of class 

within meaning of §706-610, it is a class C felony for 

sentencing purposes, subject to the sentencing provisions of 

this section.  84 H. 229, 933 P.2d 66 (1997). 

  For sentencing purposes, conspiracy to commit second degree 

murder is a class C felony under §706-610 and subject to the 

sentencing provisions of this section, not §706-656.  84 H. 280, 

933 P.2d 617 (1997). 

  Where defendant was convicted by the jury of five first-degree 

thefts, each of which defendant was sentenced to ten years' 

incarceration, and pursuant to this section and §706-668.5, five 

ten-year terms running consecutively was the statutory maximum, 

defendant's sentence did not deprive defendant of defendant's 

right to a jury trial as interpreted by the U.S. Supreme Court 

in Apprendi and Blakely.  111 H. 267, 141 P.3d 440 (2006). 

  Upon revocation of probation pursuant to §706-625(3), in light 

of the record, §706-621 and this section, trial court did not 

abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to imprisonment 

"for a term of not more than ten years with credit for time 

served".  97 H. 135 (App.), 34 P.3d 1034 (2001). 

  Cited:  56 H. 628, 548 P.2d 632 (1976). 

 

__________ 

§706-660 Commentary: 

 

1.  See H.R.S. §711-76. 

 

2.  It must, however, be remembered that the Code grants the 

court the power to impose an extended term of imprisonment (see 

§706-661). 

 

3.  Cal. Pen. Code §1168. 

 

4.  Prop. Mich. Rev. Cr. Code §1401. 

 



5.  A.B.A. Standards §3.2. 

 

6.  Prop. Mich. Rev. Cr. Code, comments at 130. 

 

7.  Cf. §706-661. 

 

8.  A.B.A. Standards §2.5. 

 

" §706-660.1  Sentence of imprisonment for use of a firearm, 

semiautomatic firearm, or automatic firearm in a felony.  (1)  A 

person convicted of a felony, where the person had a firearm in 

the person's possession or threatened its use or used the 

firearm while engaged in the commission of the felony, whether 

the firearm was loaded or not, and whether operable or not, may 

in addition to the indeterminate term of imprisonment provided 

for the grade of offense be sentenced to a mandatory minimum 

term of imprisonment without possibility of parole or probation 

the length of which shall be as follows: 

 (a) For murder in the second degree and attempted murder 

in the second degree--up to fifteen years; 

 (b) For a class A felony--up to ten years; 

 (c) For a class B felony--up to five years; and 

 (d) For a class C felony--up to three years. 

The sentence of imprisonment for a felony involving the use of a 

firearm as provided in this subsection shall not be subject to 

the procedure for determining minimum term of imprisonment 

prescribed under section 706-669; provided further that a person 

who is imprisoned in a correctional institution as provided in 

this subsection shall become subject to the parole procedure as 

prescribed in section 706-670 only upon the expiration of the 

term of mandatory imprisonment fixed under paragraph (a), (b), 

(c), or (d). 

 (2)  A person convicted of a second firearm felony offense 

as provided in subsection (1) where the person had a firearm in 

the person's possession or threatened its use or used the 

firearm while engaged in the commission of the felony, whether 

the firearm was loaded or not, and whether operable or not, 

shall in addition to the indeterminate term of imprisonment 

provided for the grade of offense be sentenced to a mandatory 

minimum term of imprisonment without possibility of parole or 

probation the length of which shall be as follows: 

 (a) For murder in the second degree and attempted murder 

in the second degree--twenty years; 

 (b) For a class A felony--thirteen years, four months; 

 (c) For a class B felony--six years, eight months; and 

 (d) For a class C felony--three years, four months. 



The sentence of imprisonment for a second felony offense 

involving the use of a firearm as provided in this subsection 

shall not be subject to the procedure for determining a minimum 

term of imprisonment prescribed under section 706-669; provided 

further that a person who is imprisoned in a correctional 

institution as provided in this subsection shall become subject 

to the parole procedure as prescribed in section 706-670 only 

upon expiration of the term of mandatory imprisonment fixed 

under paragraph (a), (b), (c), or (d). 

 (3)  A person convicted of a felony, where the person had a 

semiautomatic firearm or automatic firearm in the person's 

possession or used or threatened its use while engaged in the 

commission of the felony, whether the semiautomatic firearm or 

automatic firearm was loaded or not, and whether operable or 

not, shall in addition to the indeterminate term of imprisonment 

provided for the grade of offense be sentenced to a mandatory 

minimum term of imprisonment without possibility of parole or 

probation the length of which shall be as follows: 

 (a) For murder in the second degree and attempted murder 

in the second degree--twenty years; 

 (b) For a class A felony--fifteen years; 

 (c) For a class B felony--ten years; and 

 (d) For a class C felony--five years. 

The sentence of imprisonment for a felony involving the use of a 

semiautomatic firearm or automatic firearm as provided in this 

subsection shall not be subject to the procedure for determining 

a minimum term of imprisonment prescribed under section 706-669; 

provided further that a person who is imprisoned in a 

correctional institution as provided in this subsection shall 

become subject to the parole procedure as prescribed in section 

706-670 only upon expiration of the term of mandatory 

imprisonment fixed under paragraph (a), (b), (c), or (d). 

 (4)  In this section: 

 "Automatic firearm" has the same meaning defined in section 

134-1. 

 "Firearm" has the same meaning defined in section 134-1 

except that it does not include "semiautomatic firearm" or 

"automatic firearm". 

 "Semiautomatic firearm" means any firearm that uses the 

energy of the explosive in a fixed cartridge to extract a fired 

cartridge and chamber a fresh cartridge with each single pull of 

the trigger. [L 1976, c 204, §3; am L 1987, c 260, §1; am L 

1990, c 195, §5; am L 1992, c 57, §1; gen ch 1992] 

 

Revision Note 

 



  In subsection (4), paragraph designations deleted and 

definitions rearranged pursuant to §23G-15. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-660.1 

 

  Designed to deter the use of firearms in the commission of 

offenses, this section, together with §706-660, is intended to 

require the court to impose a mandatory term of imprisonment in 

cases of felonies involving firearms.  Nothing in this or in 

§706-660, however, is intended to preclude the court from 

imposing indeterminate or extended indeterminate sentences, or 

the paroling authority from fixing minimum terms of 

imprisonment, exceeding the terms provided for in this section.  

Senate Conference Committee Report No. 35, House Conference 

Committee Report No. 34 (1976). 

  Act 260, Session Laws 1987, amended this section by changing 

the conditions under which a mandatory sentence can be imposed.  

A mandatory sentence can be imposed regardless of whether the 

firearm was loaded, operable, or used as a threat.  The 

legislature felt that allowing judicial discretion in imposing a 

mandatory sentence, for the first firearm offense, will address 

concerns that under certain circumstances the mere possession of 

a firearm may not justify a mandatory prison term.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 769, Senate Conference Committee 

Report No. 111, House Conference Committee Report No. 113. 

  Act 195, Session Laws 1990, amended this section to address 

community concerns in regard to the use of "assault weapons."  

Harsh sentences keep these weapons out of the hands of 

criminals.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3058. 

  Act 57, Session Laws 1992, amended this section to conform 

subsection and paragraph designations to the style used in the 

Code.  House Standing Committee Report No. 1198-92, Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 1947. 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  State v. Kumukau:  A Case for the Application of Eighth 

Amendment Proportionality Analysis.  13 UH L. Rev. 577 (1991). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Defendant should be permitted to show that counsel was 

ineffective at time of prior convictions.  65 H. 354, 652 P.2d 

1119 (1982). 

  Imposition of consecutive mandatory minimum terms were 

authorized; however, court imposing the maximum terms 



consecutively may abuse its discretion.  71 H. 218, 787 P.2d 682 

(1990). 

  Defendant who pled no contest to both kidnapping and use of 

firearm in commission of kidnapping was properly sentenced under 

enhanced sentencing statute for former but not latter crime; 

legislature did not intend to impose two mandatory minimum 

sentences for one use of firearm.  72 H. 496, 824 P.2d 107 

(1992). 

  Appellant had a right under the due process clause, article I, 

§5 of the Hawai‘i constitution, to be given reasonable notice of 

the circuit court's intention to apply subsection (a) (1985) in 

sentencing appellant in connection with kidnapping conviction 

and to be afforded the opportunity to be heard with respect 

thereto. 76 H. 517, 880 P.2d 192 (1994). 

  Plain reading of indictment put defendant on notice that 

charges against defendant included possession of a firearm and 

that defendant could face sentencing enhancement under this 

section.  80 H. 327, 909 P.2d 1142 (1996). 

  Subsection (1) interpreted to preclude imposition of enhanced 

sentencing for defendant convicted of robbery where defendant 

did not personally possess, threaten to use, or use firearm 

while engaged in commission of that felony.  80 H. 327, 909 P.2d 

1142 (1996). 

  A sentencing court may order that a mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment imposed under this section be served consecutively 

to a mandatory period of imprisonment imposed under §706-606.5 

in connection with a separate felony conviction arising out of a 

charge contained in the same indictment or complaint.  84 H. 

476, 935 P.2d 1021 (1997). 

  Imposition of mandatory minimum sentences vacated where 

unclear from verdict and record whether jury found defendant 

guilty as principal who killed victims with firearm or as 

accomplice who aided commission of crime in some other way.  85 

H. 462, 946 P.2d 32 (1997). 

  Trial court erred in imposing mandatory minimum term of 

fifteen years under subsection (3) where jury was not instructed 

on the statutory definition of semiautomatic pistol and did not 

expressly find that defendant used a semiautomatic firearm in 

the commission of the robbery.  91 H. 33, 979 P.2d 1059 (1999). 

  Trial court erred in sentencing defendant to mandatory minimum 

terms of imprisonment under subsections (1)(c) and (3)(c) where 

defendant's theft of a firearm was the entire felony; there was 

no underlying felony that defendant committed while possessing 

or using a firearm; as such, defendant's conduct fell outside 

the ambit of this section.  106 H. 441, 106 P.3d 364 (2005). 

  Where legislature intended to punish defendant under both 

§134-6 and this section for use of a firearm in shooting victim, 



the double jeopardy clause of the Hawaii constitution was not 

violated when the trial court imposed a mandatory minimum term 

sentence under this section for attempted second degree murder 

when defendant was also convicted of, and sentenced for, use of 

a firearm in the commission of the separate felony of attempted 

second degree murder.  107 H. 469, 115 P.3d 648 (2005). 

  Section 706-669 required the Hawaii paroling authority to 

conduct its minimum term hearing within six months of 

defendant's commitment to the custody of the director of the 

department of public safety, and the paroling authority was not 

jurisdictionally barred by subsection (1) from fulfilling this 

statutorily imposed duty.  111 H. 35, 137 P.3d 349 (2006). 

  Whether felon being sentenced possessed, used, or threatened 

to use a firearm while engaged in the commission of a class A 

felony is a question of fact to be determined by the court.  7 

H. App. 424, 774 P.2d 246 (1989). 

  Subsection (b) inapplicable where record contained no evidence 

that defendant's prior felony conviction involved possession, 

use, or threat to use firearm; proper sentencing statute was 

subsection (a).  9 H. App. 368, 842 P.2d 267 (1992). 

  Where discussion that defendant was subject to mandatory 

minimum terms of imprisonment under this section was conducted 

at bench outside of defendant's hearing, defendant was not given 

constitutionally required reasonable notice of intended 

application of this section.  82 H. 158 (App.), 920 P.2d 372 

(1996). 

  Mandatory minimum term of imprisonment specified under 

subsection (3) cannot be imposed on a defendant who did not 

personally possess, use or threaten to use firearm, simply on 

the basis of his or her accomplice liability.  84 H. 112 (App.), 

929 P.2d 1362 (1996). 

  Sentencing court must impose the mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment specified under subsection (3) upon filing of 

appropriate motion and finding that defendant had firearm in 

defendant's possession or used or threatened its use while 

engaged in the commission of the felony.  84 H. 112 (App.), 929 

P.2d 1362 (1996). 

  Where use of term "rifle" in complaint did not indicate 

whether weapon used was a semi-automatic or automatic firearm, 

as opposed to one which was not, complaint failed to properly 

allege, and thereby notify defendant of defendant's criminal 

liability under subsection (3)(d).  84 H. 352 (App.), 933 P.2d 

1386 (1997). 

  Trial court erred in sentencing defendant to ten years of 

incarceration with a mandatory minimum term of ten years under 

subsection (3)(c) as convicting defendant of being a felon in 

possession of a firearm pursuant to §134-7(b) and sentencing 



defendant to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment pursuant 

to subsection (3)(c) essentially punished defendant twice for a 

single possession of a firearm; a rational interpretation of 

this section is that the legislature did not intend its 

application for felonies where the entirety of the felonious 

conduct is the use or possession of a firearm.  107 H. 273 

(App.), 112 P.3d 759 (2005). 

 

" §706-660.2  Sentence of imprisonment for offenses against 

children, elder persons, or handicapped persons.  (1)  

Notwithstanding section 706-669, if not subjected to an extended 

term of imprisonment pursuant to section 706-662, a person shall 

be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment without 

possibility of parole as provided in subsection (2) if: 

 (a) The person, in the course of committing or attempting 

to commit a felony, causes the death or inflicts 

serious or substantial bodily injury upon another 

person who is: 

   (i) Sixty years of age or older; 

  (ii) Blind, a paraplegic, or a quadriplegic; or 

  (iii) Eight years of age or younger; and 

 (b) Such disability is known or reasonably should be known 

to the defendant. 

 (2)  The term of imprisonment for a person sentenced 

pursuant to subsection (1) shall be as follows: 

 (a) For murder in the second degree--fifteen years; 

 (b) For a class A felony--six years, eight months; 

 (c) For a class B felony--three years, four months; 

 (d) For a class C felony--one year, eight months. [L 1988, 

c 89, §1; am L 1990, c 67, §8; am L 2015, c 35, §22] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-660.2 

 

  Act 89, Session Laws 1988, added this section to mandate 

harsher penalties for crimes against victims who are less able 

to protect themselves.  The legislature found that passage of 

this section will afford a greater measure of protection for the 

groups designated in this section.  House Standing Committee 

Report No. 459-88, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2544. 

  Act 35, Session Laws 2015, amended this section by adding 

subsection designations and making other technical 

nonsubstantive amendments. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  No error in sentence of life imprisonment with a mandatory 

minimum term of fifteen years for attempted second degree murder 



of infant by abandonment where defendant left infant in danger 

of death by reason of exposure or accident.  73 H. 109, 831 P.2d 

512 (1992). 

  Determination that a defendant is within the class of 

offenders to which this section applies to be made by sentencing 

court after defendant's adjudication of guilt at trial by the 

trier of fact.  82 H. 304, 922 P.2d 358 (1996). 

  As an attempt to commit a crime is an offense of the same 

class and grade as the offense which is attempted, and second 

degree murder committed under the "aggravated circumstances" set 

forth in this section is expressly distinguished from classified 

felonies and, pursuant to §706-610, from unclassified felonies; 

thus, attempted second degree murder is not an "unclassified" 

offense for purposes of sentencing and is not treated as a class 

C felony pursuant to this section.  96 H. 17, 25 P.3d 792 

(2001). 

  Failure to instruct the jury to determine whether infant 

victim was under the age of eight and whether defendant knew it, 

or should have known it, was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt; 

omitted sentencing factor was supported by uncontroverted 

evidence, including defendant's admission, that defendant's 

infant daughter was under the age of eight.  96 H. 17, 25 P.3d 

792 (2001). 

  As defendant could only be sentenced under the options 

available for the offense for which defendant was convicted, 

defendant had only pled guilty to and was convicted of the 

offense of assault in the first degree, and plea was devoid of 

reference to all necessary aggravating circumstances, trial 

court erred in resentencing defendant to an indeterminate ten-

year sentence with a mandatory minimum term of three years and 

four months under this section. 93 H. 189 (App.), 998 P.2d 70 

(2000). 

  Where aggravating circumstance of complainant's age was not 

set forth in the plea agreement or admitted or stipulated to as 

part of the guilty plea, there was an insufficient factual basis 

in the accepted guilty plea to support the mandatory prison term 

under this section.  93 H. 189 (App.), 998 P.2d 70 (2000). 

 

" §706-661  Extended terms of imprisonment.  The court may 

sentence a person who satisfies the criteria for any of the 

categories set forth in section 706-662 to an extended term of 

imprisonment, which shall have a maximum length as follows: 

 (1) For murder in the second degree--life without the 

possibility of parole; 

 (2) For a class A felony--indeterminate life term of 

imprisonment; 



 (3) For a class B felony--indeterminate twenty-year term 

of imprisonment; and 

 (4) For a class C felony--indeterminate ten-year term of 

imprisonment. 

When ordering an extended term sentence, the court shall impose 

the maximum length of imprisonment.  The minimum length of 

imprisonment for an extended term sentence under paragraphs (2), 

(3), and (4) shall be determined by the Hawaii paroling 

authority in accordance with section 706-669. [L 1972, c 9, pt 

of §1; am L 1976, c 92, §8; am L 1999, c 286, §2; am L 2006, c 

230, §§23, 54; am L Sp 2007 2d, c 1, §2] 

 

Applicability of Act 1, Second Special Session of 2007 

 

  L Sp 2007 2d, c 1, §5 provides: 

  "SECTION 5.  This Act shall apply to all sentencing or 

resentencing proceedings pending on or commenced after the 

effective date of this Act [October 31, 2007], whether the 

offense was committed prior to, on, or after the effective date 

of this Act [October 31, 2007].  A defendant whose extended term 

of imprisonment is set aside or invalidated shall be resentenced 

pursuant to this Act upon request of the prosecutor.  This Act 

shall not entitle a defendant who has previously been sentenced 

to an extended term to be resentenced pursuant to the procedures 

set forth in this Act unless the defendant is otherwise legally 

entitled to be resentenced." 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Extended sentence imposed on multiple offender held not cruel 

and unusual punishment.  56 H. 343, 537 P.2d 724 (1975). 

  Breach of plea agreement by prosecutor resulting from 

participation in extended term hearing may be remedied by remand 

for resentencing by another judge.  60 H. 93, 588 P.2d 412 

(1978); 60 H. 104, 588 P.2d 408 (1978). 

  Participation by prosecutor in hearing for extended term 

sentencing, even though pursuant to order of court, constituted 

breach of plea agreement.  60 H. 93, 588 P.2d 412 (1978). 

  No abuse of discretion in court sentencing defendant to 

extended terms of imprisonment under this section and §706-662 

where, inter alia, court considered each of the factors 

enumerated in §706-606 and all the mitigating factors raised by 

defendant.  83 H. 335, 926 P.2d 1258 (1996). 

  As §706-600 and this section do not authorize a court to 

impose a single sentence on a defendant who has been convicted 

of multiple charges, trial court did not violate plea agreement 

by  imposing a life term for each class A felony defendant was 



convicted of, and then running each life term concurrently.  91 

H. 20, 979 P.2d 1046 (1999). 

  The constitutional prohibition against ex post facto measures 

was not offended by the plain language of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d, 

amending §§706-662, 706-664, and this section regarding 

sentencing or resentencing for extended terms of imprisonment, 

where it was clear that the new jury provisions did not (1) 

increase criminal liability for conduct previously innocent, (2) 

aggravate the degree of defendant's crimes, (3) increase the 

punishment available at the time defendant committed defendant's 

crimes, or (4) alter evidentiary standards to defendant's 

detriment.  117 H. 381, 184 P.3d 133 (2008). 

  The constitutional prohibition against ex post facto measures 

was not offended by the retrospective application to defendant 

of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d, amending §§706-662, 706-664, and this 

section, where Act 1 did not punish as a crime an act previously 

committed which was innocent when done, make more burdensome the 

punishment for the crime after its commission, nor deprive one 

charged with the crime of any defense available according to the 

law when the act was committed.  118 H. 68 (App.), 185 P.3d 816 

(2008). 

 

" §706-662  Criteria for extended terms of imprisonment.  A 

defendant who has been convicted of a felony may be subject to 

an extended term of imprisonment under section 706-661 if it is 

proven beyond a reasonable doubt that an extended term of 

imprisonment is necessary for the protection of the public and 

that the convicted defendant satisfies one or more of the 

following criteria: 

 (1) The defendant is a persistent offender in that the 

defendant has previously been convicted of two or more 

felonies committed at different times when the 

defendant was eighteen years of age or older; 

 (2) The defendant is a professional criminal in that: 

  (a) The circumstances of the crime show that the 

defendant has knowingly engaged in criminal 

activity as a major source of livelihood; or 

  (b) The defendant has substantial income or resources 

not explained to be derived from a source other 

than criminal activity; 

 (3) The defendant is a dangerous person in that the 

defendant has been subjected to a psychiatric or 

psychological evaluation that documents a significant 

history of dangerousness to others resulting in 

criminally violent conduct, and this history makes the 

defendant a serious danger to others.  Nothing in this 

section precludes the introduction of victim-related 



data to establish dangerousness in accord with the 

Hawaii rules of evidence; 

 (4) The defendant is a multiple offender in that: 

  (a) The defendant is being sentenced for two or more 

felonies or is already under sentence of 

imprisonment for any felony; or 

  (b) The maximum terms of imprisonment authorized for 

each of the defendant's crimes, if made to run 

consecutively, would equal or exceed in length 

the maximum of the extended term imposed or would 

equal or exceed forty years if the extended term 

imposed is for a class A felony; 

 (5) The defendant is an offender against the elderly, 

handicapped, or a minor eight years of age or younger 

in that: 

  (a) The defendant attempts or commits any of the 

following crimes:  murder, manslaughter, a sexual 

offense that constitutes a felony under chapter 

707, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, or 

kidnapping; and 

  (b) The defendant, in the course of committing or 

attempting to commit the crime, inflicts serious 

or substantial bodily injury upon a person who 

has the status of being: 

   (i) Sixty years of age or older; 

   (ii) Blind, a paraplegic, or a quadriplegic; or 

   (iii) Eight years of age or younger; and 

   the person's status is known or reasonably should 

be known to the defendant; or 

 (6) The defendant is a hate crime offender in that: 

  (a) The defendant is convicted of a crime under 

chapter 707, 708, or 711; and 

  (b) The defendant intentionally selected a victim or, 

in the case of a property crime, the property 

that was the object of a crime, because of 

hostility toward the actual or perceived race, 

religion, disability, ethnicity, national origin, 

gender identity or expression, or sexual 

orientation of any person.  For purposes of this 

subsection, "gender identity or expression" 

includes a person's actual or perceived gender, 

as well as a person's gender identity, gender-

related self-image, gender-related appearance, or 

gender-related expression, regardless of whether 

that gender identity, gender-related self-image, 

gender-related appearance, or gender-related 

expression is different from that traditionally 



associated with the person's sex at birth. [L 

1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1978, c 210, §1; am L 

1981, c 166, §1; am L 1985, c 280, §1; am L 1986, 

c 314, §40; am L 1988, c 305, §11; am L 1990, c 

67, §8; gen ch 1992; am L 1996, c 3, §1; am L 

2001, c 240, §3; am L 2003, c 33, §2; am L 2006, 

c 230, §§24, 54; am L Sp 2007 2d, c 1, §3] 

 

Applicability of Act 1, Second Special Session of 2007 

 

  L Sp 2007 2d, c 1, §5 provides: 

  "SECTION 5.  This Act shall apply to all sentencing or 

resentencing proceedings pending on or commenced after the 

effective date of this Act [October 31, 2007], whether the 

offense was committed prior to, on, or after the effective date 

of this Act [October 31, 2007].  A defendant whose extended term 

of imprisonment is set aside or invalidated shall be resentenced 

pursuant to this Act upon request of the prosecutor.  This Act 

shall not entitle a defendant who has previously been sentenced 

to an extended term to be resentenced pursuant to the procedures 

set forth in this Act unless the defendant is otherwise legally 

entitled to be resentenced." 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  Risky Business:  Assessing Dangerousness in Hawai‘i.  24 UH L. 

Rev. 63 (2001). 

  State v. Rivera:  Extended Sentencing and the Sixth Amendment 

Right to Trial by Jury in Hawai‘i.  28 UH L. Rev. 457 (2006). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Hawaii sentencing court found that an extended sentence was 

necessary to protect the public in appellee's case.  Because the 

effect of the finding was to increase appellee's sentence above 

that authorized by the jury's guilty verdict, Apprendi v. New 

Jersey required a jury to make the finding.  436 F.3d 1057 

(2006). 

  Petitioner's extended sentence, based on judge-determined 

facts, violated Apprendi v. New Jersey and represented "a 

decision that was contrary to, or involved an unreasonable 

application of, clearly established Federal law, as determined 

by the Supreme Court of the United States".  350 F. Supp. 2d 848 

(2004). 

  Question whether trial court may rely solely on the pre-

sentence diagnosis and report to make finding that defendant is 



a multiple offender raised but not decided.  56 H. 32, 526 P.2d 

1200 (1974). 

  Extended sentence imposed on multiple offender held not cruel 

and unusual punishment.  56 H. 343, 537 P.2d 724 (1975). 

  Proof beyond reasonable doubt in separate proceeding is 

required.  56 H. 628, 548 P.2d 632 (1976). 

  Where prior conviction is an element of the crime, it should 

be proven in the case in chief in a one stage proceeding.  57 H. 

339, 555 P.2d 1199 (1976). 

  Applicability of the due process guarantees to the two-step 

process of imposing a sentence for extended term.  60 H. 71, 588 

P.2d 394 (1978). 

  Contents of record on appeal.  60 H. 71, 588 P.2d 394 (1978). 

  In paragraph (4), the criterion that the extended term is 

"warranted" is construed to mean "necessary for the protection 

of the public."  60 H. 71, 588 P.2d 394 (1978). 

  Provisions not unconstitutional.  60 H. 100, 588 P.2d 409 

(1978). 

  Trial court permissibly relied on pre-sentence report in 

finding defendant to be a persistent offender, where facts 

establishing defendant as such offender were in the record apart 

from the pre-sentence report.  60 H. 100, 588 P.2d 409 (1978). 

  Paragraph (4) interpreted as not requiring separate step to 

determine criminality.  60 H. 308, 588 P.2d 394 (1978). 

  Full-hearing requirement under section does not apply to 

adjustments of pre-penal code sentences under Act 188, SL 1975.  

61 H. 517, 606 P.2d 83 (1980). 

  Criteria for imposition of extended term on multiple offender.  

62 H. 112, 612 P.2d 110 (1980). 

  At the voir dire stage, it is uncertain whether the extended 

term provision for a multiple offender is applicable, and a 

defendant charged with three counts of robbery in the first 

degree is not entitled to twelve peremptory challenges pursuant 

to HRPP 24(b).  63 H. 354, 628 P.2d 1018 (1981). 

  Not cruel and unusual punishment under circumstances.  63 H. 

488, 630 P.2d 619 (1981). 

  Sufficient evidence to impose extended term.  63 H. 488, 630 

P.2d 619 (1981); 63 H. 636, 633 P.2d 1115 (1981). 

  Defendant should be permitted to show that counsel was 

ineffective at time of prior convictions.  65 H. 354, 652 P.2d 

1119 (1982). 

  Circuit court did not err in first step of extended term 

sentencing procedure; case remanded to circuit court for 

specification of reasons for determining that extended terms 

were necessary for protection of public and entry of findings of 

fact to support that determination. 78 H. 383, 894 P.2d 80 

(1995). 



  No abuse of discretion in court sentencing defendant to 

extended terms of imprisonment under §706-661 and this section 

where, inter alia, court considered each of the factors 

enumerated in §706-606 and all the mitigating factors raised by 

defendant.  83 H. 335, 926 P.2d 1258 (1996). 

  A psychiatric or psychological evaluation of a defendant under 

paragraph (3) does not require a face-to-face interview in cases 

where defendant refuses to be examined.  85 H. 258, 942 P.2d 522 

(1997). 

  Where witness testimonies provided proof beyond reasonable 

doubt that defendant had significant history of dangerousness 

resulting in criminally violent conduct, extended term sentence 

under paragraph (3) proper and necessary for protection of 

public.  85 H. 258, 942 P.2d 522 (1997). 

  Where psychologist was competent to testify, foundation for 

testimony properly laid, and testimony established a history of 

defendant's violence, trial court did not abuse discretion in 

finding that psychologist's testimony constituted proof beyond a 

reasonable doubt that defendant had a "significant history of 

dangerousness to others resulting in criminally violent 

conduct", pursuant to paragraph (3).  90 H. 280, 978 P.2d 718 

(1999). 

  Findings under paragraph (5) regarding (a) the age or 

handicapped status of the victim and (b) whether "such 

disability is known or reasonably should be known to the 

defendant" entail "intrinsic" facts; Hawaii constitution 

requires these findings to be made by the trier of fact, not the 

sentencing court.  91 H. 261, 982 P.2d 890 (1999). 

  A sentencing court may not impose an enhanced sentence based 

on a defendant's refusal to admit guilt with respect to an 

offense the conviction of which the defendant intends to appeal.  

103 H. 315, 82 P.3d 401 (2003). 

  Trial court violated defendant's constitutional privilege 

against self-incrimination by imposing an enhanced sentence 

pursuant to paragraph (4) based solely on defendant's refusal to 

admit defendant's guilt with respect to the offenses of which 

defendant was convicted by the jury.  103 H. 315, 82 P.3d 401 

(2003). 

  Hawaii's extended term sentencing scheme is not incompatible 

with Blakely v. Washington, as (1) Blakely addresses only 

statutory "determinate"  sentencing "guideline" schemes, and (2) 

the Hawaii supreme court's "intrinsic-extrinsic" analysis 

culminating in State v. Kaua is compatible with both Blakely and 

Apprendi v. New Jersey.  106 H. 146, 102 P.3d 1044 (2004). 

  Trial court did not err in sentencing defendant to extended 

terms of imprisonment under this section where it found that (1) 

defendant was a persistent and multiple offender and (2) that 



defendant's commitment for an extended term was necessary for 

the protection of the public.  106 H. 146, 102 P.3d 1044 (2004). 

  Trial court did not err in sentencing defendant to extended 

terms of imprisonment as a "multiple offender" pursuant to 

paragraph (4)(a); without this finding that the defendant 

committed a previous felony, notwithstanding that such an 

extended term may be considered "necessary for protection of the 

public", a judge would not be authorized to impose it; and 

extended term sentencing did not run afoul of Sixth Amendment to 

U.S. Constitution as interpreted by the U.S. Supreme Court in 

Apprendi v. New Jersey.  110 H. 79, 129 P.3d 1107 (2006). 

  Inasmuch as this section authorizes the sentencing court to 

extend a defendant's sentence beyond the "standard term" 

authorized solely by the jury's verdict by requiring the 

sentencing court, rather than the trier of fact, to make an 

additional necessity finding that does not fall under Apprendi's 

prior-or-concurrent-convictions exception, this section is 

unconstitutional on its face; thus, defendant's extended term 

sentences imposed by the trial court violated defendant's Sixth 

Amendment right to a jury trial and were illegal.  115 H. 432, 

168 P.3d 562 (2007). 

  Invocation of a court's inherent power to provide process 

where none exists, by reforming this section (1996) to allow for 

jury fact-finding did not violate defendant's due process right, 

where assigning the fact-finding role to the jury would be a 

procedural, as opposed to a substantive, change that would not 

expand the scope of criminal liability, increase punishment, or 

alter any evidentiary burdens to defendant's detriment, but, 

rather, would simply change the course to a result.  117 H. 381, 

184 P.3d 133 (2008). 

  The constitutional prohibition against ex post facto measures 

was not offended by the plain language of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d, 

amending §§706-661, 706-664, and this section regarding 

sentencing or resentencing for extended terms of imprisonment, 

where it was clear that the new jury provisions did not (1) 

increase criminal liability for conduct previously innocent, (2) 

aggravate the degree of defendant's crimes, (3) increase the 

punishment available at the time defendant committed defendant's 

crimes, or (4) alter evidentiary standards to defendant's 

detriment.  117 H. 381, 184 P.3d 133 (2008). 

  Where enactment of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d provided conclusive 

expression of legislative support for the use of juries as the 

trier of fact with respect to extended term sentencing fact-

finding, invocation of circuit court's inherent power to reform 

this section so as to preserve its constitutionality did not 

unduly burden or substantially interfere with the other branch's 

exercise of its power.  117 H. 381, 184 P.3d 133 (2008). 



  This section sets forth the facts the jury must find in order 

to authorize the court to increase the defendant's sentence 

beyond the statutory maximum for the offense of manslaughter; as 

the matter of parole was a matter outside the scope of the 

jury's function, which was limited to finding the two operative 

facts under this section, it was error for the trial court to 

instruct the jury on parole.  127 H. 91, 276 P.3d 660 (2012). 

  The constitutional prohibition against ex post facto measures 

was not offended by the retrospective application to defendant 

of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d, amending §§706-661, 706-664, and this 

section, where Act 1 did not punish as a crime an act previously 

committed which was innocent when done, make more burdensome the 

punishment for the crime after its commission, nor deprive one 

charged with the crime of any defense available according to the 

law when the act was committed.  118 H. 68 (App.), 185 P.3d 816 

(2008). 

 

COMMENTARY ON §§706-661 AND 706-662 

 

  These sections provide for extended terms of imprisonment for 

the exceptionally difficult defendant.  The Code's limited 

recognition of consecutive sentences, and its attempt to provide 

lower authorized sentences for the majority of convicted 

defendants whose records or situations do not suggest the need 

for extended incarceration, necessitates some provision for 

dealing with the persistent, professional, dangerous, and 

multiple offender.  Unlike other offenders, these defendants 

should be subject to possible extended terms because their 

records or situations indicate that extended incarceration may 

be necessary to protect the public.  In these cases, 

rehabilitation, if possible, is unlikely to be achieved within 

an ordinary term. 

  The Code takes a flexible approach with respect to extended 

imprisonment.  If one or more of the grounds provided by §706-

662 is established, it remains discretionary with the court 

whether an extended term will be imposed--its imposition is not 

mandatory. 

  Section 706-662 authorizes an extended term in the case of (1) 

a persistent offender, (2) a professional criminal, (3) a 

dangerous person, and (4) a multiple offender.  Subsections (1) 

through (4) state the minimal requirements for each of the 

findings.  These requirements are not intended as mandates, or 

even guidelines, but rather as limitations on the court's 

exercise of discretion. 

[T]he existence of the minimal conditions do not make the 

finding necessary nor is it, indeed, compulsory in any 

case.  Minimal conditions are stated as a safeguard against 



possible abusive findings, not as a judgment that 

establishment of the conditions necessarily demands that 

the finding in question should be made.  Of course, before 

the court can make the ultimate finding required, it must 

find that the minimal conditions are established.[1] 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §§706-661 AND 706-662 

 

  Act 210, Session Laws 1978, amended §706-662 by adding 

paragraph (5), finding offenses against the elderly and the 

handicapped to be a significant problem. 

  Act 166, Session Laws 1981, amended §706-662 by deleting the 

requirement that defendants be at least twenty-two years of age 

before they become subject to possible extended terms as 

persistent offenders or professional criminals, it appearing 

that those most often arrested and sentenced for felonies fell 

in the eighteen to twenty-five year age group.  As amended, the 

section authorizes the court to impose extended terms, in 

appropriate cases, regardless of the defendant's age.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 705. 

  Act 280, Session Laws 1985, amended §706-662 to impose an 

extended prison term on a defendant who, while committing or 

attempting to commit certain felony offenses, inflicts serious 

bodily injury on a person who is blind, paraplegic, 

quadriplegic, sixty years old or older, or eight years of age or 

younger.  This amendment addresses the needs of persons who 

cannot protect themselves as well as expresses condemnation of 

defendants who commit crimes against those persons.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 398, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 852. 

  Act 305, Session Laws 1988, amended §706-662 by clarifying the 

definition of dangerousness by removing old language and using 

language which conforms more to "state of the art" knowledge 

about violence prediction.  The legislature stated that this 

would lead to an increase in the accuracy of violence prediction 

by focusing on the two principal components, history of 

dangerousness and present triggers of violent behavior.  This 

section was also amended to allow the introduction of victim-

related data in order to establish dangerousness.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2153. 

  Act 3, Session Laws 1996, amended §706-662 by adding 

manslaughter to the crimes for which an extended term of 

imprisonment may be given when the defendant inflicts serious or 

substantial bodily injury on a person sixty years or older, 

handicapped, or eight years or younger.  The legislature found 

that the elderly, handicapped, and children are more vulnerable 

and should be provided more protection, and that adding 



manslaughter to the enhanced sentencing statute was consistent 

with the policy to protect the more vulnerable people in the 

community.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 2036, House 

Standing Committee Report No. 988-96. 

  Act 286, Session Laws 1999, amended §706-661 to make the 

extended term of imprisonment for murder in the second degree an 

indeterminate life imprisonment without the possibility of 

parole.  Conference Committee Report No. 89. 

  Act 240, Session Laws 2001, amended §706-662 by allowing 

extended terms of imprisonment for perpetrators of hate-

motivated crimes, to protect Hawaii's citizens from crimes 

motivated by bigotry and hate.  House Standing Committee Report 

No. 1422. 

  Act 33, Session Laws 2003, amended §706-662, among others, to 

protect a person's actual or perceived gender identity or 

expression under the State's current hate crime laws.  The 

legislature found that one child out of two hundred is born with 

noticeable gender ambiguity, and one child out of one hundred 

has hidden ambiguity.  These persons often struggle with their 

gender identity and are ridiculed, harassed, and sometimes 

assaulted by others for being different.  The U.S. Department of 

Justice reports that hate crimes directed against gay, lesbian, 

bisexual, and transgender citizens are especially violent.  

"Sexual orientation," currently included in the hate crimes law, 

is not the same as "gender identity."  The legislature believed 

that this class of persons should be included and afforded 

protection under Hawaii's hate crime laws.  Senate Standing 

Committee Report No. 593, House Standing Committee Report No. 

1184. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended §706-661 to require the 

court to consider public safety in deciding whether to impose an 

extended term of imprisonment.  Act 230 amended §706-662 to 

clarify that a defendant who has been convicted of a felony 

qualifies for an extended term of imprisonment under §706-661.  

Act 230 also provided that the amendments to §§706-661 and 706-

662 would sunset on June 30, 2007.  House Standing Committee 

Report No. 665-06, Conference Committee Report No. 94-06. 

  Act 1, Second Special Session Laws 2007, amended Hawaii's 

extended sentencing statutes, §§706-661, 706-662, and 706-664, 

to ensure that the procedures used to impose extended terms of 

imprisonment comply with the requirements of the United States 

Supreme Court and the Hawaii supreme court.  Act 1 required that 

a jury determine the facts necessary to impose an extended term 

of imprisonment, unless the defendant waives the right to a jury 

determination, and that facts necessary to impose an extended 

term of imprisonment are proven beyond a reasonable doubt.  The 

legislature found that Hawaii's current extended sentencing 



procedure had been deemed unconstitutional because a judge, 

rather than a jury, was required to find facts, other than those 

of prior or concurrent convictions, necessary to enhance a 

defendant's sentence beyond the ordinary or standard term 

authorized by the jury's verdict.  Act 1's amendments conformed 

the State's enhanced sentencing law to the requirements of the 

United States Supreme Court and the Hawaii supreme court.  Act 1 

applied retroactively to sentencing or resentencing proceedings 

that were pending on or commenced after its effective date 

[October 31, 2007], whether the offense was committed prior to, 

on, or after that date.  However, the Act did not entitle a 

defendant who was previously sentenced to an extended term of 

imprisonment to resentencing pursuant to the procedures set 

forth in the Act, unless the defendant was otherwise legally 

entitled to be resentenced.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 7, House Standing Committee Report No. 1. 

 

__________ 

§§706-661 and 706-662 Commentary: 

 

1.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 2, comments at 41-42 (1954). 

 

" §706-663  Sentence of imprisonment for misdemeanor and 

petty misdemeanor.  [Repeal and reenactment on July 1, 2020.  L 

2016, c 217, §8.]  After consideration of the factors set forth 

in sections 706-606 and 706-621, the court may sentence a person 

who has been convicted of a misdemeanor or a petty misdemeanor 

to imprisonment for a definite term to be fixed by the court and 

not to exceed one year in the case of a misdemeanor or thirty 

days in the case of a petty misdemeanor, subject to earlier 

release pursuant to section 353-36. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 

1986, c 314, §41; am L 2016, c 217, §2] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-663 

 

  This section of the Code continues the previous policy of the 

law of providing definite sentences (not to exceed one year) in 

the case of misdemeanors,[1] and adds a new category of minor 

criminal offenses, designated as petty misdemeanors, for which 

imprisonment not exceeding 30 days is authorized.  The court is 

free within the statutory maximum to choose a shorter definite 

period of confinement. 

  Indeterminate terms of imprisonment are not provided for 

misdemeanors or petty misdemeanors because the gravity of the 

offenses and the character of most such offenders would not 

warrant the authorization of a longer prison term.  The 

flexibility sought to be achieved by indeterminate sentences 



decreases as the maximum authorized term of imprisonment 

decreases.  In view of this fact and in view of the fact that 

resources devoted to the determination of minimum terms of 

imprisonment have decreasing marginal utility as maximum 

authorized terms decrease, the Code provides for definite terms 

in cases of misdemeanors and petty misdemeanors. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-663 

 

  Act 217, Session Laws 2016, amended this section by making a 

conforming amendment.  Act 217 authorized the director of public 

safety to release detainees or inmates charged on or after July 

1, 2016, with petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor offenses; 

provided that the detainee or inmate is not disqualified based 

on present charges or past arrest or conviction of certain 

serious or violent offenses.  The legislature found that 

correctional facilities in Hawaii suffer from persistent 

overcrowding and that this condition adversely affects the 

ability of the State to adequately provide for the safe, secure, 

and humane incarceration of inmates in its care and custody.  

Act 217 provided a reasonable alternative to incarceration that 

would relieve overcrowded jail conditions in Hawaii.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 3563, Conference Committee Report 

No. 70-16. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Where trial court's rationale for imposing jail time reflected 

the factors listed in §706-606, and the jail time imposed did 

not exceed the maximum jail term authorized by this section, 

trial court did not clearly exceed the bounds of reason nor 

disregard rules or principles of law or practice to defendant's 

substantial detriment in imposing a jail term; thus, trial court 

did not abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to one 

hundred twenty days' imprisonment.  116 H. 403 (App.), 173 P.3d 

550 (2007). 

  Because there was no provision in §706-605 for the imposition 

of anger management or other treatment programs, but §706-

624(2)(j) authorized the imposition of, inter alia, mental 

health treatment as a discretionary term of probation, district 

court erred by sentencing defendant to both the thirty-day term 

of imprisonment (the maximum term of imprisonment for a petty 

misdemeanor) and anger management classes for defendant's 

harassment conviction (a petty misdemeanor).  Defendant could 

have been sentenced to a thirty-day term of incarceration or a 

six-month term of probation, but not both, and thus defendant's 

sentence was illegal.  130 H. 332 (App.), 310 P.3d 1033 (2013). 



  Cited:  146 F.3d 661 (1998). 

 

__________ 

§706-663 Commentary: 

 

1.  See H.R.S. §701-2. 

 

" §706-664  Procedure for imposing extended terms of 

imprisonment.  (1)  Hearings to determine the grounds for 

imposing extended terms of imprisonment may be initiated by the 

prosecutor or by the court on its own motion.  The court shall 

not impose an extended term unless the ground therefor has been 

established at a hearing after the conviction of the defendant 

and written notice of the ground proposed was given to the 

defendant pursuant to subsection (2).  Subject to the provisions 

of section 706-604, the defendant shall have the right to hear 

and controvert the evidence against the defendant and to offer 

evidence upon the issue before a jury; provided that the 

defendant may waive the right to a jury determination under this 

subsection, in which case the determination shall be made by the 

court. 

 (2)  Notice of intention to seek an extended term of 

imprisonment under section 706-662 shall be given to the 

defendant within thirty days of the defendant's arraignment.  

However, the thirty-day period may be waived by the defendant, 

modified by stipulation of the parties, or extended upon a 

showing of good cause by the prosecutor.  A defendant previously 

sentenced to an extended term under a prior version of this 

chapter shall be deemed to have received notice of an intention 

to seek an extended term of imprisonment. 

 (3)  If the jury, or the court if the defendant has waived 

the right to a jury determination, finds that the facts 

necessary for the imposition of an extended term of imprisonment 

under section 706-662 have been proven beyond a reasonable 

doubt, the court may impose an indeterminate term of 

imprisonment as provided in section 706-661. [L 1972, c 9, pt of 

§1; am L 1986, c 314, §42; gen ch 1992; am L Sp 2007 2d, c 1, 

§4] 

 

Applicability of Act 1, Second Special Session of 2007 

 

  L Sp 2007 2d, c 1, §5 provides: 

  "SECTION 5.  This Act shall apply to all sentencing or 

resentencing proceedings pending on or commenced after the 

effective date of this Act [October 31, 2007], whether the 

offense was committed prior to, on, or after the effective date 

of this Act [October 31, 2007].  A defendant whose extended term 



of imprisonment is set aside or invalidated shall be resentenced 

pursuant to this Act upon request of the prosecutor.  This Act 

shall not entitle a defendant who has previously been sentenced 

to an extended term to be resentenced pursuant to the procedures 

set forth in this Act unless the defendant is otherwise legally 

entitled to be resentenced." 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-664 

 

  This section sets forth the procedure when the court has 

before it a motion in favor of sentencing the defendant to 

imprisonment for an extended term.  Fairness to the defendant 

demands that the defendant receive notice of the ground upon 

which an extended term is proposed and that the hearing focus on 

this issue.  In other respects the hearing will be the same as 

that provided for in cases involving the possibility of 

imprisonment within the ordinary limits. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-664 

 

  Act 1, Second Special Session Laws 2007, amended this section 

and other extended sentencing statutes (§§706-661 and 706-662) 

to ensure that the procedures used to impose extended terms of 

imprisonment comply with the requirements of the United States 

Supreme Court and the Hawaii supreme court.  Act 1 required that 

a jury determine the facts necessary to impose an extended term 

of imprisonment, unless the defendant waives the right to a jury 

determination, and that facts necessary to impose an extended 

term of imprisonment are proven beyond a reasonable doubt.  The 

legislature found that Hawaii's current extended sentencing 

procedure had been deemed unconstitutional because a judge, 

rather than a jury, was required to find facts, other than those 

of prior or concurrent convictions, necessary to enhance a 

defendant's sentence beyond the ordinary or standard term 

authorized by the jury's verdict.  Act 1's amendments conformed 

the State's enhanced sentencing law to the requirements of the 

United States Supreme Court and the Hawaii supreme court.  Act 1 

applied retroactively to sentencing or resentencing proceedings 

that were pending on or commenced after its effective date 

[October 31, 2007], whether the offense was committed prior to, 

on, or after that date.  However, the Act did not entitle a 

defendant who was previously sentenced to an extended term of 

imprisonment to resentencing pursuant to the procedures set 

forth in the Act, unless the defendant was otherwise legally 

entitled to be resentenced.  Senate Standing Committee Report 

No. 7, House Standing Committee Report No. 1. 

 



Case Notes 

 

  Question as to proper procedure for making finding of multiple 

offender raised but not decided.  56 H. 32, 526 P.2d 1200 

(1974). 

  Independent hearing with full procedural due process.  56 H. 

628, 548 P.2d 632 (1976). 

  Notice of hearing may issue from court without help from 

prosecutor.  60 H. 93, 588 P.2d 412 (1978). 

  The court may properly initiate extended term hearings, 

notwithstanding inaction by prosecutor.  60 H. 100, 588 P.2d 409 

(1978). 

  Notice adequate under circumstances.  63 H. 488, 630 P.2d 619 

(1981). 

  The constitutional prohibition against ex post facto measures 

was not offended by the plain language of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d, 

amending §§706-661, 706-662, and this section regarding 

sentencing or resentencing for extended terms of imprisonment, 

where it was clear that the new jury provisions did not (1) 

increase criminal liability for conduct previously innocent, (2) 

aggravate the degree of defendant's crimes, (3) increase the 

punishment available at the time defendant committed defendant's 

crimes, or (4) alter evidentiary standards to defendant's 

detriment.  117 H. 381, 184 P.3d 133 (2008). 

  The constitutional prohibition against ex post facto measures 

was not offended by the retrospective application to defendant 

of Act 1, L Sp 2007 2d, amending §§706-661, 706-662, and this 

section, where Act 1 did not punish as a crime an act previously 

committed which was innocent when done, make more burdensome the 

punishment for the crime after its commission, nor deprive one 

charged with the crime of any defense available according to the 

law when the act was committed.  118 H. 68 (App.), 185 P.3d 816 

(2008). 

 

" §706-665  Former conviction in another jurisdiction.  For 

purposes of sections 706-606.5, 706-620, and 706-662(1), a 

conviction of the commission of a crime in another jurisdiction 

shall constitute a previous conviction.  Such conviction shall 

be deemed to have been of a felony if sentence of death or of 

imprisonment in excess of one year was authorized under the law 

of such other jurisdiction.  Such a conviction shall be graded, 

for purposes of section 706-620 by comparing the maximum 

imprisonment authorized under the law of such other jurisdiction 

with the maximum imprisonment authorized for the relevant grade 

of felony. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1986, c 314, §43] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-665 



 

  Since the minimal requirements for an extended term of 

imprisonment for a persistent offender deal in part with former 

convictions, it becomes necessary to treat the problem raised by 

former convictions in another jurisdiction.  The Code recognizes 

such convictions for purposes of §706-662.  In order to achieve 

a uniform standard for grading foreign convictions, the Code 

measures the authorized sentence in the jurisdiction where the 

conviction occurred according to the grading system of this 

Code. 

  A problem is presented by the fact that some states authorize 

imprisonment for terms of more than one year for crimes 

denominated as misdemeanors or petty misdemeanors by the Code.  

There is no easy answer to this dilemma.  For the purposes of 

determining the persistency of an offender, the power and 

integrity of the penal codes of other states must be recognized.  

The court, however, is not compelled to order an extended term 

of imprisonment even if the minimal conditions are established.  

Where a defendant's status as a persistent offender is based on 

foreign convictions which are greater than those authorized by 

the Code, the court is free not to make such a finding if, in 

the opinion of the court, it would result in undue hardship. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Prior convictions in which defendant was denied counsel should 

not be used against the defendant.  56 H. 628, 548 P.2d 632 

(1976). 

 

" §706-666  Definition of proof of conviction.  (1)  An 

adjudication by a court of competent jurisdiction that the 

defendant committed a crime constitutes a conviction for 

purposes of sections 706-606.5, 706-662, and 706-665, although 

sentence or the execution thereof was suspended, provided that 

the defendant was not pardoned on the ground of innocence. 

 (2)  Prior conviction may be proved by any evidence, 

including fingerprint records made in connection with arrest, 

conviction, or imprisonment, that reasonably satisfies the court 

that the defendant was convicted. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 

1982, c 246, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-666 

 

  Section 706-666 is addressed to the problems of the definition 

and proof of former convictions.  The Code takes the position 

that, in determining whether the defendant is a persistent 

offender, conviction per se is sufficient provided the time for 



appeal has expired and the defendant has not been pardoned on 

the ground of innocence.  The fact that the disposition of the 

defendant resulted in a suspended sentence or a suspended 

execution of a sentence should not be held material for purposes 

of extended terms. 

  Subsection (2) provides for a non-restrictive approach to 

admitting evidence on prior convictions.  Since (1) the evidence 

relied upon is largely official records, (2) the issue is tried 

to the court, and (3) the court is not compelled to find the 

defendant a persistent offender, or to impose an extended term 

even if the minimal requirements are established, no sound 

purpose would be served by adopting a restrictive evidentiary 

approach. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-666 

 

  Act 246, Session Laws 1982, clarified the definition of a 

conviction by providing that an adjudication by a court of 

competent jurisdiction that the defendant committed a crime 

constitutes a conviction. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  In State v. Kamae, 56 H. 32, 526 P.2d 1200 (1974), the court 

held that an appeal in forma pauperis was not frivolous when it 

sought to raise the question of whether the trial court's 

reliance on a pre-sentence diagnosis and report was sufficient 

under §706-666(2) to establish that the defendant was a multiple 

offender warranting an extended term under §706-662(4).  The 

court did not reach the ultimate question. 

  Pre-sentence report held insufficient evidence of prior 

conviction.  56 H. 628, 548 P.2d 632 (1976). 

  Evidence of defendant's prior conviction reasonably satisfied 

the court.  9 H. App. 583, 854 P.2d 238 (1993). 

 

" §706-667  Young adult defendants.  (1)  Defined.  A young 

adult defendant is a person convicted of a crime who, at the 

time of the offense, is less than twenty-two years of age and 

who has not been previously convicted of a felony as an adult or 

adjudicated as a juvenile for an offense that would have 

constituted a felony had the young adult defendant been an 

adult. 

 (2)  Specialized correctional treatment.  A young adult 

defendant who is sentenced to a term of imprisonment exceeding 

thirty days may be committed by the court to the custody of the 

department of public safety and shall receive, as far as 

practicable, such special and individualized correctional and 



rehabilitative treatment as may be appropriate to the young 

adult defendant's needs. 

 (3)  Special term.  A young adult defendant convicted of a 

felony, in lieu of any other sentence of imprisonment authorized 

by this chapter, may be sentenced to a special indeterminate 

term of imprisonment if the court is of the opinion that such 

special term is adequate for the young adult defendant's 

correction and rehabilitation and will not jeopardize the 

protection of the public.  When ordering a special indeterminate 

term of imprisonment, the court shall impose the maximum length 

of imprisonment, which shall be eight years for a class A 

felony, five years for a class B felony, and four years for a 

class C felony.  The minimum length of imprisonment shall be set 

by the Hawaii paroling authority in accordance with section 706-

669.  During this special indeterminate term, the young adult 

shall be incarcerated separately from career criminals, when 

practicable. 

 [(4)]  This section shall not apply to the offenses of 

murder or attempted murder. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1976, c 

92, §8; am L 1980, c 295, §§2, 3; am L 1986, c 314, §44; am L 

1987, c 338, §10; am L 1989, c 211, §8; gen ch 1993; am L 1997, 

c 318, §4; am L 2006, c 230, §25] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Immaturity excluding penal conviction; transfer of proceedings 

to family court, see §704-418. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-667 

 

  This section provides for specialized treatment for young 

persons over whom family court jurisdiction has been waived and 

for those persons under the age of 22 years who are not subject 

to the jurisdiction of that court. 

  It is clear that the age span encompassed in this section is a 

period of formative years and, notwithstanding the fact that the 

defendants are not subject to the jurisdiction of the family 

court, "[p]rudence and humanity... argue for a specialized and 

concentrated effort in this area."[1] 

  Subsection (2) recognizes that specialized and concentrated 

effort includes penal institutions designed to meet the needs of 

young adult defendants.  The department of social services and 

housing should have among its various divisions, an agency which 

can provide the young adult defendant with such "special and 

individualized correctional and rehabilitative treatment as may 

be appropriate to his needs."  Subsection (2) provides that, 

regardless of whether a special term is imposed pursuant to 



subsection (3), when a young adult defendant is sentenced to 

imprisonment for more than 30 days (i.e., for a misdemeanor or 

felony) the young adult defendant may be committed to the 

department of social services and housing for special 

correctional and rehabilitative treatment. 

  Subsection (3) provides for a special term of imprisonment for 

young adult defendants convicted of a felony.  Once again, the 

Code adopts a flexible approach in sentencing.  The court is not 

compelled to impose a special term in the case of a convicted 

young adult.  It may, according to the provisions of part II of 

this chapter, suspend the imposition of sentence or sentence the 

defendant to probation.  If the court determines that 

imprisonment is necessary, the court is free, within the 

limitations heretofore set forth, to choose between the special 

term authorized by this section and the ordinary and extended 

terms authorized by prior sections in this part.  Subsection (3) 

merely authorizes the employment of a special, more limited term 

of imprisonment "if the court is of the opinion that such 

special term is adequate for... [the defendant's] correction and 

rehabilitation and will not jeopardize the protection of the 

public."  Assuming the court is satisfied that this condition 

can be met, there seems no reason for not allowing the court, if 

it chooses, to protect the young offender from the longer maxima 

provided for felonies. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-667 

 

  The legislature in enacting the Code in 1972 changed 

subsection (2) by making it discretionary with the court, rather 

than mandatory, to commit the young adult defendant to the 

custody of the department of social services and housing for 

specialized treatment. 

  Act 295, Session Laws 1980, amended this section to establish 

a more equitable and just system of sentencing young adults.  

Conference Committee Report No. 34-80 (42-80).  Subsection (1) 

was amended by changing the definition of a young adult 

defendant so as to exclude repeat felony offenders from the 

class of young persons entitled to specialized treatment.  

Subsection (3) was amended to provide for different terms of 

imprisonment depending upon whether the offense involved is a 

class A, B, or C felony.  Subsection (3) was also amended by the 

addition of an express provision that young adults be 

incarcerated separately from career criminals when practicable.  

Lastly, the section was amended to provide that it does not 

apply to the offense of murder. 

  Act 318, Session Laws 1997, amended this section by defining a 

young adult defendant as a person convicted of a crime who, at 



the time of sentencing, is less than twenty-two years of age.  

The legislature found that immediate action was necessary for 

the protection and safety of the community from the growing 

number of minors who commit violent, serious, or multiple 

felonies.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1561. 

  Act 230, Session Laws 2006, amended this section to, among 

other things, require that the young adult defendant be less 

than twenty-two years at the time of the offense, rather than at 

the time of sentencing. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Not repealed by implication by §706-606.1.  67 H. 46, 677 P.2d 

463 (1984). 

  Defendant did not fall within definition of a young adult 

defendant.  71 H. 609, 801 P.2d 553 (1990). 

  Reasonable inference could be drawn that sentencing court 

considered special eight-year term prior to sentencing young 

adult defendant to twenty-year term under §706-659.  73 H. 259, 

831 P.2d 523 (1992). 

  A sentencing court must afford a defendant his or her right of 

presentence allocution before ruling on the applicability of the 

young adult defendants statute.  90 H. 280, 978 P.2d 718 (1999). 

  Defendant, who was age-eligible for sentencing under this 

section, the young adult defendant statute, at the time 

defendant's deferred acceptance of guilty plea was granted, but 

age-ineligible at the time it was revoked, could not thereafter 

be sentenced as a young adult defendant; specialized treatment 

under this section is afforded only to those who are less than 

the prescribed twenty-two years of age at the time of 

sentencing.  93 H. 362, 3 P.3d 1239 (2000). 

  Sentencing court did retain the discretion to sentence 

petitioner defendant, who was convicted of violating §712-

1240.8, to a special five-year indeterminate term of 

imprisonment under this section.  Specifically, the phrase 

"[n]otwithstanding sections 706-620, 706-640, 706-641, 706-660, 

706-669, and any other law to the contrary", found in the 

sentencing provision of §712-1240.8(3), did not override 

sentencing petitioner defendant under this section as 

"contrary".  130 H. 21, 305 P.3d 437 (2013). 

  Referred to:  56 H. 75, 527 P.2d 1269 (1974); 61 H. 1, 594 

P.2d 1078 (1979). 

 

__________ 

§706-667 Commentary: 

 

1.  M.P.C., Tentative Draft No. 7, comments at 24 (1957). 



 

" §706-668  REPEALED.  L 1986, c 314, §46. 

 

" §706-668.5  Multiple sentence of imprisonment.  (1)  If 

multiple terms of imprisonment are imposed on a defendant, 

whether at the same time or at different times, or if a term of 

imprisonment is imposed on a defendant who is already subject to 

an unexpired term of imprisonment, the terms may run 

concurrently or consecutively.  Multiple terms of imprisonment 

run concurrently unless the court orders or the statute mandates 

that the terms run consecutively. 

 (2)  The court, in determining whether the terms imposed 

are to be ordered to run concurrently or consecutively, shall 

consider the factors set forth in section 706-606. 

 (3)  For terms of imprisonment imposed prior to June 18, 

2008, the department of public safety shall post written notice 

in all inmate housing units and the facility library at each 

correctional facility for a period of two months and send 

written notice to the defendant no later than January 1, 2016, 

that shall include but not be limited to: 

 (a) Notice that the department of public safety may 

recalculate the multiple terms of imprisonment imposed 

on the defendant; and 

 (b) Notice of the defendant's right to have the court 

review the defendant's sentence. [L 1986, c 314, §45; 

am L 2008, c 193, §1; am L 2015, c 194, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-668.5 

 

  Act 193, Session Laws 2008, amended this section to promote 

consistency in sentencing law by requiring that multiple terms 

of imprisonment, whether imposed at the same time or at 

different times, run concurrently unless the court orders or the 

statute mandates that the terms run consecutively.  Testimony 

indicated that there had been some misunderstanding and 

misinterpretation of the sentencing law involving multiple terms 

of imprisonment.  Act 193 clarified the law.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 81-08, House Standing Committee Report No. 

688-08, Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3337. 

  Act 194, Session Laws 2015, amended this section to require 

the department of public safety to provide written notice to 

defendants who had terms of imprisonment imposed prior to June 

18, 2008, to include notice:  (1) that the department may 

recalculate the multiple terms of imprisonment imposed on the 

defendant; and (2) of the defendant's right to have the court 

review the defendant's sentence.  The legislature found that 

prior to 2008, this section provided that multiple terms of 



imprisonment run consecutively unless the court specifically 

ordered that the terms run concurrently.  Act 193, Session Laws 

2008, amended this section to provide that multiple terms of 

imprisonment run concurrently unless the court specifically 

orders that the terms run consecutively.  Act 194 attempted to 

bring parity to the treatment of defendants sentenced to 

multiple terms prior to the effective date of Act 193, which is 

June 18, 2008, and those sentenced to multiple terms after that 

date while providing defendants with adequate notice regarding 

the possibility of their multiple terms of imprisonment being 

recalculated by the department and their rights to have the 

court review their sentences.  Conference Committee Report No. 

158. 

 

Law Journals and Reviews 

 

  State v. Kumukau:  A Case for the Application of Eighth 

Amendment Proportionality Analysis.  13 UH L. Rev. 577 (1991). 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Statute (pre-2008) discussed, where defendants' motion for 

partial summary judgment was granted as to counts alleging 

violations of the state constitution and negligence, but was 

otherwise denied, in a 42 U.S.C. §1983 civil rights lawsuit 

brought by a former state prisoner and other allegedly 

similarly-situated plaintiffs primarily seeking damages for 

"over detention".  678 F. Supp. 2d 1061 (2010). 

  Sentencing court's imposition of consecutive prison terms 

pursuant to this section constituted an abuse of discretion, 

where court's sole purpose in imposing consecutive terms was to 

maximize the supervisory power of the Hawaii paroling authority 

over defendant in an attempt to facilitate the collection of 

court-ordered restitution.  78 H. 127, 890 P.2d 1167 (1995). 

  Sentencing court did not abuse its discretion in resentencing 

appellant to consecutive terms of imprisonment.  79 H. 281, 901 

P.2d 481 (1995). 

  Extraordinarily sadistic and cruel manner in which defendant 

committed offenses and defendant's past behavioral history 

required retributive, incapacitative and deterrent penal 

objectives of consecutive terms of imprisonment achieved under 

this section.  83 H. 335, 926 P.2d 1258 (1996). 

  Trial court plainly erred in sentencing defendant to 

consecutive terms of imprisonment based on the unsubstantiated 

allegation that defendant had transferred a semi-automatic 

firearm to a drug dealer.  106 H. 441, 106 P.3d 364 (2005). 



  Where defendant was convicted by the jury of five first-degree 

thefts, each of which defendant was sentenced to ten years' 

incarceration, and pursuant to §706-660 and this section, five 

ten-year terms running consecutively was the statutory maximum, 

defendant's sentence did not deprive defendant of defendant's 

right to a jury trial as interpreted by the U.S. Supreme Court 

in Apprendi and Blakely.  111 H. 267, 141 P.3d 440 (2006). 

  Imposing a prison sentence consecutively to "any sentence" 

pursuant to §706-606.5(5), including the lesser of such 

sentences, is a novel, but accurate view of the statute; thus, 

henceforth, the circuit court must state on the record its 

reasons for imposing a consecutive as opposed to a concurrent 

sentence under §706-606.5 or this section.  122 H. 495, 229 P.3d 

313 (2010). 

  The circuit court did not abuse its discretion in sentencing 

defendant to consecutive terms of imprisonment based on 

defendant's "extensive criminality".  131 H. 94, 315 P.3d 720 

(2013). 

  Trial court did not abuse its discretion in sentencing 

defendant to consecutive terms of imprisonment under this 

section where, taking into consideration all of the factors set 

forth in §706-606, the court pointed to the high level of 

cruelty, violence, and viciousness involved in the commission of 

the offenses, that most of the offenses took place in front of 

defendant's two-year-old son, defendant's lack of remorse, the 

clear and present danger defendant posed to complainant and the 

community, and the poor prospects for defendant's 

rehabilitation.  106 H. 365 (App.), 105 P.3d 242 (2004). 

  Court did not abuse its discretion in sentencing defendant to 

consecutive terms of imprisonment under this section because it 

considered the factors set forth in §706-606; defendant's 

extensive record and the fact that defendant caused a lot of 

harm in the community were specific circumstances that led the 

court to conclude that a consecutive sentence was appropriate.  

129 H. 135 (App.), 295 P.3d 1005 (2013). 

  Discussed:  81 H. 421 (App.), 918 P.2d 228 (1996). 

 

" §706-669  Procedure for determining minimum term of 

imprisonment.  (1)  When a person has been sentenced to an 

indeterminate or an extended term of imprisonment, the Hawaii 

paroling authority shall, as soon as practicable but no later 

than six months after commitment to the custody of the director 

of the department of [public safety] hold a hearing, and on the 

basis of the hearing make an order fixing the minimum term of 

imprisonment to be served before the prisoner shall become 

eligible for parole. 



 (2)  Before holding the hearing, the authority shall obtain 

a complete report regarding the prisoner's life before entering 

the institution and a full report of the prisoner's progress in 

the institution.  The report shall be a complete personality 

evaluation for the purpose of determining the prisoner's degree 

of propensity toward criminal activity. 

 (3)  The prisoner shall be given reasonable notice of the 

hearing under subsection (1) and shall be permitted to be heard 

by the authority on the issue of the minimum term to be served 

before the prisoner becomes eligible for parole.  In addition, 

the prisoner shall: 

 (a) Be permitted to consult with any persons the prisoner 

reasonably desires, including the prisoner's own legal 

counsel, in preparing for the hearing; 

 (b) Be permitted to be represented and assisted by counsel 

at the hearing; 

 (c) Have counsel appointed to represent and assist the 

prisoner if the prisoner so requests and cannot afford 

to retain counsel; and 

 (d) Be informed of the prisoner's rights under 

[paragraphs] (a), (b), and (c). 

 (4)  The authority in its discretion may, in any particular 

case and at any time, impose a special condition that the 

prisoner will not be considered for parole unless and until the 

prisoner has a record of continuous exemplary behavior. 

 (5)  After sixty days notice to the prosecuting attorney, 

the authority in its discretion may reduce the minimum term 

fixed by its order pursuant to subsection (1). 

 (6)  A verbatim stenographic or mechanical record of the 

hearing shall be made and preserved in transcribed or 

untranscribed form. 

 (7)  The State shall have the right to be represented at 

the hearing by the prosecuting attorney who may present written 

testimony and make oral comments and the authority shall 

consider such testimony and comments in reaching its decision.  

The authority shall notify the prosecuting attorney of the 

hearing at the time the prisoner is given notice of the hearing.  

The hearing shall be opened to victims or their designees or 

surviving immediate family members who may present a written 

statement or make oral comments. 

 (8)  The authority shall establish guidelines for the 

uniform determination of minimum sentences which shall take into 

account both the nature and degree of the offense of the 

prisoner and the prisoner's criminal history and character.  The 

guidelines shall be public records and shall be made available 

to the prisoner and to the prosecuting attorney and other 

interested government agencies. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 



1976, c 92, §8; am L 1988, c 282, §1; gen ch 1993; am L 1996, c 

4, §1 and c 193, §1] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-669 

 

  This section continues the policy of the previous law of 

vesting in the Board of Paroles and Pardons the exclusive 

authority to determine the minimum time which must be served 

before the prisoner will be eligible for parole.  However, the 

Code differs from present law in two respects:  (a) it does not 

recognize a sentence of imprisonment not subject to the 

possibility of parole except the instances enumerated in §706-

606(a), and (b) it provides that the order of the Board shall be 

made upon the basis of a prior hearing which, under subsection 

(3), affords the prisoner an opportunity to be heard and a mode 

for participation.  Both concepts are suggested by the Model 

Penal Code.[1]  In addition, subsection (3) specifically 

provides that the prisoner will be afforded assistance and 

representation by counsel, if the prisoner wishes. 

  Subsection (2) continues the previous requirement that the 

Board of Paroles arm itself with sufficient information 

concerning the prisoner before it makes a determination as to 

parole eligibility.  Subsection (4) is a continuation of the 

previous policy of granting to the Board the authority to impose 

a special condition relating to the prisoner's behavior before 

the prisoner will be eligible for parole.  Subsection (5) gives 

the Board the discretionary power to reduce the minimum term 

previously fixed by its order.  Subsection (6) insures that a 

record of the hearing will be made and preserved. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-669 

 

  When the legislature adopted the Code in 1972, it provided for 

life imprisonment without possibility of parole in the four 

instances enumerated in §706-606(a) (1972). 

  Act 92, Session Laws 1976, substituted the terms "Hawaii 

paroling authority" and "authority" for the term "board of 

paroles and pardons" and "board." 

  Act 282, Session Laws 1988, amended this section to allow the 

prosecuting attorney to appear and present oral comment and 

written testimony at minimum term hearings before the Hawaii 

paroling authority, disallowing oral testimony by witnesses.  

Senate Conference Committee Report No. 270, House Conference 

Committee Report No. 96-88. 

  Act 4, Session Laws 1996, amended this section by clarifying 

that victims may present written statements or oral comments at 

minimum prison term hearings before the parole board.  The 



legislature found that the practice of the parole board was to 

permit victims or their representatives the opportunity to 

comment at minimum term hearings, although current law did not 

expressly provide for that opportunity.  The legislature agreed 

that victims should be allowed to be heard and to be present at 

the hearings, and that victims were entitled to be heard when 

the crimes involved property, as well as when the crimes were 

against persons.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 1972, 

House Standing Committee Report No. 1025-96. 

  Act 193, Session Laws 1996, amended this section by providing 

that the prosecuting attorney shall receive sixty days notice 

prior to the reduction of minimum terms of imprisonment by the 

Hawaii paroling authority.  Current law was unclear regarding 

whether the prosecuting attorney was entitled to notice prior to 

the reduction of minimum terms of imprisonment by the paroling 

authority.  The Act clarified that the prosecuting attorney is 

entitled to notice.  Conference Committee Report No. 60. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Mentioned with respect to claim of right as a defense.  63 H. 

105, 621 P.2d 381 (1980). 

  Section (1993) allows victim or their representatives the 

opportunity to make oral comments at minimum prison term 

hearings before the Hawaii paroling authority.  91 H. 20, 979 

P.2d 1046 (1999). 

  Neither chapter 706 nor chapter 353 prohibits the Hawaii 

paroling authority from setting a prisoner's minimum term at a 

period equal to his or her maximum sentence.  97 H. 183, 35 P.3d 

210 (2001). 

  This section required the Hawaii paroling authority to conduct 

its minimum term hearing within six months of defendant's 

commitment to the custody of the director of the department of 

public safety, and the paroling authority was not 

jurisdictionally barred by §706-660.1(1) from fulfilling this 

statutorily imposed duty.  111 H. 35, 137 P.3d 349 (2006). 

  Where Hawaii paroling authority's minimum term decision was in 

violation of the authority's guidelines as it failed to specify 

either the level of punishment or the significant criteria upon 

which the decision was based, the failure to include this 

information was arbitrary and capricious; thus, an amended 

minimum term order issued by the authority did not "cure" the 

authority's initial violation of its guidelines and the 

petitioner did not have to show prejudice in order to obtain 

postconviction relief from the minimum term order.  116 H. 181, 

172 P.3d 493 (2007). 



  Intermediate court of appeals erred in concluding that 

petitioner waived petitioner's due process claim relating to the 

Hawaii paroling authority's (HPA) nondisclosure of adverse 

materials in petitioner's HPA file, where petitioner would not 

have any opportunity to raise the issue of HPA's nondisclosure 

of evidence in any other proceeding if petitioner was not aware 

of the existence of letters sent between victim's aunt and HPA 

prior to petitioner's second minimum term hearing until they 

were filed with respondent State's response to petitioner's 

petition for post-conviction relief.  129 H. 429, 302 P.3d 697 

(2013). 

  Inasmuch as the petitioner's offenses did not meet the 

prescribed criteria of a level III offender and no further 

written justification was provided explaining the Hawaii 

paroling authority's (HPA) decision, the HPA's action of 

classifying the petitioner as a level III offender was in 

violation of the HPA guidelines and therefore, under the 

circumstances, arbitrary and capricious.  132 H. 224, 320 P.3d 

889 (2014). 

  Once the petitioner made a showing that the failure to raise 

the petitioner's claims in the first HRPP rule 40 petition was 

not an intelligent and knowing failure, it was unnecessary for 

the circuit court to reach the question of the existence of 

extraordinary circumstances, and the second petition should not 

have been denied without a hearing on the basis that the claims 

had been waived.  132 H. 224, 320 P.3d 889 (2014). 

 

__________ 

§706-669 Commentary: 

 

1.  See M.P.C. §§6.06, 6.07, 305.6 and 305.7. 

 

" §706-670  Parole procedure; release on parole; terms of 

parole, recommitment, and reparole; final unconditional release.  

(1)  [Repeal and reenactment on July 1, 2018.  L 2012, c 139, 

§14(4); L 2013, c 67, §2(4).]  Parole hearing.  A person 

sentenced to an indeterminate term of imprisonment shall receive 

an initial parole hearing at least one month before the 

expiration of the minimum term of imprisonment determined by the 

Hawaii paroling authority pursuant to section 706-669.  If the 

person has been sentenced to multiple terms of imprisonment, the 

parole hearing shall not be required until at least one month 

before the expiration of the minimum term that expires last in 

time.  A validated risk assessment shall be used to determine 

the person's risk of re-offense and suitability for community 

supervision.  For purposes of this subsection, "validated risk 

assessment" means an actuarial tool to determine a person's 



likelihood of engaging in future criminal behavior.  The 

department of public safety shall select a research-based risk 

assessment tool and shall validate the accuracy of the risk 

assessment tool at least every five years in consultation with 

the paroling authority.  Assessments shall be performed by 

department of public safety staff who are trained in the use of 

the risk assessment tool.  Except for good cause shown to the 

paroling authority, a person who is assessed as low risk for re-

offending shall be granted parole upon completing the minimum 

sentence, unless the person: 

 (a) Is found to have an extensive criminal history record 

that is indicative of a likelihood of future criminal 

behavior in spite of the finding by the risk 

assessment by the paroling authority; 

 (b) Is found to have committed misconduct while in prison 

that is equivalent to a misdemeanor or felony crime 

within thirty-six months of the expiration of the 

minimum term of imprisonment; 

 (c) Has any pending felony charges in the State; 

 (d) Is incarcerated for a sexual offense under part V of 

chapter 707 or child abuse under part VI of chapter 

707; or 

 (e) Does not have a parole plan as set forth under section 

706-670(3) and (4), as approved by, and at the 

discretion of, the paroling authority. 

If parole is not granted at the initial parole hearing, 

additional hearings shall be held at twelve-month intervals or 

less until parole is granted or the maximum period of 

imprisonment expires.  The State shall have the right to be 

represented at the initial parole hearing and all subsequent 

parole hearings by the prosecuting attorney, who may present 

written testimony and make oral comments.  The authority shall 

consider the testimony and comments in reaching its decision.  

The authority shall notify the appropriate prosecuting attorney 

of the hearing at the time the prisoner is given notice of the 

hearing. 

 (2)  Parole conditions.  The authority, as a condition of 

parole, may impose reasonable conditions on the prisoner as 

provided under section 706-624. 

 (3)  Prisoner's plan and participation.  Each prisoner 

shall be given reasonable notice of the prisoner's parole 

hearing and shall prepare a parole plan, setting forth the 

manner of life the prisoner intends to lead if released on 

parole, including specific information as to where and with whom 

the prisoner will reside, a phone contact where the prisoner can 

be reached, and what occupation or employment the prisoner will 

follow, if any.  The prisoner shall be paroled in the county 



where the prisoner had a permanent residence or occupation or 

employment prior to the prisoner's incarceration, unless the 

prisoner will:  reside in a county in which the population 

exceeds eight-hundred thousand persons; reside in a county in 

the State in which the committed person has the greatest family 

or community support, opportunities for employment, job 

training, education, treatment, and other social services, as 

determined by the Hawaii paroling authority; or be released for 

immediate departure from the State.  The institutional parole 

staff shall render reasonable aid to the prisoner in the 

preparation of the prisoner's plan and in securing information 

for submission to the authority.  In addition, the prisoner 

shall: 

 (a) Be permitted to consult with any persons whose 

assistance the prisoner reasonably desires, including 

the prisoner's own legal counsel, in preparing for a 

hearing before the authority; 

 (b) Be permitted to be represented and assisted by counsel 

at the hearing; 

 (c) Have counsel appointed to represent and assist the 

prisoner if the prisoner so requests and cannot afford 

to retain counsel; and 

 (d) Be informed of the prisoner's rights as set forth in 

this subsection. 

 (4)  Authority's decision; initial minimum term of parole.  

The authority shall render its decision regarding a prisoner's 

release on parole within a reasonable time after the parole 

hearing.  A grant of parole shall not be subject to acceptance 

by the prisoner.  If the authority denies parole after the 

hearing, it shall state its reasons in writing.  A verbatim 

stenographic or mechanical record of the parole hearing shall be 

made and preserved in transcribed or untranscribed form.  The 

authority, in its discretion, may order a reconsideration or 

rehearing of the case at any time and shall provide reasonable 

notice of the reconsideration or rehearing to the prosecuting 

attorney.  If parole is granted by the authority, the authority 

shall set the initial minimum length of the parole term. 

 (5)  Release upon expiration of maximum term.  If the 

authority fixes no earlier release date, a prisoner's release 

shall become mandatory at the expiration of the prisoner's 

maximum term of imprisonment. 

 (6)  Sentence of imprisonment includes separate parole 

term.  A sentence to an indeterminate term of imprisonment under 

this chapter includes as a separate portion of the sentence a 

term of parole or of recommitment for violation of the 

conditions of parole. 



 (7)  Revocation hearing.  When a parolee has been 

recommitted, the authority shall hold a hearing within sixty 

days after the parolee's return to determine whether parole 

should be revoked.  The parolee shall have reasonable notice of 

the grounds alleged for revocation of the parolee's parole.  The 

institutional parole staff shall render reasonable aid to the 

parolee in preparation for the hearing.  In addition, the 

parolee shall have, with respect to the revocation hearing, 

those rights set forth in subsection (3)(a), (3)(b), (3)(c), and 

(3)(d).  A record of the hearing shall be made and preserved as 

provided in subsection (4). 

 (8)  Length of recommitment and reparole after revocation 

of parole.  If a parolee's parole is revoked, the term of 

further imprisonment upon such recommitment and of any 

subsequent reparole or recommitment under the same sentence 

shall be fixed by the authority but shall not exceed in 

aggregate length the unserved balance of the maximum term of 

imprisonment. 

 (9)  Final unconditional release.  When the prisoner's 

maximum parole term has expired or the prisoner has been sooner 

discharged from parole, a prisoner shall be deemed to have 

served the prisoner's sentence and shall be released 

unconditionally. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1976, c 92, §8; am 

L 1983, c 30, §1; am L 1984, c 257, §3; am L 1986, c 314, §47; 

am L 1988, c 282, §2; am L 1993, c 101, §2 and c 201, §2; gen ch 

1993; am L 1996, c 193, §2; am L Sp 2007, c 8, §15; am L 2012, c 

139, §§8, 12] 

 

Note 

 

  The repeal and reenactment note at subsection (1) in the main 

volume is amended to read as follows:  "[Repeal and reenactment 

on July 1, 2018.  L 2012, c 139, §14(4); L 2013, c 67, §2(4); L 

2016, c 231, §69.]". 

  The L 2012, c 139, §8 amendment applies to individuals 

committing an offense on or after July 1, 2012.  L 2012, c 139, 

§14(3). 

 

Cross References 

 

  Comprehensive offender reentry system, see chapter 353H. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-670 

 

  Subsections (1) through (3) are largely self-explanatory and 

adopt a procedure for parole determination which affords the 

prisoner an opportunity to participate and be heard.  The 



procedure also provides for periodic review of the prisoner's 

case. 

  In the Proposed Draft, §670 provided for an automatic period 

of parole, the length of which would vary with the prisoner's 

initial period of incarceration, but which would not be greater 

than ten years, and which would be required in every case 

following an indeterminate term of imprisonment.  The 

legislature did not accept this proposal in its entirety.  Thus, 

subsection (4) now requires a prisoner's unconditional release 

at the expiration of the prisoner's maximum term of 

imprisonment.  The legislature felt that to impose "an 

additional term of parole would be an unfair burden to a person 

who has paid his debt to society."  Conference Committee Report 

No. 2 (1972). 

  Subsection (5) provides that the maximum term of parole shall 

be ten years.  In this area, as in terms of imprisonment, the 

Code leaves with the Board of Paroles and Pardons the task of 

determining the minimum term of parole. 

  Subsection (6) provides for a hearing on revocation of parole 

which affords the parolee fair notice, representation, and 

assistance, much in the same manner as that provided in the case 

of hearings on the minimum term and initial parole. 

  Subsection (8) provides for unconditional discharge of the 

defendant when the maximum term of parole has expired or upon 

sooner release by the Board. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-670 

 

  Act 30, Session Laws 1983, amended subsection (1) to change 

the maximum term of recommittal for a parole violator from ten 

years to the remainder of the parolee's original, maximum 

sentence.  It was felt that a parole violator should not be 

relieved of any part of the court-imposed maximum sentence.  

However, the legislature intended that the paroling authority 

periodically reconsider the parole of any recommitted parolee.  

Senate Standing Committee Report No. 357 (1983), House Standing 

Committee Report No. 811. 

  Act 257, Session Laws 1984, added a new subsection (2) to 

allow the paroling authority, as a condition of parole, to 

prohibit a parolee from entering certain geographical areas 

without the paroling authority's permission. 

  Act 282, Session Laws 1988, amended this section to allow the 

prosecuting attorney to appear and present oral comment and 

written testimony at parole hearings before the Hawaii paroling 

authority, disallowing oral testimony by witnesses.  Senate 

Conference Committee Report No. 270, House Conference Committee 

Report No. 96-88. 



  Act 101, Session Laws 1993, amended subsection (4) to clarify 

that a grant of parole is not subject to the acceptance of the 

person being paroled.  Inmates who refuse parole and choose to 

remain in prison take up valuable bedspace in already crowded 

correctional facilities, and the State loses the opportunity to 

assist in reintegrating them back into the community.  House 

Standing Committee Report No. 1123, Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 839. 

  Act 201, Session Laws 1993, amended subsection (3) to provide 

that prisoners who have been granted parole are to be paroled in 

the county where the prisoner had a permanent residence or 

occupation or employment prior to incarceration, unless the 

prisoner will reside in a county having a population exceeding 

800,000 persons, or will be released for immediate departure 

from the State.  The legislature found that this would prevent 

an influx of parolees whose roots are on Oahu from settling on 

the neighbor islands, which could strain a county's social 

service infrastructure.  Conference Committee Report No. 104. 

  Act 193, Session Laws 1996, amended this section by providing 

that the prosecuting attorney shall have the right to be 

represented at the initial parole hearing and all subsequent 

parole hearings, and that the prosecuting attorney shall have 

reasonable notice of the reconsideration or rehearing of parole 

cases by the Hawaii paroling authority.  The Act made clear the 

prosecuting attorney's right to be represented and to receive 

notice, since the current law was unclear regarding the 

prosecuting attorney's rights on these matters.  Conference 

Committee Report No. 60. 

  Act 8, Special Session Laws 2007, amended subsection (3) to 

permit the Hawaii paroling authority to parole committed persons 

to the county in the State where the committed person has the 

greatest family or community support, opportunities for 

employment, job training, education, treatment, and other social 

services.  This will allow the Hawaii paroling authority to 

provide meaningful opportunities for offenders to reintegrate 

into society and demonstrate that they have the potential to 

function as law-abiding citizens.  Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 993. 

  Act 139, Session Laws 2012, amended this section, among other 

things, by:  (1) requiring the department of public safety to 

select a research-based risk assessment tool and validate the 

accuracy of the risk assessment tool at least every five years 

in consultation with the Hawaii paroling authority; (2) 

specifying that parole shall be granted upon completion of the 

minimum term to a person who is assessed as low risk for 

reoffending unless the person, among other things, is found to 

have:  (A) committed misconduct while in prison that is 



equivalent to a misdemeanor or felony crime within thirty-six 

months of the expiration of the minimum term of imprisonment; or 

(B) an extensive criminal history record that is indicative of a 

likelihood of future criminal behavior in spite of the finding 

by the risk assessment; and (3) requiring prisoners, in 

preparing their parole plan, to include, among other things, a 

phone contact, if any, where they can be reached.  The purpose 

of Act 139 was to implement the recommendations of the justice 

reinvestment working group.  Act 139 was a recommendation of the 

Council of State Governments Justice Center, which provided 

intensive technical assistance to Hawaii to conduct a 

comprehensive analysis of the State's criminal justice system 

and to help state leaders develop policy options that could 

increase public safety while saving taxpayer dollars.  The 

Justice Center utilized a data-driven approach to identify 

inefficiencies, develop cost-effective policy options, and 

develop a plan for a reinvestment of savings that reduces 

recidivism and increases public safety.  It was the 

legislature's intent to realize cost savings and reinvest those 

savings back into the corrections system to reduce recidivism, 

decrease the prison population, and strengthen public safety.  

Conference Committee Report No. 165-12. 

  Act 139, Session Laws 2012, also provided for the reenactment 

of subsection (1) upon the repeal of the amendments made by the 

Act on July 1, 2018. 

  Act 67, Session Laws 2013, made a technical amendment to the 

repeal and reenactment provision of Act 139, Session Laws 2012, 

which affected this section. 

  Act 231, Session Laws 2016, amended the repeal and reenactment 

provision of Act 139, Session Laws 2012. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Neither this chapter nor chapter 353 prohibits the Hawaii 

paroling authority from setting a prisoner's minimum term at a 

period equal to his or her maximum sentence.  97 H. 183, 35 P.3d 

210 (2001). 

  As §353-66 and this section can be given effect without 

conflict, subsection (7) is not the "exclusive" law governing 

parole revocations, does not embrace the entire law on the 

subject, and does not repeal §353-66 by implication.  88 H. 229 

(App.), 965 P.2d 162 (1998). 

  A petitioner is not entitled to relief for Hawaii paroling 

authority's failure to comply with time limit specified in 

subsection (7) for parole revocation hearing unless record shows 

that failure to comply (1) was unreasonable and (2) caused 

petitioner actual prejudice.  State's failure to comply with 



specified time limit is presumptively unreasonable and it is 

Hawaii paroling authority's burden to rebut this presumption; it 

is petitioner's burden to prove that State's unreasonable 

failure to comply caused actual prejudice to petitioner.  89 H. 

474 (App.), 974 P.2d 1064 (1998). 

 

" §706-670.5  Notice of parole or final unconditional 

release.  (1)  As used in this section, the following terms have 

the following meanings: 

 "Offense against the person" means any of the offenses 

described in chapter 707 and includes any attempt to commit any 

of those offenses. 

 "Prisoner" or "parolee" means a person who has been 

convicted of an offense against the person. 

 "Surviving immediate family member" means a person who is a 

surviving grandparent, parent, sibling, spouse or reciprocal 

beneficiary, child, or legal guardian of a deceased victim. 

 "Victim" means the person who was the victim of the offense 

against the person for which the prisoner or parolee was 

convicted. 

 (2)  The Hawaii paroling authority shall give written 

notice of the parole or release from parole of a prisoner or 

parolee to each victim who has submitted a written request for 

notice or to a surviving immediate family member who has 

submitted a written request for notice. 

 (3)  The department of public safety shall give written 

notice of the final unconditional release of a prisoner or 

parolee, who has not been previously paroled or discharged, to 

each victim who has submitted a written request for notice or to 

a surviving immediate family member who has submitted a written 

request for notice. 

 (4)  The authority or department, as the case may be, shall 

provide written notice to the victim or surviving immediate 

family member at the address given on the written request for 

notice or such other address as may be provided by the victim or 

surviving immediate family member, not less than ten days prior 

to parole or final unconditional release.  The authority or 

department, in its discretion, may instead give written notice 

to the witness or victim counselor programs in the prosecuting 

attorney's office in the county where the victim or the 

surviving immediate family member resides. 

 (5)  Neither the failure of any state officer or employee 

to carry out the requirements of this section nor compliance 

with it shall subject the State, the officer, or employee to 

liability in any civil action.  However, such failure may 

provide a basis for such disciplinary action as may be deemed 

appropriate by a competent authority. [L 1983, c 184, §2(2); am 



L 1985, c 227, §1; am L 1987, c 338, §10; am L 1989, c 211, §8; 

am L 1997, c 383, §66] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Notice of escape, see §706-673. 

  Registration of sex offenders and other covered offenders and 

public access to registration information, see chapter 846E. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-670.5 

 

  Act 184, Session Laws 1983, added this section to require 

notification to a crime victim if a defendant who harmed the 

victim is released into the community after conviction.  This 

addition was intended to insure that crime victims "are treated 

with fairness and respect" and that agencies in the criminal 

justice system cooperate with each other to provide information 

and other help to crime victims.  House Conference Committee 

Report No. 46. 

  Act 227, Session Laws 1985, amended this section so that:  (1) 

victims or surviving immediate family members of a deceased 

victim are notified whenever the offender is paroled or 

unconditionally released; and (2) in lieu of notifying a victim 

or surviving family member, the appropriate authorities may 

notify the witness or victim counselor programs in the county 

where the victim or a family member resides.  Under prior law, 

only the victim was notified of the parole or unconditional 

release.  House Conference Committee Report No. 5, Senate 

Conference Committee Report No. 4. 

  Act 383, Session Laws 1997, amended this section by amending 

the definition of "surviving immediate family member" to include 

a reciprocal beneficiary.  The amendment establishes the status 

of reciprocal beneficiaries and provides certain state 

governmental benefits to those with that status.  Among the 

benefits extended to reciprocal beneficiaries which are 

substantially equivalent to those extended to spouses is legal 

standing relating to victims rights.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 2. 

 

" §706-671  Credit for time of detention prior to sentence; 

credit for imprisonment under earlier sentence for same crime.  

(1)  When a defendant who is sentenced to imprisonment has 

previously been detained in any State or local correctional or 

other institution following the defendant's arrest for the crime 

for which sentence is imposed, such period of detention 

following the defendant's arrest shall be deducted from the 

minimum and maximum terms of such sentence.  The officer having 



custody of the defendant shall furnish a certificate to the 

court at the time of sentence, showing the length of such 

detention of the defendant prior to sentence in any State or 

local correctional or other institution, and the certificate 

shall be annexed to the official records of the defendant's 

commitment. 

 (2)  When a judgment of conviction or a sentence is vacated 

and a new sentence is thereafter imposed upon the defendant for 

the same crime, the period of detention and imprisonment 

theretofore served shall be deducted from the minimum and 

maximum terms of the new sentence.  The officer having custody 

of the defendant shall furnish a certificate to the court at the 

time of sentence, showing the period of imprisonment served 

under the original sentence, and the certificate shall be 

annexed to the official records of the defendant's new 

commitment. 

 (3)  Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, when a 

defendant is convicted for a crime committed while serving a 

sentence of imprisonment on a separate unrelated felony 

conviction, credit for time being served for the term of 

imprisonment imposed on the defendant for the separate unrelated 

felony conviction shall not be deducted from the term of 

imprisonment imposed on the defendant for the subsequent 

conviction. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; gen ch 1993; am L 2012, c 

50, §1] 

 

Note 

 

  L 2012, c 50, §2 provides: 

  "SECTION 2.  The prohibition in this Act [amending section 

706-671] against deducting the time served on a separate 

unrelated felony from the sentence imposed for a crime committed 

while in prison for the separate unrelated felony shall not 

apply when the crime committed while in prison for the separate 

unrelated felony, was committed prior to the effective date of 

this Act [July 1, 2012]." 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-671 

 

  This section provides for a result which the Code deems fair.  

It provides that time spent in incarceration before sentence or, 

where a prior conviction or sentence has been vacated, before 

resentence be credited against the minimum and maximum terms of 

imprisonment.  While it is true that most felons will be paroled 

prior to the expiration of the maximum term authorized by 

statute, nevertheless this section provides for some 

equalization, in the remaining felony cases and in misdemeanor 



cases, between those defendants who obtain pre-sentence release 

and those who do not. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-671 

 

  The legislature in enacting the Code changed 671, as set forth 

in the Proposed Draft, to provide that a convicted person shall 

receive credit for any time served in any state or local 

correctional facility against both the minimum and maximum term 

of imprisonment.  This provides for those few instances where 

the Code or other statutes provide for minimum terms of 

imprisonment.  Cf. §706-606, as enacted. 

  Act 50, Session Laws 2012, amended this section by clarifying 

that a defendant would not earn credit for time served for a 

subsequent crime while the defendant is serving an imprisonment 

sentence for a separate, unrelated offense.  The legislature 

found that the existing language of and case law related to this 

section has led to ambiguities and inconsistencies by the 

parties involved in a criminal case.  Act 50 created uniform 

application and deterred imprisoned offenders from incurring new 

offenses.  Senate Standing Committee Report No. 3188. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Imprisonment required for credit to be applied to second 

sentence for the same crime.  69 H. 407, 744 P.2d 84 (1987). 

  Imprisonment served under a previous term of probation is not 

required to be credited towards defendant's new term of 

probation.  71 H. 73, 783 P.2d 292 (1989). 

  Defendant was not entitled to credit for time served while on 

probation.  71 H. 612, 801 P.2d 1206 (1990). 

  No credit applied towards probation sentence for time served 

in a federal prison for unrelated federal offenses.  72 H. 230, 

813 P.2d 854 (1991). 

  Where defendant was sentenced to serve six months of 

imprisonment as a condition of probation, the six months of 

imprisonment was time spent imprisoned for purposes of 

subsection (2); when defendant was subsequently sentenced to 

serve maximum term of one year of imprisonment, circuit court 

was required under subsection (2) to deduct the time served in 

prison from the maximum one-year term of imprisonment.  78 H. 

343, 893 P.2d 194 (1995). 

  A sentence that credits a defendant with the time served for 

an unrelated offense is illegal because the sentencing court is 

not authorized by this chapter to grant such a credit.  94 H. 

250, 11 P.3d 1094 (2000). 



  Under this section, a defendant is entitled to have 

presentence credit applied only once against the aggregate of 

defendant's consecutive sentences.  96 H. 195, 29 P.3d 914 

(2001). 

  Where the department of public safety's (DPS) written policy 

for computing presentence credit for consecutive sentences 

merely adopted and enforced the holding of Tauiliili, which set 

forth the proper interpretation of this section, any change in 

the DPS's or the Hawaii paroling authority's internal policies 

regarding the calculation of presentence credit was irrelevant 

for purposes of an ex post facto analysis.  125 H. 429, 263 P.3d 

709 (2010). 

  Where the Tauiliili decision did not "reform" the law in any 

way--did not overrule any prior decision of the Hawaii supreme 

court with regard to application of presentence credit to two or 

more consecutive sentences and was the first opportunity for the 

court to interpret this section on that issue--and did not 

increase the punishment for the crime for which defendant was 

convicted, the court's construction of this section reflected 

the correct reading of the statute, not an expansion of it, and 

did not violate due process.  125 H. 429, 263 P.3d 709 (2010). 

  Defendant claiming uncredited time served in confinement under 

subsection (1) is entitled to prove entitlement to the credit 

and to subpoena relevant documents as are necessary in aid 

thereof.  79 H. 175 (App.), 900 P.2d 172 (1995). 

  Based on subsection (1) and §706-624, sentencing court would 

have no authority to sentence defendant to five years' probation 

and more than one year in prison; furthermore, the court was 

required to credit defendant for time already served in pre-

trial detention.  79 H. 317 (App.), 901 P.2d 1296 (1995). 

  Defendant not entitled to credit for time served in another 

state where imprisonment in other state was for another crime, 

not for any of the crimes for which defendant was sentenced in 

Hawaii.  84 H. 191 (App.), 932 P.2d 328 (1997). 

  Subsection (1) does not afford a defendant the right to credit 

against the sentence imposed against him or her for the time 

that the defendant spent in prison, post-arrest and pre-sentence 

as a consequence of a different charge or conviction.  91 H. 163 

(App.), 981 P.2d 720 (1999). 

 

" §706-672  Place of imprisonment.  When a person is 

sentenced to imprisonment, the court shall commit the person to 

the custody of the department of public safety for the term of 

the person's sentence and until released in accordance with law.  

The director of public safety shall determine the proper program 

of redirection and any place of confinement of the committed 



person. [L 1972, c 9, pt of §1; am L 1983, c 182, §1; am L 1987, 

c 338, §10; am L 1989, c 211, §8; gen ch 1993] 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-672 

 

  This section is substantially in accord with prior law.  

H.R.S. §711-83 (as codified prior to this Code) provided that 

felons be committed to the custody of the director of the 

department of social services and housing for placement within 

the correctional facilities of the department.  Although there 

was no specific statutory direction that persons imprisoned for 

misdemeanors shall be incarcerated in county jails,[1] this was 

the usual practice. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COMMENTARY ON §706-672 

 

  In enacting the Code, the legislature added to §672(1) of the 

Proposed Draft the last sentence which allows the court to 

determine the initial place of confinement.  The Conference 

Committee Report states that "the Director of the Department of 

Social Services and Housing shall determine the proper program 

of redirection and any subsequent place of confinement best 

suited to meet the individual needs of the committed person."  

Conference Committee Report No. 2 (1972) (emphasis added).  The 

committee also put its gloss on the word "institution," 

appearing in subsection (2), by stating its "intent that 

'institution' refers to any detention or correctional facility 

other than Oahu prison."  Id. 

  Act 182, Session Laws 1983, amended this section to authorize 

the director of social services to determine a convicted 

person's place of confinement.  Under prior law, courts 

determined the initial place of confinement for convicted 

persons with indeterminate prison terms and also determined the 

permanent place of confinement for convicted persons with 

definite prison terms.  Because of that law, convicted persons 

were sometimes inappropriately housed due to the court's 

commitment or the prisoner's subsequent behavior.  By amending 

this section, the director is able to place convicted persons in 

the most appropriate program and is better able to use the 

department's resources to provide for the safety of other 

prisoners and the department's staff.  Senate Standing Committee 

Report No. 722, House Standing Committee Report No. 419. 

 

Case Notes 

 

  Nothing in the federal or the state constitution or the state 

statutory law entitles prisoner to a hearing in connection with 



the prisoner's transfer to a mainland prison.  63 H. 138, 621 

P.2d 976 (1981). 

 

__________ 

§706-672 Commentary: 

 

1.  But cf. H.R.S. §710-12, which reads in part:  "The 

magistrate may direct, as one of the terms and conditions of 

such suspension of sentence, periodical or intermittent 

confinement of such person in jail or his attendance at a 

traffic course or school prescribed by the magistrate." 

 

" §706-673  Notice of escape.  (1)  As used in this section, 

the following terms have the following meanings: 

 "Offense against the person" means any of the offenses 

described in chapter 707 and includes any attempt to commit any 

of those offenses. 

 "Prisoner" means a person who has been convicted of an 

offense against the person. 

 "Surviving immediate family member" means a person who is a 

surviving grandparent, parent, sibling, spouse or reciprocal 

beneficiary, child, or legal guardian of a deceased victim. 

 "Victim" means the person who was the victim of the offense 

against the person for which the prisoner was convicted. 

 (2)  Upon written request, the department of public safety 

shall give notice of the escape of a prisoner, immediately 

following the escape, by the most reasonable and expedient means 

available, to each victim or a surviving immediate family member 

of the victim, through the victim witness assistance program in 

the county where the crime was committed. 

 (3)  Neither the failure of any state officer or employee 

to carry out the requirements of this section nor compliance 

with it shall subject the State, the officer, or employee to 

liability in any civil action.  However, such failure may 

provide a basis for such disciplinary action as may be deemed 

appropriate by a competent authority. [L 1990, c 193, §1; am L 

1997, c 383, §67] 

 

Cross References 

 

  Registration of sex offenders and other covered offenders and 

public access to registration information, see chapter 846E. 

 

COMMENTARY ON §706-673 

 

  Act 193, Session Laws 1990, added this section which would 

require the department of public safety to notify victims or 



their next-of-kin of an escape by the prisoner who committed a 

crime against the victim.  The legislature felt this requirement 

would make victims of crimes feel more secure knowing they would 

be notified immediately if the prisoner escaped.  Senate 

Standing Committee Report No. 2935. 

  Act 383, Session Laws 1997, amended this section by amending 

the definition of "surviving immediate family member" to include 

a reciprocal beneficiary.  The amendment establishes the status 

of reciprocal beneficiaries and provides certain state 

governmental benefits to those with that status.  Among the 

benefits extended to reciprocal beneficiaries which are 

substantially equivalent to those extended to spouses is legal 

standing relating to victims rights.  Conference Committee 

Report No. 2. 

 

 

 


