THE SENATE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THE TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE **INTERIM OF 2015**

COMMITTEE ON HAWAIIAN AFFAIRS Senator Maile S.L. Shimabukuro, Chair Senator J. Kalani English, Vice Chair

Sen. Sam Slom Sen. Lorraine R. Inouye Sen. Donna Mercado Kim

COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY AND LABOR

Senator Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran, Chair Senator Maile S.L. Shimabukuro, Vice Chair

Sen. Mike Gabbard Sen. Gilbert Kahele Sen. Donna Mercado Kim Sen. Laura H. Thielen Sen. Sam Slom

COMMITTEE ON OCEAN, MARINE RESOURCES, & HAWAIIAN AFFAIRS

Rep. Kaniela Ing, Chair Rep. Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

Rep. Ty J.K. Cullen Rep. Calvin K.Y. Say Rep. Cindy Evans Rep. Chris Lee Rep. Scott Y. Nishimoto

Rep. Ryan I. Yamane Rep. Feki Pouha Rep. Cynthia Thielen

COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY Rep. Karl Rhoads, Chair Rep. Joy A. San Buenaventura, Vice Chair

Rep. Della Au Belatti	Rep. Dee Morikawa
Rep. Tom Brower	Rep. Mark M. Nakashima
Rep. Richard P. Creagan	Rep. Gregg Takayama
Rep. Mark J. Hashem	Rep. Justin H. Woodson
Rep. Derek S.K. Kawakami	Rep. Bob McDermott
Rep. Chris Lee	Rep. Cynthia Thielen

NOTICE OF INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

DATE: Wednesday, January 13, 2016 TIME: 1:00pm PLACE: Conference Room 325 State Capitol 415 South Beretania Street

AGENDA

The purpose of this informational Briefing is to report on the status and progress of the implementation of House Concurrent Resolution 217, Requesting the Judiciary to Convene a Task Force to Examine Establishing Hawaiian Language Resources for the State of Hawaii Judiciary.



The Task Force convened to: Conduct a feasibility study to examine the scope and cost of implementing Hawaiian language resources on the Judiciary's public website; develop a plan to ensure that information contained on the website contains accurate, appropriate and authentic Hawaiian language; identify resources necessary to effectuate the measure; and conduct any other necessary business to carry out the measure.

Presentations on the Report will be made by the following Task Force members:

Judge Richard T. Bissen, Second Circuit Court, Task Force Chair Rodney A. Maile, Administrative Director of the Courts, Task Force Vice Chair Dr. Larry Kimura, Associate Professor at the University of Hawai'i at Hilo, Ka Haka 'Ula O Ke'elikōlani College of Hawaiian Language Dr. Puakea Nogelmeier, Professor, at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, Kawaihuelani Center Nathan Aipa, Esq., Hawaii State Bar Association Moses Haia, Esq., Access to Justice Commission Sterling Wong, Public Policy Manager, Office of Hawaiian Affairs

Click <u>HERE</u> to view the Task Force report.

No public testimony will be accepted.

If you require auxiliary aids or services to participate in the informational briefing (i.e. ASL or foreign language interpreter, or wheelchair accessibility), please contact the committee clerk at least 24 hours prior to the briefing so that arrangements can be made.

For further information, please call the Committee Clerk at 586-7793.

Senator Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran Chair

Rep. Karl Rhoads

Chair

Rep. Joseph M. Souki Speaker of the House Rep. Kaniela Ing Chair

Chair

Senator Ronald D. Kouchi President of the Senate

Senator Maile S.L. Shimabukuro

