

Honolulu, Hawaii ADNI 8, 2016 RE: S.B. No. 2076 S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 2076, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO HEALTH CARE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish a Durable Medical Equipment Supplier License Program (Program). Specifically, this measure:

- Requires the licensure of any person who sells, dispenses, delivers, or services durable medical equipment in the State and establishes eligibility criteria for licensure;
- (2) Authorizes the deposit of license fees into the Office of Health Care Assurance Special Fund (Special Fund) for the administration of the Program; and
- (3) Amends the Special Fund expenditure ceiling for activities of the Office of Health Care Assurance and, correspondingly, amends the Special Fund balance ceiling for funds exempt from reversion to the general fund each fiscal year.

The Hawaii COPD Coalition and Healthcare Association of Hawaii supported this measure.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **1705** -16 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 2076, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair



## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature



## Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Date:	04/07/16	
SB2076 SD2 HD1	HLT, CPC, FIN		04/07/16	
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold				
Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. CULLEN, Ty J.K.				
5. DeCOITE, Lynn				-
6. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling				
7. JORDAN, Jo				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. POUHA, Feki				
16. WARD, Gene				
TOTAL (16)	6			
The recommendation is: Adopted I Not Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				